Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pranks :D

• 02-12-2015 4:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭

What are the funniest pranks you've played on friends and family?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

I once stitched my drunk friends t-shirt to his boxers.

His mum had to cut him free when he couldn't undress himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I changed my mates asthma inhaler cartridge with nitrous oxide.

He still laughs about it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I told me Ma she was adopted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

At a restaurant with a few friends. My friend asked me to order him a Coca-Cola while he went to the bathroom. The waitress asked me what I would like to drink and I told her "Could I have a Coca-Cola for myself and a Pepsi for my friend, please." I know what you're thinking. "But your friend didn't asked for a Pep.." Shhh. *Puts single finger over your lips*. I know.

She took down the order without the knowledge that my friend had actually wanted a Coca-Cola. I didn't want to get her into trouble. An accessory and all that. He arrived back and asked had the order been taken yet. I nodded. Gleefully. About a minute later she arrived with the drinks. Before she could name the drinks with that puzzled tone waitresses do (you know the one. Ehm, Coca-Cola???) I took the beverages from her hands and thanked her. She looked a bit frightened but I had to protect the integrity of the prank. It was more important than the Waitress thinking I was some weirdo.

I placed the drinks down. I waited. And waited some more. After a couple minutes I started to worry. I started to sweat profusely. Finally he lifted the beverage and pressed the cold glass against his lips. Oh boy. This is it. He swallows. Nothing. I was perplexed. But then he took another taste. "This tastes a bit like Pepsi" he says. "HA. THAT'S RIGHT," I exclaimed.

I explained the whole thing to him over dinner. He wasn't very impressed haha. I bought him a real Coca-Cola after to make it up to him. Gas so it was. We haven't really spoken since unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I really hate "pranks".

At a restaurant with a few friends. My friend asked me to order him a Coca-Cola while he went to the bathroom. The waitress asked me what I would like to drink and I told her "Could I have a Coca-Cola for myself and a Pepsi for my friend, please." I know what you're thinking. "But your friend didn't asked for a Pep.." Shhh. *Puts single finger over your lips*. I know.

She took down the order without the knowledge that my friend had actually wanted a Coca-Cola. I didn't want to get her into trouble. An accessory and all that. He arrived back and asked had the order been taken yet. I nodded. Gleefully. About a minute later she arrived with the drinks. Before she could name the drinks with that puzzled tone waitresses do (you know the one. Ehm, Coca-Cola???) I took the beverages from her hands and thanked her. She looked a bit frightened but I had to protect the integrity of the prank. It was more important than the Waitress thinking I was some weirdo.

I placed the drinks down. I waited. And waited some more. After a couple minutes I started to worry. I started to sweat profusely. Finally he lifted the beverage and pressed the cold glass against his lips. Oh boy. This is it. He swallows. Nothing. I was perplexed. But then he took another taste. "This tastes a bit like Pepsi" he says. "HA. THAT'S RIGHT," I exclaimed.

I explained the whole thing to him over dinner. He wasn't very impressed haha. I bought him a real Coca-Cola after to make it up to him. Gas so it was. We haven't really spoken since unfortunately.

I hope you didn't actually type that whole thing out right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

ElleEm wrote: »
    I really hate "pranks".

Ah sure some of them are funny.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1EJyU5yiXRs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

I hope you didn't actually type that whole thing out right now.

No. It's saved in a word file entitled "Memoirs".

Ctrl C + Ctrl V, baby.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

Have you seen the thread "Wanker Watch......" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

No. It's saved in a word file entitled "Memoirs".

Ctrl C + Ctrl V, baby.

Best prank ever fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I sketched a giant mickey on a Paddy Power betting slip and managed to slip it into my mate's pile of bets before he went up to the counter. I thought it was hilarious but he didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Convinced someone that his best friend was dead after being "killed" in front of him. Hilarious

Hammer89 wrote: »
    I sketched a giant mickey on a Paddy Power betting slip and managed to slip it into my mate's pile of bets before he went up to the counter. I thought it was hilarious but he didn't.

Bet he was the one laughing when his Cristiano Ronaldo anytime bet came in though :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Bulbous Salutation

Sheet of clingfilm over the bowl of the jacks is a classic. Follow it up with itching powder on the toilet paper. Do a top decker if in very prankish mood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

ElleEm wrote: »
    I really hate "pranks".

