Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone not putting up a Christmas tree/lights?

• 14-12-2015 8:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,155 ✭✭✭

Not sure whether I will put up a Christmas tree or lights, people sort of expect you to put them up which is why I may not. Anyone else not doing this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Diamond Doll

Nope never have. Would like to sometime, but meh. It's just money I can't afford, and I'm living alone and will probably end up spending Christmas at either my parents' or at my son's dad's parents' place, so seems a bit pointless!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Pink Fairy

Nope never have. Would like to sometime, but meh. It's just money I can't afford, and I'm living alone and will probably end up spending Christmas at either my parents' or at my son's dad's parents' place, so seems a bit pointless!

This post made me feel a little bit sad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Diamond Doll

Pink Fairy wrote: »
    This post made me feel a little bit sad

Me too! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Such a waste of electricity, and the Climate Change thing just over. LOL.

I put up a teeny tree with the same lights and decos still on it for years. It is so small I don't have to "take it down" It's just there, and I do it.

But if anything happened to it. That's it. All over.

Only my pooch, sorry OH here and he hates all that shyte more than I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Not putting anything up. Live in a bedsit with fcuk all space for a tree plus I'm on my own with no one coming over so no point in wasting money on dangerous lights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Putting ours up this coming weekend. Tree, lights, decorations, the lot . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

I'm waiting as long as I can to put up my tree not bothered this year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Torricelli

Not putting anything up. Live in a bedsit with fcuk all space for a tree plus I'm on my own with no one coming over so no point in wasting money on dangerous lights.
    Hmm..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

This is thread is kinda sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Such a waste of electricity, and the Climate Change thing just over. LOL.

I put up a teeny tree with the same lights and decos still on it for years. It is so small I don't have to "take it down" It's just there, and I do it.

But if anything happened to it. That's it. All over.

Only my pooch, sorry OH here and he hates all that shyte more than I do.

Feck climate change, I put my tree lights on yesterday and they won't be off till I take the tree down on new years day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Put it up next Sunday or Monday maybe, this whole craic of lights and decorations from the start of December is pure tack imo.

Cienciano wrote: »
    Feck climate change, I put my tree lights on yesterday and they won't be off till I take the tree down on new years day

Ah c'mon, I was being sarky. Enjoy. :p:p:p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 820 ✭✭✭BunkMoreland

Live on my own, won't be here over Christmas so no point.

Waste of time and energy going out buying crap, putting it up then taking it down and having to store it somewhere.

Plus the expectation that you must have decorations feels like the catalyst not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭Odelay

Nope, no tree, lights or anything here.

I do not put up decorations. They are mad.

I have a little teeny tree. And a 100 coloured light bulbs thing in a glass bowl on the table. Everyone comments on how lovely it is.

Minimalist but effective. Shines nails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,470 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

The father is not because we had deaths in the family this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,043 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I didn't for a couple of years - one because I was away till Christmas Eve (best plan EVER!), last year because I just couldn't be bothered.

Have had stuff up every other year - got myself a very snazzy minimalist LED christmas tree this year which I really rather like, and have stuff on the mantlepiece.

I can absolutely empathise with those who live on their own (as I do) who can't be bothered, but I kinda felt I should make myself do it this year or I'd properly turn into Scrooge - I'm getting more bah humbug about the whole thing as time goes on - this year even more so as I'm just back from a trip to Africa which fairly puts western consumerism into proper perspective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Nope, haven't put up decorations in any house I've lived. I do rent, but if I owned a house then most likely, I wouldn't either.

I have to bring the decorations down from the attic in the family home and that always brings me out in a bad mood, having to put up all the tacky ****.

Merry Christmas, you basterds!:mad:

(You're all OK!)

I think the tree and decos look ridiculous once Stephennnnnnsssssss Day is over.

It just looks funny to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

I'm heading home to my parent's house for Christmas with 18 year old son and husband in tow. One of my five sisters will join us with her four children all under the age of 10. Her children are so good and well mannered, so it won't be a Christmas from hell.

My mother and father will put up the tree and decorations. My husband and I will cook Christmas dinner with all the trimmings. Dad and my son hate turkey so it will be T-bone steaks for them.

I'm very excited about spending Christmas with my family - because my Dad is 80 and Mam is 70 - and there not be many Christmasses left with them. But then again who knows?

I won't be decorating my own house as there is really no need to. It's not that I'm a sad person it just seems pointless to decorate a house when the whole point of Christmas is to spend time with the people you love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,043 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I think the tree and decos look ridiculous once Stephennnnnnsssssss Day is over.

