Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lemmy RIP

• 29-12-2015 12:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭

Never be another like him :mad::mad:

Pretty apt song from Motorheads latest album

Lemmy.....YOU FCUKIN LEGEND

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Ah ffs.

Literally will never be another like him.

RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Killed by death.

That's one gig on my bucket list I'll never tick.

Legend, RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Now it's not broken yet but Sandra Araya (Tom, Slayers wife) just posted it, hoping it's not true but he's been very ill lately, still looking for a reputable link, think Eddie Trunk broke it

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

scudzilla wrote: »
    Now it's not broken yet but Sandra Araya (Tom, Slayers wife) just posted it, hoping it's not true but he's been very ill lately, still looking for a reputable link, think Eddie Trunk broke it

https://twitter.com/EddieTrunk/status/681630612919312384

https://twitter.com/OzzyOsbourne/status/681633743862235136

RIP

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Sh1t, has he really died? Only see a tweet from Eddie Trunk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

I'm not a rocker but that man seemed a legend. Rip ya big warty faced, cowboy hatted legend. Rip

byte wrote: »
    Sh1t, has he really died? Only see a tweet from Eddie Trunk

Scotty Ian (Anthrax) is on it now too, seems like it's just breaking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

Scott Ian and Ozzy Osbourne have just tweeted about it too. Very sad day,one of Rock N' Rolls very few proper legends gone.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

I thought he must be invincible to survive as long as he did with his lifestyle. What happened? RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,826 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

More **** news.

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Some classic Lemmy moments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,470 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Ah feck one on my bucket list I won't see now

Rip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

😔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

The man was some man for one man.

RIP to a legend!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Ah jesus.Another legend gone.

Rip Lemmy.
    An absolute legend.And a true rock and roller!!

I dont know how he lasted this long with his lifestyle though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭asteroids over berlin

RIP - hardcore until the end IiiI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

2015 reaps another legend. RIP Lemmy part of the soundtrack of my youth!

Going to have a shot of Whiskey in your honour now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Death or Glory, Death or Glory
    March forever in the sound and fury
    Death or Glory, Death or Glory
    Blood and iron it's the same old story

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

RIP - hardcore until the end IiiI

Smoked since he was 12 I think and was never without a JD in his hand.
    If youre not a lemmy fan just read his biography "white line fever"
    So funny and a real insight into a legend.

From Motorhead's FB page

There is no easy way to say this…our mighty, noble friend Lemmy passed away today after a short battle with an extremely aggressive cancer. He had learnt of the disease on December 26th, and was at home, sitting in front of his favorite video game from The Rainbow which had recently made it’s way down the street, with his family.
    We cannot begin to express our shock and sadness, there aren’t words.
    We will say more in the coming days, but for now, please…play Motörhead loud, play Hawkwind loud, play Lemmy’s music LOUD.
    Have a drink or few.
    Share stories.
    Celebrate the LIFE this lovely, wonderful man celebrated so vibrantly himself.
    HE WOULD WANT EXACTLY THAT.
    Ian ‘Lemmy’ Kilmister
    1945 -2015
    Born to lose, lived to win.

Even beavis and butthead refused to take the piss out of Lemmy, rip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭droidman123

The word "legend" is often over used,but lemmy was a true legend in the rock and roll world.i seen motorhead many times in the 80,s and 90,s and no other band that i seen rocked the venue like they did.r.i.p lemmy you are and always will be the ace of spades.....you will be sadly missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

RIP, just goes to show you should enjoy yourself to the max at all times, 70 is a good long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

Haven't Motorhead basically been on tour since they started?

Like they've been almost constantly on the go for decades?

Fair play to the man, he was obviously built like an ox to live the life he did.

R.I.P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

An absolute legend who never got the credit he deserved as a lyricist

https://youtube.com/watch?v=YZrntE3vNe8

weemcd wrote: »
    Haven't Motorhead basically been on tour since they started?

Like they've been almost constantly on the go for decades?

Fair play to the man, he was obviously built like an ox to live the life he did.

R.I.P

He was gigging a few months ago they had to cancel gigs because he obviously wasn't up to it, man always said he'd be happy to die to on a stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

So sad to hear the news.
    R.I.P.
    The Ace Of Spades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

RIP Lemmy, I wasn't a big fan of Motorhead but he was a legend nonetheless.

Bambi wrote: »
    He was gigging a few months ago they had to cancel gigs because he obviously wasn't up to it, man always said he'd be happy to die to on a stage

Not entirely correct, a few months ago theyt cancelled a few shows in The U.S, Lemmy was ill and they blamed it on altitude/heat

Since then they completed the first Euro Leg of the Bad Magic Tour, the last gig being in Germany on Dec 11th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

It's been coming for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

Crap! Rip you legend!

Philthy Phil only died a wee while back too, wurzel is gone a few years now I think.

Some band for one band

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

There he goes. One of God's own prototypes. A high-powered mutant of some kind never even considered for mass production. Too weird to live, and too rare to die.

Imagine God or the devil meeting Lemmy........ He was hve them in his pocket in a minute. And I bet he makes them talk upwards to the microphone too.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

no way.....absoutely gutted :(

in fairness he was lucky....drinking a bottle of jack daniels a day since he was 30! not long after philty too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Another legend gone
    I won't show your greed the only card I need is the ace of spades
    Rip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭dasdog

RIP. Time for 1973 Hawkwind and bourbon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

Rip lemmy, you'll be sorely missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Awesome version of Ace Of Spades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭derm0j073

Rip Lemmy, killed by death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Gaygooner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Sonderkommando

Sad news, his health was rapidly declining, glad I seen them 20+ times throughout the years. Had a ticket to a UK show in the new year, not that it matters now.

RIP Lemmy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Can't believe this, so sad, we were playing Motorhead over Christmas.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Not at all surprising but still he was a legend, given how he abused his body it's remarkable he lasted that long.

Loved the story from Ozzy's book, Lemmy was in Don Arden's library, Arden was trying to get Sharon (Osbourne) to get rid of him 'who the f*ck is this caveman in my library' her response was 'relax it's just Lemmy, he's in the band supporting Ozzy' his response was 'Well, for Christ sake at least get him a deckchair and put him out by the pool, he looks like the undead' then Lemmy walks into the room looks around and says 'F*ck me, Ozzy if I look half as bad as you then I'm going back to bed, right now' :pac:

This is a great song that has somehow remained unreleased, it goes a bit weird towards the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I know some of the old Bruxelles crowd will be crying into their whiskys tonight.

RIP Lemmy, RIP Flanders bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Had the privilege of seeing Motorhead in Zaragoza, Spain in June 2009, I remember the day, it was the day after Micheal Jackson died as it was all over the news the whole weekend I was gone.

Seen a few pictures and performances of him of late, not at all surprised, he had been looking increasingly very ill and gaunt for the last 2 years. Apparently he was only diagnosed with an aggressive form of cancer on Stephen's Day just gone and it got him in just 2 days after he found out. I thought that he had cancer or something for the last while but articles just said he had diabetes and some heart problems and he had a pacemaker fitted.

He's some trooper for doing shows up until the end really. Truly loved what he did.

Just saw Metallica wrote a lovely message about him on Facebook, was expecting it as they are very fond of Lemmy and he was fond of them also and did they odd one off performance together and covered each other's songs. I'd imagine they are devastated over it, they seemed good pals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Ah no. Terrible news.
    My trips to LA have always included a few nights in the Rainbow hoping he would turn up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Killed by death.

That's one gig on my bucket list I'll never tick.

Legend, RIP.

One I first ticked off the list when I seen Motorhead play the 'Kings of Rock' gig in Dalymount Park, Dublin 28th Aug 1983.

I rarely grieve for celebrity status, 'nor am I shocked when a 70 year old man dies suddenly ~ but to me Lemmy was never aging.

The mold was certainly broken with Lemmy.

RIP you beautiful bastard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

zcorpian88 wrote: »
    Just saw Metallica wrote a lovely message about him on Facebook, was expecting it as they are very fond of Lemmy and he was fond of them also and did they odd one off performance together and covered each other's songs. I'd imagine they are devastated over it, they seemed good pals.

And not wishing to start a debate on the subject, but I much preferred Motorhead cover 'Enter Sandman' than Metallica :cool: