Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cars with blown bulbs

• 25-12-2015 12:31am
    Site Banned Posts: 137 ✭✭

Is this a new trend or something? dip beams blown along with tail lights. Things are gone to fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Is this a new trend or something? dip beams blown along with tail lights. Things are gone to fcuk.

No, has always been going on. Next question!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Wompa1 wrote: »
    No, has always been going on. Next question!

Which way to the bathroom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,750 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I blame the money racket NCT...

I blame ISIS.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Torricelli

It's definitely getting worse. It's a nightmare to change a bulb in a lot of newer cars these days. I've a Ford Mondeo and I need to remove the front grill, remove the headlight and then change the bulb. A lot of people don't have the tools or know how to change them.

The European Union should make themselves useful for once. There should be a law whereby car manufacturers have to allow for anyone to change a bulb in under five minutes.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Checked my car over before the NCT on the 21st. Failed with a blown bulb and I after checking it before leaving the house. I was like an antichrist on the way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Shannon757 wrote: »
    I blame ISIS.

I blame Edna kenny

• Site Banned Posts: 137 ✭✭MaryAntoinette

Torricelli wrote: »
    It's definitely getting worse. It's a nightmare to change a bulb in a lot of newer cars these days. I've a Ford Mondeo and I need to remove the front grill, remove the headlight and then change the bulb. A lot of people don't have the tools or know how to change them.

The European Union should make themselves useful for once. There should be a law whereby car manufacturers have to allow for anyone to change a bulb in under five minutes.

That is what you get when you drive a Ford.

Always like this. At least the yearly nct for older cars will catch this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭fenris

The plague of speed bumps doesn't help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Someone was reading the blown bulbs thread in Motors :)

Swing and a miss Sherlock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,315 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

I'm blaming Fergie

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Shannon757 wrote: »
    Which way to the bathroom?

Walk down this corridor for about 100 feet and then take a left. Keep walking until you see the Seeing Guide Dog statue thing. It should be right there on your right. Happy hunting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Great craic on country roads. One light a mile off .....motorbike....definitely a motorbike....30 metres away.....has to be a motorbike...plenty of room for me......vfoooooom! Hah! Twas a van. Where's me mirror??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    I'm blaming Fergie

Van Gaal, surely. This would never have happened in his day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Make them all LED, they would surely last longer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,315 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Van Gaal, surely. This would never have happened in his day.

Ah but shur you'll still here lads blaming Fergie for leaving a title winning team behind. Sure he ruined it all.

Down with this sort of thing.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭aziz

afaik in France by law you have to carry spare bulbs in the car and you have to change blown one as soon as you can,which i thought it was funny as i had a clio and changing headlight bulbs was a pig of a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

fenris wrote: »
    The plague of speed bumps doesn't help

Was just going to post the same. I drive a van for a living, and the thing is fukked from them. I have to drive over about 100 a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

My last car,a Toyota,was a right bastard to replace the bulbs in.

The battery had to come out first and even at that it was a struggle to fit my big Irish hands in to reach the holders.

What should take two minutes was an hours work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭pgj2015

anyone know why the rear lights on jeep's never seem to be lit up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Life is too short to be driving a Ford or a Toyota. I drive a BMW. Easy to change bulbs on.

Oh wait..... no... must remove wheel arch liner.... yes, definitely something sinister at play here

pgj2015 wrote: »

Some stupid EU law as the spare wheel is mounted to one side on rear door. JDM imports are excluded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Corpus Twisty

I've a pain in me bulb with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

That is what you get when you drive a Ford.

God help you if you drive a German car. Fords are fairly easy in comparison.

Then you have the ****ers who put them in arseways and blind the life out of you on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

Seen that suggested elsewhere on Boards in the past few days. Would be brilliant if it ever happened. Changing a bulb in my own car is a doddle, could be done in 2 mins on roadside. My daughters Stilo on the other hand.. :( Has to be done via wheel arch on drivers side, and on passenger side the battery and battery plate have to be removed. While I was checking online for info on how to do it I came across a comment from a guy in the UK who was quoted £80 by a Fiat dealer to replace a bulb. Madness.

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Walk down this corridor for about 100 feet and then take a left. Keep walking until you see the Seeing Guide Dog statue thing. It should be right there on your right. Happy hunting!

I went after 50 feet but thanks anyway....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I have an idea...

realies wrote: »
    I have an idea...

Go on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Allegebly there is an EU decree that they should be changeable at the side of the road without special tools. Or perhaps without any tools.

This is given as much heed as the emissions regulations on diesel cars.

• Moderators Posts: 51,922 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Actually met another driver on the road that had both dips and the driver side fog light gone. Only had a single fog light to drive with. *headdesk*

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

I'd go further. I'd make it part of the test to change any bulb the examiner picked.

Plus everyone carries a complete set of bulbs - no exceptions, and "No, ah shure well just show it down the station when you're passin loike."

Oh, and Happy Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,470 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Also, van drivers who obviously have a bit of weight in the back of van and don't adjust the lights for it. They dip the lights but still blind you :(

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

I've seen numerous cars with no working brake lights and only the LED strip in the middle. I've even hopped out on occasion at traffic lights to let the driver know only to be met with blank stares and incredulity.

It's not hard to check your lights in traffic in the reflection of the car in front and the glow of your brake lights when you park up

Fortunately my Civic is pretty easy to deal with. There are easily reachable screw caps on the front lights - you only need to slip off the secondary air intake inlet specific to my model.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    I blame Edna kenny

I Thought FG compared Water charge protesters to ISIL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

It could be a relay issue OP.. if multiple bulbs are blowing. Some relays are easily replaced... just unplug and fit new one.. volvos are different though. Their relays are soldered onto the circuit board in the electronics module.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭Log9

They'll all be unblowable LED arrays before too long anyway.

But I agree, they should be required to be easy to change. Some cars are utterly ridiculous.
    I find Toyota one of the best exceptions to this. Changed the bulbs on a Prius recently expecting a tech heavy nightmare and it was actually a total breeze to do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

pgj2015 wrote:

They are probably caked in grime. The lights are on but you cannot see them.

Anyone who owns a jeep should never wash them. It's the law.

4x4's? Different story. They should never be dirty. Ever.