Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Places open on Christmas Day

• 09-12-2015 12:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭

Now I'm no unseasonal curmudgeon... Actually, yes I am. The only thing I loathe more than Christmas is New Year's Eve.

Christmas Day itself can be claustrophobic. Nothing on the telly, nowhere is open. And then, as I was waiting for a bus on O'Connell Bridge this week, I noticed a neon sign for Jimmy Chung's Chinese Buffet on Eden Quay, saying that they were open on Christmas Day.

http://www.jimmychungs.ie

Then it got me to thinking - does anyone know of any other places (restaurants, shops, cafes, takeaways, bars etc) that will be open on Christmas Day?

Be nice to have some options.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

There'll be a few churches open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Does Jimmy Chung's do duck soup on Christmas Day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

Does Jimmy Chung's do duck soup on Christmas Day?

They'll have to catch me first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

diiiiinng donnnnnng diiiing dooonnnnng

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Petrol Station out my way in Bray will be open till 1. Exciting times.

No bars will be open anywhere except for hotel residents.

I actually like it on Christmas day that stuff is closed. Something nice about it when compared to the other 364 days a year.

Actually wouldn't like it if pubs were open Christmas day, would screw the whole day up.

Yeah, I tried that last year. The grub's not great and the wine is píss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Diamond Doll

Most hotels are open Christmas day. We stayed in The Radisson Sligo last year for Christmas - myself, my baby, and his dad. There was an interesting mix of people there! A few families, like ourselves (I'm from Sligo, which is why we stayed there, it was close to my family home.) Quite a few single "business" people, in suits at breakfast on the day, which I was a little surprised by, hard to know what they'd have been at on Christmas day. And several large-ish groups of older people, retirement age.

There was a Christmas Dinner package option when we were booking, we had Christmas dinner at my parents' place though, so didn't go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Few places up Clanbrassil St will be open.

Well, there were a few places last year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

murpho999 wrote: »
    Petrol Station out my way in Bray will be open till 1. Exciting times.

No bars will be open anywhere except for hotel residents.

I actually like it on Christmas day that stuff is closed. Something nice about it when compared to the other 364 days a year.

Actually wouldn't like it if pubs were open Christmas day, would screw the whole day up.

Pubs up our way used to open for an hour at dinnertime on the QT. Was grand, everyone out by one. Snow put an end to it one year, guards couldn't ignore the footprints going round the back of all the pubs, might have been robberies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭gaz wac

Duck Soup wrote: »
    Nothing on the telly, .

12 cans of beer, box of choc's and xbmc.........your sorted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Would you not just buy a load of tasty food/drink for yourself OP, then occupy yourself with a nice long stroll on christmas day? Then you can come back and induce yourself and sleep well at night. Throw in a few crafty **** here and there, sounds like a nice day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

There's a petrol station back home that tends to be open for a few hours and the odd hotel doing Christmas dinner.

Few places up Clanbrassil St will be open.

Well, there were a few places last year

Thanks, Alf. I grew up in England and there were always a few places open on Christmas Day because of the cultural mix there. For example, most Asians and Indians aren't Christians, so some didn't observe the holiday and just carried on as usual.

My favourite was a pub on an industrial estate that was run by two Indian lads. Myself and some friends used to head there after Xmas dinner and it would be heaving with people, some English but mostly Indian and, yep, Irish.

No one should have to work Christmas Day if they don't want to. At the same time, if they're happy to stay open, a good curry or stir fry that someone else is cooking wouldn't go amiss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Esso Garage by me open 24/7 Christmas Day.

So what. Grand if you need milk. Or guzzle for the car.

I would say there are lots of "non Christian multicultural" eateries/drinkies open on the day, but it might be kept quiet.

Lots of people would love to head into town and eat/drink on Christmas Day. It is not always the lovely happy clappy family Santa day for everyone.

If this is what multiculturalism can bring on the day, I'm all for it. Not too much of it though AFAIS.

I think they would clean up if they advertised it.

Hotels are expensive hell holes for many. A nice little eaterie (whether it is a little more expensive or not) would be a great addition.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

There's a few Asian/Arabic/Lebanese restaurants open in Dublin city centre

Duck Soup wrote: »
    Thanks, Alf. I grew up in England and there were always a few places open on Christmas Day because of the cultural mix there. For example, most Asians and Indians aren't Christians, so some didn't observe the holiday and just carried on as usual.

My favourite was a pub on an industrial estate that was run by two Indian lads. Myself and some friends used to head there after Xmas dinner and it would be heaving with people, some English but mostly Indian and, yep, Irish.

No one should have to work Christmas Day if they don't want to. At the same time, if they're happy to stay open, a good curry or stir fry that someone else is cooking wouldn't go amiss.

