Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ways around insurance for young drivers

• 05-12-2015 5:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭

Im looking to buy my first Car,It will be a 1.4 Petrol Golf probably 2004.Is there anyway around getting insured under my own name. My parents both drive and have clean driving licenses so Is there any possible way I could have my own car and still be insured under them.

Costs are absolutely ridiculous cheapest quote I got was 2400 with boxymo, Any ways around this let me know!

Also good companies to be insured with,Im only 18 btw...

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

You just need to man up and take it for the first few years, 2400 is extremely cheap for your own policy at that age!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Perhaps there is some way of insuring yourself on a car abroad in some country where it's much cheaper for a year, then transfer your no claims bonus. Although the insurance industry is well aware of such tricks and are keen to make sure you have paid your dues to the Irish insurance industry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭La Fenetre

Rather than pick the car and then go looking for ways to insure it, make an appointment to sit down and talk to a traditional insurance broker, give them a bit of notice and ask them check it out for you in advance, and then sit down with them and get their advice as to what makes and models are cheapest to insure. That way you get to start building up your own no claims bonus, rather than risking your parent's one. That's where the real savings are to be made. You'll still pay heavily for insurance as a young driver, there's no real way round that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭kcera

Im in college so paying around 3000 for car insurance just isn't viable,its ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

Then driving isn't for you.

kcera wrote: »
    Im in college so paying around 3000 for car insurance just isn't viable,its ridiculous

It is ridiculous alright. When I started it was 1400 and thought that was ridiculous. I'd be looking to have a car insured on my name abroad to soften the blow for me, or better yet, emigrate.

The way things are going here (generally) is that things are just going to get really expensive again with lots of people struggling to get by while constantly being told that the economy is doing great. You'll see a return to plumbers throwing their change in the bin and a lot of graduates working for multinationals handing their modest earnings straight to the landlord

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Im looking to buy my first Car,It will be a 1.4 Petrol Golf probably 2004.Is there anyway around getting insured under my own name. My parents both drive and have clean driving licenses so Is there any possible way I could have my own car and still be insured under them.

Costs are absolutely ridiculous cheapest quote I got was 2400 with boxymo, Any ways around this let me know!

thanks

While yes you can have your parents own the car, insure it and put you under them they are well aware of this, it's called fronting, they will adjust the policy for the highest risk anyway so you'll probably end up paying the same.

RossieMan wrote: »
    Then driving isn't for you.

It is for me Im just sure theres cleverer ways to go then giving insurance companies 3K straight away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭GreatDefector

Your preaching to the choir here. We all feel your pain but we've all been there

Is risk analysis for insurers and quite frankly you have no driving history. you have to prove yourself a good driver but until then, it sucks

The only way around these rules is the bus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

It is for me Im just sure theres cleverer ways to go then giving insurance companies 3K straight away

There really isn't, best thing you can do is get as new a car as possible that is safe with a small engine.

Your preaching to the choir here. We all feel your pain but we've all been there

Is risk analysis for insurers and quite frankly you have no driving history. you have to prove yourself a good driver but until then, it sucks

The only way around these rules is the bus

I have 6 months experience under parents name but doubt thats any good as I think you need a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭NickDunne

La Fenetre wrote: »
    Rather than pick the car and then go looking for ways to insure it, talk a traditional insurance broker and get their advice as to what makes and models are cheapest to insure. That way you get to start building up your own no claims bonus, rather than risking your parent's one. That's where the real savings are to me made.

OP this is sound advice. If you don't want to pay 3k, go straight to the horses mouth and ask the insurance co. what they would recommend as a cheap starter car.

NickDunne wrote: »
    OP this is sound advice. If you don't want to pay 3k, go straight to the horses mouth and ask the insurance co. what they would recommend as a cheap starter car.

I wonder can you buy a cheap car for breaking and insure yourself on that and not drive it to soften the blow for next year when you buy a real car that you're actually going to drive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭NickDunne

I wonder can you buy a cheap car for breaking and insure yourself on that and not drive it to soften the blow for next year when you buy a real car that you're actually going to drive?

In theory I suppose you could? IF it's not on the road there's probably zero chance of making a claim but personally I still wouldn't fancy handing over 1k+ for literally nothing :pac:

I could see your point if you were off the road for 2 years and about to lose your NCB but even that doesn't seem to matter much these days, I'm due my renewal in February and even with a years extra NCB i'm still looking at an increase :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

thanks

In todays climate with insurance prices for a lot of people being almost doubled for no good reason 2,400 for an 18y.o. to drive a Golf is not bad. You haven't mentioned if you have a full or a learner's licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

I wouldn't say insurance had gone up for no good reason, insurable companies aren't making any money in Ireland at the moment and that's a lot to do with the compo culture that seems to be making a return with a
    vengeance. Bad management too no doubt.