Ah, but when I DO put up decorations/lights, they absolutely must stay up till 6th January, no matter how sick of them I am (usually very) or how much of the Christmas tree is now on the floor (in the days when I got real ones). Hate to see stuff taken down before the proper (in my mind) date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    even more so as I'm just back from a trip to Africa which fairly puts western consumerism into proper perspective.

Yeah same. Makes me even more thankful for rampant consumerism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Really ? New Years Eve wouldnt be the same with the tree/decos taken down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

Only tree I have is a weird leafless bonzai thing with lights and its really gank. i can't afford a new one, so probably not. Will stick a wreath on the hall door though.

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    Really ? New Years Eve wouldnt be the same with the tree/decos taken down.

NYE is the most overrated crap besides Christmas, and that is saying something!

I find it sad TBH because that Auld Lang Syne thing makes me blubber like a baby because three lovely people that I loved so well are now gone. Terrible feeling, so NYE is never happy for me.

And I suspect many others too. Another year without them. Sorry for spiking the mood, couldn't help it. :confused:

I want to give all the nice people in this thread feeling a bit sad at christmas a big hug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

A lot of people find new year's eve a sad time and prefer to stay in. Mostly older folk but some young people too. I like it but it's just another night out too - and a very crowded one. Used to adore it when younger but I wouldn't mind whether I stayed in now, it's not essential to go out for it anymore.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 59 ✭✭Geoffrey Dalton

Share a thought Op to those who may not have a home this Christmas due to the flooding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

We werent going to because my mother in law died at Halloween but we have a four year old so we decided to for him

I want to give all the nice people in this thread feeling a bit sad at christmas a big hug.

Thank you. That is such a lovely thought.

Lots of people love Christmas. But it can be a very sad and emotional time for many for lots of reasons too.

Some might not realise that sometimes, (not that they are being horrible or anything) that those of us who have lost very close family, or have to endure a difficult family member from drink or violence or whatever, might be sad and upset and not really looking forward to it all, and that's allowed. And it can be a very tough time for lots of people.

BUT ENJOY IT AS BEST YOU CAN! Shouting that out hope you don't mind, because I will do my best to enjoy it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Vex Willems

Nope, never have, don't see the point. I'm the only one here and will spend Christmas Day at the parents, all the Christmas stuff can happen there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Nope, not even a bit of tinsel. The cat would have the fookin thing destroyed within half an hour. I'm going home for Christmas though and the parents usually have the house nicely decorated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Na, there will be decorations up in the folks when I go home on Christmas Eve!

Well I'm on my own this year .... First time ever and I feel sad and lonely . Both my daughters living abroad now and can't afford to come home this year . I can't afford to get to them as I went already this year .

BUT I already have lights up outside and inside and will put my tree up this weekend . It makes the place so much nicer and I know I'd feel absolutely ****e if there was nothing up!

I don't like Christmas ...my 3rd daughter died not long after Christmas (years ago) and it took the joy out of it ......but you should make the effort .....even if it's just for you !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,965 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Cienciano wrote: »

Feck that! Where I live - down the road from the Paris talkshop - no-one here takes their lights (or decorations) down till around mid-January ... or even February!

Anyway, after three (?) years of not having any decorations inside or out, for various reasons, and after being mostly away from home since the spring, I'm going to "do it properly" this year - even though there's only me, a mouse and a load of spiders here to enjoy it.

I bought a "live" tree on Saturday, will put it up some time this week and it'll stay up till about the twenty-somethingth-ish .... well, sometime before Lent. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Thank you. That is such a lovely thought.

Lots of people love Christmas. But it can be a very sad and emotional time for many for lots of reasons too.

Some might not realise that sometimes, (not that they are being horrible or anything) that those of us who have lost very close family, or have to endure a difficult family member from drink or violence or whatever, might be sad and upset and not really looking forward to it all, and that's allowed. And it can be a very tough time for lots of people.

BUT ENJOY IT AS BEST YOU CAN! Shouting that out hope you don't mind, because I will do my best to enjoy it too.
    Oh yeah Christmas must be sh-t for plenty of people. There's all these messages that it's the norm to be really joyful and not the norm to feel sad, which is just going to make those who feel sad... feel even worse.

There have been Christmases when I was in a bad place, and the loneliness... it's overwhelming - even if you're in a room full of people. So when Christmas is good, I really really enjoy it, like you recommend. :)

Well I'm on my own this year .... First time ever and I feel sad and lonely . Both my daughters living abroad now and can't afford to come home this year . I can't afford to get to them as I went already this year .

BUT I already have lights up outside and inside and will put my tree up this weekend . It makes the place so much nicer and I know I'd feel absolutely ****e if there was nothing up!

