Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BMW X5

• 06-12-2015 1:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭

Right looking to buy one of these in the new year. Hopefully a 05 or 06 one. Anything to look out for when looking at these. Also I see some are crew cabbed for low tax and some are still on private tax. How do I get one changed down to crew cab tax if taxed privately.
    Also I gave my 330d se to sell in the new yr what is it worth. Fully serviced Nct,d for 9 months 170000 miles 18 inch m parrells with new tyres coil overs or sport suspension, remapped, full sport kit, full leather and down on the book as 2litre.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

You are buying trouble, trust me. To say you are trying to tax one of these commercial means you are on the limit to buy and insure it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

Is the 330d insured as a 2L too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭s14driftking

You are buying trouble, trust me. To say you are trying to tax one of these commercial means you are on the limit to buy and insure it.

Trouble in what sence. No not on the limit just don't believe in paying ridiculous tax prices when there is cheaper options. I believe the engine is the same engine as fitted to my current e46 330d.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭s14driftking

Is the 330d insured as a 2L too?

Trade policy so it's insured as a 330.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

down on the book as 2litre.

Hate to break it to you, but next time you try and tax that, they'll be taking your logbook off you and passing it on to the Gardai.

You'll only get it back once the backtax has been paid, and the car inspected by a spsv inspector.

They're wiping these out one by one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭Oral Surgeon

You are a messer!!

Right looking to buy one of these in the new year. Hopefully a 05 or 06 one. Anything to look out for when looking at these. Also I see some are crew cabbed for low tax and some are still on private tax. How do I get one changed down to crew cab tax if taxed privately.
    Also I gave my 330d se to sell in the new yr what is it worth. Fully serviced Nct,d for 9 months 170000 miles 18 inch m parrells with new tyres coil overs or sport suspension, remapped, full sport kit, full leather and down on the book as 2litre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Thats ridiculous. As far as I know there wasn't even a 2 litre version of that car in 2006.

Edit: Ah sorry, my bad. Its the 3 series thats down as a 2 litre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/gardai-seize-18-bmws-for-tax-fraud-31058511.html

“Each of the cars will now be examined by the Public Service Vehicle Inspector. DMR Traffic will liaise closely with Department of Environment in terms of Motor Tax and Customs and Excise in regards to having the vehicle tested for illegal diesel.”

“DMR Traffic will also be liaising with the insurance companies involved as this scam raises issues in relation to the validity of insurance, safety of the vehicle due to possible modifications of the engine and lose of revenue to the state in terms of road tax.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Hello, I want to get rid of my illegally taxed car and replace it with an illegally taxed car.

McGaggs wrote: »
    Hello, I want to get rid of my illegally taxed car and replace it with an illegally taxed car.

If it's meets the standards for being a crew-cab then it's perfectly legal to tax it as one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

If it's meets the standards for being a crew-cab then it's perfectly legal to tax it as one.

Only if the vehicle isn't used for personal use. OP wants it for private use which would be illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Good luck op getting someone, at least on here to buy a 3 litre car with 2 litre tax. The risks you are incurring just by advertising it is ludicrous. It will take one checkpoint where and over observant Garda will know the difference between a 330d and a 320d.
    If you cant afford to tax these types of cars then it means they aren't for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

That 330 is unsellable due to it being a 2.0 on the book. Any potential new owner will have to pay all back tax on it for being taxed wrong. Better off scrapping it/parting it or making a drift/track car to be honest.

You couldn't even export the car. Only other solution would be to "insert" a 3.0 litre a declare it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

I like the x5, but would prefer a german car, not a usa south Carolina made one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

this has to be a troll post!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Madness posting that stuff here when you have links to your public Facebook page...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

Truckermal wrote: »
    Madness posting that stuff here when you have links to your public Facebook page...

Fecking hell :eek: This guy is Fish in a barrel for Revenue. [Insert Faceplam gif]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,611 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Also being a "drift King" people would be queuing up to buy a car off you.

blade1 wrote: »
    Also being a "drift King" people would be queuing up to buy a car off you.

The ring is well driven out of his trade in so :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

bear1 wrote: »
    Good luck op getting someone, at least on here to buy a 3 litre car with 2 litre tax.

I don't know..

Take a few pictures of it half submerged in a lake somewhere. Tell prospective buyers that there's a lovely "cooooo" off her and that she's a "real mizer on Deisel". All that coupled with the chape tax as it's a "2 litter" on the book and you have yourself a very tempting car for some skanger/bogger somewhere :rolleyes:

Dont forget the Neverbeen sticker too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

Wow people jump to a lot of conclusions on here. Nobody knows the OPs circumstances so it's a tad odd to be informing him he can't afford an x5 if he's driving a 330 at the moment.

