Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Overly positive people

• 10-12-2015 10:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭

Everyone knows a few of these and often I find they can be worse than listening a pessimistic ould dhrip. At least the ould dhrip often brings up a few interesting points and isn't so "in your face" as the overly positive ones.

You could walk up to the door looking pale as a ghost after a powerful vomiting session and they'd be all "Helloooo, great to see you, you're looking well, how is everybody, my little Eoin here just got an award for champion rice crispy bun maker of the year in all of North Cork and he's only foive, isn't he brilliant? I'm sure he'll be a Michelin star chef by next week!"

You'd ask about someone who they were close to who recently died a slow and agonising death and they'd be "Oh he passed away but the funeral was absolutely amazing, so and so showed up and they were so sweet and gave a bottle of wine to all his children and brought a pack of biscuits for everyone in the audience and the whole place just reeked of pure highly refined awesomeness".

If you tell them you lost your job and the gf dumped you they'd quickly rattle off a list of tired old 'new beginning' and 'plenty of fish' platitudes and catch phrases that came straight out of an unbranded tin that they have 100's of and quickly move on to the next 'absolutely amazing' thing going down on in their life.

I'd be there thinking "Yea... you're on some good stuff there, wish I could get my hands on some of that" and wondering if the only amazing thing in their life is Big Pharma's latest anti-depressant or if they spend the whole day in La La land and only come out of it when I visit.

Has anyone here a few good tales to tell about someone who was extremely positive in the face of impending doom?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Grand day for it.

Suits all occasions, weddings, funerals, court dates, bar mitzvahs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Pricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

I don't mind positivity but when someone goes over the top it gets annoying.

Me: I just got my leg blown off and my house burnt down and dog died aswell.

Positive person: a shur look on the bright side, you could off lost both legs and shur things can only get better, look at all the starving kids in Africa blah blah blah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I actually really like people like that. The kind of people who never have a bad word to say about anyone.

Although I don't know how the fuck they do it.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

RayM wrote: »
    I actually really like people like that. The kind of people who never have a bad word to say about anyone.

I ****ing hate them.

Especially a colleague who thank **** I rarely have to meet, but at 8am in the morning, he's fawning over you like Pippa Middleton trying to get into Prince Harrys jocks.

They can **** right off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

They are hiding something deeply disturbing within their souls when the positivity mask finally slips and the true nature of the beast is finally revealed all you are left with is serious jail time

Give me the glass half empty man anyday

They write all the best songs

Stheno wrote: »
    I ****ing hate them.

Especially a colleague who thank **** I rarely have to meet, but at 8am in the morning, he's fawning over you like Pippa Middleton trying to get into Prince Harrys jocks.

They can **** right off.
    This piqued my curiosity so I went googling.

The prince reportedly seduced Pippa with candles, Adele music, and a pasta carbonara on their first date

Jesus

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

This piqued my curiosity so I went googling.

The prince reportedly seduced Pippa with candles, Adele music, and a pasta carbonara on their first date

Jesus

Did you miss the bit where Kate caught them snogging in the bathroom during the royal wedding?

They didn't give me a +1 so I huffed and didn't go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Yes, you get a lot of them in the running world. Some pacers are too bloody perky. Yes, I'm hurting, no sheet! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

It could be worse, better to be positive than dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

They do it because of an upbringing of mollycoddling and the show of a false reality of society in the plush suburbs of south Dublin. It's called 'blocking the real societal reality out' as in a fake never never land of which politicians reside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Bulbous Salutation

I'm coming around to the idea that being extremely positive is a pretty lovely way to live your life. It doesn't mean that there isn't setbacks, bad days, struggles, moods and periods of darkness.

We live in a really beautiful country with a very high standard of living. It isn't perfect, but there has never been a utopia. We tend to do right by people. Maybe I'm going soft in the brain, but the unrelenting negativity that drives some people isn't one that can ever have a positive outcome. Giving out about the Government, RTE, complex geopolitical situations, modern music, religion, the idea of Santa Claus. That permanent sense of outrage that seems to feed the emotional need of some people. Bizarre.