I don't like Christmas ...my 3rd daughter died not long after Christmas (years ago) and it took the joy out of it ......but you should make the effort .....even if it's just for you !

Oh my love, hope you will be OK.

There can be nothing worse than losing your child. My deepest sympathy. No one can ever make that better for you, so I won't even try.

Enjoy your lights being up, and fair play to you for having the strength to do it.

Best wishes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

The Christmas after my mum died, I was still living in her house and wasn't arsed putting a tree up. I ended up feeling even more depressed though (and a bit guilty because my mum always went overboard with decorations), so I went out on Christmas Eve and bought a load of lights and garlands 'n stuff. It felt a bit weird without a tree though.

This year, I may have gone slightly overboard with the lights...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Joey Jo-Jo Junior

Thank you :)

There can be nothing worse than losing your child. My deepest sympathy. No one can ever make that better for you, so I won't even try.

Enjoy your lights being up, and fair play to you for having the strength to do it.

Best wishes.

Thanks for that, appreciate it 👍

I'll be grand and there's lots of people worse off . It's just a day and for many people it's sad and emotional . Ignore all those nostalgic family ads (they make me cry!)....that's not real life . If you want to take the tree down on Stephens day do...if not don't. There's no right or wrong way to do Christmas , forget the hype ! Go for long walk , eat chocolates , drink wine , it's over in 2 days max (if you want it to be!)

Thanks for that, appreciate it 👍

I'll be grand and there's lots of people worse off . It's just a day and for many people it's sad and emotional . Ignore all those nostalgic family ads (they make me cry!)....that's not real life . If you want to take the tree down on Stephens day do...if not don't. There's no right or wrong way to do Christmas , forget the hype ! Go for long walk , eat chocolates , drink wine , it's over in 2 days max (if you want it to be!)

Each to their own is right.

When Stephennnnnsssses Day comes it is really all over isn't it?

It is just a two week shut down for most (hats off to those who keep us alright, not forgetting you!)

So let's enjoy as best we can, and the occasional blubber is allowed. Tissues are great value in Aldi, I have bought loads just in case!

Awh geeze, I'm sorry to hear that. I hope you have a really lovely christmas, are you doing anything for the day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I love Christmas - love the decorations and the festive atmosphere. But I didn't decorate last year and probably won't this year. Just don't see much point anymore. Nothing to celebrate really these days. I can be cheerful around others so not a grinch at all though, and I genuinely wish everyone well for the Christmas season and hope they have a great time. I'd love a proper opportunity to have a traditional Christmas again.

Thanks.

I don't know if your user name is connected, but I thought of you with this, it is so cheerful really..

The Arlesienne Suite by Bizet. Hope you like it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g_o82Mxw6Bs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I never put up decorations or a Christmas tree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Jentle Grenade

Last Christmas my OH lost a parent tragically. The whole period was a nightmare and she had mentioned in passing during the year that she didn't think she'd like decorations and a tree in the house. Its our first Christmas living together and last Saturday she insisted we get a tree and some decorations. Nothing major, but they feel lovely in the house. I had to talk her down from buying outside lights earlier as we're renting, snowball effect!
    Best wishes for a safe Christmas for all Boardsies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Aineoil wrote: »
    I'm heading home to my parent's house for Christmas with 18 year old son and husband in tow. One of my five sisters will join us with her four children all under the age of 10. Her children are so good and well mannered, so it won't be a Christmas from hell.

My mother and father will put up the tree and decorations. My husband and I will cook Christmas dinner with all the trimmings. Dad and my son hate turkey so it will be T-bone steaks for them.

I'm very excited about spending Christmas with my family - because my Dad is 80 and Mam is 70 - and there not be many Christmasses left with them. But then again who knows?

I won't be decorating my own house as there is really no need to. It's not that I'm a sad person it just seems pointless to decorate a house when the whole point of Christmas is to spend time with the people you love.

Nothing like it when the children are good and well mannered. Especially at Christmas, as its not usually a time for children eh !!:D :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭VickieVexed1

Best wishes.

You're lovely, and seem like such a nice person. :)

Thank you VickieVexed1.

We are all human and have good and bad days too.

It is lovely to get such a compliment!

Happy Christmas.

I live in a teeny weeny little flat, and I won't be here over Christmas, but I have bought a little tree and a snowglobe, and fairy lights, and I love to see them up.

I know people get sick of the gaudiness and tack of decorations, but I love it. I love all the glitter and all the shiny baubles and if I had my way there'd be a tree up in October and it would spend more time on display than in storage.

To anyone on their own (who would prefer not to be), I wish you a peaceful holiday with lots of chocolate and cake, and I hope you make the best of it and enjoy at least some of the day. Internet hugs to everyone! :)