Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When was the last time you got in a fight?

• 17-12-2015 2:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43

A proper physical fight... Insomnia thought it very important I try to remember this one last night. I'm thinking it was around 17 years ago. A guy offended my family and was duly relieved of some teeth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

2 weeks ago today with a knack-bag I apprehended while trespassing on my work premises...

He threw first, I defended myself, he came out the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

About 20 years ago, in primary school. Can't remember if any punches thrown cos we were both pussies that were afraid of hurting our hands. Lots of shoving around and namecalling though. Vicious stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Boxing, about 16 years ago.

Got stopped in the fight, beaten up a bit, especially to the face.

Came home a few days later, mother took a look at me and asked me to stop, and I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

Probably about 10 years ago in secondary. Don't remember specifics, got in a lot of fights because being a big nerd meant people trying to pick on me. Being a big nerd with anger management problems meant trips to the principle's office and lectures about how my reaction was disproportionate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Never been in a fight, per se. Broke up a few in my time, suffered and inflicted the odd bloodied nose and such, but as the song says, you don't have to fight to be a man. Always thought a wee bit less of Kenny for letting down his Da in that song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I've never had a fight, because that insinuates it was a two-person thing, but I have been beaten up by multiple people at the same time. The last time was outside a nightclub when I was 18. Myself and some jock were squaring up to another. I had squared up to people before and nothing usually came of it, but this particular bloke headbutted me, catching me completely by surprise, before three of his mates hopped in and started throwing punches like they were going out of fashion. Blood was spilled.

I gave a statement to the guards in the station few days later. I know what you're thinking, snitches get stitches, but I already had stitches, on the top of my head to be exact, so f*ck it. But I couldn't press charges because I was very drunk and couldn't actually remember what or why it happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

I make love, not war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Couple of years ago. Mrs. Goose and I were out walking one evening and a big, thick-looking ape was out tinkering with his car with a loopy-looking alsatian frolicking about near him. We passed on the pavement and the dog went for herself. She suggested to your man that the dog should be controlled, and he held up a hefty spanner and explained to her that he was having a bad day. He was right. Six seconds later he had a broken wrist and a fractured jaw from his own spanner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Last night I came up against a legendary deathclaw on the outskirts of Diamond city. It was touch and go there for a while, proper fight to the death, luckily I managed to get some distance between us and fire my fatman which put an end to the fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Never. Yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Four years ago next week.

Some guy attacked my friend in a pub, I attacked him, his friend attacked me.

I lost my glasses and got my face cut open for my trouble.

Somehow wasn't as much fun in my late 20's as I remembered from teenage disco days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

I've never been in a fight in my life. I'd be battered!! I've the upper body strength of a plastic bag. Not even those sturdy bags for life, like one of those crappy pound shop bags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Not for quite a few years though, maybe not since I got stabbed a few years ago. To be honest, most of my 'fights' ended with me getting the ****e beaten out of me, since fighting doesn't ever go like it is on the tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

Blackwell wrote: »
    A guy offended my family and was duly relieved of some teeth.
    Are you a member of the mafia or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Around 29 years ago when I was a child.

The other boy was asking for a fight, as in he wanted a physical fight, I had refused but he kept at me so I threw a punch hit him on the nose, his nose started bleeding and that was that. No more looking for a fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Not since having kids ........ I'm prone to blowing a fuse if irritated so used to regularly have punch-ups but I wouldn't like my kids to see that side of me ....... also I've never been badly hurt in a fight but everybody's luck runs out at some stage so couldn't take that chance being a father.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭indioblack

Blackwell wrote: »
    A proper physical fight... Insomnia thought it very important I try to remember this one last night. I'm thinking it was around 17 years ago. A guy offended my family and was duly relieved of some teeth.

Many, many years ago.
    Two of my mates set upon by a bunch of guys looking for trouble.
    One of my mates ran away, [some friend!].
    I stepped forward and said "Now look here." It was the last thing I remember!
    Apparently, he hit me so hard I ended up sprawled across the bonnet of a car!
    Years later I went to karate classes to become deadly.
    Sadly, I was so bad that the rest of the class couldn't practise for laughing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Uno my Uno.

Blatant "I'm a hard man me" thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Canadel wrote: »

Or a dentist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I've never hit anyone but was nutted for no reason about 20 years ago by some scobe looking for trouble.

Hopefully he'll die roaring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Blackwell

Canadel wrote: »

WHO TOLD YOU??? No... of course not... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Blatant "I'm a hard man me" thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

The most aggressive fight I've ever been in just lead to being pushed. It was on a night out, myself and my best friend. We were both walking onto the Main Street to get a taxi when these older ladies who were sitting on a bench asked for a lighter. I don't smoke, so I said "sorry, don't smoke".