I can't remember what was open but it was the first time I'd been in Dublin at Christmas and it was strange seeing more activity than normal and there are a lot of different cultures catered for around there.

Might not have what you're looking for but worth a look :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 ashleyswhisky

Just saw that somebody posted re serving hotel residents on xmas day.

Before you book a hotel ask if they are. Hotels are not obliged to have resident bars(however most do) but not all serve on xmas day. Just ring your hotel and enquire before hand. I stayed in a hotel few years back with family and they did not open their bar. Drinks were available during xmas dinner and then after that was finished

Best to check first before disapointing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

Wetherspoons in Enniskillen will be open, for a few hours anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Chocolate girl

Spare a thought for the people who have to work on theses days no need for anywhere except hospitals to be open in my opinion.

If Christmas isn't a big deal in your culture then opening your premises isn't a big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Chocolate girl

If Christmas isn't a big deal in your culture then opening your premises isn't a big deal.

That's true but a lot are Irish or of a culture that want to spend time with family. If people choose to work that's fine but if not they are the ones I feel for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,575 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

guards couldn't ignore the footprints going round the back of all the pubs, might have been robberies.

The Garda station, theres another place!

That's true but a lot are Irish or of a culture that want to spend time with family. If people choose to work that's fine but if not they are the ones I feel for.

Why would you feel for anybody? Nobody is being forced to work Christmas time
    If they work in a field that may require work on Christmas Day then they clearly work in an area that involves anti social hours and are well used to it.

Also, some people don't really like Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Quite a few single "business" people, in suits at breakfast on the day, which I was a little surprised by, hard to know what they'd have been at on Christmas day.

I'm guessing each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Why would you feel for anybody? Nobody is being forced to work Christmas time
    If they work in a field that may require work on Christmas Day then they clearly work in an area that involves anti social hours and are well used to it.

Also, some people don't really like Christmas.

Just because they are "used to it", doesn't mean they are ok with it, plenty of people have no choice but to work it.

I work in a role that requires us to work up until 9pm Christmas eve and back in 6am St. Stevens day and I can just about tolerate it because of the thought of that one golden day in between the two being spent being merry with the family.

If I had to work Christmas day, it would be soul destroying for me, but you know what; people would turn up and say "I can't believe they have you working Christmas day" and I could say back "if people like you stayed ay hone, I wouldn't have to".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Just because they are "used to it", doesn't mean they are ok with it, plenty of people have no choice but to work it.
    You always have a choice :)
    You signed up for the shifts that you do, you knew what they entailed.

I've gone to the company with the ****ty hours. Being on-call 24x7 for a week, getting called at 4am and then going into work at 9am, getting paged on Xmas day and spending two hours in front of a computer instead of relaxing and having a drink.

But I got myself into that mess. I don't expect anyone to feel sorry for me, I signed up for it, and I signed out of it again when it sufficiently pissed me off.

No, I don't go out of my way to say, "fnck 'em", but I don't feel sorry for people working harsh hours over the period. That's what they've chosen to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Only if you work in one:confused:

I work in a role that requires us to work up until 9pm Christmas eve and back in 6am St. Stevens day and I can just about tolerate it because of the thought of that one golden day in between the two being spent being merry with the family.

If I had to work Christmas day, it would be soul destroying for me, but you know what; people would turn up and say "I can't believe they have you working Christmas day" and I could say back "if people like you stayed ay hone, I wouldn't have to".

Ok, fair enough but I'm guessing from your post that you work in the hospitality sector and that's just a sad drawback to your chosen work.

I work Mon - Fri 0830-1730 and no doubt you're often off during those hours so it's swings and roundabouts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

our local leisure centre is open for a while. I usually go in for an hour to escape the fuss at the house.

Also, the pubs in the north are open from a certain time (6 I think). We used to nip across for a few pints for the novelty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I certainly have memories of pubs in England being open on christmas day, can't remember the times though. Walking up to the irby mill, and my dad going in for a few swift ones, and spending the time sitting outside in the cold... dem were the days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I certainly have memories of pubs in England being open on christmas day, can't remember the times though. Walking up to the irby mill, and my dad going in for a few swift ones, and spending the time sitting outside in the cold... dem were the days.
    Most publicans in Ireland likely wouldn't really bother with Xmas day even if it was legal, and I can see why many hotels don't open their bar.

People will start drinking at 10am, like they do at home. Then they're thrown together with family members all day, when they may not see those family members more than twice a year. Just like at home.

Then by 6pm everyone is hammered and winding their family members up, tempers flare, fights break out. Just like at home.

The amount of family rows that end up in A&E over Xmas is just plain old depressing. If I were a publican or a hotelier, I wouldn't want to have to deal with that crap for the sake of a few extra quid on one day.