And as for the frothing at the mouth about the 2.0 tax, revenue are no more "clamping down" than the man on the moon. This has gone on for years and always will revenue has bigger fish to fry than someone skimping them off 700e a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

JC01 wrote: »
    Wow people jump to a lot of conclusions on here. Nobody knows the OPs circumstances so it's a tad odd to be informing him he can't afford an x5 if he's driving a 330 at the moment.

And as for the frothing at the mouth about the 2.0 tax, revenue are no more "clamping down" than the man on the moon. This has gone on for years and always will revenue has bigger fish to fry than someone skimping them off 700e a year.

1 - Whatever about the tax rate , most people doing this have been mis-declaring insurance (e.g lad in an M5 thats down as a 520d) and thats a serious safety issue. The OP isn't doing this, but to suggest its not a problem is insane. There is a clamp down , and I gladly welcome it, if you want to drive something nice, pay the price for it, 1809 a year for over 3 litre is a stinger, but thats what it costs, if you don't like it, move somewhere else.

2. - An X5 will cost more to keep on the road than a 330d , there are more parts to go awry, all the 4x4 systems, suspension parts like wishbones and shocks are more expensive , the OP could very well afford it, and nobody is right to speculate on that, but if they can't even stomach the full tax on a 330d it doesn't paint a good picture, if the OP will skimp on that, they could skimp on maintenance , cheap parts , a bodged job etc… and then that becomes a problem for every other road user. I don't want to get hit by a 2+ tonne X5 because some lad was too cheap to put decent tyres on it or change brake pads.

I don't want to get hit by a 2+ tonne X5 because some lad was too cheap to put decent tyres on it or change brake pads.

It will have a valid cvrt, that is all that matters.

that does not mean the car is safe or roadworthy, its an indicator but jaysus, this is not a micra we are on about. This is the massive problem with a portion of Irish road users , "it has a test, tis grand", I have owned various 4x4s since I was 18 and theres always a few bits that need doing to them beyond passing the CVRT test. They may be cheap to buy, but you still need pockets as deep as the original buyer to keep them on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Carpentry

McGaggs wrote: »
    Only if the vehicle isn't used for personal use. OP wants it for private use which would be illegal.

You can throw a bag of sand in the boot and say that you are on the way to a client when stopped, even if that's a sunday lunch time. The tax law is just ridiculous.

that does not mean the car is safe or roadworthy, its an indicator but jaysus, this is not a micra we are on about. This is the massive problem with a portion of Irish road users , "it has a test, tis grand", I have owned various 4x4s since I was 18 and theres always a few bits that need doing to them beyond passing the CVRT test. They may be cheap to buy, but you still need pockets as deep as the original buyer to keep them on the road.

The cvrt test is gone extremely thorough unless you know a guy working there ;)

and thats the problem, there are a lot of commercials wandering round our roads that really shouldn't be.

the cvrt is still basically - legal tyres, working lights and an engine that doesn't smoke badly enough to make people think a new pope is being elected and your through.

Flat out 100% wrong. Things have changed dramatically in the past 12 months.

The DPP are actively prosecuting people on theft/fraud charges for having these cars.

Why make such an uninformed post, when you clearly don't have clue what you're talking about?

Is that a joke? If he has it taxed as a 2.0 then more than likely its insured as one too which is against the law.
    If you do need to lie to revenue to pay less tax then it does mean you cant afford its appropriate tax rate.
    This is in the ops interests not ours though as it wont be any of us fecked up the arse without lube if the revenue finds out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

Since the insurance companies are obliged to provide data to the Gards for their ANPR, surely it's a trivial task to cross reference this list against that from the motor tax office.

Any differences in engine size could be sent a bill for the back tax - easy money for revenue. Anyone who's lied on both and doesn't get flagged will be driving uninsured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭carsfan

I know a Garda actively involved in inspecting these cars that have greater capacity engines than what they are taxed at. There has been a definite policy to enforce this much more he says in the last year. Told me they recently impounded a bmw 645i down on logbook as a 2.0 when it had a 4.4 v8 engine.
    Questionable cars apparently have been flagged by revenue and when the owners go to renew their motor tax they are being told the car has to be brought for a visual inspection which is where my man is called. He says the vast majority fess up at this stage but the back tax can add up greatly.

daRobot wrote: »
    Flat out 100% wrong. Things have changed dramatically in the past 12 months.

The DPP are actively prosecuting people on theft/fraud charges for having these cars.

Why make such an uninformed post, when you clearly don't have clue what you're talking about?

I'd have a decent clue to be fair, yes a couple of cases are being prosecuted as has always been the case but this is a rampant problem and not just with bmws.

They have only "changed dramatically" this year because of two high profile busts of dealers taking the piss with it and scamming tens of thousands in vat and vrt that's not the same thing as your man driving his 325 converted 318 and tacing and insuring as such. These lads still go largely under the radar as they are very hard to detect unless they are obviously modified cars.

For what it's worth I don't support this crac at all I'v a properly insured and taxed big car and it's frigging expensive but that's the cost of the car. I'm just not buying the line that this is a huge target of revenue and the gaurds on an individual basis and that to drive one of these cars is a ticking time bomb as some on here seem so desperate to beleive.