OP should forget about trying to pull a fast one and just get a sub 1000cc car like a Micra. Dunno why you're looking to insure a Golf and then moaning about the price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

if you want cheaper insurance, suffer a 1 litre for a year or two. I suspect Golfs will be quite expensive compared to other 1.4s

€2400 is a good quote imo.

coolbeans wrote: »
    I wouldn't say insurance had gone up for no good reason, insurable companies aren't making any money in Ireland at the moment and that's a lot to do with the compo culture that seems to be making a return with a
    vengeance. Bad management too no doubt.

OP should forget about trying to pull a fast one and just get a sub 1000cc car like a Micra. Dunno why you're looking to insure a Golf and then moaning about the price.

A golf is hardly a big or expensive car and tis hardly a fecking Golf R he'll be getting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

A golf is hardly a big or expensive car and tis hardly a fecking Golf R he'll be getting

Doesn't matter, premiums are a function of engine size and model for the most part. Aside from the driver of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

I recon 2.4k euro will be about as cheap as you will get. It's unfortunately a case of pay it or don't have a car and use public transport. Hence why a lot of people in college don't even have cars. I'm paying 1200 at 21 with no points or claims on a standard Megane which was the cheapest I could get so at 18 with no experience (in the insurers eyes) your going to be paying 2500 euro for insurance there is no way of getting it for a 1000 just one of those things.

So assuming that we have a limitless supply of pitchforks and good weather, where does one march to demanding change?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭La Fenetre

The hardships of owning your own 2004 VW golf at 18.

Come back an tell us your 1999 micra is € 2,400 to insure and we might start feeling sorry for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

So assuming that we have a limitless supply of pitchforks and good weather, where does one march to demanding change?

You could start an insurance company offering car insurance to 18 years old on their first cars for €400. See how long you last.........

Starting an insurance company sounds like a cool idea but as far as I know that malarky is reserved for millionaires. Also becoming an insurance company isn't like putting up a pop-up stall with "Chape insurance" written on it in permanent marker. Insurance companies are hand-picked by ministers who decide whether or not a given company that has already made millions elsewhere is allowed to enter the car insurance market

It's easy t become a Millionaire in the Motor Insurance game

you just need to start out as a Billionaire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

La Fenetre wrote: »
    The hardships of owning your own 2004 VW golf at 18

It's an eleven year old car.

It's a joke and a scam. The driving standards of young drivers are far better than when I started driving, they can't go out without an experienced drive till they pass their test, the tests are more rigorous, there's less bangers (NCT), they have to display their N sign after passing the test.

When I started there were people driving that actually couldn't really drive with bald tyres and dangerous cars. The Gardai didn't care if you'd no L sign.

The insurance companies are simply coining it in on a folly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LpPepper

€2,400 for a 1.4 Golf isn't bad, though in saying that my GF managed to insure an '04 1.0L Micra with herself (L driver) and myself on it for just short of €2,200

LpPepper wrote: »
    €2,400 for a 1.4 Golf isn't bad, though in saying that my GF managed to insure an '04 1.0L Micra with herself (L driver) and myself on it for just short of €2,200

Ah sure be grand, tis only around the value of the car sure. Your house probably went up in value by about 2.4k last night alone. Things are booming

I wonder if you went back to 2008 and told someone you got a 2.4k quote would people be telling you its cheap? The recent tigering up of the economy seems to have brought on a lot of "shut up and pay it" comments.

the value of the car barely comes into it. It's medical and legal fees you are really insuring for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

2400 for an 18 year old doesnt seem too outrageous in today's climate. I was repeatedly quoted 800 to 1000 this past week for a 2L diesel and Im 34 with a clean licence. I never again thought I'd see a quote over a grand since my days with Quinn Direct 10 plus years ago. It's crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,362 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

A 20 year old banger worth €100 can cause as much damage and injury as a brand new €100,000 car. Insurance companies are not basing your premium on the cost of replacing your €100 car in the event you write it off. Its the medical and legal costs associated as a result of injury to yourself or others as a result of your actions.

OP, reality is that insurance is not going to be cheap at your age and with your lack of driving experience, we have all gone through it. As said you need to contact a broker and see what they can do to reduce the expense to a more affordable price, just don't expect them to perform miracles.

the value of the car barely comes into it. It's medical and legal fees you are really insuring for.

These havn't gone up much in recent years though have they? I know things have been tigering in Dublin for the past couple of years but the increases we're seeing now are surely not justified

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,362 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Certain insurance underwriters were under pricing insurance here which in turn the others followed to remain competitive. These low prices were never sustainable plus they also dabbled their profits in poor investments when stock markets took a tumble, the cost of claims here has also gone through the roof which in turn has resulted in recent big losses for them. They are now trying to recover those loses through premium increases.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

You'll see a return to plumbers throwing their change in the bin

??

Jesus. wrote: »
    ??

Happened during the celtic tiger. They would go into the local shop for their breakfast roll and if they got coins back they would fire them into the bin as they didn't do change

Ah sure be grand, tis only around the value of the car sure. Your house probably went up in value by about 2.4k last night alone. Things are booming

I wonder if you went back to 2008 and told someone you got a 2.4k quote would people be telling you its cheap? The recent tigering up of the economy seems to have brought on a lot of "shut up and pay it" comments.

My first insurance , 16 years ago when I was 18, on a clio, was IRP£2900. It's gotten much better.

Happened during the celtic tiger. They would go into the local shop for their breakfast roll and if they got coins back they would fire them into the bin as they didn't do change

Just plumbers was it? Must be something they taught in Bolton St :rolleyes:

Sweet suffering Jaysus

D'ye reckon we're headed back to the Celtic Tiger days Sh1tbag?

Just plumbers was it? Must be something they taught in Bolton St :rolleyes:

I'm sure there were other professions tied into the building trade with lads doing the same
    Sweet suffering Jaysus

D'ye reckon we're headed back to the Celtic Tiger days Sh1tbag?

Probably, insurance industry could be just leapfrogging the massive increases before their wages go through the roof.

Also, when a lad who's just out of school is being asked to drop nearly 2.5 G's on a sheet of paper for the windscreen and you have lads saying not bad you know somethings up. I remember back in '01-03 premiums were massive then but it was also tigering that time

Spot on mate. I nearly choked on my tongue when I seen boys saying 2.5k wasn't bad. Wtf kind of Country are we living in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

The Irish insurance market wouldn't be so hard to make money in and need such high premiums if it wasn't the habit in this country to put a personal injury claim in for every single fender bender.

Also, whether or not the driving test and NCT etc has improved general skills and safety, you're still the most inexperienced group on the roads, therefore highest risk, expect to get charged as such.

Saying that, I'm sure there are cheaper cars to insure as a first time driver than a golf, I remember my first car was an almera, then I bought a 1.4 civic and my premium went up, after that I bought another almera and got better level of insurance plus the missus as a named driver for the same price, my insurance now is at a competitive price because I have a 6+ yr no claims bonus, so everyone starts off the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

To the OP, if you think 2400 is dear, you better hope you don't have a tip. 15 years ago, at the age of 25 I was paying 3k after someone claimed off my insurance.

However, here's a tip for cheaper insurance. Firstly, always tell them it's worth 3k or more, even if it's worthless. They load for cheaper cars if the belief people won't look after them. And get a quote in your own name, but with one of your parents as a named driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Spot on mate. I nearly choked on my tongue when I seen boys saying 2.5k wasn't bad. Wtf kind of Country are we living in!

It isn't. You should have been trying to insure some 'heap as an 18-year-old on the late '80s. :D

I'm sure there were other professions tied into the building trade with lads doing the same

I've never seen anyone do it.

Some tradesmen were making good twine then, but I think this yarn is much like the one about the black girl with the buggy. :D

jimgoose wrote: »
    this yarn is much like the one about the black girl with the buggy. :D

What's that one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Being a Golf, 1.4 and 18 are all going against you to be honest. I agree with all the others, you should get a policy as soon as you can in your own name. It will stand to you in the future as your own no claims is worth infinitely more than named experience.

If it was me, I'd drop the engine size and definitely avoid anything VAG. The likes of the Golf and Bora are heavily loaded. I'd consider something in the 1.0L category, yes they are no fun and slow, but in a year you can flog it on and your insurance costs might be significantly lower. Your going to college after all, no one cares what you drive. Also, most 1.0L cars are nigh bullet proof and serviceable by yourself for pittance, again lower costs (The likes of the Yaris and Micra spring to mind here) The same parts on a 2004 Golf might blow your bank balance in no time. Tax and Insurance will be the cheapest part of any ownership of a car, that I assure you. I always say, you'd want at least 50% of whatever you paid for a car in reserve for maintenance and incidentals.

What's that one?

Oh you know, the immigrant gal leaves the child's buggy on the pavement getting on the bus, because De Social will give her a new one shortly after she gets home, Joe.

urban myth...probably relates to them putting change in a charity jar

Precisely.