Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How did you score in your last round...2016?

• 05-01-2016 8:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Guess it's time to get the annual 'how did we do?' thread going. Surprised it's not already emerged but that it hasn't is symptomatic of the weather I guess.

Anyhoo, managed to get out today for the first time in too long. Had to be a links course with last night's rain, so was lucky to be able to give the Titleist Winter series a go in Portmarnock Links.

80 gross, +9, off 2 handicap.

Pretty average golf even though it wasn't the most pleasant of days. Fairly persistent overnight rain gave way to a cold, showery and breezy day. I teed off at 11am and probably got the best of it so was within the bounds of possibility to shoot something respectable, but tee to green I was poor. I only hit 5 greens all day, even though I felt my iron play was actually a lot better than it has been of late. Which doesn't say much for it in the recent past :o

Case in point was on the par threes; on 9, I ripped a 6 iron straight down the flag and was most unhappy to see it fly the green into a dire position, from where I made a bogey 4. Then, on 17, I hit maybe my best shot of the day, a 4 iron from 215 yards into a back right flag to within 18 feet, and proceeded to 3-putt.

Other mistakes were really limited to a couple of destructive chips; after a 2015 blighted by the chipping yips, the tight links turf caught me out a couple of times. I underhit one into the bunker and made a double bogey 5 on the 3rd hole, then bladed a handy shot on the 8th, which led to another double. Was happy to hit good shots from similar lies on the 7th and the 12th though, so not panicking about that area of the game just yet.

Driving was poor early, before improving. Had the high rights going the front 9 and, even though I managed to keep it in play, I was laughably far back on a lot of approaches. Hit it better the back 9 but then the putter began to misbehave, save for a 40 footer for a welcome par on the 18th hole.

As expected, today was a counting competition, so looks like I'll be starting the year with a 0.1, but happy to open the campaign regardless and optimistic for better scores in the near future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

First round of the year, and first full round for about 2 months.

27pts off 11.

Played ok, for the front nine, but i felt very tight and not swinging very loose, need to get to the range and get loosened up for the year ahead, i hadn't swung a club for about three weeks before today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Strange 9 holes today. Weather was grand and course in great nick.

Had 14 points for 9 holes

One positive was I didn't scratch a hole

However I did not make a single green in regulation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Kingswood Rover

13 holes today in our Spring League, 9 bogeys, 3 pars and 1 birdie 11 putts from between 12 and 6 feet only got one the putter was baltic.....26pts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭TLOA72

First full 18 this year. Connemara open comp. 33 off 15 was enough for 3rd. Css was 34 so no cut for me. Drove it terrible and scratched 2 holes. Course is in great nick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭TheRoomWrecker

81 blows around Portmarnock hotel links off the whites in a casual round today, some good, some very good, and some ugly, a tap in birdie on index 1 was a highlight, after a good drive I was left with a gap wedge into the pin and for a couple of seconds I nearly crapped myself as I thought the gap wedge was going to slam dunk in! it pitched 3 feet short and rolled up about 1ft past the cup.

2 coffees and some lunch after the round, myself and a mate decided to go back out and play a few more holes off the blues, 5 holes match play format, I won it on 18 and was level for the 5 :) we played 1,2,3,7, and 18. 3 and 18 are very different holes off the blue tee's out there.

off skiing now in the morning for the week, then its back at it for 2016, a lot of practice and a lot of playing ahead to get this HC down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

74 gross, +3, off 2, 35 points in open competition in Portmarnock Links today.

My second comp in 5 days at this venue, feels a little indulgent but home course is a bog right now as, I expect are most parkland courses in the country, and with the weather finally cooperating for 4.5 hours, I figured what the hell.

Delighted with the way I played for the most part tbh, if not the score. Acquired a new shaft for my driver and hit it great; never in trouble off the tee at any point and a few decent iron shots resulted in 13 greens in regulation.

Putting was poor unfortunately with ridiculous 3 putts on 5, 9, 10 and 13 from no great distances. I did make a 12 footer for birdie on 2 and drained a good one on 16, but other 2 birds came courtesy of a 2 putt on 6 and a kick in on the 12th, where I stitched an approach (with something more than Room Wrecker's wedge!).

Greens were very good considering what theyve been through but they werent perfect so will try not to get too upset over the 33 putts I took. No question it cost me a cut though, which was disappointing. Nonetheless, it was a good day overall, progress has been made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

First round of golf of the year and what a round it was. If rest of year goes as well i'll be a very happy golfer.