I'm coming around to the idea that being extremely positive is a pretty lovely way to live your life. It doesn't mean that there isn't setbacks, bad days, struggles, moods and periods of darkness.

We live in a really beautiful country with a very high standard of living. It isn't perfect, but there has never been a utopia. We tend to do right by people. Maybe I'm going soft in the brain, but the unrelenting negativity that drives some people isn't one that can ever have a positive outcome. Giving out about the Government, RTE, complex geopolitical situations, modern music, religion, the idea of Santa Claus. That permanent sense of outrage that seems to feed the emotional need of some people. Bizarre.

No no. You're not getting the point of this thread. Most normal people wake up, appreciate their lot in life etc.

What we are talking about are people who are essentially naturally high and full of the joys of life ALL of the time.

The sort who get made homeless due to floods and embrace it as an opportunity to explore an alternative way of living type ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭circadian

Much prefer overly positive than overly pessimistic.

Nothing wears me out more than hearing some oul folk complaining about "it's all bloody health and safety these days" or "bloody foreigners" or some other, straight from the Daily Mail crap banging on about how great things used to be.

No no. You're not getting the point of this thread. Most normal people wake up, appreciate their lot in life etc.

What we are talking about are people who are essentially naturally high and full of the joys of life ALL of the time.

The sort who get made homeless due to floods and embrace it as an opportunity to explore an alternative way of living type ****e.
    What good does getting annoyed about it do? :)

Nothing, but for me, I'd prefer to be met with normal semi comatose people in the morning before I've had my coffee than Krusty the Clown :)

I'm a bit of a grump takes me until about 12 pm to wake up fully

Would being financial stable from their parents riches be a factor of their being High on life all the time and no matter what happens to them they will feel free to express themselves as high on life under that shielding ? I wonder, or is it a chemical thing in the brain ? or do these sort of high on life folk just eat copious amounts of figs to keep the serotonin on a constant high ?

They have either a gift, or a constant supply of riches and figs.

Would being financial stable from their parents riches be a factor of their being High on life all the time and no matter what happens to them they will feel free to express themselves as high on life under that shielding ? I wonder, or is it a chemical thing in the brain ? or do these sort of high on life folk just eat copious amounts of figs to keep the serotonin on a constant high ?

No this guy in particular is self employed and works his ass off.

I think that the switch that he's just like a baby, they always wake up smiling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

On one hand I like it/them, on the other hand I hate it because come on, they must be faking it.
    I can't help but feel they're putting on a front, and I'm not seeing the real "them", and that generally annoys me so much I keep these interactions shallow and short.

Plus telling me all is good on a $$itty grumpy day is a sure way to pISs me off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

They do it because of an upbringing of mollycoddling and the show of a false reality of society in the plush suburbs of south Dublin. It's called 'blocking the real societal reality out' as in a fake never never land of which politicians reside.

I know one or two people who've known plenty of suffering (recurrent illness, loss, etc), but still manage to remain relentlessly positive and never bitch or moan about anything.
    I wonder, or is it a chemical thing in the brain ? or do these sort of high on life folk just eat copious amounts of figs to keep the serotonin on a constant high ?

"Hey, is that an excess of serotonin in your central nervous system, or are you just happy to see me?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

To quote the great philosopher Karl Pilkington...

"You need a bit of the badness to appreciate the goodness"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Giving out about the Government, RTE, complex geopolitical situations, modern music, religion, the idea of Santa Claus. That permanent sense of outrage that seems to feed the emotional need of some people. Bizarre.

