Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gerald Keane & Lisa Murphy - who do they appeal to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,050 ✭✭✭nokia69

Idiots

the state of his house, the man has no taste

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Beat's me. First time I've ever heard off them. They look like kunts though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

They're neither famous nor interesting. If you never read the Indo, you won't have heard of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Honestly, I have no idea who these people are. First time I've ever seen them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,149 ✭✭✭blackcard

My Sunday wouldn't be complete if I didn't get an update on their lives, I dream of emulating them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭annfield1978

Barry Egan is the problem, scraping the barrel in terms of celebrity news

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭BlueLass

Isn't he a solicitor I think??? True what they say though, money can't buy you taste or class!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,149 ✭✭✭blackcard

They are our Posh and Becks except without the talent

thee glitz wrote: »
    They're neither famous nor interesting. If you never read the Indo, you won't have heard of them.

Its because of people like them that I stopped buying that rag

he made the front page when he broke up with his wife, at the time I had no idea who he was, and why the Sindo thought it was the most important story of the week

very strange IMO

They appeal to one Barry Egan. And maybe each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

who's Barry Egan? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Have her boobs got bigger??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

Isn't it about time they had their annual break up, then make up and engagement number 500 announcement before appearing on the Late Late to talk about their "love" again?

Specialun wrote: »
    Have her boobs got bigger??

The ones a certain dancer bought her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Who are these people ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

blackcard wrote: »
    They are our Posh and Becks except without the talent

They aren't. Posh is part of a once world famous girls band. Becks is a renowned footballer.

This guy is a provincial solicitor. His wife is the wife of a provincial solicitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I never realised he married Dee Snider

http://www.biography.com/people/dee-snider-17181754

Hitchens wrote: »
    who's Barry Egan? :confused:

Lucky you

No really, I envy you :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Fiskar

Seem to be wheeled out like the royal couple at Christmas. Glam rags to riches, opulence at its most extreme for such an eldery cople not yet married!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

When I'm working, most days I come home and Gerald slots in a movie. He loves his movies. It was Mission: Impossible last night.

Can't buy taste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

They appeal to all of us.

They live lives that the rest of us 'ordinary' people aspire to: professional success, wealth, style, a highflying lifestyle of knowing everyone that is worth knowing and going to every event that is worth being at, the beautiful home, and the recognition, admiration, and acclaim that keeps them in the public eye.

Being Ireland though, there are always the knockers, and hurlers on the ditch, who, because they cannot achieve their own ambitions, mock those who can. Behind it though, they are only bitter from their own envy, and fuel the demand, with the rest of us, for press info on such people as the Keanes living pretty ideal lives.

Nope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭kettlehead

nokia69 wrote: »
    Idiots

the state of his house, the man has no taste

Their gaff is Marbella brothel chic. Fully fitted with enough cha to keep 100 South American brassers at it for a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Fiskar wrote: »
    saw this and thought WTF, you gives a damn and who the hell are they?

http://www.independent.ie/life/home-garden/interiors/inside-lavish-drayton-manor-the-home-of-lisa-murphy-and-gerald-kean-34292932.html

I mean, are they celebs, TV stars, models?
    Any significance they supposedly have is a fabrication by the Sunday Independent, nothing more to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭kettlehead

They aren't. Posh is part of a once world famous girls band. Becks is a renowned footballer.

This guy is a provincial solicitor. His wife is the wife of a provincial solicitor.

He's a self made man with a man made wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Nobody will convince me that Lisa Murphy wasn't born a man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

No, I think not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Fiskar

kettlehead wrote: »
    He's a self made man with a man made wife.

I don't believe he married her, she may think she married him, but don't recall any glitsy wedding and hopefully won't have to endure the Indos hype if and hopefully not that they tie the knot. At least there will be one blessing, she don't come across as the motherly kind so there won't be little Keanes running amuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

gerrybbadd wrote: »

http://www.independent.ie/style/beauty/makeup/barefaced-cheek-seven-irish-celebrities-dare-to-go-bare-30959115.html

She did that a few months ago. I'm not convinced she isn't Ian Dempsey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Kinda reminds ya of these two...

Spudmonkey wrote: »

....for the love of jaysus....that's after crappin in me eyes now......

...and born of a jackal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

They live lives that the rest of us 'ordinary' people aspire to: professional success, wealth, style, a highflying lifestyle of knowing everyone that is worth knowing and going to every event that is worth being at, the beautiful home, and the recognition, admiration, and acclaim that keeps them in the public eye.

Being Ireland though, there are always the knockers, and hurlers on the ditch, who, because they cannot achieve their own ambitions, mock those who can. Behind it though, they are only bitter from their own envy, and fuel the demand, with the rest of us, for press info on such people as the Keanes living pretty ideal lives.
    People are only wondering why they are treated with such awe, by one rag of a paper. No they don't appeal to all of us. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Stall the ball, is Mary Kennedy topless there...? Asking for a friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭PixelTrawler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,320 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

People like Barry Egan who give these two cheeks of the one arse publicity is exactly the phrase 'gutter journalism' was invented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Now I am sorry, but looking at the pics, one of that party looks transgender.

