Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parents who buy their kid a scrambler

• 29-12-2015 2:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭

This seems to have become a major thing the last few years in Dublin. Seems properly insane to me. Kids as young as 13 given a motorbike or quad and allowed, even encouraged, by their parents to go out on public roads and drive like idiots. How can any parent possible think this won't lead to a problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Wee Johnny is grand, he's not a space cadet like them other kids, no harm will come to him because I raised him well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭yabbav

It's a sign that social welfare rates are too high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Well as long as they don't buy them helmets then natural selection should sort them out.....

yabbav wrote: »

Idiocy doesn't have a wealth meter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Kids have died or been seriously injured on them. Fine for children of farmers on private land maybe, but on a public road or footpath, a tragedy waiting to happen.

Idiocy doesn't have a wealth meter

It is very top heavy on the scrambler owning social welfare side though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

Or scrambler prices are too low.

Lights On wrote: »
    Or scrambler prices are too low.

what logic???!!! Lol

Kids have died or been seriously injured on them. Fine for children of farmers on private land maybe, but on a public road or footpath, a tragedy waiting to happen.

Because children are never killed on farms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Negative_G

They have to spend their Christmas bonus on something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Sure farms are safe...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 braniganl

If parents are buying kids quad bikes to be used in urban areas then they clearly aren't thinking about their kids, or neighbours either for that matter.

See it every day in Neilstown, kids as young as 10 or 11 tearing about on main roads, footpaths and fields as early as midday (should be in school!)

They even try to goad passing Garda cars into chasing them (Guards never do.) I can just imagine the self righteous uproar of the parents if guards did chase them, and their little angel was hurt.

No excuse for it, plenty of facilities in the area (free floodlit astro, youth clubs, boxing club, community centres etc) that didn't exist when I was growing up.

braniganl wrote: »
    If parents are buying kids quad bikes to be used in urban areas then they clearly aren't thinking about their kids, or neighbours either for that matter.

See it every day in Neilstown, kids as young as 10 or 11 tearing about on main roads, footpaths and fields as early as midday (should be in school!)

They even try to goad passing Garda cars into chasing them (Guards never do.) I can just imagine the self righteous uproar of the parents if guards did chase them, and their little angel was hurt.

No excuse for it, plenty of facilities in the area (free floodlit astro, youth clubs, boxing club, community centres etc) that didn't exist when I was growing up.

Sure they will be telling us it's part of their culture going down the M50 and all.

They should have them confiscated and sold overseas with the money going back into the welfare fund. The sooner we move completely over to food stamp cards the better in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

We had a quad from quite a young age, on the farm though not on public roads. I learned how to drive in a new holland at 9 years old, around a field in circles. Flying up and down the road at 16 in same new holland with a silage trailer on the back, no bother, and still legally couldn't even sit in the drivers seat of a fiat punto! Got to love the logic in that!!!

Anyway, my parents weren't trying to kill us, it was 1/2 practical, 1/2 fun. Only rules were not allowed on the road with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

They should have them confiscated and sold overseas with the money going back into the welfare fund. The sooner we move completely over to food stamp cards the better in my opinion.

Wait, are you talking about the kids or the scramblers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

This seems to have become a major thing the last few years in Dublin. Seems properly insane to me. Kids as young as 13 given a motorbike or quad and allowed, even encouraged, by their parents to go out on public roads and drive like idiots. How can any parent possible think this won't lead to a problem?
    I hate when parents call their children 'kid' or 'kids'. They are goats ffs

Sure the dole provides enough money to buy one ... Jesus...

A neighbour of ours turned his over on his dad's land, hit a tree stump and turned it over into a drain and was almost killed. He had to learn how to walk again.

This turned into a dole bashing thread in record time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

scumbags kids grow up to be scumbag parents. Only scumbag parents buy their kids these sorts of things. FWIW you can earn loads, have a nice house and car and still be a scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Is this a thing? I've never seen a kid on a scrambler tbh. I think I half-heard of a news report about something happening in Ballyer (which is only 10 mins away from where my folks live) when I was back over the xmas

It's a working class dole thing. Normal folks have no interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Sure farms are safe...

I think there's less chance of injury if you fall off in a muddy field compared to a road/footpath with lamp posts, cars etc etc.

How can working class and dole thing be the same thing?

You seem to have an agenda here, but I can't quite put my finger on it. Perhaps if you were a bit more blunt in your posts we could figure out what you're really trying to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Check out these upstanding citizens:

Melodeon wrote: »

QED

padd b1975 wrote: »
    I think there's less chance of injury if you fall off in a muddy field compared to a road/footpath with lamp posts, cars etc etc.

Deaths on farms would outstrip any deaths due to these bikes going around in public that was my point.

You seem to have an agenda here, but I can't quite put my finger on it. Perhaps if you were a bit more blunt in your posts we could figure out what you're really trying to say.

