Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hit car and drove away

• 10-12-2015 3:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6

So today someone reversed into my car and drove away.

I only caught the year and the type of car that it was. Here's where it gets interesting.

I'm fairly sure, almost 100% sure, that the house just beside me is a brothel. I work from home a good bit of the time and Monday - Friday, about 5-6 cars arrive and leave, all going into that house, all men.

This was the case this morning. A jeep pulled up, a man went into the house and stayed for about an hour. I was in the front room when I heard a loud bang. Looked out the window and I saw the jeep turning beside my car (his jeep was parked directly in front of mine) and driving off fairly quickly. I ran out after him but only caught the year.

There's not too much damage, it's mostly the grill, but still very annoying. I called into the house/brothel and knocked on the door. A Eastern European woman answered and I asked did she know who owned the jeep and she said she did. I asked for his number and explained what was after happening. She wouldn't give me the number but said she would call him.

About half an hour later she knocked on more door and said she had called and text him but he wasn't replying. She asked could she pay for half of the damages and we can just forget about it. Pretty confident the place is a brothel now! I told her no and said if he gets back to her let me know, otherwise I will have to take it further.

What would you guys do in this situation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭ct5amr2ig1nfhp

Well if you report it now and the Gardaí rock up, the neighbour will obviously know it was you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 matt.mac

That's my concern. I don't particularly want to get involved with the owners of the brothel, if it is in fact a brothel. That being said I should have reported the place to the Gardaí long ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Given the types that such establishments attract, I'd be inclined to let it lie. Also, I wouldn't voice your suspicions unless you were pretty sure with a mountain of evidence. There are other reasons for someone getting multiple house calls. I'd keep it friendly and to the point, the issue is your car and I'd keep the neighbors on good terms. If the premises is as you say, they will likely be back and I'd drop in for a friendly chat if they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 matt.mac

ironclaw wrote: »
    Given the types that such establishments attract, I'd be inclined to let it lie. Also, I wouldn't voice your suspicions unless you were pretty sure with a mountain of evidence. There are other reasons for someone getting multiple house calls. I'd keep it friendly and to the point, the issue is your car and I'd keep the neighbors on good terms. If the premises is as you say, they will likely be back and I'd drop in for a friendly chat if they do.

I'd be inclined to agree with you there. I highly doubt this chap will be back. He knows that he hit the car and if it is a brothel, he probably doesn't want anyone knowing that he was there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

If she offers to pay half then take her up on it. If the repair is €300, tell her it's €600 and get the 'half' off her.

There's two reasons for this: If she's an independent prostitute then that's OK, but if she is being pimped then it's possible you don't want to get hassle off her pimp, some of them are nutjobs.

It's also unlikely you'll find the culprit, unless there's a CCTV camera nearby where you can get the full reg plate.

You should also call the Gardai about the accident and get a crime number or incident number off them. You don't have to tell them he was in the brothel, but if he ever shows up on the street you can get photos of any possible damage to the Jeep and the incident will already be recorded with the Gardai.

When you have the crime number off the Gardai, inform your insurance company in case the Jeep ever shows up. Don't get involved in a row with the driver, just get his insurance details off the disc in the windscreen and get in touch with the Gardai and your insurance company again. Let them deal with it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

I'd tell her to get me the full amount and we'd forget about it. If she/he coughs up a decent amount but still below, I'd take it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Jesus. wrote: »
    I'd tell her to get me the full amount and we'd forget about it. If she/he coughs up a decent amount but still below, I'd take it

Yeah, I wouldn't push it with her anything like that...

i've seen Love Hate. All you need is Fran calling around with a 22c Centra bag to square up with you over a dented bumper.

I highly doubt she's a freelance worker. I'd cautiously accept her offer of half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Greyfoot

Go on, show her the damages on the car once again..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9VUuUQBbmzQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

I would have taken half the money off her and the ride to sweeten the deal ; )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

so.....the address of this establishment? :D

Yeah, I wouldn't push it with her anything like that... i've seen Love Hate. All you need is Fran calling around with a 22c Centra bag to square up with you over a dented bumper.I highly doubt she's a freelance worker. I'd cautiously accept her offer of half.

Not sure if sarcastic. Anyway, another way of handling it Matt would be to take payment in kind. I don't know what your personal situation is but if they're half decent looking you wouldn't be long working through 300 quid worth of services. And they'd be more than happy to make you happy considering you had something on them. Plus is cuts out cash, Cops and any of that other shyte.

Just another option for you to consider.

(EDIT: It would appear 1 or 2 dirty kants got in before me :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Jesus. wrote: »
    Not sure if sarcastic. Anyway, another way of handling it Matt would be to take payment in kind. I don't know what your personal situation is but if they're half decent looking you wouldn't be long working through 300 quid worth of services. And they'd be more than happy to make you happy considering you had something on them. Plus is cuts out cash, Cops and any of that other shyte.

Just another option for you to consider.

(EDIT: It would appear 1 or 2 dirty kants got in before me :))

LMAO. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭shaunr68

As long as you haven't yet let on to her that you didn't get the full reg. number, I'd visit again and bluff it. Claim that you have CCTV and it recorded the incident and registration number and ask her to pass on a message, say that you'd like to give him the opportunity to do the decent thing and pay for the damage otherwise you'll report it to the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

He could be back same time next week?

Watch out for the jeep - he might be a regular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭sogood

Mr E wrote: »

Come again?

ironclaw wrote: »
    Given the types that such establishments attract

Are you picturing the Sopranos or something?

In real life, they most likely attract fairly weedy Joe-Soap married men with a couple of extra euro in their pocket, who don't stop when they hit another car outside a brothel they've just visited, out of sheer embarrassment.

Pimps calling around beating up the OP? What film are ye guys living in!? :D

If there is a 'pimp', I'd imagine he'd be more than happy to have everything sorted and sussed with the OP rather than having the OP get pissed off and a row of blue lights pulling up outside the house.

Pimp-Man 5000 might have a gun, but OP has a grenade.

Just don't let the pimp offer to repair it, himself. You'll end up with hydraulic suspension, gold rims and a custom paint job.. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Zurbaran

Get the full amount for repairs or report it within a time line you make clear to the brothel. I wouldn't worry about anything regarding pimps and what not.

It's not the flicks, people who have brothels will do anything to stay on the down low since that's where their money is. The last thing they will want to do is cause trouble with a member of the general public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Zurbaran

More importantly you should strike up a few conversations with the girls who are working there to see if they are happy enough. Hard to find out tbh but if I had any suspicions otherwise i'd be onto the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

You could always try barter.

Zurbaran wrote: »
    More importantly you should strike up a few conversations with the girls who are working there to see if they are happy enough. Hard to find out tbh but if I had any suspicions otherwise i'd be onto the guards.

Balls to that. He ain't a social worker (I think)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,748 ✭✭✭corks finest

matt.mac wrote: »
    So today someone reversed into my car and drove away.

I only caught the year and the type of car that it was. Here's where it gets interesting.

I'm fairly sure, almost 100% sure, that the house just beside me is a brothel. I work from home a good bit of the time and Monday - Friday, about 5-6 cars arrive and leave, all going into that house, all men.

This was the case this morning. A jeep pulled up, a man went into the house and stayed for about an hour. I was in the front room when I heard a loud bang. Looked out the window and I saw the jeep turning beside my car (his jeep was parked directly in front of mine) and driving off fairly quickly. I ran out after him but only caught the year.

There's not too much damage, it's mostly the grill, but still very annoying. I called into the house/brothel and knocked on the door. A Eastern European woman answered and I asked did she know who owned the jeep and she said she did. I asked for his number and explained what was after happening. She wouldn't give me the number but said she would call him.

About half an hour later she knocked on more door and said she had called and text him but he wasn't replying. She asked could she pay for half of the damages and we can just forget about it. Pretty confident the place is a brothel now! I told her no and said if he gets back to her let me know, otherwise I will have to take it further.

What would you guys do in this situation?

Get a yearly membership, due a good discount I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭deathtocaptcha

If you feel there's illegal or suspicious activity going on beside you, report it to the guards and stop faffing around... tackle the issue head on. You'll be doing yourself and everyone else a favour.

Don't listen to the poor advice you've received here so far. This isn't love / hate. Nobody is going to even know it was you that reported anything.

If you feel there's illegal or suspicious activity going on beside you, report it to the guards and stop faffing around..

Don't be soft :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,748 ✭✭✭corks finest

Mr E wrote: »

Hope its a Thursday, 2 for 1,