BANNED lol OOPs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

There are probably people posting on this thread who are richer. Almost certainly some people who post on AH are richer.

That's not the question though. Ireland has rich people. Some are famous. This guy is a solicitor. He's not famous. Except that he's discussed in the independent. Being a solicitor is not a famous job. It's an office job, albeit better paid than most. He's not an entrepreneur who set up a company, which might be interesting. Or a singer. Or a rock star, tv host, radio host, actor, dancer or model. Or even at a stretch a reality show contestant. Nothing. No reason for him not to be as anonymous as every other anonymous solicitor.

I mean it's like the independent is a small provincial newspaper in ballyfecktard that thinks it has to have a local celeb because big papers in de city have famous celebs in lifestyle sections so it keeps showing the life style of ballyfecktard's solicitor. His 5 bedroomed mansion. His wife. His souped up Honda Civic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

One is a brainless, trout-mouthed celebrity cock-jockey, and apparently the other is/was some sort of model.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Corpus Twisty

Holly cheated....and Pippa is a natural looker.

There are probably people posting on this thread who are richer. Almost certainly some people who post on AH are richer.

That's not the question though. Ireland has rich people. Some are famous. This guy is a solicitor. He's not famous. Except that he's discussed in the independent. Being a solicitor is not a famous job. It's an office job, albeit better paid than most. He's not an entrepreneur who set up a company, which might be interesting. Or a singer. Or a rock star, tv host, radio host, actor, dancer or model. Or even at a stretch a reality show contestant. Nothing. No reason for him not to be as anonymous as every other anonymous solicitor.

I mean it's like the independent is a small provincial newspaper in ballyfecktard that thinks it has to have a local celeb because big papers in de city have famous celebs in lifestyle sections so it keeps showing the life style of ballyfecktard's solicitor. His 5 bedroomed mansion. His wife. His souped up Honda Civic.

Thats some negative vibe there man. Jealous much ?

Sure, some are wealthier (not too many though as a proportion), some do more unique jobs.

But its the full package that make Keane such an attractive role model. Most solicitors are below the radar. But thats because the simply arent at his level of living life at 110%, being the go to solicitor for particularly difficult cases, or for those with public profiles who need his first hand experience of their world, not to mention the fundraising, charity work, pro bono legal work, and general benefit to Irish society and life in general through his media and journalistic contributions.

Some people are just made of the right stuff, and achieve.
    Other arent, and dont even understand the drive and talent of those who are extraordinary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Sure, some are wealthier (not too many though as a proportion), some do more unique jobs.

But its the full package that make Keane such an attractive role model. Most solicitors are below the radar. But thats because the simply arent at his level of living life at 110%, being the go to solicitor for particularly difficult cases, or for those with public profiles who need his first hand experience of their world, not to mention the fundraising, charity work, pro bono legal work, and general benefit to Irish society and life in general through his media and journalistic contributions.

Other arent, and dont even understand the drive and talent of those who are extraordinary.

I know plenty solicitors and most of them are either criminals, or head-cases, or both. Keane is a lucky little wanker who's made too much of by the gobadaw Sindo set.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Now I am sorry, but looking at the pics, one of that party looks transgender.

BANNED lol OOPs.

The one wearing the glasses is it ? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I've met Lisa a couple of times when she owned a beauty parlour near me. She's actually a very nice person, but why the **** anyone considers either of them to be celebs is beyond me.

Piss poor wind up/trolling, far too obvious

nokia69 wrote: »
    Piss poor wind up/trolling, far too obvious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

In fairness to the man, he made his fortune by courting wealthy artists to funnel their affairs through Ireland due to the tax exemptions Ireland used to offer artists. He was one of the first, if not the first, to recognise this niche and has made a pretty penny for himself. So fair play to him for that.

But the above is the reason that he get trumpeted by the independent. Keane has genuinely famous clients and therefore access.

The lack of imagination in the Irish media is also a contributory factor as well, as he often appears as a commentator on tv and radio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

She's a past pupil of my daughter's (all girls) school, so it goes back a long way if so.

She was kind enough to return to the school to add a bit of glamour for an event a few years back. When I asked my daughter what she was like, I was told that she was very nice, and she brought her daddy with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

It kinda makes you the peoples revolution was actually ever going to happen just so we could strangle them on their own entrails

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

I genuinely don't understand what the Sunday Independent is supposed to be. I used to read the daily one before it became all tabloidy, but even back when the daily one wasn't too bad, the Sunday one was always full of "celeb" gossip about people who are only famous in the Sunday Independent. It's like they've picked a bunch of random people and decided they can make us care about them if they just keep feeding us mundane stories. Who is buying it anymore though?!

Maybe it's all an elaborate social experiment? What if they revealed after 20 years that it was all just a sociology study into media influence? :pac: