Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Isnt it unreal how much cash you spend over xmas

• 13-12-2015 10:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭

Spent last few days getting presents for all, wine for all cousins and the likes

I know xmas is just the once a yr but its unreal how much we all spend. I was in smyths today and some had 2 trollys full up with toys

Id say so far im in the hole for about 500.

You spent much AH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Family did Kris Kindle this year. Saves a great deal of money. But yeah, with nieces and nephews it can be very expensive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 59 ✭✭Geoffrey Dalton

A Christmas forum is on my wish list.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

A Christmas forum is on my wish list.

You know there is one?

Anyway ot, my OH goes mental at Christmas, I've gotten to the point that I just don't express any interest in stuff so he doesn't splash out.

He spends a fortune on his children and they are adults now! Drives me nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Not much for me. I spent €90 on myself and €15 on the wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Ah, Christmas, it is only once a year and I suppose people do buy stuff that they wouldn't ordinarily buy.

In our families we do not buy for anyone over 21. It's amazing how it's no big deal to them, a shrug and "that's grand" and it's sorted. After all we bought for them up to that age all along. Not talking kids here, just assorted nieces nephews etc. I don't have kids.

Mums and Dads of course, nephews and nieces (below a certain age!) and that's it.

We do not buy for friends or siblings either, we sure sound like mean gits, but honestly these people are delighted not to have to reciprocate either. Just takes a brave person to broach the subject and the job's Oxo. You see we are close, and gifts do not matter much.

OH and I do not buy for each other. We have a nice week away in January instead. Sorted.

But I do buy lots of food and drink. Lots. But I have a big freezer, so it will not go to waste! Long use by dates for perishables are good.

I might sound like a tight fisted so and so. Far from it. Just a bit of common sense, and enjoy the Christmas cheer without too much of the hassle and expense!

Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

We have a pretty strict budget for me and my siblings, cos there's so many of us it'd be unmanageable otherwise, so £20 each is the maximum. So, 12 sisters, 3 brothers at £20 each was £300, then my mum got £100 on her presents, my little sister got £90, then I got them all a box of heroes from tesco for a fiver each, then two secret santa's at £35 each, two presents for chums at £25 each, then we always get takeaway on christmas eve, thats £15 odd, a meal out with said chums for christmas is £20 thereabouts, then various going about with family while there here, expenses etc, I'm looking at about £800 for the whole thing. Christ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

We are just finishing off our new house so we have electricians and plumbers and carpenters bills as well as Christmas. I'll have spent over €2000 by the end of the year. I can't wait for January when I'll be able to call my money my own again. I guess you only live once though:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,410 ✭✭✭✭endacl

It's only as expensive as you decide it's going to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

I found a solution years ago.

Just spend all your money in Early to Mid December on yourself.

Then you wont have anything left for Xmas - so you wont spend a cent on the whole Xmas thingy.

Simples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

It is. But then the alternative would be pretty horrible - not having anyone to spend money on.

mad muffin wrote: »
    Not much for me. I spent €90 on myself and €15 on the wife.
    Why spend on the wife? She the selfish, demanding type?

You wanna be the only one in your family who buys people nothing and ****? Christ, you'd be the black sheep of shame on christmas morning in my house.

maudgonner wrote: »
    It is. But then the alternative would be pretty horrible - not having anyone to spend money on.
    By 'horrible' do you mean cost-efficient?

You wanna be the only one in your family who buys people nothing and ****? Christ, you'd be the black sheep of shame on christmas morning in my house.
    lol, simples.

You don't visit family over Xmas, silly.

I wonder if I should right all these tips in a list or something...

ArtSmart wrote: »
    lol, simples.

You don't visit family over Xmas, silly.

I wonder if I should right all these tips in a list or something...

So you spend christmas alone? With your wife having not bought her a nice gift?

I'm tongue-in-cheeking it.

In short (re OP) yes, the holiday season is expensive.

They were going to call it, the 'no fun nor festivity period', where you didn't have to spend money, but somehow the 'Man' got wind, and well, you know the rest...

(hic)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭boredatwork82

It's mad, so this year I decided to go to Vegas and spend all the money on me instead. Between the presents and the nights out Christmas in Ireland costs a fortune is the exact same as last year, wasting time and money chatting people who I couldn't be arsed keeping in contact during the year.
    Viva las Vegas!

By 'horrible' do you mean cost-efficient?

Yeah, there was a lad once that followed your thinking. Scrooge as his name, I believe (Scrooge McDuck in my favourite version of the story). The eejit went and ruined it all in the end though and practically gave away all his money. Fool!

<Belated Spoiler Alert>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I'm already about 500 quid in the hole, and I'm not even half way through the list yet. Everyone had babies this year and I'm smashed. Ridiculous amount of money yet to be spent, but to be completely honest, I love it. Not the shopping/being broke part mind, but the giving of presents part.

maudgonner wrote: »
    Yeah, there was a lad once that followed your thinking. Scrooge as his name, I believe (Scrooge McDuck in my favourite version of the story). The eejit went and ruined it all in the end though and practically gave away all his money. Fool!

<Belated Spoiler Alert>
    Actually in the original version, Scrooge went back to the Cratchits etc and took back all the gear. Said he'd been in a 'fugue state'

"fug u", the Cratchits shouted as he left with Timmy's crutches an all.

(Dickens had to edit that bit for the publishers marketing campaign)

Wish I could get my hands on this 'hole'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Why spend on the wife? She the selfish, demanding type?

Well…

Wish I could get my hands on this 'hole'.

Heh heh, there's a lad over in this thread who has a similar problem.

(Sorry, that's way off topic)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

This year I'm buying for immediate family, my dogs.
    I'm done buying expensive stuff for friends kids. Last year I spent about 150 on one child, and almost 100 on the other. This year there are even more kids. So I'll be getting each child a pair of pjs, an Xmas movie, and a selection box for them to open Xmas eve. Except for my favourite, I'll get her a toy or a makeup set as well.
    I have three friends to buy for. I don't buy for the others because they don't buy back. That's it.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Specialun wrote: »
    but its unreal how much we all spend....

You spent much AH
    I'll tell you in just over 24 hours ....

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Beasty wrote: »
    I'll tell you in just over 24 hours ....

Mwahahaaaa

I've found this year that I've started picking up stuff earlier, I've just the OH to buy for but he has his kids to buy for, and I do the food bill every year, so this year I've been stocking up on loads of special offers on junk food/biscuits/sweets etc, which means we've a pile of stuff in the house but the last minute shop will be just the essentials :)

Makes it easier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Vandango

It's mad, so this year I decided to go to Vegas and spend all the money on me instead. Between the presents and the nights out Christmas in Ireland costs a fortune is the exact same as last year, wasting time and money chatting people who I couldn't be arsed keeping in contact during the year.
    Viva las Vegas!

Fair play to ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

This year I'm only buying for my OH and my aunt as they're the only people that deserve it.

So far about 250 on gifts for my parents and about 250 for my gf, so around 500 overall. Still have to buy the main gifts for my two siblings, another small gift for my mother, another small gift for my gf, and some small bits and pieces like something for my granny, gfs parents etc.

Not complaining though I love Christmas and know I will get good presents in return also so I don't mind spending money.

This Christmas is costing me a fortune, because I keep seeing things I like for myself and buying them :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

I've had a shít year with depression etc, and am really finding it hard to wrap my head around the concept of Christmas this year. I just can't fathom why we have to spend a heap of money, and go out with people we don't see from one end of the year to the next, just "because it's Christmas".

I'd love to have the type of family that I could buy something small and meaningful for everyone as a gesture, but I'm the eldest of a family of Celtic Tiger cubs, so gifts that are less than €50 are met with a begrudging "Oh, cheers" from my siblings. I won't go out over Christmas cos I hate everything and everyone in my home town, but just the expense of the food, the presents, the travel etc, it's just costing me a shítload of money and I won't get paid for another 6 weeks :(

(someone get this woman a dose of Christmas cheer, stat)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭scdublin

I've been avoiding calculating what I've spent between presents, food, decorations etc....I think I'll continue to be happy in my ignorance :D

(someone get this woman a dose of Christmas cheer, stat)

https://www.facebook.com/celia.turner.10/videos/10152105757856214/

This is one of the funniest things I've watched this year - needs sound!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

So far think some where around the €1500 mark all in including food ,drink,kids pressies and clothes .
    Didn't help had our wedding anniversary and wife's birthday two weeks before Christmas too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭miezekatze

I spent a lot less this year than I did in previous years. I got some really good bargains, plus we are doing kris kindle in my OH's family and my OH and I set a budget for each other. My brother and I don't give each other presents, so in my family I just had to get something for my parents and my niece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

That was just brilliant, still laughing. You do you, little girl! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Spent last few days getting presents for all, wine for all cousins and the likes
    Well that's where you're going wrong. I'm getting presents for the nephews, everyone else can feck off. The best present people can get me is nothing, then I don't feel like such a prick for not getting them anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I don't spend that much at all, I've lost contact with anyone i used to be friends with so don't get presents and don't have to buy any.

I can see how it would be expensive for people who have a lot of friends or big families.

The shops are doing well though, the recession seems to be over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I don't spend that much at all, I've lost contact with anyone i used to be friends with so don't get presents and don't have to buy any.

I can see how it would be expensive for people who have a lot of friends or big families.

The shops are doing well though, the recession seems to be over.

REAL friends don't want your presents, only your "presence", and I reciprocate every time on that one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭AppleBottle

It's certainly an expensive time of the year. I've spent a lot of money and still not finished. I just hope everyone likes their gifts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

If you don't spend a fortune at Christmas, you won't appease Jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

It's certainly an expensive time of the year. I've spent a lot of money and still not finished. I just hope everyone likes their gifts.
    They'll be thrilled opening them, when the novelty wears off they'll store them with the rest of the rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Family did Kris Kindle this year. Saves a great deal of money. But yeah, with nieces and nephews it can be very expensive.
    Giving presents to nieces and nephews, I hope you haven't too many of them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 409 ✭✭shugy

I know xmas is just the once a yr but its unreal how much we all spend. I was in smyths today and some had 2 trollys full up with toys

Id say so far im in the hole for about 500.

You spent much AH

Im touching 5k :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I enjoy spending at Christmas as it's a good excuse to spend on, and help, others that wouldn't accept the offer at other times.

I'll spend about 6000 this year but it's all relative to our means. I'm lucky that I'll not accrue any debt as a result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

I used to buy for everyone in my family, brothers, sisters, their kids, their partners...cost a bloody fortune and no one seemed grateful.

Now I buy for the Mrs and my kid, this year I've spent a grand on them, don't mind a bit..they deserve a treat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I've just watched that and have tears running down my face, hilarious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Ive spent a few hundred so far and will probably spend around 200 next week on the food shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

About €550 on presents so far, I'll be spending another €200 this Friday when I get paid. Plus we did a massive grocery shop week which was another €200. I love Christmas though, I am broke but I love giving gifts and I wouldn't have it any other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Yep, all adds up.
    I always start buying presents at the start of November; I hit Amazon for the online pressies and then for the next few weeks I head out to the shops and get the rest.

The trick is to make a list of everyone's names and what you're getting them; I find that once you've got that done, then the shopping bit is easy.

I'm a good bargain hunter though and a lot of what I buy from Amazon are old DVDs/CDs that are going for pennies.
    For books and stuff, Bookstation is a lot cheaper than Easons, etc.
    Anyway, if you spread the cost, it's manageable.