Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Breastfeeding mum abused on the train

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Pretty sure that was "social experiment".

Edit: oh ya it says it on the link...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Pretty sure that was "social experiment".

I was so confused because it even explains that in the link they posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

This again? Did we not have a breastfeeding thread just before Christmas?

Tho we can never have enough boob threads I suppose so.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Its staged to get reactions out of the other train passengers. Irish guy was a good actor.
    I hate that an Irish guy was used for it though, because this video has gotten very famous around the world and a lot of people don't know its staged and it probably reinforces the stereotype of irish people being conservative and backward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

It's little more than a prank dressed up in pseudo-scientific nomenclature as a 'Social Experiment'.

Some of the 'Social Experiments' on youtube are just attention-seeking fuckwits trying to get hits on their videos of bizarre wind-ups and pranks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I couldn't give a sh*te about "social experiments".

kfallon wrote: »
    Tho we can never have enough boob threads I suppose so.....

Suckers for boobs threads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

wakka12 wrote: »
    Its staged to get reactions out of the other train passengers. Irish guy was a good actor.
    I hate that an Irish guy was used for it though, because this video has gotten very famous around the world and a lot of people don't know its staged and it probably reinforces the stereotype of irish people being conservative and backward

Yes, I saw the video on Facebook on people were saying things like "he's a disgrace to Irish people" etc. Took a while for people to find out it was staged! I could kind of tell it was being staged by the way he kept going on and the fact that the whole thing was on video. Thankfully have never seen anything like that in real life. Bad reactions to breastfeeding mothers I mean :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

What's the next social experiment...some sallow bearded young man with a rucksack shouting, and seeing who responds?:pac:

These media whores will never stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

It's little more than a prank dressed up in pseudo-scientific nomenclature as a 'Social Experiment'.

Some of the 'Social Experiments' on youtube are just attention-seeking fuckwits trying to get hits on their videos of bizarre wind-ups and pranks.
    This seems one hundred per cent like one of those things - what is the point? They tend to engineer them to get the result they want anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

So... a big eye opening social experiment that shows that the only person who gave a fcuk about yer one with her tit out was the fella who was in on the experiment.

That's worth a video and whole dedicated newspaper article, definitely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

This is from Trollstation.

Check them out on youtube. Some decent pranks, although they do push the boundaries a bit at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

wakka12 wrote: »
    Meh, anyone who bases their entire view of Irish people on one man, whom they haven't even watched in full to realise he's an actor, is an idiot whose opinions aren't worth being concerned about, IMO.

It'll be forgotten about in peeing time anyway - "famous" is probably giving it too much credit. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Video "pranksters" need to be sacrificed to IS.Here behead these guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Azalea wrote: »
    This seems one hundred per cent like one of those things - what is the point? They tend to engineer them to get the result they want anyway.

Maybe the experiment is less about what happened on the train and more about the reaction the video gets online.

This isn't the first time I've seen it posted by someone who didn't realise it was fake, despite it being clearly set out

Makes it apparent that there's something to the whole 'people looking to be outraged' thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

Only an eejit would believe that, even without it being stated explicitly it was staged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Did you calm down from the outrage yet, OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The face on James, he did not like dem titties

Lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

kneemos wrote: »
    Video "pranksters" need to be sacrificed to IS.Here behead these guys.

this might keep you happy in the meantime

I came into work at 7:15 am a few weeks ago. There was a chocolate cake on top of a cupboard.

Two of my colleagues were already in the office. Neither of them knew where the cake came from.

We all decided it was a social experiment. None of us ate the cake.

Then my boss came in from a 6:30am meeting and said he'd made us a cake.

Then we ate the cake.

The end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I came into work at 7:15 am a few weeks ago. There was a chocolate cake on top of a cupboard.

Two of my colleagues were already in the office. Neither of them knew where the cake came from.

Then we ate the cake.

The end.

Did you film it?

Ficheall wrote: »
    Did you film it?

Never film a chocolate cake, if you want, you can loosely put some grease proof paper around it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Then we ate the cake.

The end.

The cake is a lie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

I hate the term "social experiment". I also hate the way the pranksters seem surprised when people get upset or throw a punch if they're "pissing" on someones car or doing whatever else stupid things they do. How are they supposed to react? It's attention whoring ignorance at it's finest and worst part is they make money from it. That whole culture really irks me. I like the clever high production pranks it's just the ones like above that annoy me where they purposely try to get people angry and act as if they did nothing wrong and they're the victim.

Never film a chocolate cake, if you want, you can loosely put some grease proof paper around it.

Funnily enough.

It's was film :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Well Holy God! Mammy warned me about ye brazen hussies and trollops when herself and daddy drove me up to Dublin to get the boat to London. Put those boobies away you Devil woman and stop trying to lead me into sin!

You see I'm Irish and "it's just a thing that's been passed down in Irish families!"

The very aptly named Trollstation! Pr1cks just having another dig at Paddies in London!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Making these staged videos in the hope they go viral seem to be making a comeback.
    I had hoped they went out of fashion with 'Youve been framed'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

"Social experiment" being code for "include elements to make this go viral for maximum money"

Breastfeeding experiment [Gone Sexual 2016] :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

I'm not hugely keen on these 'social experiments'. It must be very annoying to have your morning disrupted, tension, worrying that a fight's about to break out and then a cameraman to pop out and basically say "Surprise! We were only -testing- you." Bog off, what gives you the right to "test" me (or anyone else) before I've even had my coffee. Also, the term "social experiment" basically covers anything someone with a camera feels like with no controls and generally little thought behind it; certainly none that's explained in the "write-up", i.e. the newspaper article. Why did you choose X carriage, or even train line, what sort of mix of people do you have, etcetera.
    Azalea wrote: »

Now that my own complaining is out of the way, I'll grudgingly comment that in fairness, if they wanted to engineer a result, more likely they'd have tried to engineer a backlash against the woman to stir things up a bit rather than, as someone else commented, yep, no-one was bothered and in fact, defended her.

Article-writers don't tend to engineer feel-good stories as much as they do shock-and-outrage ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Its fake!!!!!!!!

Its a candid camera type thing.

I cant believe the amount of people believe its real.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭pgj2015

its so obviously staged, the minute he opens his mouth I realized its fake, love the disgusted face he pulls though. from reading the comments under the article you would have to feel we are doomed as a species, seeing as most responses seem to believe it is real.
    This attention seeking by the makers of these kind of videos are so unoriginal and cringy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

What's the next social experiment...some sallow bearded young man with a rucksack shouting, and seeing who responds?:pac:

These media whores will never stop.

:D:D:D:D:D

fuckwits trying to get hits on their videos of bizarre wind-ups and pranks.