Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things that annoy you about Xmas

• 19-12-2015 7:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭

Tis the season to be jolly, but what really annoys you about Xmas??

For me it's John Lennons song War is Over. "And so this is Christmas, And what have you done?, Another year over, A new one just begun"

There's still another week left John, catch a grip of yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Blue outdoor Christmas lights. In the distance, they look like a serious incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

People who spell Christmas with an X.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I generally like Christmas. I hate that idiot companies/shops start advertising and putting up Christmas decorations in fcuking September!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Ah you have to wear a Xmas jumper, it's a bit of craic. No it's a stupid looking jumper. I've never been anywhere at any time where a jumper has impacted on the craic had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

RayM wrote: »
    Blue outdoor Christmas lights. In the distance, they look like a serious incident.

I keep wanting to pull over the car, like there's an ambulance or police car behind me :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Shops like warzone/
    People buying Food like it's the end of the world
    Too much chocolate/sweets being forced onto you
    Forced craic in overcrowded pubs

And worst of all work nights out/Xmas parties

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 126 ✭✭Whyohwhy?

The whole fcukin lead up to it, it's grand on the day, and the days after, but the **** before is a load of me bollix tbh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Christmas jumpers and the 12 pubs shoite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

People who say 'Chrimbo'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

"Are you all set?"

"Have you all done?"

"Are you all ready for Santa?"

"When do you finish up?"

*twitch*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

libelula wrote: »
    "Are you all set?"

"Have you all done?"

"When do you finish up?"

*twitch*

"Did you have a good Christmas?"

"Ah, it was quiet enough"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Bunch of Scrooges the lot of ye! 😄

The worst thing that can happen over Christmas is that I put my sticky little fist in the tub of sweets, swirl around the metric tonne of wrappers that have defied the laws of physics to inhabit it, and come up with what appears to be the last goddamn sweetie, and it's a disgusting abomination like a strawberry cream. :(

Even worse is when someone (usually a child, and you're not allowed beat them up), puts their hand in after you, and you say 'Ha! Tough! I got the last one!' and they pull out a chocolate caramel or something else you really love. Little gits.

War, famine, disease, pestilence - nothing on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Corpus Twisty

The crowds. Hell is other people..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Candie wrote: »
    I put my sticky little fist in the tub of sweets, swirl around the metric tonne of wrappers that have defied the laws of physics to inhabit it, .

This is what I hate about christmas. People putting the wrappers back in the tin. Put 'em in the bleedin' bin!!!

Ah you have to wear a Xmas jumper, it's a bit of craic. No it's a stupid looking jumper. I've never been anywhere at any time where a jumper has impacted on the craic had.

Yeah, anyone who purposely pays money for the a horrible geansi that can only be worn maybe once or twice a year should be shot with balls of their own shoite.Twice for d!ckheads in a group, all in the same poxy jumper...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

People who think they are great as they have got their Christmas shopping done in October/November, I mean for feck sake get a life.

Pogues

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭GFT

That you can't bitch about Christmas without some idiot calling you a Scrooge or a Grinch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Ten minutes after I leave the house, the little creeping doubt kicks in. Did I unplug all the lights? What about the ones in the back room? I distinctly remember unplugging them, but maybe I'm remembering when I unplugged them yesterday?
    Spend the rest of the day convinced I'll come home to a blazing inferno. It's like the hair-straightener/gas-cooker paranoia multiplied by a factor of ten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭wetlandsboy

I'm originally from a small town in the west of Ireland. Every Christmas I always see the various sons and daughters out in the local, and note that they always have that 'I'm back in the sticks away from my sophisticated city lifestyle' swagger about them. They constantly seem to wish to project an impression of success. Really annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Arbitrary

People who think they are great as they have got their Christmas shopping done in October/November, I mean for feck sake get a life.

I had all mine done in the first week of December but not so I can be a smug ahole about it. The only reason I do mine early is because I just can't stand the bedlam of Christmas shopping once you hit the 2nd week of December. Now I've got the whole of next week to chill and no stressmass misery to endure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

Those people who're all over you like flies on sh*t for the Christmas period, pure fake niceness and the like. Then as soon as the new year boils down they go back to never even making eye contact with you or saying hi and showing their true colours. In short I hate the fakeness that Christmas brings out in people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

It's Christmas!?

****e...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Joey Jo-Jo Junior

Candie wrote:
    The worst thing that can happen over Christmas is that I put my sticky little fist in the tub of sweets, swirl around the metric tonne of wrappers that have defied the laws of physics to inhabit it, and come up with what appears to be the last goddamn sweetie, and it's a disgusting abomination like a strawberry cream.

You and I have vastly different interpretations of the word 'abomination'! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Went to see Star Wars yesterday and the majority of the people were wearing Star Wars t-shirts, etc. Only one person in the cinema looked ridiculous.

Who was it?

The f*cking idiot in the christmas jumper.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Went to see Star Wars yesterday and the majority of the people were wearing Star Wars t-shirts, etc. Only one person in the cinema did not look ridiculous.

Who was it?

in the christmas jumper.

Is this not more true?

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Went to see Star Wars yesterday and the majority of the people were wearing Star Wars t-shirts, etc. Only one person in the cinema looked ridiculous.

Who was it?

The f*cking idiot in the christmas jumper.

I've often chatted with friend/colleagues about their weekend. Sometimes they'll say they had the best weekend ever. I've never asked what jumper they wore so I could have the same craic the following week. I actually have to go to a party tonight where you "have" to wear a Xmas jumper.

