Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

St Stephen's Night.

• 26-12-2015 4:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭

This is considered the biggest social night of the year where I live, the streets and pubs will be mobbed with people.

I'm in such a state with a hangover that I think I'll give it a miss, I don't really like crowds and I'm nervous of running in to people I haven't seen in years. ( I know that sounds weird but I genuinely would worry about something stupid like that. :pac:)

So will you be going out or staying in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

It's Wren night. I am staying the fck in and away from that lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

We are going out. My best friend is moving back to London so making the most of having her around!

My boyfriends friends are going out at 5! Lunatics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

The last time I went out on Boxing Night I was underage. Working though, best night of the year making enemies, horrible night for anyone who has to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Going to have the dinner around 5 and then bring my wife's uncle out for 3 pints before the mayhem begins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Sonderkommando

Not a chance, darts world championship on telly from six onwards and a load of drink and leftover food to consume.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

This is considered the biggest social night of the year where I live, the streets and pubs will be mobbed with people.

I'm in such a state with a hangover that I think I'll give it a miss, I don't really like crowds and I'm nervous of running in to people I haven't seen in years. ( I know that sounds weird but I genuinely would worry about something stupid like that. :pac:)

So will you be going out or staying in?

Yeah, there's always two ways that can go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I just back in, and intend to stay here.

Menas wrote: »
    It's Wren night. I am staying the fck in and away from that lot.

You look like a wren?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Nodin wrote: »
    You look like a wren?

Yeah! This is me earlier today...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

I only left the house to pop down to Argos for the clearence sale as I really needed a laptop bag. Pavillions was jammers so I just got what I needed and didn't linger. Going to stay in, relax and listen to some music. I got a new phone off my parents so my evening will be spent calibrating it and transfering all the stuff from my old one. Pretty standard stuff.
    I *will* be going out early on New Year's Eve (AFAIK) so I'm looking forward to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

on Boxing Night

Oh, now you've gone and done it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I don't drink and I don't like pubs, especially on nights like Boxing Night when they're crowded and noisy, so I will be staying in.

I'm sitting supping on a hot whiskey considering whether I should go out for a few hours or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

It used to be great craic going out on Boxing night for a bit of the auld diabhlaiocht. Now I'd rather go to my local teach tábhairne for a nice quiet pint of Guinness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

RayM wrote: »
    I don't drink and I don't like pubs, especially on nights like Boxing Night when they're crowded and noisy, so I will be staying in.

What is this boxing night you all speak of..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

not yet wrote: »

It's what they call St Stephen's night over on the Mainland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

It's where everyone goes out early, gets hammered and boxes the heads off each other. Great craic altogether :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

I prefer to sit in and watch the sport on Boxing day. I can only imagine that it'd be a very messy night in the pubs and clubs.

Berserker wrote: »
    I prefer to sit in and watch the sport on Boxing day. I can only imagine that it'd be a very messy night in the pubs and clubs.
    Can't beat a bit of the auld MotD on Boxing night.

It's the day after Christmas Day, I think it's called something else down the country but I can't for the life of me remember what it is now.:p

Wren Day I believe.

Happy Wren Day everyone.

Be soon time to hit the pub for the night. Going to be a big session as always!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Cannae be arsed going out to the pubs.
    Going to a dinner party and that will be plenty fun anyway.

Menas wrote: »

It's all a bit Wicker Man allright. Just shag any woman that makes herself available and ye'll be safe though.

It's what they call St Stephen's night over on the Mainland.

Cruisin for trouble, aren't ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

dmc17 wrote: »
    It's where everyone goes out early, gets hammered and boxes the heads off each other. Great craic altogether :pac:

Otherwise known as every Saturday night in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Staying in.

We went out Christmas Eve and it was either then or go tonight.
    I'm glad we chose to stay in tonight; the weather's horrible!
    There's a chance my other half's family might drop in later and normally I'd be raging but I won't mind if they do.

I'd usually be on a downer on Stephen's Day thinking Christmas is over, but I don't feel like that this year.

I've got a bottle of wine in the fridge with my name on it and nice nibbles for later.
    If there's nothing on telly, we'll stick a DVD on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

If you are in Ireland, it is St Stephen's Day.

Boxing day is for those in the UK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

The last time I went out on Boxing Night I was underage. Working though, best night of the year making enemies, horrible night for anyone who has to work.

Looks like the Brits are staying in tonight .......... that's reason enough to go out and enjoy ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I used to always go out on St Stephen's Day, it was a big thing here when the mummers used to be coming to the area.

The pubs would be packed all day but that's all gone now, still a good crowd would be out though so might go out later on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

I worked in a nightclub for 8 years, Stephens night was the absolute worst. My first year off I went out and was so excited till I realised that it's absolute mayhem, getting to the bar takes so long that you're better off ordering 4 drinks at once, and you end up bumping into so many people you haven't seen in so long that you don't really end up hanging out with your friends. It was better to be working than be the other side of the bar!

Now? Now I stay in with Die Hard or Lethal Weapon and a Corona or two. I'm not old, I'm wise. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭French_Girl

Somebody would have to come, pick me up, carry me all the way to the pub, sit me down and order the first round.
    Oh, and keep them coming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭rmchmufc

I'm staying in. I can't handle the huge crowds that will be in every pub. I didn't mind it so much a few years ago but not anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

15% off justeat (there are other online food ordering services) not a hope of me leaving the couch tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,534 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Heading out. Anyone think it would be acceptable to wear my Christmas jumper out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Pj's have already been deployed. Just waiting for the kids to go asleep so I can raid their selection boxes..
    It will either be scurvy or diabetes for the new year for me!
    Hate Stephen's night out and also New Years Eve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Hate busy nights like this. Think it comes from so many years of working in bars and having to deal with the crowds that come out on these nights. The idea of going out tonight is a nightmare.

I'm going to my Godmother's house with my Mother and we are staying in and drinking Bailey's hot chocolate and eating cheese :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

If we were in Kerry,it would be almost as big as Nollaig na mBan in Cork, but nt long hoe and wrecked so drinks at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Nah, I will be in bed soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I'm sitting here reading a Bill Bryson book, eating my first food, and I'll be staying in this position till 1 or 2am.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Went out for something to eat. Then home to catch the Downton Abbey Christmas episode.

No sign of any wren boys here in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

I am a Man United fan so I cannot show my face till we win again....... could be here for a while:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

In Spain so they dont really go out as much as here for Stephens Night, going to wait until new years eve and eat my 12 grapes and wear my red underwear for luck haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

St. Stephen's Night in the pub is for young wans, and those who need to escape!

Happy out here, horrible weather, missing nothing by not going out. Lucky me.

Normal life resumes tomorrow lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Ronin247 wrote: »
    I am a Man United fan so I cannot show my face till we win again....... could be here for a while:P

Don't make New Year Resolutions you can't keep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Gave up going to pubs years ago, you couldn't pay me to go to a put this evening. After drinking over the christmas how can people still go to the pub and hold in the drink ? Surely a person would be sick of drink at this stage. A night in with the bong and a few more good films suits me grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Zimmey

Used to love Stephen's night out as a chung wan when I really did drink to get drunk, but not into it any more. Tonight will entail hot ports, tea and homemade blueberry and apple pie with custard and whipped cream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,467 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

just finished work, few bottles at home watching TV plus I'm 26 2morrow and working too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Zimmey

nuac wrote: »

I think Donegal folk call it Boxing Day.

nuac wrote: »

I often hear Dublin folk talking of phoning the police to report a crime.

Do they sing de do do do de da da da down the line at them or something?:confused: