Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opel Insignia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Ant695

Is that the ones that had the dodgy gearboxes or was that earlier models? I'm not sure but I'm sure someone will clarify. I believe they also only come with a space saver spare tyre which was the reason my uncle who adores vauxhall bought a passat instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭briancarr82

when you say "Is that the ones that had the dodgy gearboxes" do you mean the 2011 models?

Yeah I can't remember the year or years that it was but I know it was resolved after a certain point.

anyone else any experience with them lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭heroics

Tried googling topline does not seem to have been around that long.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=96518881

jaysus lads ye're frightening me with these posts!! do you think i should no1. stay away from the garage and no2. stay away from the insignia altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭Ardeehey

I had a 2.0 TD 151 on rental last week and I must say they are a lovely car to drive....but I did hear previous whispers about gearbox and clutch issues but don't remember the detials of models etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭duffman3833

boss had a 09 insignia and only real trouble he had was turbo but that was 180k on the clock, got a 152 one which is much nicer and smoother but he kept the 09 one and its still going grand. i think if you abuse them they will give hassle, look after them and you be fine. Id go with an 12+ insignia tho if you are getting one

would you think then that a passat would be a better option? i have a 04 1.4L golf i'm looking totrade in, so looking to spend about 10k plus that for trade-in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Website is a stock, off the shelf design only registered in July this year. The actual company is HILINE MOTORS LIMITED which is registered in Clonmel in Tipperary. Also, Blanchardstown / N7 / Long Mile Road is the Bermuda triangle of car sales. For me, that alone is enough to exercise extreme caution.

As regards the car, its about €1k overpriced (Average is closer to €11.6k) and the mileage is suspiciously low for that year (145k miles is the average) That data is based on 44 cars.

yeah sound, maybe i might be as well off avoid this and look elsewhere. i'll see can i see anything else on carzone. none of the opel dealers seems to have them in stock older than 2013 models which are out of my price range

ironclaw, where are you getting those stats from? any other tips lads, it's been a long while since i've invested in a car. really love the shape and style on the hatchback insignia but if it's gonna be trouble i'll move to something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭SBPhoto

I would think €12500 is very good price, don't have any experience about the dealer so can't help there.My daughter bought a mint 2011 CDI one from Main Opel dealer for €14400 with only 88k on it, Full service history and originally sold new by the same dealer. Lovely motor to drive

thanks yeah, drove one once and they drove lovely. i also thought it was a good price at 12,500 as they're coming in for 1k over that. Has anyone any experience with the vauxhall ones, they're lovely too but hard know how well to trust the uk import

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

ironclaw wrote: »
    Website is a stock, off the shelf design only registered in July this year. The actual company is HILINE MOTORS LIMITED which is registered in Clonmel in Tipperary. Also, Blanchardstown / N7 / Long Mile Road is the Bermuda triangle of car sales. For me, that alone is enough to exercise extreme caution.

As regards the car, its about €1k overpriced (Average is closer to €11.6k) and the mileage is suspiciously low for that year (145k miles is the average) That data is based on 44 cars.

145k KMs you mean. Milage is low but definitely not suspicious IMO.
    thanks yeah, drove one once and they drove lovely. i also thought it was a good price at 12,500 as they're coming in for 1k over that. Has anyone any experience with the vauxhall ones, they're lovely too but hard know how well to trust the uk import

Identical car bar the badges. Maybe spec levels might be a bit different but mechanically identical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

If I remember correctly that crowd have been trading under different names frequently so that alone would concern me. What good would a warranty be from them if they decide to change names again next week?

Regarding the car itself, looks like a base S model, could be just the flat colour but that car looks a bit tired for one that has only covered 68k miles in 4 years. They are also popular as rep mobiles that have a tendency to be driving a lot. Without a verified service history to back it up I'd be very suspecting of it. At least with most imported Vauxhall versions you can trace the history and mileage on them.

yeah i suppose i wouldn't want to take the chance with the warranty. I have a brother is a guard so can check the car details out for me before buying. I'm going to post some more that interest me here and in particular the garages. Would love your opinions, cheers guys

any opinions guys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Staplor

Very hard to get anything older than 4 years from a main dealer, you could always ask about anything coming in as a trade in for the new year.

I was looking myself recently and came close to buying one.

yeah very hard in the main dealers alright, don't mind buying off non dealerships once the garage has a decent reputation

a lot of dealers will offload older cars to other dealers for small profit or sometimes auction them as a quick sale

hi guys, just looking for peoples opion on this car http://www.centrepointautos.ie/viewanad.php?ad_id=1380735&r=

it's local to me too which is a bonus

hi guys, just looking for peoples opion on this car http://www.centrepointautos.ie/viewanad.php?ad_id=1380735&r=

it's local to me too which is a bonus

NCT isn't very long
    NCT Due Date: May 2016

not that long, it's a 2012 model so any 2012 is gonna be due a test next year. Woukd prob run it through test while still under warranty

hi all, back looking at 2 more, 2011 and 2012 models. Both one owner cars with full opel service history. Which one would you go for? The higher spec or the lower mileage? Any help asap would be great as looking at these over the weekend

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/opel/insignia/used-2011-opel-insignia-se-13-dublin-fpa-201214483598849730

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/opel/insignia/used-2012-opel-insignia-leath-dublin-fpa-201314472506243240

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

36k miles on an almost 5 year old diesel is almost dangerous! Doubtful if it has done any real diesel runs, more than likely runs to mass/the shops. Then again if it's warranted service history, you are potentially on to a new car. The 12 one is more realistic of diesel mileage, it's not high at all for a its age. Don't know if I could live with the beige interior. It's up to you at the end of the day, both look tidy. I suppose it comes down to whether the year fresher is important to you.

Cheers man. Checked ownership and was registered to permanent tsb. A company car, would u avoid? Going looking tomorrow?

Which one are you on about? No, I'd actually prefer a company car tbh. My last 2 cars were company cars. Bought the current one at 4 years old and 86k miles. Had a very vigorous service history with it. Usually company cars are well maintained and get the best of what's needed (as was with my case). Then again, it would depend on the company, but with a company like permanent tsb, one would imagine they would have their cars well treated.

The 2012 model. Yeah I mean they both come with full stamped Opel service history

Best of luck anyway!