Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clipped someone's mirror

• 04-12-2015 12:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭

This morning when my girlfriend who is a leaner was driving and she "clipped" someone's mirror with the mirror on her car. They exchanged information. It was very minor incident nothing was broken. They decided to sort this out outside their insurance company. There was no Gardai on the scene.

Latter on my gf got a call from that lady's insurance company and told her to bring the "appropriate" details to the Gardai within 10 days. My gf rang the Gardai and want to find out what details she needs. The Gardai on the phone told her if no Gardai was on the scene and she was not instructed by a law official she is not obliged to submit her details in 10 days.

My gf then rang the lady. The lady said she was told by her insurance company she should report the incident to the Gardai with my gf's details. She also said she had no idea her insurance company would contact my gf.

This never happened to her before. So now my gf is wondering if she will get in trouble if she doesn't submit her details?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

Guards involved over a clipped wing mirror?

Waste of Garda time. Someones insurance company cannot instruct you to submit your details to the Guards so I would ignore that instruction anyway. No - she wont be in trouble as the Guards have already told her.

Why did the other woman contact her insurance if they agreed to settle things outside of insurance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

PenguinForce, meet Elipet
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057531930

To be honest here and in any case of dealing with insurance companies - ask for this "Report to your garda station and await further instructions" request in writing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Guards involved over a clipped wing mirror?

Waste of Garda time. Someones insurance company cannot instruct you to submit your details to the Guards so I would ignore that instruction anyway. No - she wont be in trouble as the Guards have already told her.

Why did the other woman contact her insurance if they agreed to settle things outside of insurance?

Its in the T&C's of most insurance policies that all accidents should be reported to the insurance company even if no claim is made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭PenguinForce

Yeah that was kind of a mystery. I guess it could be to cover her own ass in case my gf refuse to pay for the damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Wolff

Why bother getting the insurance companies involved at all ?

Get the nice lady to go to a garage and get a quote for repair - agree on the amount to be paid and pay it - no hassle

Insist on this as you are taking the blame and getting it sorted out for her

Waste of time getting involved with insurance companies - will only pump up your renewals anyway - someone must have been in contact with them

Gardai wont get involved in this unless someone is injured or the damage was caused by reckless driving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Who's to even say it was your girlfriends fault? Just because she's the learner doesn't mean she was in the wrong. They were both too close to eachother unless your girlfriend was over the line, if there was a line, it'll be hard to put the blame on one party I'm guessing?

Unless of course your gf clipped a park car or something?

Dear Sir/Madam

We demand that you attend your local KFC dressed as Colonel Gaddafi and perform a haka will procuring a Whopper meal.

Failure to perform this task as requested, or to procure a Whopper meal, will lead to you being designated an enemy to the all powerful Intergalactic Federation of Insurance.

Resistance is futile, common sense does not compute, bow to our will.

Yours fantastically,
    Maire Pencilpusher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Dear Sir/Madam

We demand that you attend your local KFC dressed as Colonel Gaddafi and perform a haka will procuring a Whopper meal.

Failure to perform this task as requested, or to procure a Whopper meal, will lead to you being designated an enemy to the all powerful Intergalactic Federation of Insurance.

Resistance is futile, common sense does not compute, bow to our will.

Yours fantastically,
    Maire Pencilpusher

Best make sure KFC's public liability insurance covers ritual dancing while dressed as a dead dictator or all claims made will be deemed null and void.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

You are obliged to exchange insurance details, if requested by the other party. You are not obliged to admit liability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

RustyNut wrote: »
    Its in the T&C's of most insurance policies that all accidents should be reported to the insurance company even if no claim is made.

Id hardly class clipping a wing mirror as an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

Id hardly class clipping a wing mirror as an accident.

The insurance company would though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

parked car or a driving accident? If both cars were driving, then it's a knock for knock situation.

Am I missing the point here? Do others not think it glaringly odd that InsuranceCompanyX has decided that they are in a position above the State's police force, and can compel citizens to present documentation to the Gardai without the Gardai having requested it?
    And presumably then the Gardai are supposed to carry out this admin work for the Insurance company rather than Maire Headset taking the the relevant insurance details and checking them herself?