Me too. "Oh right, am I supposed to laugh now."
    Jelle1880 wrote: »
    Ah sure some of them are funny.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1EJyU5yiXRs

That was total pony.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

My brother found this toy knife out on the road. If you "stabbed" something with it, it pushed into the handle as if it sank into the skin.

He was standing there drying the dishes and I was talking to him. He dried the knife with a cloth and mid conversation put on a serious face and stabbed me in shoulder with it. For about 3 seconds I genuinely thought he had stabbed me. I remember looking down at my shoulder and looking at the knife and thinking "wtf why?".

He also bought this lighter when he was holidays. He said to me "here light this its deadly, wait til you see the colours in the light" but it was actually an electric shock lighter! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Just watched a video on Youtube of a guy being kidnapped as a prank and made watch as his best friend is 'executed'.

Too far.... anonymous has even threatened the video poster over it. :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Go on ya mad yolk!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

They're called "social experiments" now, get with the times

Not to speak ill of the dead but what a tosser was Jeremy Beadle. Not one of those "pranks" was any good. Completely unfunny. This clip reminded me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭20Cent

Told my uncle I had a tip on a horse called hoof hearted. Was funny him having to keep repeating it and saying it louder at the desk.

What are the funniest pranks you've played on friends and family?

The funniest pranks are always the ones that people do to themselves. Like the time I accidentally spilled some fish oil in my dads car. And when he complained about the smell in his car to our family whats app group I told him the way to get rid the smell was to cut an onion and rub it all over the car seats.

And when he told me that did not work I told him to try it again with garlic.

Somewhere an hour into meticulously rubbing his car insides down with tiny hand fulls of garlic it occurred to him "oh crap - he was winding me up wasn't he"

Which was almost as good as the time I first flew him over to watch the football in germany with my GF and in the airport I handed him a fist full of money and sent him up to the Beurau De Change telling him to "Change this for German Euros will you?"

He walked about 3 quarters of the way to the booth before he suddenly turned back and shouted "Do you really think Im that thick do ya?!"

I reckon he was for most of the way :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

This one sort of went wrong.
    We have a huge whiteboard in the back of the kitchen in work where we leave messages for each other, stuff that needs to be ordered, recipes that we have developed, instructions for the next day (prep lists, ring so and so about the faulty oven door etc..) and so on. I wipe off whats been done nightly as its me who runs the kitchen and does all the ordering.
    One Sunday night during the summer I had taken note of everything and wiped it clean, but one of the other chefs thought it would be funny to write 'FLEET ADMIRAL LOVES MASSIVE COCKS' and draw a huge cock and balls underneath this, complete with a load of jip coming out of it.
    I didnt see it so it was there on Monday...when the health inspector came. She didnt see the funny side of it, the owner didnt see the funny side of it and the shit hit the fan. The other lad got a stern talking to and I have to make sure the board is clean before I leave now.
    He has since taken to baking pizza dough in the shape of a cock and balls and then throws it at me at random times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I once threw a big rock at this old man and hit him in the head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Go on ya mad Yolk!! :D

In fairness Sinbad was one of my child hood heroes :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

My husband wakes up most nights to go to the toilet. I sometimes stick fun snaps under the rubber parts of the toilet seat so that when he sits down it makes loud bangs. Then I laugh so hard I get giddy and can't sleep. Totally worth it.

Eventually my 5 year old will go to the toilet during the night and probably end up with a fear of toilets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭brandnewaward

20Cent wrote: »
    Told my uncle I had a tip on a horse called hoof hearted. Was funny him having to keep repeating it and saying it louder at the desk.

followed swiftly by ice melted in 2nd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭frash

best prank ever

That was total pony.

Ah come on, how one of them almost gets shot, hilarious.

I'm probably too old and crusty to see it :o

It's more aimed at how people tend to film videos these days doing insanely stupid things (like talking about guns in majority black neighbourhoods, who have to deal with gangs etc.), and then when it predictably backfires shout that it's a prank, as if that makes it all ok :)

I love seeing idiots like that get their comeuppance.

Like this one:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U0tDBvdunu0
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1kf16pQeXm4

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

One of the best pranks I've heard of is a group of lads who picked one of thier mates and any time they sent an email to him, they would add the word 'spoon' in white text at the bottom of the mail.
    After loads of mails with the word spoon in it, the guy started getting all his browser ads and recommendations as being spoon related. Not sure if they ever told him.