Your one leaped up after me and in broken English started shouting "fking liar! Fking liar!" So, naturally I walk back towards her and I just say "sorry, did you say something?" So she's all up in my face shouting at me saying all she wanted was a fking lighter, and she shoved me. Oh hell naw bitch! So of course I shoved her back.

She starts ranting about fking Irish, fking Irish this, fking Irish that. Ranting about how she pays taxes in this country, and I'm like oh right, didn't know prostitutes paid taxes and god it riled her altogether, she's practically foaming at the mouth. My friend is asking me to walk away, i of course had no intention of walking away. The lady is now ranting about how her taxes paid for the bench and shed sit there if she wanted (there was nobody saying anything about the bench only her) so I look over, and her friend is sitting quietly on the bench, there's bags and shoes on the bench. So I walk over, say "move your Shiit" as I sweep everything off the bench onto the ground and I sit beside her friend.

Your one looks like she's on the brink of a stroke at this point. I'm laughing and she's trying to copy my laugh but she's livid. She picks her shoe (about 2 inch heel on it) and starts swinging it. So off comes my stiletto (about 5 inches) and I tell her I'll scrawb her eyes out with them if she doesn't stop waving her sweatshop tat in my face.

That was probably the worst aggro I got on a night out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

jimgoose wrote: »
    Couple of years ago. Mrs. Goose and I were out walking one evening and a big, thick-looking ape was out tinkering with his car with a loopy-looking alsatian frolicking about near him. We passed on the pavement and the dog went for herself. She suggested to your man that the dog should be controlled, and he held up a hefty spanner and explained to her that he was having a bad day. He was right. Six seconds later he had a broken wrist and a fractured jaw from his own spanner.

Either you're full of **** ( probably ) or you should be prosecuted for assaulting that man.

fedor.2. wrote: »
    Either you're full of **** ( probably ) or you should be prosecuted for assaulting that man.

Pfft, **** that. He threathened his wife after his dog went for her, justice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

What would you do if an alsatian went for your OH and the owner couldnt give a ****e?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Pfft, **** that. He threathened his wife after his dog went for her, justice

He got off lucky. Don't threaten another person with a weapon unless you are prepared for the consequences of that weapon been used on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Deadzone

The most aggressive fight I've ever been in just lead to being pushed. It was on a night out, myself and my best friend. We were both walking onto the Main Street to get a taxi when these older ladies who were sitting on a bench asked for a lighter. I don't smoke, so I said "sorry, don't smoke".

Your one leaped up after me and in broken English started shouting "fking liar! Fking liar!" So, naturally I walk back towards her and I just say "sorry, did you say something?" So she's all up in my face shouting at me saying all she wanted was a fking lighter, and she shoved me. Oh hell naw bitch! So of course I shoved her back.

She starts ranting about fking Irish, fking Irish this, fking Irish that. Ranting about how she pays taxes in this country, and I'm like oh right, didn't know prostitutes paid taxes and god it riled her altogether, she's practically foaming at the mouth. My friend is asking me to walk away, i of course had no intention of walking away. The lady is now ranting about how her taxes paid for the bench and shed sit there if she wanted (there was nobody saying anything about the bench only her) so I look over, and her friend is sitting quietly on the bench, there's bags and shoes on the bench. So I walk over, say "move your Shiit" as I sweep everything off the bench onto the ground and I sit beside her friend.

Your one looks like she's on the brink of a stroke at this point. I'm laughing and she's trying to copy my laugh but she's livid. She picks her shoe (about 2 inch heel on it) and starts swinging it. So off comes my stiletto (about 5 inches) and I tell her I'll scrawb her eyes out with them if she doesn't stop waving her sweatshop tat in my face.

That was probably the worst aggro I got on a night out

Oooh... Your life!!!

The Gardaí disagreed. I called them afterwards.

Deadzone wrote: »
    Oooh... Your life!!!

Yeah, cool story isn't it? Want to hear it again??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Deadzone

Yawn.... Heard it before and probably will again.

Menas wrote: »
    He got off lucky. Don't threaten another person with a weapon unless you are prepared for the consequences of that weapon been used on you.

Most people don't seem to realise that a weapon is only as effective as they are. You have to be even faster and more adept than usual to use a weapon effectively, particularly against someone who has, shall we say, certain skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Boxing a month ago. Had a four round unlicensed boxing match. It's pretty much the same as normal pro boxing but the standard is lower; often the term "unlicensed" brings up images of Snatch but it's nothing like that at all.

I ended up losing a split decision after four 3-minute rounds. We use small ten ounce gloves so there's a serious bang if you end up shipping a punch. I wasn't as fit as I should have been so your man got the nod; I nearly got KO'd in the first round so glad I managed to overcome it and get back into the fight later. Broke my finger however so no training for a while.

