Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Subway staff aren't trained to change their gloves after handling money

• 22-12-2015 1:02pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 123 ✭✭

At least the last two times I paid attention to it anyway. Last night this foreign one said to me "What salads would you like". I said "if you could just change your gloves after handling the cash". She paused and then replied "so you want all salads?". I repeated "if you could just change your gloves after handling the cash". Then she reluctantly changed her gloves with a sour puss.

The other issues I have with the foreign staff:

Staff "You want any sauces?"
    Me "Just a very small bit of ketchup"

All they hear is the word 'ketchup' and before you know it, there's a bucket load of it on your roll! One time, I tried to anticipate this mistake - I said "just a very small bit (and gestured) understand... small?". The fella beside me laughed, and she sarcastically replied "yes". She then poured on a bucket load and I shouted "whoaa whoa whoaaaah"! The fella beside me was in stitches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Don't ever ask for Mayo....

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Your job is full of chetchup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

What are cloves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

This is the worst thread I've ever read.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Do you change gloves in between handing over your money and eating the sandwich?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

I prefer chustard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

I blame Jared.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 123 ✭✭Do Me Good

Sam Kade wrote: »
    What are cloves?
    I thought I had it corrected in the main body too. I get my Gs and Cs mixed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭davo2001

Do Me Good wrote: »
    At least the last two times I paid attention to it. Last night this foreign one said to me "What salads would you like". I said "if you could just change your gloves after handling the cash". She paused and then replied "so you want all salads?". I repeated myself. Then she reluctantly changed her gloves with a sour puss.

Me "Just a very small bit of chetchup"

All they hear is the word 'chetchup' and before you know it, there's a bucket load of it on your role!

Maybe you should learn how to spell before berating foreign staff?

irish_goat wrote: »
    Do you change gloves in between handing over your money and eating the sandwich?
    But she's touching the food that everyone is eating. If that's the case, why bother using gloves at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

No problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

AIDES

davo2001 wrote: »
    Maybe you should learn how to spell before berating foreign staff?
    Ah, if only I'd gotten that right it'd have been such a great thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

You appear to get your C's and K's mixed up as well.

Anytime I've been in Subway, they've had a guy on the till who does the handling of money and gives you your drink and/or crisps, so never touches the sandwich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

You can get a foot long sub and a drink for 6 euro. If you want proper hygiene and food safety standards you must pay an extra euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I wish I could say Christmas turns people into hostile cretins OP, but a lot of them are like this year round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I'd agree about the changing gloves thing, I see it more often than I'd like in places.

But, OP's post is a bit on the old "Them lousy foreigners" side of things............otherwise you'd just say "staff"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

OP, it's only foreign people who do this. Foreigners have smaller brains and very poor hygiene levels compared to irish people. They're also ruder.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭BMMachine

Last night this foreign one said to me "What salads would you like".

its like you have trained this word into your head as not to sound racist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Did anyone else think this thread was about underground railways?

Cienciano wrote: »
    OP, it's only foreign people who do this. Foreigners have smaller brains and very poor hygiene levels compared to irish people. They're also ruder.
    You failed to specify that you mean non-english speaking foreigners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

diomed wrote: »
    Did anyone else think this thread was about underground railways?

I'm pretty sure people would still find a way to be offended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭BreadnBuddha

True. Bleedin' takin' owe-or jobs 'n' pulootin' owe-or lunch rowals. When the perfect Irish people leave I-oreland and become for-den-nores they're brains begin to die an' day fondle the oul' baby juice balls in our grubby littal hands, alternatin' between left 'n' right so we can make savage sambo rowals and snarl at customers for bein' native and havin' sope an' runnin' waaaather.

Plenty of dirty feckers named Eamonn or Niamh and the likes wouldn't be far off that. People can be manky. Doesn't matter where they're from or where they live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Subway is bad.

So, so bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Subway is bad.

So, so bad.

Very, very salty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

OP, it's only foreign people who do this. Foreigners have smaller brains.

The trick is to shout at them so they understand you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

Omackeral wrote: »
    The trick is to shout at them so they understand you.

No you have to say it slowly in a foreign accent and do condescending hand gestures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

Me "Just a very small bit of ketchup"

Granted it is probably years since an Irish person made me a sandwich but it is a real rookie mistake to ask for ketchup. A certain percentage of people of all nationalities are terrible at making sandwiches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭BreadnBuddha

Very, very salty.

Howaya missus. Welcome to Subway. Wha' can I getcha?

Gi's one o' dem salty footlong things wi'h mayo and meatballs. I'm gaggin' for one. Been waiting all morning to stuff one o' dem in me gob.

No problem love. Don' forget to bring a few serviettes with ye now coz that'll be a bit messy, ye know. Nice, but messy.

Ha, ha, ha, ha! Ye durty, durty baaaastard ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

But she's touching the food that everyone is eating. If that's the case, why bother using gloves at all?

Just imagine all the things you have touched before eating or touching food.
    Those gloves are an illusion.

What about when mammy makes dinner?
    You will be grand, you won't even notice a bit of dirt or the money.