The best one I've ever done is where I put tampons in my mates shopping basket.

The best one ever played on me was when I woke up on a kitchen table after drinking with a story written on both my arms.

It's more aimed at how people tend to film videos these days doing insanely stupid things (like talking about guns in majority black neighbourhoods, who have to deal with gangs etc.), and then when it predictably backfires shout that it's a prank, as if that makes it all ok :)

I love seeing idiots like that get their comeuppance.

Like this one:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U0tDBvdunu0

You suckered me in on that.

Now that shoite is in my history and Youtube recommends loads of similar shoite for me to watch next.

I get it - your message was a prank:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

We led a really drunk mate into a basement under a some flats. And left.

When he woke up it was pitch black and for a long time he thought he had gone blind.

Then he found a light button and could get out.

It was a really really ****ty prank and if I could take it back I would. I'm glad he forgave us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Dramatik

Spiking random peoples drinks with yokes is always a good laugh :D wait... what were we talking about again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Hello Mr Cosby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    The best one I've ever done is where I put tampons in my mates shopping basket.

Remind me never to cross you! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Building sites are horrific for this sort of stuff. A buddy of mine in Australia witnessed one where a lad left his phone in the canteen while he went away for fags, they swapped the numbers of his ex and current girlfriends while keeping the names the same. Apparently he sent 5 odd messages to his ex (unwittingly) culminating with an angry call as to why she was ignoring him. Dreadful stuff.

More lighthearted was when I was working in a recycling plant in Hackney and a shop dummy came in inside a skip. We wrapped it up in a carpet, drowned it in red sauce from the canteen and then I used a grab machine to mix it up in the rubbish; I knew a lad would be working in that area later and when he used his machine to pull some rubbish off the top what appeared to him to be a dead body rolled out. He didn't see the funny side of it unfortunately.

A few weeks later I noticed a lot of rats scurrying into a length of guttering pipe that was lying around. Now, in an industrial waste facility the rats are massive, as in their bodies can be up to 12 inches long and they are very, very heavy.

I blocked both ends of the pipe with bricks and beat it with a stick until the rats were f*cking mental inside screeching and scratching frantically. Occasionally I'd give them a blast of a hose before resealing the pipe. An African lad working there came in to start the shift and I told him to move the pipes, when he picked it up three massive rats shot out of the pipe like a bazooka, one jumping on his shoulder in the process. He also did not find the situation remotely humorous.

^^^^^

Now those are pranks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Best one I've done in while is the "shrine prank". I did this on my gf.

Basically the idea is that you gather together some personal belongings of your OH. (you can do this on someone random, but it's quite a bit more risky)

Then you build a mock shrine with a picture of them in the middle. Really make it look legit, with candles etc the works... so it really looks like you're worshiping them! :P

Put it somewhere well out of sight, like you're trying to hide it - back of a wardrobe etc. Then try to engineer a situation where they stumble on it without you actually guiding them towards it.

Then enjoy their look of horror and disbelief. :D

Oh, but make sure you have proof that it was just a prank. Otherwise you could have a tricky job on your hands convincing them you're not some loony perve! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭shane9689

You made a rat launcher??? thats ****ing disgusting!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

shane9689 wrote: »
    You made a rat launcher??? thats ****ing disgusting!!

It was vile. The rats are huge like and that close up they actually emit a fowl stink as well, we could see the mange on their skin and those horrible incisor teeth. Your man was Ghanaian and I'll never find forget the sheer terror on his face and the painful howl he came out with. A few of us were watching and I can honestly say I've never laughed as much as in my life, you know when you're splitting it to the point you get that breathless tight feeling in your chest when it almost hurts? I actually had to sit down I was laughing so much.

The f*cker got me back the next week anyway so fair is fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Leroy Brown

How embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Friend of mine travelled from Japan (where we worked) to travel to Korea and watch Ireland v Spain in 2002. First day or two were days off, but on the last day he was working so called in sick. Grand, everybody in the school knew, and nobody in the admin department suspected anything.

There he was on TV in slow motion, celebrating the Robbie Keane penalty, far from sick and far from Japan.

When he got back, we called the school when he was working (we were actually in the school, just in a small storage room) pretending to be his boss from the central office, and needing to meet and discuss his recent absence.

He got pretty white and worried before we had sympathy and told him it was us.