Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Land measuring wheel any good for measuring fields.

• 04-01-2016 7:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7

Just wondering if anyone has used a land measuring wheel previously, I am taking over a block of land from my uncle this year and none of the paddocks are accurately measured. I saw a land measuring wheel for 60 euros on an agri website. Any suggestions welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Just wondering if anyone has used a land measuring wheel previously, I am taking over a block of land from my uncle this year and none of the paddocks are accurately measured. I saw a land measuring wheel for 60 euros on an agri website. Any suggestions welcome.

Google Earth pro can be downloaded for free atm and if you spend a bit of time following the ditches accurately it'll give you a fairly accurate measurement of the fields and save you having to do all the walking and figuring out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Theres the same option on myplan.ie but they have the OSi mapping so be more accurate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭memorystick

Map my run on the iPhone isn't to bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Map my run on the iPhone isn't to bad.

Ah but sure you have to run around the edge of the field then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,127 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭memorystick

Reggie. wrote: »
    Ah but sure you have to run around the edge of the field then :D

One of the reasons why I left this place for a few years was because of the silly,prepubic childish comments like yours. My phone measures to the nearest metre. Someone comes on and asks a question and they get an informed reply with users information.

Go watch Barney and be a big man.

One of the reasons why I left this place for a few years was because of the silly,prepubic childish comments like yours. My phone measures to the nearest metre. Someone comes on and asks a question and they get an informed reply with users information.

Go watch Barney and be a big man.

Jaysus you need to lighten up mate :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Area calculator is another free app on play store
    Plenty others above too will measure any field accurately from the bed or sofa if you want no need to run anywhere although I could probably do with the exercise after Christmas.

djmc wrote: »
    Area calculator is another free app on play store
    Plenty others above too will measure any field accurately from the bed or sofa if you want no need to run anywhere although I could probably do with the exercise after Christmas.

That's what I use when I'm out contracting. It's handy as it locates you on the map. As in to which field your in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 oliver bierhoff

Thanks a million for that people, with such an abundance of land measuring tools from ye I think il forget about the measuring wheel. Much obliged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

They are reasonably OK on level ground, but if the slope is over about 10%, things start going awry. If it's a field, make sure the wheel is suitable and comes with manual, etc.

Not all fields are rectangular, in fact the vast majority aren't, so you need to measure diagonals also. Land is measured on plan (but take aspect into account), not slope. anyone saying otherwise is trying to do you out of land and / or money.

If you are doing a legal transfer, it's probably worthwhile getting a land surveyor for a few hundred euros. I take it you don't want a feud with a cousin down the line.

We once had a situation where a vendor nearly did himself a severe disservice - put a fence down on the red line when he had sold as far as the blue line (light green field was being sold, dark green areas being kept).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

Geomeasure is a great app for a couple of €, for most day to day (but obviously not legal) stuff