Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A/R Awards 2015 - Poster of the Year

• 05-12-2015 7:16pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Voting will stay open until Friday December 18th

Poster of the Year 2015 129 votes

Krusty
    0% 0 votes
    TRR
    8% 11 votes
    Dubgal
    0% 0 votes
    Walshb
    46% 60 votes
    Network Error
    31% 40 votes
    tang1
    5% 7 votes
    Myles Splitz
    8% 11 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

A lot of great posters here, but for me it has to be walshb. Every good story has a villain, somebody who poses a challenge, tests others' resolve and whether they can argue civilly. I may not agree with much of what he says (if anything), but there can be no denying that he is a character, and has an innate ability to stick to his guns in the face of complete adversity. Life would be boring if everybody agreed all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

I would've thought you'd vote for Tang1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

This is one where we need more than one vote! Every poster on that list is fantastic, each for different reasons and in different ways, obviously Myles with his all round knowledge and never ending patience, dubgal with the phenomenal work she put in on the DCM mentors thread and throughout the forum, Krusty, TRR & NE & even walshb, on occasion, all truly great posters but unsurprisingly my vote will go to Tang, not only is he a great support and a good friend to a lot of people on here but his honesty and unfailing sense of humour, even through his own difficult moments, is something that keeps the atmosphere in here welcoming, friendly and hilariously funny on the greyest of days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Ah jees how are you supposed to pick between them!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

I nominated Tang1 for this.

The reason why is that he is an unsung hero of the forum IMO. There are some very high profile nominees in the list for sure but what Tang1 brings to the forum isn't so obvious yet is as important. He is active all over the place and across multiple logs and has shown a keen interest in everyones progress. (Try having a sneaky race - the fecker is onto it and the result before you can even post it in your own log ;)) Even if it's just a simple thanks on a mundane post you know he has a real interest. His own log is a great read too. People like him make this forum a much better place and I believe it deserves some recognition.

Chivito550 wrote: »
    A lot of great posters here, but for me it has to be walshb. Every good story has a villain, somebody who poses a challenge, tests others' resolve and whether they can argue civilly. I may not agree with much of what he says (if anything), but there can be no denying that he is a character, and has an innate ability to stick to his guns in the face of complete adversity. Life would be boring if everybody agreed all the time.

I agree - especially with the not agreeing with much of what he says :) Not an obvious choice for poster of the year but a valid nomination nonetheless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I have to say, some great posters nominated. Delighted to see tang there as he is maybe not as high profile as the others but has been a great poster for years.

If you'd have told me a year ago that walshb would have been on this list then I'd have laughed at you. I'm surprised I didn't have him blocked at the time as he really made my blood boil!!! However after his thread 'under the spotlight' I have to say I really warmed to him. While I still don't agree with 99% of what he says (e.g. his defence of dopers :mad:) I can now see he provides a valuable role in the forum. Without someone putting forward the opposing side to every argument there would be no conversation and an internet forum is supposed to be all about conversation and debate after all. I also admire the fact that he never rises to the bait despite the obvious provocations. Even when offering a genuine piece of advice (outside of the devil's advocate role) lots of people take pops and accuse him of trolling (in the wrong) and he always keeps his cool. So I'll be voting for walshb.

TLDR: I am mad at not being nominated and voting walshie in protest :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

This is a tough choice... I agree with all the comments above about Tang, and NE has been a very positive contributor too, but for me this has to be Dubgal this year -- for her passion for running, her insight, her honesty and the tips and lessons she has shared with all of us... and that's before even considering the trojan work she did on the novice thread.

Her contributions have been so constructive for the forum in general and like others (Myles, for example), she is generous in her advice and coaching of boardsies at all levels.

And she wins flapjacks of the year too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Anyone else wondering if Walshb is silently imploding at the thought of maybe winning a popular vote ?? ;)

Really difficult to make a choice on this one - I find it hard to pass Myles while absolutely recognising what Dubgal did on the novice thread & elsewhere. What PM says about Tang resonates very strongly with me also. Hard one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

kit3 wrote: »
    Anyone else wondering if Walshb is silently imploding at the thought of maybe winning a popular vote ?? ;)

Really difficult to make a choice on this one - I find it hard to pass Myles while absolutely recognising what Dubgal did on the novice thread & elsewhere. What PM says about Tang resonates very strongly with me also. Hard one...

Could also be because he is sitebanned for 3 months!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

1: I can't believe I didn't get nominated.

2: No way should some gaa head from Cavan get an award, he'll only try flog it on adverts.

3: myles splitz is only here a wet week and does not deserve a nomination (plus he was responsible for my murderous hangover today)

4: Krusty has no more space on his mantlepiece due to all of his previous awards.

Edit: dubgal deserves the award considering her relentless commitment to the novice thread.

Gavlor wrote: »

2: No way should some gaa head from Cavan get an award, he'll only try flog it on adverts.

3: myles splitz is only here a wet week and does not deserve a nomination (plus he was responsible for my murderous hangover today)

4: Krusty has no more space on his mantlepiece due to all of his previous awards.

Edit: dubgal deserves the award considering her relentless commitment to the novice thread.

Myles should have been nominated for new poster of the year then. Think he would have fitted the criteria ?? What is it - just registered since last years awards or what ??

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

kit3 wrote: »
    Myles should have been nominated for new poster of the year then. Think he would have fitted the criteria ?? What is it - just registered since last years awards or what ??

Myles was nominated for both...he's not technically a new poster. So he's in here instead - a worthy nomination. Commitment to the forum and consistently around to offer advice and coaching year after year is admirable.
    Haven't voted for this one myself yet - all worthy nominations for their own reasons and all posters who contribute a lot to the forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Who's the Cavan GAA head?

Myles was nominated for both...he's not technically a new poster. So he's in here instead - a worthy nomination. Commitment to the forum and consistently around to offer advice and coaching year after year is admirable.
    Haven't voted for this one myself yet - all worthy nominations for their own reasons and all posters who contribute a lot to the forum.

Yeah, I know he's not technically a new poster :) My comment above was a little bit tongue in cheek in response to Gavlor's post :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

tang1 wrote: »
    Who's the Cavan GAA head?

Navan/Cavan/Leitrim/tallaght they're all the one to me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭Clearlier

This is a tough one. Myles was temporarily absent and it says a lot that he was sorely missed to the point of being asked to come back on his log a couple of months after he had closed his account. He is a legend of A/R. Krusty's posts should be required reading. NE is on the way to being a legend and seems to have temporarily curbed the tendency to close accounts and re-register :p. I completely agree with meno about tang - goes completely under the radar or perhaps it's because I don't follow that many logs. I've started following his though and am enjoying it. I also started following TRR's and didn't regret it. His descriptive style is unique and all the better for it.

In the end though I plumped for dubgal. Biased perhaps by having taken a much closer view of the novices thread than normal I was incredibly impressed by the level of commitment to the thread and to the novices. She brought it beyond the level of simply answering questions and solving problems as they came up to really get the novices moving and thinking with her epic weekly posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

pconn062 wrote: »
    Could also be because he is sitebanned for 3 months!

Would be some turn around all right. If you have time to kill and want a laugh type his username and the word ban into the search box! 10 years of craic right there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

tang1 has to be docked points for the massive wave of guilt I feel every time I see his log title

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Clearlier wrote: »
    seems to have temporarily curbed the tendency to close accounts and re-register :p.

That could change if Walshb gets more votes than me:p Nah, seriously, cheers for the nomination whoever you are, always nice to get some recognition even though I'm not sure if I'm fully deserving of it.

I found it harder and harder to pick a person to vote as all of the posters above are top-notch and contribute a lot to the forum but it ultimately came down to Myles and DG for me simply because of the sheer effort and quality of advice they put into the forum in helping others improve. Myles is like the Rich uncle pennybags of coaching on the forum and it's hard to find anyone he is not coaching or helping in some form. But, my vote goes to DG as it was a big step out of her comfortzone in taking on the novice's thread and she hit it out of the park and went above and beyond in making that thread was as great a resource for the Novices as it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

That could change if Walshb gets more votes than me:p Nah, seriously, cheers for the nomination whoever you are, always nice to get some recognition even though I'm not sure if I'm fully deserving of it.

I found it harder and harder to pick a person to vote as all of the posters above are top-notch and contribute a lot to the forum but it ultimately came down to Myles and DG for me simply because of the sheer effort and quality of advice they put into the forum in helping others improve. Myles is like the Rich uncle pennybags of coaching on the forum and it's hard to find anyone he is not coaching or helping in some form. But, my vote goes to DG as it was a big step out of her comfortzone in taking on the novice's thread and she hit it out of the park and went above and beyond in making that thread was as great a resource for the Novices as it was.

Can you retract your vote and cast a new one? Thanks to PM for the nomination and the kind words offered by others above, i never thought i would make it into a vote with such Boards luminaries as Krusty, TRR, Myles, Dubgal etc. My vote is NE, he is extremely generous with his advice and would never point anybody wrong with the advice he gives. He knows so much on the technical aspect of running and strives to learn more so to help others out. Hes a talented runner himself and his log is a top notch read. But seeing as he didn't vote for me i want to retract my vote now:p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

There's no need for modesty. Just vote for yourself. You can bet your house your competitors are doing so (well except walshy, unless the ban doesn't stop his ability to vote). :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

I nominated Tang1 for this.

The reason why is that he is an unsung hero of the forum IMO. There are some very high profile nominees in the list for sure but what Tang1 brings to the forum isn't so obvious yet is as important. He is active all over the place and across multiple logs and has shown a keen interest in everyones progress. (Try having a sneaky race - the fecker is onto it and the result before you can even post it in your own log ;)) Even if it's just a simple thanks on a mundane post you know he has a real interest. His own log is a great read too. People like him make this forum a much better place and I believe it deserves some recognition.

I could post the exact same thing. I nominated tang for the same reasons. I'll never forget the day I ran the Longford HM. When I got back to the car, he had already posted a message congratulating me on my time even though I didn't know the official result myself yet! :D

yaboya1 wrote: »
    I could post the exact same thing. I nominated tang for the same reasons. I'll never forget the day I ran the Longford HM. When I got back to the car, he had already posted a message congratulating me on my time even though I didn't know the official result myself yet! :D

there was one race where he didn't have my time posted on my log before I got to the car, very disappointing, just because you were pacing me tang its no excuse!! slopppy, very sloppy :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Chivito550 wrote: »
    There's no need for modesty. Just vote for yourself. You can bet your house your competitors are doing so (well except walshy, unless the ban doesn't stop his ability to vote). :)

That's what the sockpuppets are for, can't be seen to vote for myself;) #ConsistencyOfCharacter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Utdfan20titles

Pretty new to the forums myself so may be not in a position to judge but walshb seems to be the most popular poster. I don't know weather that makes him the best. He's involved in every thread that attracts interest here and on other forums too. Don't even know who some of the other nominated posters are.

Good to live in a democracy ;) Myles gets my vote by the way but would support the right of anyone to nominate/be nominated !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Netwerk Errer
    Network Error
    Notwork Error

^^^^^
    That dude gets my vote!

Knowledgeable poster who has taught me a few things this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Pretty new to the forums myself so may be not in a position to judge but walshb seems to be the most popular poster. I don't know weather that makes him the best. He's involved in every thread that attracts interest here and on other forums too. Don't even know who some of the other nominated posters are.

He's a controversial figure alright. But I think he makes some good points even if the art of subtlety is lost on him and a lot of the time he can be like a bull in a chinashop. You could never accuse him of towing the line or of spewing out middle of the road, gallery pleasing rethoric. And personally I'd be quicker to put my faith in someone who was willing to stand against pretty much everyone as opposed to a sheep who adopted the opinions of the liberal mafia as their own.

The criticism of nominees stops here. Warnings were put out prior to the threads being opened and posts already deleted. Any more of this and I'll pull the category.

If there is a nominee you don't like, vote for someone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

Trust me I went down with the ship on that one :(
    So he's in here instead - a worthy nomination. Commitment to the forum and consistently around to offer advice and coaching year after year is admirable.

Have to disagree.

This award is for poster of the year, considering I spent a good few months lurking etc I feel like my past might be clouding judgement for a few.

Personally I think Dubgal and NE have been two of most influential posters to crop up in as many years. People often talk about "the old days" but posters like these are exactly the kinda posters that make this place.

Have to disagree.

This award is for poster of the year, considering I spent a good few months lurking etc I feel like my past might be clouding judgement for a few.

Personally I think Dubgal and NE have been two of most influential posters to crop up in as many years. People often talk about "the old days" but posters like these are exactly the kinda posters that make this place.

really you should be in the New Poster of the year category, which is where I nominated you too!!!

Firedance wrote: »
    really you should be in the New Poster of the year category, which is where I nominated you too!!!

Ah he tries to win that every year ;)

Firedance wrote: »

I don't get this, he's blatantly not a new poster...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Lurking, shivers. Ugh.

I don't get this, he's blatantly not a new poster...

I'm not really being serious... I did nominate him as a new poster but in an ironic way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

well I'm confident that I have 58 votes in the bag!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

well I'm confident that I have 58 votes in the bag!

Only 58, mods must be on a major crackdown ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Just so's ye know, the flurry of new accounts are TRR's not mine... ;)
    This was really, really hard...so hard I just voted for myself.*

It's probably well known that I have a soft spot for walshie but nevertheless I surprised myself when he made it to my shortlist. I agree wholeheartedly with all the positive comments about his contributions to the forum (this is allowed, right?!). But sorry walshie, my vote went elsewhere this time. Let's talk again when you get on board with Lendl :D

*not really...and thanks for all the nice things said :o ....