Played 9 hole winter league and 14 hole hamper yesterday. Weather nice and course in great nick considering all the rain. Not one plugged ball all day.

20 points for 9 holes :) started off with a double then 4 pars followed by birdie and bogie, par, par. +2 through 9.

Eagled the 10, driver 3hybrid to 8ft and drained the putt. Now -1 through 10 :)

Lost concentration a little then but still managed to get a par and 3 bogies on way home so was +2 for 14 :)

Putter was on fire, 8 1 putts and rest 2 putts, when i missed green my wedges put me very close !!

Now the hard part to try and keep it going for the year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭kieran.

40 pts of 20 in a casual round yesterday. Lift clean and place so won't get overally excited but good to see I'm still progressing after getting from 23-20 last year. First round ever with two birdies and could have been more with good chances on 17 and 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

First round of the year for me too.
    Wasn't expecting much and started of bogey, blank, but game clicked and pared my way from 3rd to 11th, back 9 wasn't as hot but ended up with 38 points off 11hcp, hopefully a good sign for the year to come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

First competitive albeit non-qualifying round in a month on Friday. 36 points of 14 with 10 pars and one birdie. Missed one sitter for another birdie which I had stitched with a 6 iron from 150 meters.
    Driving not fantastic although kept in play for the most part and the one I lost was due to soft ground and the other wild one I was able to recover from. Irons were really good and putting was (except for the missed birdie sitter) nice too. Made a good few 7 to 10 footers.
    Only real weak point was again chipping but playing partner told me after that he was watching me - couldn't say anything obviously during the round - and it was basically all hands and no turn. Ye I tend to do that when I get lazy. Should have no problem to sort that with a couple of hours of actual practice a week for a while.
    Really looking forward to the 2016 season, expecting to march on and can't wait to get fully going although I know it will be another couple of months of winter golf. What harm, two months is exactly what I need to become a great chipper. Bring it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭mafc

Two rounds played this weekend, both sub 80's so happy days albeit placing everywhere.
    13 pars
    4 bogeys
    1 double
    Round 2
    12 pars
    5 bogeys
    1 double

Driver & woods iffy
    Irons slightly off
    Short game very good saved me many times. Putted really well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭cgh

got to play The Heritage in killenard yesterday,
    had 37 points off 14, very boggy in parts, but the best greens I've seen in ages.
    2 birdies,
    8 pars,
    4 bogies,
    1 double,
    3 scratches.

good all round,
    lost 1 in the water and 2 just of the fairways plugged and couldn't be found

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭benny79

First round of the year for me too. 13 hole winter league. I hadnt hit a ball in 8 weeks due to illness, bad timing & weather. had 22 pts and played very solid 4 temps in play which is a bit like putting on crazy golf!

Only messed up on 1 hole which was tenth all the temps had blue flags in (or so I taught) got to the 10th hit a good drive. got down seen a red flag taught hmmm seems a bit near without looking properly as I was thinking of different flag colour! must be at the front hit a 7 iron to exactly were I aimed taught to myself what a shot on for a birdie here :D only to walk up and see it was temps and I was 25yrds past, brain fart! :D ended up scratching and took me 2 holes to recover sure round was over then.

Highlight was parring index 1 which is a very hard hole even to hit green in 2! (par 4) had a good chance of birdie but will take par every day on that hole!

Here's to 2016 and hopefully a good reduction in my hc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

First time swinging clubs in 2016, 9 hole comp on Sunday in Castlewarden.

Had 19 points: 5 Bogeys, 4 Pars, so steady, unspectacular golf.

Driver was working well, as were the full hit irons.

Struggled with my distances on pitches in the 50-80 yards range, which I suppose should be expected given it was about 3 weeks since I'd hit a ball & ground was very soft & heavy. Chipping in close range was really good. Had 3 chips around the fringe & got up & down on all 3.

Started with 4 bogeys, then 4 pars, and unfortunately a 3 putt bogey to finish.

A positive start to 2016, felt very comfortably within myself the whole way round, so hopefully a good sign of things to come.