Most people don't seem to realise that a weapon is only as effective as they are. You have to be even faster and more adept than usual to use a weapon effectively, particularly against someone who has, shall we say, certain skills.

That's a load of cod in my opinion. Even if a fella is a slapless c*nt, the fact he might be swinging a baseball bat or something at you makes him a lot more dangerous and drastically increases the chances of you getting a complete hiding. If I was trying to turf a fella out of a nightclub, that job would be made a hell of a lot more difficult if he had a bottle in his hand and was trying to connect it with your head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

You can lick your own elbow?

I might be wrong but according to the legal definition of assault brandishing a weapon is a form of assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Secondary school, so around 20 years ago

FTA69 wrote: »
    That's a load of cod in my opinion. Even if a fella is a slapless c*nt, the fact he might be swinging a baseball bat or something at you makes him a lot more dangerous and drastically increases the chances of you getting a complete hiding. If I was trying to turf a fella out of a nightclub, that job would be made a hell of a lot more difficult if he had a bottle in his hand and was trying to connect it with your head.

The difference is you don't want to injure the fcuker.

You can lick your own elbow?

I might be wrong but according to the legal definition of assault brandishing a weapon is a form of assault.

Some people are known to the Gardaí, and some people are known by the Gardaí.

Hmmm. Cryptic.

The difference is you don't want to injure the fcuker.

The point stays the same, when dealing with the average man a weapon makes him far more dangerous in a fight than if he didn't have one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

FTA69 wrote: »
    The point stays the same, when dealing with the average man a weapon makes him far more dangerous in a fight than if he didn't have one.

I think some people will overestimate the advantage it gives them. Of course it depends on the weapon too. I wouldn't rate my chances against someone with a baseball bat or a knife but a smaller blunt weapon like a wrench I might be able to defend against since it's not adding significant reach like a bat would nor is it going to be able to kill me in one strike like a knife might.

People often telegraph a blow more with a weapon in hand too; they draw it back really far to get the most power into it and give you plenty of time to react; even if that reaction is just to leg it.

*Paging all internet tough guys*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

of course , I ve killed more people than Cecil B. DeMille

A few friends took my to my first ever gym a few months ago and some girl there came over and hit on me - long story short some tight vested muscle he-man wannabe took offence to this and accused me of using the gym as a cruising joint. After failing to diffuse the situation with words - it was abundantly clear he came into the confrontation with the agenda to end it violently - I got to put some of my combat training into real world use.

I suppose I have had a few physical confrontations in life - none of them of my choosing or initiation. Generally cos of the weird relationship I am in - which is not obvious or overt in public - but occasionally when someone cops the dynamic for what it is there have been a few lads who for whatever drunken reason felt the need to uphold chivalry in the world and attempt to pound on me. It has not ended well for any of them. I would like to say this is due to my physical prowess and combat training of course. Which it partly is :) But 80% of it is mainly due to the fact I drink very little and the chivalrous types tend to be highly oiled. I do sometimes wonder if any of those fights had been sober on sober - would I have come out of it as well. Most of them maybe. But I am sure at least one of them would have ended up doing me an injury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Saturday night!

A few friends took my to my first ever gym a few months ago and some girl there came over and hit on me - long story short some tight vested muscle he-man wannabe took offence to this and accused me of using the gym as a cruising joint. After failing to diffuse the situation with words - it was abundantly clear he came into the confrontation with the agenda to end it violently - I got to put some of my combat training into real world use.

I suppose I have had a few physical confrontations in life - none of them of my choosing or initiation. Generally cos of the weird relationship I am in - which is not obvious or overt in public - but occasionally when someone cops the dynamic for what it is there have been a few lads who for whatever drunken reason felt the need to uphold chivalry in the world and attempt to pound on me. It has not ended well for any of them. I would like to say this is due to my physical prowess and combat training of course. Which it partly is :) But 80% of it is mainly due to the fact I drink very little and the chivalrous types tend to be highly oiled. I do sometimes wonder if any of those fights had been sober on sober - would I have come out of it as well. Most of them maybe. But I am sure at least one of them would have ended up doing me an injury.

You have to expand more on this!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

allibastor wrote: »
    Saturday night!

Hope you won :P

Last time I was in a "fight" was a couple of years ago when I was jumped walking home. Few punches to the head before I registered what happened, I defended myself and then ran! I've never really been in a fight that I consented to (lol) outside the Gaelic pitch.

c_man wrote: »
    Hope you won :P

Last time I was in a "fight" was a couple of years ago when I was jumped walking home. Few punches to the head before I registered what happened, I defended myself and then ran! I've never really been in a fight that I consented to (lol) outside the Gaelic pitch.

I certainly did!!!

Not that there was much to it, When you know where to hit someone to knock them out.

Did stay there till he came round though.

allibastor wrote: »
    You have to expand more on this!!!!

You first. Your post was even vaguer than mine.