It's probably David Norris :pac:

padd b1975 wrote: »

I only know of two people locally who were killed on quads, one the quad rolled over him in a muddy field and pinned him, suffocating him. The other slid into a ditch and was trapped and drowned. If they had been on the road someone would have came on them and possibly saved them. You're thinking is a bit too black and white in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I really don't know why this has turned into welfare bashing. But I am in agreement that the scrambler/quad thing is fast becoming a major issue. Lord Mayor, Críona Ní Dhálaigh says they need some sort of legislation, poor chap might not have heard of the Road Traffic Act. Kids are belting around public roads on these and public green spaces. There is actually a place in Cherry Orchard to go with pit bikes so I don't buy the whole 'sure they've nowhere to go' thing
    I've driven scramblers over the years and they really aren't for the faint hearted, nobbly tyres are woeful on concrete too. The Guards haven't got the manpower or equipment to catch these bikes so it really is down to the parents to get a hold of themselves if they don't want to be going to see their children in cemeteries or rehab centres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Does convincing yourself that working class = dole scroungers help support your delusions of grandeur?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Some real piss poor attempts at trolling on this thread.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

A 16 year old died on Christmas day from this sort of messing.

http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/teen-boy-died-tragic-christmas-7070522

Can't control horses. Can't control bikes. Parents must have an idea of what's going on.

lertsnim wrote: »

School holidays...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Melodeon wrote: »
    [/

those white boys got no skills

they're just emulating the youtubes badly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

The Balance Boards are potentially very dangerous both through their use and because they don't meet EU safety standards. Yet, I know of several parents who bought them for fairly young kids this Christmas. These aren't working class or welfare recipients either. I don't think I would let my child play rugby never mind get on a Hoverboard or scrambler.

lertsnim wrote: »

if that is a reference to me you are mistaken. It seems people can't have views other than what has been socially engineered.

Lux23 wrote: »
    The Balance Boards are potentially very dangerous both through their use and because they don't meet EU safety standards. Yet, I know of several parents who bought them for fairly young kids this Christmas. These aren't working class or welfare recipients either. I don't think I would let my child play rugby never mind get on a Hoverboard or scrambler.

We shouldn't ban stuff though. If people are stupid enough to do it then let them.

Lux23 wrote: »

Scramblers are brilliant but in the right place with the right safety equipment, yes they are still dangerous but show the bike the respect it deserves and it's less likely to bite you. Drive it around like it's a TT bike and it's going to bite you, they certainly don't have the same control on tarmac as a road bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

These bikes aren't road legal. No indicators or lights. Cannot therefore be insured.

They're designed for off road use. They're very powerful and easily outstrip the novice capabilities of many children.

So you buy your kid a blatantly illegal, high powered, off road specific motorbike in an urban environment.

Happy Christmas son, go break the law and put yourself in extreme danger of serious injury or death. I can see no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭fall

I rang the guards one day because two maniacs came in to the estate on scramblers and proceeded to race each other while young children played on the green. They drove across the green repeatedly and up and down the roads. The guards said they are not allowed to chase them under health and safety laws. once I heard that I fully believe that they should be confiscated in urban areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

These bikes aren't road legal. No indicators or lights. Cannot therefore be insured.

you can buy / put together street-legal kits :

http://www.amazon.com/2004-2013-CRF250X-CRF450X-Street-Lighting/dp/B004E27O3G

but as you point out, it wouldn't make any difference anyway

They're designed for off road use. They're very powerful and easily outstrip the novice capabilities of many children.

So you buy your kid a blatantly illegal, high powered, off road specific motorbike in an urban environment.

Happy Christmas son, go break the law and put yourself in extreme danger of serious injury or death. I can see no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

One little gob****e on his new scrambler bike booting up and down the estate my parents live in at 6am on Xmas morning. No lights on the thing and he wasnt even wearing a helmet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

theteal wrote: »
    Is this a thing? I've never seen a kid on a scrambler tbh. I think I half-heard of a news report about something happening in Ballyer (which is only 10 mins away from where my folks live) when I was back over the xmas
    MarkR wrote: »
    A 16 year old died on Christmas day from this sort of messing.

http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/teen-boy-died-tragic-christmas-7070522

Can't control horses. Can't control bikes. Parents must have an idea of what's going on.

The Ballyfermot one was crazy. There was at least 40 lads on scramblers from about 6 a.m. booting it up and down the road. They had congregated to commemorate their friend who had dies the previous Christmas while joyriding. It's a cruel bit of irony, but hardly unexpected for one of them to be killed. Didn't stop the rest of them going out the next day though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,750 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

If only there was laws in the country where driving such a vehicle in a public place was illegal...oh wait there already is. What next a levy on petrol to pay for their funerals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

A few years ago I was driving through a housing estate I was passing through to get to my own. A young lad on one of the smaller scramblers came out of an alleyway just as I was passing out into the road and hit into the side door of my van. Luckily no damage done to either the child or my van. I got out to make sure everything was fine and helped him pick the bike up and his mother came hurtling down the same alleyway on a scrambler herself trying to lay the blame on me then!! She backed off when others began siding with me. Could have been a lot different though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

It is very top heavy on the scrambler owning social welfare side though

Mod:

Enough of the baseless generalising

If only there was laws in the country where driving such a vehicle in a public place was illegal...oh wait there already is. What next a levy on petrol to pay for their funerals?

I did laugh out loud when the Lord Mayor said they need legislation around them. Although she is a Shinner so....