Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random sentances of Irish you remember from school and their English transation

• 19-12-2015 5:20pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10

"Is maith liom cáca milis"

If I remember right it means "I like/love sweets"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭mattP

Im fairly sure it means "I love cake", "milseain"* (or something like that) means sweets :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

"An bhfuil cead agam ag dul go dtí on leithiris"

Do I have permission to go too the toilet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

"dubh le daoine" - a phrase we learned for writing essays about beaches - "black with people" (a large crowd)
    "Lig se/si screic as" - My spelling's wild on that, but "S/he let a shriek out of him/her" - another essay favourite.
    "An bhfuil cad agam dul amach go dti an leitris, a mhuinteoir?" - Can I go out to the toilet, teacher
    "striapach" - the only Irish word anyone in the class learned from that bloody An Triail book.

And of course the Children of the Corn-like creep factor of thirty girls standing up at once and intoning with exactly the same inflections "Dia is Muire dhuit is Paidraig, failte romhat isteach [teacher name/head nun name/priest name]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Tiocfaidh ár lá.

(Means Brits out)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Ta ucras uram / The hunger is on me.
    Oscail on doras / open the door
    Oscail on Finuogue / open the window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I cant write it and I am not willing to write it phonetically :), but the Irish for 'close the door'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

Chuaigh me ag snamh leis na duilloga ar an ghrian.

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

D'ith an madra mo obair bhaile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

looksee wrote: »
    I cant write it and I am not willing to write it phonetically :), but the Irish for 'close the door'

Dún an doras :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Is cuimhin liom a lán lán rudaí PB!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭carefulnowted

Slán leat agus go n-éirí an t-ádh leat.
    Goodbye and best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

It was difficult to learn Irish in probably the 2 must important years of school, 5th and 6th year. That's because the beautiful man that was my Irish teacher thought I'd learn it better by him beating the sh1t out of me for those 2 years. Funnily enough, he was wrong.

If the man is dead, I hope he's burning in hell.

That felt good. Thanks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10 FreekALeek

XR3i wrote: »
    D'ith an madra mo obair bhaile

Thew dog ate my homework?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

"Tá an friotal lom gonta sa dán/scéal seo" ("The language is clear and concise in this poem/story"). I used that to describe pretty much everything on the Junior Cert paper...

My Irish got a lot better after that but for the Junior Cert I just learned off a whole load of phrases from a revision book and used em in every answer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

Ce leis e sin?

Or something like that. Not sure of the exact translation but presumably what eejit lost their copy/jumper/pencil case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭gnarbarian

Ciúnas bothar cailín bainne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Sé uair don céad lá eile. - - Do it 6 times for the next day.
    Usually a penalty shouted at you for not having homework done.
    Lá breá samhraidh a bhí ann.-- Twas a grand summers day.
    Ná bac le mhac bocht an bacach. -- Don't bother with the cripples poor son.( or words to that effect )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Thum se isteach san uisce - He dived into the water.

My 6th class teacher put so much emphasis into Thum, as if to make it dramatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Samaris wrote: »
    "An bhfuil cad agam dul amach go dti an leitris, a mhuinteoir?" - Can I go out to the toilet, teacher

Cad = 1. Scrotum or by extension 2. a football.

Your sentence translates as "teacher, ( 1. ) have I the balls to go out to the toilet ( or 2. ) have I a football to go out to the toilet?"

Why didn't you pick a nicer place to play football?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Tóg amach an teilgeoir.

(Take out the slide projector). Remember when that would be wheeled out and you'd watch an endless series of slides about going to the dentist etc? I came across them lately here.

Be warned, that site may induce extreme flashbacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

Où est le Centre de Georges Pompidou?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

Ar nos na gaoithe - like the wind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

"Léigh anois go cúramach, ar do scrúdpháipéar…"

Something about reading the exam paper carefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭xLisaBx

RayM wrote: »
    "Léigh anois go cúramach, ar do scrúdpháipéar…"

Something about reading the exam paper carefully.

Léigh anois go cúramach ar do scrúpháipéar, na treollacha agus na ceisteanna a ghobhainn le chuid A/B/C
    This was the instruction on both the JC and LC Irish listening components to the exam. Usually followed by the dreaded northern irish accent, where nobody could understand a thing that was said.
    The only reason I remember this is because I frequently failed the listening component and performed well in all other components.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Cead mile failte romhat, a Iosa a Iosa.

A hundred thousand welcomes, oh Jesus oh Jesus.

Not a phrase but a song I must have sung hundreds of times!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Níl a fhios agam. I don't know.

My most repeated phrase in Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭deex

Seanfocals! All I remember is bloody seanfocals! We learned one every week in primary school and very little other Irish - no idea what the logic was in that.

Off the top of my head:

- aithnionn ciarog ciarog eile
    - tus maith leath na hobire
    - tir gan teanga, tir gan anam
    - is fearr gaeilge briste na bearla cliste
    - is glas iad na cnoic i bhfad uainn

etc etc. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Níl aon scaimall sa spéir

There are no clouds in the sky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,532 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Is cuma liom.

I don't care. I haven't changed a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

The phrase that I'd use at the end of almost every one of my Irish stories, ''Ta se an briongloid nach dheanfaidh me dearmad uirthi go deo'', which means ''that was a dream that I'd never forget'', all of my stories were shyte and I never knew how to finish them so I'd end it by waking up from a terrible dream. Usually these stories involved ''gadai'' - robbers or a ''timpiste'', accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

deex wrote: »
    Seanfocals! All I remember is bloody seanfocals! We learned one every week in primary school and very little other Irish - no idea what the logic was in that.