Am I missing the point here? Do others not think it glaringly odd that InsuranceCompanyX has decided that they are in a position above the State's police force, and can compel citizens to present documentation to the Gardai without the Gardai having requested it?
    And presumably then the Gardai are supposed to carry out this admin work for the Insurance company rather than Maire Headset taking the the relevant insurance details and checking them herself?

Both parties are obliged to exchange insurance details. If the other party (correctly) reported the incident to her insurers and advised them that they didn't get the insurance details of the other driver at the time, that insurance company has 2 options. Either they politely and efficiently ring the other driver and ask them to bring the details to the Gardai, who could then pass them on OR they could apply to the MIBI to trace the insurance details on their behalf. The latter is a messy prolonged business. Nothing sinister here, just admin.

Option 3 - ring other driver. Get insurance details. Skip MIBI. Skip Gardai. Verify insurance details.

*I have charge a €40 admin fee for this advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Sounds like other driver rang insurance company and is following things to the letter, she may actually have no plans to pursue a claim, just reported an accident like a drone robot. waste of everyones time.

I DEMAND that you all produce your TV licences and dog licences at your nearest Garda station.
    They must then ring me and confirm that you have done this. Or there will be HELL to pay for you all!!!

Hop to it, hop to it!

Option 3 - ring other driver. Get insurance details. Skip MIBI. Skip Gardai. Verify insurance details.

*I have charge a €40 admin fee for this advice.

You don't pay anything to the other party's insurance company.

listermint wrote: »
    Sounds like other driver rang insurance company and is following things to the letter, she may actually have no plans to pursue a claim, just reported an accident like a drone robot. waste of everyones time.

If the other party doesn't report this incident in accordance with their policy conditions. Her insurance company might decline her own damage claim if the whole thing goes pear shaped and she needs to use her own cover.

The waste of time comes with dealing with that scenario. (Decision on indemnity, declinature, complaint, Ombudsman etc)

You don't pay anything to the other party's insurance company.
    The charge is now €80. Further requests for clarification, information, and change of details will be charged per word.

Responses to suggestions that the Gardai should facilitate these civil matters after the fact will be charged per keystroke.

Ts&Cs baby:D

The charge is now €80. Further requests for clarification, information, and change of details will be charged per word.

Responses to suggestions that the Gardai should facilitate these civil matters after the fact will be charged per keystroke.

Ts&Cs baby:D

The OP was looking for information and assistance. Your ongoing dig at me does not assist them in any way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

Wolff wrote: »
    Insist on this as you are taking the blame and getting it sorted out for her

When it comes to accidental damage to another persons car that you are taking full blame for you can't insist on anything. I had this with a person a few years ago who insisted i take i take it to a guy who painted part time in his shed to get it repaired.

I was driving along (or parked in my case) minding my own business and your carelessness caused damage to my pristine car you waived your right on insisting on anything when you drove into me. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Why would anyone go to all this hassle over a clipped wing mirror, probably no damage done either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Why would anyone go to all this hassle over a clipped wing mirror, probably no damage done either.

Serious neck pain :rolleyes:

People will chance anything for any kind of pay out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

The OP was looking for information and assistance. Your ongoing dig at me does not assist them in any way.

Where's your sense of humour? :confused:

It wears thin when the same person tells me the same joke every time with the timing and delivery of Arnold Schwarznegger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭PenguinForce

So bit of an update.

My gf and that woman met up last Saturday. My gf gave her the money and took a photo of her quote for the fixing the wing mirror. The woman signed the ATM receipt just for prove. So everything is sorted out.

Today my gf got a phone call from the the local gardai station and was asked to bring up information and give a statement in the next 10 days. She is wondering if this just for record or will gards do anything more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

Any time you settle something like this privately, make sure the other person signs something stating that this is a full and final settlement. Otherwise they can take your money, and then go through insurance on top of it.