Don't, just piss them off for the sake of it.

Whyohwhy? wrote: »
    Don't, just piss them off for the sake of it.

It's one of them where if I don't I'll be tormented for the night. Thank god a friend spent €30+ on a jumper for me last year as a joke because I'm a "grinch"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

The only things that annoy me about Christmas are the Christmas jumpers. And the Christmas songs. And the shoppers. And wrapping presents. And getting Christmas cards (only one so far this year. :) ). And family members trying to keep me prisoner in their house, trying to convince me that I won't have a better (less head-wrecking) time at home alone.
    libelula wrote: »
    "Are you all set?"

"When do you finish up?"

*twitch*
    RayM wrote: »
    "Did you have a good Christmas?"

"Ah, it was quiet enough"
    Oh yeah, this stuff too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭deex

The fact that out of ALL the different boxes of chocolates out there... delicious Heroes, Celebrations, Roses, Quality Street etc, my mother insists on spending her money on LEMONS every single year of my life.

Lemons!
    Sucking on literal lemons would be an improvement on those f*cking disgusting sweets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

deex wrote: »
    The fact that out of ALL the different boxes of chocolates out there... delicious Heroes, Celebrations, Roses, Quality Street etc, my mother insists on spending her money on LEMONS every single year of my life.

Lemons!
    Sucking on literal lemons would be an improvement on those f*cking disgusting sweets.

Are you a 50 yr old still living with mammy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭B17G

Yeah, anyone who purposely pays money for the a horrible geansi that can only be worn maybe once or twice a year should be shot with balls of their own shoite.Twice for d!ckheads in a group, all in the same poxy jumper...

Actually banned out of the front bar of the pub I was in on Thursday evening. Proper order too. Pint supping could be done in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Bellerstring

**** who have reindeer antlers stickin out of their car windows and a red furry nose stuck to the front grille.
    Since the middle of November.
    :-(

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

In short, everything about Christmas pisses me off. The crowds, the last minute shopping, the music and this 12 pubs of Christmas shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Hour long christmas day episodes of the soaps. Christmas Day with the relations isn't too bad till around 7.00 when all talk must cease and you can't watch anything else but Fair City Eastenders Corrie and Emmerdale. Death murder fire weddings births and general chaos and misery.
    Luckily i bring my dog with me and we get a nice walk in. Work off some of the dinner and then return to half eaten boxes of biscuits or sweets full of wrappers with all the nice ones gone. Aaaaarrrgggh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,734 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

The crowds. Hell is other people..

The crowds are one thing...but the socialising...

Ugh, if I liked being with people, I'd do it more than just for this single week of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The fact that there is such an onus put on "family time" watching christmas tv, particularly when the majority of what is on is pure hogwash.

RTE have an Al Porter Variety Show, a Mrs.Brown's Boys marathon and a show dedicated to Panti Bliss this festive period. I really hope Santa brings me a box set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

Bloody Fairytale of New York...again and again and again...everywhere...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Relatives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Do you have dinner/meet with family now and then? YES

Do you get on with your family/outlaws? YES

Do you ever spend a day with them watching cra[ on the TV bored out of your little skull? NOOOOOO.

That is why I dislike Christmas.

It goes on for too long and there is NO escape!!

I'm sure the visitors think the same thing often, lol.

Can be done any weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

It is a bit annoying the way you are so full after dinner but you keep picking at food even though you are not even enjoying it just because "it's Christmas".

Also last year I lost way too many games of Connect Four. Usually no one can beat me. Whatever, I'll take it back this year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Naos wrote: »
    People who say 'Chrimbo'.

And if Facekicker was still around, he probably give them a well deserved kick in the face for coming out with that shyte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

The whole fcukin lead up to it, it's grand on the day, and the days after, but the **** before is a load of me bollix tbh

I completely disagree. Christmas is like sex for me.

The build up is fantastic. It's a whole load of magic and mystery and I am excited that this one will be so much better than the others. The anticipation is wonderful.

The day itself is a bit of an anticlimax. Great fun, I enjoy it but it is never quite as good as I'd built it up to be in my head.

Once the day is over, I have no interest.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

The endless crowds at the shops in the run up to Christmas.

Spending the day with people you rather wouldn't. Everyone trying too hard to be merry and jolly.

The anti-climax that is St. Stephens Day.

DeanAustin wrote: »

The build up is fantastic. It's a whole load of magic and mystery and I am excited that this one will be so much better than the others. The anticipation is wonderful.

The day itself is a bit of an anticlimax. Great fun, I enjoy it but it is never quite as good as I'd built it up to be in my head.

Yep, sounds exactly like sex the way you described it.

Bad sex...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Bellerstring

DeanAustin wrote: »

A whole load of magic and mystery.....?
    What's so mysterious???
    Is it like Hobbiton or Rivendell or....Helms Deep?
    Perhaps Hogwarts?
    Please share!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,738 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Playing a session early December in Taaffe's Bar in Shop St Galway, fine jigs and reels from the West of Galway blasting out and an amiable crowd enjoying. Half an hour in, 12 pubs of Xmas crowd walks in, all female and roaring drunk. WAHAAY!, drunk dancing WOOOPHEE! No one can work out what the hell the other musician is playing because no one can hear over the din. One musician says to the other WTF! are we playing, other musician says I dunno? Twenty five minutes later, 12 pubs of Xmas leaves. Phew!

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I hate the way Shane MacGowan will be forever immortalised because of that Christmas song. The most overrated song of all time, and not one of my favourite human beings. Has he no respect for his body?