I am weary of people who don't give out about anything or seem to brush it off or shoehorn in another torrent of positivity when you ask them about something like the government or RTE or something similar that could serve as the benchmark for being permanently sh1te

I know one or two people who've known plenty of suffering (recurrent illness, loss, etc), but still manage to remain relentlessly positive and never bitch or moan about anything.
    "

They must be suppressing it. Good for them, they found a way to deal with it, and maybe the power of auto suggestion is strong with them and they genuinely have no sequels ... but I think in a lot of cases it's just a veneer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

The 'Cheer up, it might never happen' crowd are the real bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,183 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

They must be suppressing it. Good for them, they found a way to deal with it, and maybe the power of auto suggestion is strong with them and they genuinely have no sequels ... but I think in a lot of cases it's just a veneer.

I find that attitude of yours awful to be honest. Why do they need to be suppressing it just because they have had 1 or 2 tumbles they have to be down in life why. I like seeing the world in a have full at lest light and not half empty. It does not mean they do not have bad times or sometimes feel down they see life for what you make it and YES you may hate it but it could be worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

I have a few friends who make a point of never complaining about anything, or if they do describe a difficult situation they're going through (and two of them have been through some terrible stuff this year) they always punctuate it with "Ah shur, could be worse" etc. They don't do it in a preachy way - they never impose their take on others, and I admire their attitude, but I do say to them it's ok to feel pissed off, it's ok to feel sad, it's ok to give out at times, it's ok not to feel obliged to count their blessings.

I would just love to know the elixir of their constant happy stable high on life felling. I wake up like many others some days over the moon and happy for no reason all day, and the next day I do feel like absolute death and so the cycle goes up and down, so to keep a constant high on life attitude and well-being feeling going all the time is hard to fathom.

The elixir of a constant high happiness every day is something that could turn this planet into a bunch of happy feckers constantly high on life, or E forever of which is not possible as the good feeling centres of the brain diminish after long highs of bliss and happiness. Well, if you are one of these people that is always on a natural high then you have something damn stable and good if it doesn't fluctuate like the majority of folk.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 422 ✭✭LeeLooLee

A lot of the overly positive people I know just have charmed lives. It's easy to be happy and positive when you have great health, a great lifestyle and loads of money to fall back on. They simply haven't ever experienced things not going the way they want. I have a lot of respect for people who have gone through terrible times and still maintain a positive outlook.

Absolutely. I just find it amazing that some folk can be in such top mental order/capacity constantly.

In my experience it's people who have great, easy lives that tend to be the more miserable ones, and people who have gone through very difficult stuff who are the positive ones. It makes sense in some ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,681 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Those people who always post postive, life affirming quotes on FB?

Most are sad.

I find that attitude of yours awful to be honest. Why do they need to be suppressing it just because they have had 1 or 2 tumbles they have to be down in life why. I like seeing the world in a have full at lest light and not half empty. It does not mean they do not have bad times or sometimes feel down they see life for what you make it and YES you may hate it but it could be worse.

I'm not saying they have to be a certain way ! This discussion focuses on people who are always optimistic and happy, and I'm simply pointing out that in my opinion, they just "seem" that way, in most cases. In my opinion, if you have times when you feel down, or things do get to you, it's OK, human, and normal to show it. It's unhealthy, and doesn't entice me to get to know a person better or spend more time with them, when that person acts happy and optimistic all the time, no matter what happens or happened to them. I smell a rat and it affects my trust in them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 422 ✭✭LeeLooLee

I'm not saying they have to be a certain way ! This discussion focuses on people who are always optimistic and happy, and I'm simply pointing out that in my opinion, they just "seem" that way, in most cases. In my opinion, if you have times when you feel down, or things do get to you, it's OK, human, and normal to show it. It's unhealthy, and doesn't entice me to get to know a person better or spend more time with them, when that person acts happy and optimistic all the time, no matter what happens or happened to them. I smell a rat and it affects my trust in them.

Same. It doesn't seem genuine, that's why. My ex used to put on a happy front all the time for the benefit of others, but then every now and then he'd totally blow up because of the simmering resentment and anger. Far better just to have a moan when things are going wrong, it's just human! Once you don't bang on and on about it and let it take over your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭trixychic

(Nearly afraid to post here)

I was told off in my last job for being "overly bubbly" when I was on the phone. I was receptionist for a large multi national company so was always trying to be helpful and nice.... turns out it was too much. Whoops

Slot of ppl comment on how happy, bubbly and energetic I am ALL the time. Trust me its not out of want. I sure as he'll don't feel that way. I just try to be kind and help out when I can.