Off the top of my head:

So, did your Gaeilge stay 'briste' or did the brainwashing work?

For people don't know, here are the translation of those above:
    - Aithníonn ciaróg ciaróg eile. [A beetle recognises another beetle = It takes one to know one.]
    - Tús maith leath na hoibre [A good start is half the work.]
    - Tír gan teanga, tír gan anam [A land without a language is a land without a soul.]
    - Is fearr Gaeilge briste ná béarla cliste [Broken Irish is better than clever English].
    - Is glas iad na cnoic i bhfad uainn [meaning 'The grass is always greener on the other side', although literally 'The hill is greener...'.]

I did my Leaving Cert in 1990, and our Irish teacher got us to write essays on a certain few topics which we were supposed to remember/adapt for the essay question in the exam. The most 'famous' one was about 'dífhostaíocht' (unemployment, which was in abundance back then too).

If I met one of the lads from my class now, 25 years later (:eek: ) and said 'Nagorno-Karabakh', the response would probably be "Freaker!", our teacher's nickname. In the late 80s and early 90s, there was a war in Nagorno-Karabakh between the Armenians and Azerbaijanis. We could write prolifically about this 'as Gaeilge'.

Then, a few years ago, a German band that I like released a song called 'Nagorny Karabach'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

Chuaigh me go sasana ar mo laethantha saoire anuragh so I did.
    Pardon the spelling, I am of the Ulster dialect

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 178 ✭✭BenedrylPete

I have an Irish phrase that pops up in my brain rarely.

However, on the one occasion in my life in which it might have been useful it escapes me.

This is consistent with my history of Irish at which I failed from beginning to end throughout school.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Is mise Grainne De Paor

Or

Is mise Bart Simpson, cé e tusa?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭AppleBottle

Líon na bearnaí - fill in the lines.

Tá an ghrian ag scoilteadh na gcloch.

"The sun is splitting the stones."

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Tá an ghrian ag scoilteadh na gcloch.

"The sun is splitting the stones."

O mhaidin go hoiche

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

deex wrote: »

Off the top of my head:

They were on boxes of matches, by any chance was your teacher a smoker?

Níl aon tinteán mar do thinteán féin is one that I particularly remember (No fireplace like your own) I had written 7/8 foolscap pages of an Irish essay, including as many feelings/emotions/cliches and sayings as possible. So then just had to wrangle the LC topic to suit and I think that was the one I chose.

"m'Umbro top" :p

las an solas. - switch on the light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭Wailin

Pog mo thoin.

Seanbhan is ea mise anois...

Opening words of Peig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Bhí na cat ag laoi ar an féar ag crú na greinne

My spelling is woeful but it roughly translates as 'the cat was lying on the grass milking the sun'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Hug aoife na lany egg mark-e-act la. Something about a couple of people going on a bike ride I believe.

No ****ing idea what it was, wasted their time trying to teach me. No interest, and to this day, believe in the real world, a waste of ****ing time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,238 ✭✭✭Patser

Fliuch do craiceann

Wet to the skin I think. But just something lovely about the harshness of the words that expresses the pissed offedness of the situation.

Also poginí gréinne - little sun kisses aka freckles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

I have an Irish phrase that pops up in my brain rarely.

However, on the one occasion in my life in which it might have been useful it escapes me.

This is consistent with my history of Irish at which I failed from beginning to end throughout school.

Same here. The utter, utter failure to learn anything further than prepositional pronouns in primary school has rendered me only able to recite lists of them perfectly (but uselessly, since I can't actually make a sentence :( ).

I can recall exactly where I was standing and who stood next to me as we recited these from 2nd to 6th class. Brainwashing at it's finest.

Ar, Orm, ort, air, uirthi, orainn, oraibh, orthu
    Le, liom, leat, leis, léi, linn, libh, leo
    Do, dom, duit, dó, di, dúinn, daoibh, dóibh
    De,díom, díot, de, di, dínn, díbh, díobh
    Ag, agam, agat, aige, aici, againn, agaibh, acu
    etc., ad nauseam.

When I was in secondary school (maybe 1st year) a teacher joked about how NB meant "ná bac", which means, "don't worry/never mind". Since then, I almost instinctively ignore anything marked NB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭opiniated

Tiocfaidh ár lá.

(Means Brits out)

Er, it means "Our day will come" :D
    Hug aoife na lany egg mark-e-act la. Something about a couple of people going on a bike ride I believe.

No ****ing idea what it was, wasted their time trying to teach me. No interest, and to this day, believe in the real world, a waste of ****ing time.

Thug Aoife na leanaí ag marcaíocht, lá.

Aoife took the children riding, one day.

Just in case anyone else developed an interest, since.:P:D

I think old-school Irish teachers have a lot to answer for.

You can't learn a language by rote-learning phrases.

Pourquoi tu me frappe professeur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

feargale wrote: »
    Cad = 1. Scrotum or by extension 2. a football.

Your sentence translates as "teacher, ( 1. ) have I the balls to go out to the toilet ( or 2. ) have I a football to go out to the toilet?"

Why didn't you pick a nicer place to play football?

:pac: I never claimed my written Irish was good! I learned most of it by rote. So I can say it, but when it comes to writing it down, I tend to be fairly far off the mark. Also, I hadn't the fadhas set up on this keyboard, hence leaving them out entirely!

Mind you, I rather like the concept of asking "Have I the balls to go out to the toilet".