I'd have a decent clue to be fair, yes a couple of cases are being prosecuted as has always been the case but this is a rampant problem and not just with bmws.

They have only "changed dramatically" this year because of two high profile busts of dealers taking the piss with it and scamming tens of thousands in vat and vrt that's not the same thing as your man driving his 325 converted 318 and tacing and insuring as such. These lads still go largely under the radar as they are very hard to detect unless they are obviously modified cars.

For what it's worth I don't support this crac at all I'v a properly insured and taxed big car and it's frigging expensive but that's the cost of the car. I'm just not buying the line that this is a huge target of revenue and the gaurds on an individual basis and that to drive one of these cars is a ticking time bomb as some on here seem so desperate to beleive.

Look, not trying to offend you here, but again in this post you have shown that you are basing things on what you simply reckon to be the case, which is pure speculation.

I know with absolute certainty that they ARE targeting individuals with engine changes and they are being prosecuted on fraud charges, even if they have paid the backtax. The traffic corps have a whole team dedicated to it.

You are completely incorrect with your assumptions.

daRobot wrote: »
    Look, not trying to offend you here, but again in this post you have shown that you are basing things on what you simply reckon to be the case, which is pure speculation.

I know with absolute certainty that they ARE targeting individuals with engine changes and they are being prosecuted on fraud charges, even if they have paid the backtax. The traffic corps have a whole team dedicated to it.

You are completely incorrect with your assumptions.

None taken to that post but I'm not assuming anything. I'd agree with you that there are people actively looking for it but there are also people actively looking at every other traffic law going, yet people still get away with speeding, tax evasion, drink driving, drug driving, dangerous driving and on and on on a daily basis. My original issue with some posters was the consensus that this is a massive target issue and that you absolutely will be caught whereas in reality you would have to be fairly unlucky to get caught as is the case with most traffic offences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

and thats the problem, there are a lot of commercials wandering round our roads that really shouldn't be.

the cvrt is still basically - legal tyres, working lights and an engine that doesn't smoke badly enough to make people think a new pope is being elected and your through.

Jesus you're lucky if you get a van through on that. Last year my van failed on a worn steering rack bushing. He said it took him 20 minutes to figure out the problem but he stuck at it anyway!!
    Heard of lads failing on ripped seat bolsters.
    Failed the year before because he "thought" my back door didn't close properly. It did close but didn't look like it - I was broken into and they bent the door doing so - making it look like it was slightly open.

mfceiling wrote: »
    Jesus you're lucky if you get a van through on that. Last year my van failed on a worn steering rack bushing. He said it took him 20 minutes to figure out the problem but he stuck at it anyway!!
    Heard of lads failing on ripped seat bolsters.
    Failed the year before because he "thought" my back door didn't close properly. It did close but didn't look like it - I was broken into and they bent the door doing so - making it look like it was slightly open.

jaysus , where was that ? if I was buying a commercial off somebody id want to send it there just to knock down the price for silly faults they found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

jaysus , where was that ? if I was buying a commercial off somebody id want to send it there just to knock down the price for silly faults they found.

When is the last time you actually got a CVRT test done?

They are the most pedantic shower of feckers you will ever come across.

When is the last time you actually got a CVRT test done?

They are the most pedantic shower of feckers you will ever come across.

in may , the place I used did to be fair to them flagged a gearbox oil leak (it was a tiny weap from the corner of the sump , but I was surprised they brought it up, there are definitely some centres I've seen rust bucket transits leave though. Seems to depend if the cvrt people have those networked cctv cameras in the centre or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

They all get regular visits from the RSA these days so they are all the same IMO. We have vans in for tests every week and it seems like they are constantly trying to find new and pointless reasons for failing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

They all get regular visits from the RSA these days so they are all the same IMO. We have vans in for tests every week and it seems like they are constantly trying to find new and pointless reasons for failing.

I can't say that this is the case in mayo.
    They seem to have even relaxed alittle over the last couple of years here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

carsfan wrote: »
    I know a Garda actively involved in inspecting these cars that have greater capacity engines than what they are taxed at. There has been a definite policy to enforce this much more he says in the last year. Told me they recently impounded a bmw 645i down on logbook as a 2.0 when it had a 4.4 v8 engine.
    Questionable cars apparently have been flagged by revenue and when the owners go to renew their motor tax they are being told the car has to be brought for a visual inspection which is where my man is called. He says the vast majority fess up at this stage but the back tax can add up greatly.

Who in there right mind thought they could pass of a 6 series with a 2.0l engine in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

It was dunnings on the clonard road in dublin. Very very picky on faults. Suppose the only consolation was that when it passed you knew the van was in good order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

Thread is obviously a wind up

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

The E53 X5 cannot be crew cabbed anymore. The guys that used to sign off on them are not taking the risk anymore.