Ok I'm running away now!!!!

trixychic wrote: »
    I was told off in my last job for being "overly bubbly" when I was on the phone. I was receptionist for a large multi national company so was always trying to be helpful and nice.... turns out it was too much. Whoops
    FFS.

Fair play to you - good attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,075 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

It is threads like this that cheer me up! If I am positively negative about positve people. Does that turn into a plus, therefore positive and therefore a happy buzz of giving out?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Overly positive people inspire my inner serial killer (twice I've used that today :pac:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,740 ✭✭✭✭M.T. Cranium

I met an overly positive person once. Needless to say, problem solved.

It is threads like this that cheer me up! If I am positively negative about positve people. Does that turn into a plus, therefore positive and therefore a happy buzz of giving out?

Positive cannot exist without negative. They are both the main structure of all physical and electrical connections. We'll just have to live with the differences and anomalies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭nervous_twitch

As a dyed-in-the-wool cynic, I have recently become so endeared to people who are positive by nature. Not grin and endure, fake-smile folk, but those who have the ability to realise things could be so much worse and continue on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

As a dyed-in-the-wool cynic, I have recently become so endeared to people who are positive by nature. Not grin and endure, fake-smile folk, but those who have the ability to realise things could be so much worse and continue on.

Actually I find that people that are positive by nature, generally look at things getting better. They look at their life and see it can be better if I'm positive and move on.

I think it's counter productive to continuously think that circumstances in life could be worse, your never really going to move on in your life. Just constantly think that what you have is good when in reality it probably isn't.

Been positivity is great but I think if you use it in the right way it can be a great benefit to your life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Corpus Twisty

Kevin Bridges put it as "not having been punched in the face enough as kids..."

I kinda agree. Feck off with your positivity..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

I meet a woman every day that i dont really know, but i know she has cancer.shes a young woman with kids family etc
    EVERY time i meet her she has a huge glowing smile and asks me how i am today and me with the sometimes grumpy head on me.

Happy Christmas to her and her family.hope everything works out well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭Figbiscuithead

I'd say I've a fairly positive outlook on life and am one of these people who sees it as a gift but I do complain and moan sometimes. I know the kind outlined in the OP - people who can't have a little moan now and then EVER.

I think absolutely fair play to them and I'd love to be like them so long as they're sincere about it but I tend to feel like an absolute arsehole alongside them, so I can't really stick them for very long. I do have a lot of admiration for them but sometimes (and I mean sometimes - I don't moan all that often) I just need to moan and to have someone there to make all the right noises for a few minutes and to move on. Life is great but sometimes it's really monumentally ****e and there's no harm acknowledging that sometimes.

crazygeryy wrote: »
    I meet a woman every day that i dont really know, but i know she has cancer.shes a young woman with kids family etc
    EVERY time i meet her she has a huge glowing smile and asks me how i am today and me with the sometimes grumpy head on me.

Happy Christmas to her and her family.hope everything works out well.
    My auntie battled breast cancer and won - her attitude was amazing. It was positive and strong and humorous. It was genuine too - not that forced stuff that can be quite grating. It was a case of "well, being miserable will only make things worse, what will be will be" etc. I'd reckon it was part of what helped her survive. Stress surely exacerbates cancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

I find it easy to determine who is a Dr Phil-Fake it till you make it-person and someone who is confidently self assured with a generally positive outlook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Heat_Wave

The problem is, majority of people cannot relate to people who are positive all the time, as these 'overly positive' people tend not to show emotions of anger and sadness, which lets face it, is only a part of human nature.

I would be very curious to know how happy these people really are behind closed doors. Not very happy I would imagine.

Expressing emotions is something which should be encouraged and not forced upon people to suppress, especially in a working environment.