You are still touching the money in your pocket and then eating the roll with the same hands. Dosent make a blind bit of notice if he touches someone else's money as well.
    You don't know where the money has been and either way, it's not gonna kill you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Does subway even have ketchup? Don't ever remember seeing ketchup in Subway.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

That's not the worst thing about Subway.
    100% of sandwich artists do not know how to make 'The Melt' properly. There is a big clue in the title of the sandwich.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

syklops wrote: »
    Does subway even have ketchup? Don't ever remember seeing ketchup in Subway.

I've noticed that certain regional varieties in what Subway offers. Some have ketchup, some have coleslaw and one particular place it seemed to be de rigour to put salt and pepper on the finished sub :eek: Friend said he was in one that offered garlic sauce but that's totally far fetched.

Just imagine all the things you have touched before eating or touching food.
    Those gloves are an illusion.

What about when mammy makes dinner?
    You will be grand, you won't even notice a bit of dirt or the money.

You are still touching the money in your pocket and then eating the roll with the same hands. Dosent make a blind bit of notice if he touches someone else's money as well.
    You don't know where the money has been and either way, it's not gonna kill you.
    The kitchen that mammy cooks doesn't have hundreds of people passing through it every day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

Hammer89 wrote:
    I'm pretty sure people would still find a way to be offended.

Screw you! That's offensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I just wish that Subway would flatten out their meatballs. Very hard to eat a meatball marinara without the meatball running away from you as you try and put it in your mouth !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

The kitchen that mammy cooks doesn't have hundreds of people passing through it every day

Neither does the counter from which the food comes from. I've worked in a shop/deli and had to do both roles (till and deli). When handling money I would take one glove off and use just the one hand for taking money and giving change, then put that same glove back on when resuming in the deli. There simply wasn't enough time and boxes of gloves to be replacing them for each customer.

Howaya missus. Welcome to Subway. Wha' can I getcha?

Gi's one o' dem salty footlong things wi'h mayo and meatballs. I'm gaggin' for one. Been waiting all morning to stuff one o' dem in me gob.

No problem love. Don' forget to bring a few serviettes with ye now coz that'll be a bit messy, ye know. Nice, but messy.

Ha, ha, ha, ha! Ye durty, durty baaaastard ye.
    that was funnier than the first!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭GreatDefector

"just a very small bit (and gestured) understand... small?"

On the 12th day of Christmas the O P gave to me .... Patronising on boards dot ie

EazyD wrote: »
    Neither does the counter from which the food comes from. I've worked in a shop/deli and had to do both roles (till and deli). When handling money I would take one glove off and use just the one hand for taking money and giving change, then put that same glove back on when resuming in the deli. There simply wasn't enough time and boxes of gloves to be replacing them for each customer.
    Well what she did just didn't look good if you know what I mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Well what she did just didn't look good if you know what I mean.

:confused: No, no we don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭SlowBlowin

I hate this PC rubbish. Everyone knew what the OP was saying, why so many jump on the PC bandwagon.

I fly from Kerry to Luton 2 of 3 times a month (with Mr. O'Leary), and it is not possible to understand the safety announcements as at least 90% of staff do not natively speak the same language as the majority of the passengers (PC way of saying foreigners).

Lets wait until a incident, get some people killed, then someone will be bold enough to make a change.

Ive never been to subway.

SB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Got to say the sauce thing wrecks my head too, also when they make the roll then put the sauce on and wrap it up so the sauce is all over the outside.

Mate asked to get mustard on one before and it was english mustard so very strong and of course it got slopped on like was mayonnaise ruined his roll.

SlowBlowin wrote: »
    I hate this PC rubbish. Everyone knew what the OP was saying, why so many jump on the PC bandwagon.

I fly from Kerry to Luton 2 of 3 times a month (with Mr. O'Leary), and it is not possible to understand the safety announcements as at least 90% of staff do not natively speak the same language as the majority of the passengers (PC way of saying foreigners).

Lets wait until a incident, get some people killed, then someone will be bold enough to make a change.

Ive never been to subway.

SB
    PC?

politically correct. Also, PC or p.c.

Showing an effort to make broad social and political changes to redress injustices caused by prejudice. It often involves changing or avoiding language that might offend anyone, especially with respect to gender, race, or ethnic background.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

SlowBlowin wrote:

Isn't that a pre-recorded safety announcement with an Irish accent?

All other live announcements are just scratch cards and after shave. Both of which propably won't cause deaths......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

dont be so sure. Some of those aftershaves are rank.

Yes there is that terrible plumb english accent recording "..taking offff", but when something happens (turbulence etc), they do not play a recorded message, they speak, generally unintelligibly.

If you sit by the emergency exits you used to get a detailed explanation you could understand. Now days most often they give you a card and say "read this".

When there is an incident, someone needs to clearly take control of the passengers (like in the Hudson river landing), this would not happen today.

SB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

I agree with the OP about the gloves. When they're making sandwiches and using the same gloves to route through the till it is pretty disgusting. I've only noticed this where there is a subway counter in a londis shop and there's only one person there most of the time.

I haven't seen it in the restaurants.