Gonna try get a couple of lessons in now in the next few weeks & try get more work in this year than I managed in 2015.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭lester76

Played Friday comp 8th of Jan in tramore 1st comp of the year & really enjoyed my rd. 8pars 7 bogeys a triple b on the 4th silly hook off the tee resulted in lost ball & on the 8th poor 2nd shot resulted in another lost plugged ball which really annoyed me. Was so wet we just couldn't find it. Had 16pts front 9 with 2 blanks. Onto bck9 came in with 20pts only bad hole was 14th index 1 double b. 36pts off 15 happy with my lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭dcrosskid

Played in 14 hole comp last Sunday. First time playing or swinging a club since early November when I had being playing some of the worst Golf score wise to my handicap in a long time.

It was my driving which was all over the place so I was nervous on the first tee as there was 2 groups gathered behind us waiting to tee off but thankfully i got away with a fairly decent long drive.

I had 4 pars to start for 12 points followed by a bogie for 1 before crossing back to play the back 9. A double bogie again for a 1 point after my first real poor putt of the day threatened to derail the round but thankfully a par for 3 points got me back on track at the next. A good bogie at the next before another par after missing a 7 ft putt for birdie at the 13th. Again another 1 pointer bogie at the next, seems to be a recurring theme with high index par 3's. After this i started to play some really good golf again and finished with 4 pars in a row with 2 long putts from over 20 ft dropping at the 16th & 17th a welcome bonus.

Unfortunately missed a 6 foot putt at the last for a birdie & a par was only worth the 2 points. Finished with 33 points for 14 holes, the best scoring & golf I have played in a good while so very happy with some kind of return to form. 10 pars in 14 holes and 5 over is a good way to start the year and hopefully the driving can remain someway straight which was my biggest worry.

Having said all that I was still pipped for a prize unluckily but I am glad that the father who went one better for 34 points got a 2nd place finish. We were matching each other nearly the whole way, 13 points crossing and right up to the final putt where he needed a par for 3 & I needed a bird for 3 it was a tie. As I mentioned above I missed mine & he made his. 38 points won it & there was 3 34's so unfortunately I didn't feature but I am more than happy with how I played & delighted for the auld lad as well.

Looking forward to hopefully playing more golf in 2016 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Had a nice 13 holes this afternoon - got them played in 1hr 40 m, Corballis is very short like that.

Started with a double bogey from bunker and a 3 putt on 1, knew I was between clubs and picked wrong one.

Then had 3 pars - but again 4 shots from 40 yards on 5 , another 3 putt. Terrible , then played great stuff for the rest. 1 bird, 1 bog and 6 pars.
    Wasn't putting great today - missed a couple of easy birds.

finished 4 over. But the doubles were a joke, daft.

Anyway , nice to get out and Corballis is 80 % there, back end of course has ice and water - but front end very very good.

Played tramore in crap weather shot 88 with 35pts off 15. Couldn't buy a putt on the front 9 had four 1pointers for 16pts but came home 19pts solid bogey golf. Drove it well irons ok putter awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

37pts off 11 this morning

1 bridie
    9 pars
    6 bogies
    2 blanks

3/18 GIR
    10/13 FIR
    25 putt (inc 2 blank holes)

Short game was good, but the blanks are killing me:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭mafc

Gross 77 today

11 pars
    1 birdie
    5 bogey's
    1 double

Solid play bar silly double bogey, once again short game very good.

A nice 9 in grand conditions today

Couldn't putt for shyte

4 pars
    2 bogeys
    2 doubles
    1 scratch

had 4 3 putts in 9 holes :eek:
    Missed 3 putts from less than 2 feet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Shocker today in Tramore. Nothing worked, driving terrible, irons shocking, chipping usual cr@p. Putter normal enough but can't use that through the green unfortunately although I may as well have. The whole round felt as if I had 3 wrists and two elbows on each arm and they were all working against each other. When it started raining then I walked in after 11, I think I had 14 points by then. Not great form but the other two lads didn't mind and it was pure torture. Hate days like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭fearruanua

15 hole comp in the rain yesterday

30pts

happy go maith

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

9 Over in Ardee in a casual.

Some tee's forward, 1 temp green.

8 Pars and two birdies in there. The one scratch was a plugged ball, group behind gave me about 30seconds after I got over the hill to find it before they tee'd off so that put an end to it.

Gamegolf round - http://www.gamegolf.com/player/DanCarolan/round/715411

Struck the ball ok. A good few toe/low strikes but still much better than lately.

8 Pars and two birdies in there. The one scratch was a plugged ball, group behind gave me about 30seconds after I got over the hill to find it before they tee'd off so that put an end to it.

Struck the ball ok. A good few toe/low strikes but still much better than lately.

Played faithlegg comp today got off to a terrible start 1 pt thru 3 holes then 17pts next 6 holes. Grand 18 turning with 2 blanks. Became a slog on the bck9 came home with 15pts. Playing partner had 14 pars with 8 in a row couldn't buy a birdie. Great golf off 9

dan_ep82 wrote: »

Great round considering GIR.

Great scoring - meaning , great stuff on short game.

Senna wrote: »
    37pts off 11 this morning

1 bridie
    9 pars
    6 bogies
    2 blanks

3/18 GIR
    10/13 FIR
    25 putt (inc 2 blank holes)

Short game was good, but the blanks are killing me:mad:

Who's this Bridie one...:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭markthespark77

home course finally opened up 14 holes on Tuesday, so just went out for 9 to shake of the cobwebs on the Tuesday.

went out yesterday and played the full 14 holes and had a great round. playing of 8 came in at 2 under. (37pts)

driving was v good, irons were ok but the short game and putting were really good.

1 bogie
    3 birdies (in a row)
    10 pars.

Fir 8/10
    Gir 7/14
    putts 19

hopefully its a sign of things to come for the new season.

Terrible 28 pts.

Had a 2 , a 3, a 4 , a 5, a6 and an 8 on the card.

Almost missed the ball twice.

Wind a big factor - but swung terribly.

Only good thing, hole out from 120 yards on 2 for first eagle of the year.

A day to forget - was a lovely day but.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

35pts (5 over) on Wed at Portmarnock Links

Good enough to make the handicap buffer

2 birdies, 1 eagle but too many putts missed elsewhere

still a very enjoyable day - Roll on Sunday :)

Great round considering GIR.

Great scoring - meaning , great stuff on short game.

Thanks.

Strike was toe all day with irons and wedges, meant short left was the miss most of the time. Chipped and put well along with some nice short irons and ok drives

Played Rathcore yesterday in very windy conditions. 2.5 club length at times , ball wobbling on the green etc. Left very frustrated, even a middle'd iron would spin up on me and the punch shots are something I can't do

Still my playing partner played quite well in it. He was using more forgiving irons and really seen the benefit of them on strikes and I'm definitly leaning towards something a bit more helpful this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

Last saturday played 18 holes. played ok for 15 holes, and then the last 3 played very well.

37 pts off 11. 10 of those points coming on the last three holes. happy enough with how i was hitting it.
    3 birdies,
    7 pars,
    5 bogeys
    2 doubles
    1 scratch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

35pts (5 over) on Wed at Portmarnock Links

Good enough to make the handicap buffer

2 birdies, 1 eagle but too many putts missed elsewhere

still a very enjoyable day - Roll on Sunday :)

Scoring has been good there the past few weeks, new members performing well. Haven't really got out this year yet, just the Jan medal.

Might see you out there on Sunday, I wonder if we are the only two spurs fans in the place.

J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭WheresMyPar

t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭WheresMyPar

Shot 4 over last Sun
    1 birdie
    12 Pars
    5 bogeys
    Scoring well considering my driving is poor, high fade or pushes missing fairways,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

Scoring has been good there the past few weeks, new members performing well. Haven't really got out this year yet, just the Jan medal.

Might see you out there on Sunday, I wonder if we are the only two spurs fans in the place.

J

Ah a Spurs connection - great stuff - hopefully see u on Sunday following another 3 points tomorrow at Palace :)

18 points for 9 holes today

1 birdie
    4 pars
    3 bogies
    1 scratch

Started bogie, scratch, bogie so happy enough after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭SEORG

24 pts off 8 for 14 holes yesterday.

Driving was awful, irons not so bad, putting awful.

Fairways -36%
    GIR - 62%
    28 putts (3 three putts)

Silly errors costing me shots really

2 birdies
    4 pars
    5 bogeys
    3 doubles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭slingerz

I'm amazed at ye guys getting out in the course

I've zero motivation with this time of year and weather/ground conditions

Think I'll stay in hibernation until March at least, maybe Paddys Day ill emerge from my golf slumber!

slingerz wrote: »
    I'm amazed at ye guys getting out in the course

I've zero motivation with this time of year and weather/ground conditions

Think I'll stay in hibernation until March at least, maybe Paddys Day ill emerge from my golf slumber!
    Been very lucky that the course has been open every day with only one day the tee time delayed because of frost.
    I was always a bit of a fair weather golfer but have to say we have been very lucky with the conditions this winter! Yesterday was actually quite mild

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

28 points for 12 holes off 11(7 received)

78% FIR

42% GIR

3 birdies
    4 Pars
    4 Bogies
    1 Double

Very happy for first round of the year - hopefully a sign that the swing changes are going in the right direction

Got 9 holes in on Saturday & 12 holes in on Sunday.

Was level 2s both days, so steady but unspectacular. Feel like I was playing comfortably within myself

No scratches either day.

Driving the ball very well, but given its winter was probably taking on some shots I wouldn't normally have.

Completed 2 of my goals for the year (managed 2 birds with 1 stone)

Joined a new club mid last year & didn't have a single 2 all year.

So I managed a 2 & simultaneously an eagle on the short par 4 10th in castlewarden.

Was playing forward, measuring about 230ish yards, into a breeze. Knocked 3w to about 2 feet. Was a joy to behold.

So the 2 duck is broken, hopefully can kick on from there.

I'm feeling quite positive about my golf at the moment. Get my touch back in line from inside 120yrds & there is a great score in me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Got 9 holes in on Saturday & 12 holes in on Sunday.

Was level 2s both days, so steady but unspectacular. Feel like I was playing comfortably within myself

No scratches either day.

Driving the ball very well, but given its winter was probably taking on some shots I wouldn't normally have.

Completed 2 of my goals for the year (managed 2 birds with 1 stone)

Joined a new club mid last year & didn't have a single 2 all year.

So I managed a 2 & simultaneously an eagle on the short par 4 10th in castlewarden.

Was playing forward, measuring about 230ish yards, into a breeze. Knocked 3w to about 2 feet. Was a joy to behold.

So the 2 duck is broken, hopefully can kick on from there.

I'm feeling quite positive about my golf at the moment. Get my touch back in line from inside 120yrds & there is a great score in me

..and you're going to claim that............shameful :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Always great to get a birdie on a long par 3 :)
    Nice one Space, a fun hole.

..and you're going to claim that............shameful :D:D

Ah here it's about a 220 yard carry to clear the water so not one you can just run down to it :o:(

Think it's my first ever par 4 eagle so I'll take it wherever I can :D That completes the full set, I've an eagle now on a par 3, par 4 & par 5

Into a breeze that is cracking shot.

Must be your best ever.

Sure what is a round of golf thee day -
    We almost need a thread in here - "I played golf today, interesting game worth a try, but that thing putting is a bitch".

got out for 10 there , was crazy stuff, Played good golf considering (5 over).

Basically the pattern is a birdie putt downwind - or a hard up and down into wind.

Courses absolutely deserted, only headbangers like myself out there.

5 over - almost holed another fairway shot for another eagle (6 inches behind cup) , would have been nice to get 2 up on the board in 2016.

Anyway -great to get out - Looks like this gale is gone Friday evening.

Was looking at a few scores in a competition there today , a good few low guys are playing to their handicap in them conditions - that is incredible golf.

Into a breeze that is cracking shot.

Must be your best ever.

Cheers Fix, it's right up there with them alright. Was a decent wind blowing on Sunday but soon as I hit it I knew it was comfortably getting there. Came straight out of the centre of the face.

Green a touch firmer it would have been flirting with the hole.

Scoring consistency in your own game seems to have really come on. Must be a very positive sign given the targets you have in mind for the year

Cheers Fix, it's right up there with them alright. Was a decent wind blowing on Sunday but soon as I hit it I knew it was comfortably getting there. Came straight out of the centre of the face.

Green a touch firmer it would have been flirting with the hole.

Scoring consistency in your own game seems to have really come on. Must be a very positive sign given the targets you have in mind for the year

Still a bit up and down , being disconnected from body has days that are just crazy poor.

But - I see something there alright, i'm getting a lot of mid irons very close - wedges terrible. - but impossible to judge at present. Basically have no real short game practice potential, time, weather etc.

I haven't had a cut in a long time - I'll be targeting a good few cuts like last year, in late March/ April.

I think this time of year is about , just keeping the body moving , big stuff .

I guess I just don't know to be honest, was even reading online a couple of scratch players in 80s at moment in that wind.
    So important thing is not to read too much into this golf at present.