Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Bant Brigade are about!

• 26-11-2015 9:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭

The cool student types are out tonight in there Christmas jumpers getting totes langballs and singing Christmas songs. Aren't they mad craic altogether??

What's the maddest craic you've ever had? And were you a total arsehols while having it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

"Youth is wasted on the young." - George Bernard Shaw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

I hate Christmas, I hate students, but most of all I hate fvckers who refer to conversation as banter.

That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Sun King

I hate Christmas, I hate students, but most of all I hate fvckers who refer to conversation as banter.

That is all.

The Archbishop of Banterbury has spoken. ;)

Totes tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭Figbiscuithead

Boy do you sound jealous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

A bit of life experience will knock the enthusiasm out of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I was in town having a ken this evening and I noticed a few of the bant brigade. Felt like chinning somebody so I got out of there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Wish I was out! Will have to settle for tomorrow and Saturday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Sun King

Boy do you sound jealous!

I could never get one by you, figbiscuithead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Wish I was out! Will have to settle for tomorrow and Saturday!
    Ooooooooooooooooooh.

Look at me with my "I'm going out on Friday and Saturday night".

I'm going to buy a newspaper on Sunday. f**K ALL OF YIZ

That is all.

Does anyone like students?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Does anyone like students?

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Bastards out having fun. It fills me with RAGE.

No.

There we have it.

As a brief aside, If I ever hear anyone using the term "langballs" in a real pub then I won't be held responsible for my actions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I can (just about) tolerate the throngs of christmas jumper wearing, twelve pub partaking students, so long as they don't introduce "novel" rules to be abided to in each pub.

Brings a mockery to the noble art of binge drinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I fcuking detest the word 'bant' and everyone that uses it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

We don't have the bants in Ireland. We have the craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

I was in town having a ken this evening and I noticed a few of the bant brigade. Felt like chinning somebody so I got out of there.

I feel like chinning you for having a "Ken"

Did you flick your Kashmir scarf around your neck as you were leaving?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭Deep Six

I'm the bantam of the Opera, the archbishop of banterbury m8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Banter's not the same if you say it slower, Squiffy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Puibo

As a brief aside, If I ever hear anyone using the term "langballs" in a real pub then I won't be held responsible for my actions

Where I come from when you call somebody a langball. It means Dickhead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

Feckin revellers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Surely only the 'ironic' users of 'banter' are left and they're numbers are dwindling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Doylers

That is all.

Ah lad was just a bit of banter, no need to go mad cray cray.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Skoop

I had fun once when I was young. Was awful.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 266 ✭✭Clive Bisquette

can barely tolerate students mesell...shower of blarts in this posters opinion.....loud coves with a great sense of entitlement.

Was beside a noisy group in a pub the other night....had to leave before I glassed one of them!

AAAArgh !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,458 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

have the bants & chill (**** i feel like punching myself for typing that ****e lol)

hate this time of year. the once a year drinkers, 12 pubs, student xmas days etc. i live on a street in waterford where there are 3 pubs and around the corner is 5 pubs and a few eating places so every weekend around this time they all come down the street shouting, fighting, pissing and puking everywhere, knocking on doors/windows.

i would love to do a 12 pubs though but cant afford it. few bottles and xmas playlist on spotify will do me.

the christmas work party where the dj plays the 80's chart toppers (dancing on the ceiling, simply the best, rock the boat, walking on sunshine etc) and ur boss going around dancing like someone possesed etc.

Anybody hear an echo ??

xmas drinking game

listen to band aid and everytime the artist changes drink and polish off ur drink when it hits the chorus.

another big messy day will be when the work seekers get there xmas bonus. drink will be had that day id say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Who/What is 'ken'?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Yes, but are they happy?

Of course they are the bastards :(

I once attempted a Luas Challenge in santa suits. Basically you buy a crate of booze and go to Sandyford Luas stop. You get the Luas into town and get off at every stop. You had to drink one can/bottle at each stop. Strictly no drinking on the luas. Ended up in coppers of course. What a pack of complete arseholes.

It's a "look" I think...went into town for a look would be her majesty's engrish!

While I'm here whats with this "An Garda Siochana" craic thats now polluting the airways.

Ie I was stopped by a member of An Garda Sicochana or "As a former member of An garda Siochana etc.

Reddens my baffler does that......

Whats wrong with Gardai ?

As a former member of the gardai etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

12 pubs can be great craic as long as no stupid rules are rolled out. Plus I find they're normally confined to **** bars so easy to avoid. Haven't done one in years tho,prefer 12 pints in the one pub myself,yes I'm not only an alcoholic but lazy too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

It's a Hoyno, drunk by Tarquin and Fiachra before going to the Lonster match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

I kant kope with everyone having the bants.

Valetta wrote: »
    It's a Hoyno, drunk by Tarquin and Fiachra before going to the Lonster match.

Ah! Thanks ..I was way off the mark !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Deep Six wrote: »

Banta Claus, surely? For the time of year that's in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

PTH2009 wrote: »
    xmas drinking game

listen to band aid and everytime the artist changes drink and polish off ur drink when it hits the chorus.

Bant Aid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Captain Flaps

People who take offence at people out enjoying themselves in a way that doesn't directly interfere with others bothers me more than the supposed offenders, if I'm being honest. We all thought we were great when we were students and if you can't look at them and draw comparisons with yourself when you were younger maybe the problem isn't them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

People who take offence at people out enjoying themselves in a way that doesn't directly interfere with others bothers me more than the supposed offenders, if I'm being honest. We all thought we were great when we were students and if you can't look at them and draw comparisons with yourself when you were younger maybe the problem isn't them.

Yeah but then they start singing the Yaya/Kolo Toure song

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Ken Shamrock

:D Hi

Hmmm I have considered this , but nah!...they are still a$$holes :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

And we have the soccer banter to come next summer with the best fans in the world

bigpink wrote: »
    And we have the soccer banter to come next summer with the best fans in the world

Yeah the embarrassing thing of singing when ur getting beat 4-0. It's good to be there as its something to look forward too. We will have a load of stories of us Irish charming ourselves into premium boxes, 1st class flights etc. The bandwagon will be getting ready for its trip to the French lands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Deep Six wrote: »

Nice to meet you.

I'm a Bantersaurus Rex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Nice profile description

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Yeah the embarrassing thing of singing when ur getting beat 4-0. It's good to be there as its something to look forward too. We will have a load of stories of us Irish charming ourselves into premium boxes, 1st class flights etc. The bandwagon will be getting ready for its trip to the French lands

Now ye mention the football and the journey ahead in summer has anyone got a good starter motor and rocker cover for a 1968 blue Comer van, with the sliding doors. Or failing that a sound gearbox for a lite-ace? There both bollixed after the last trip abroad

As for bants I encountered this unbalanced and unnatural breed earlier on a 15 from rathmoines into Eden quay. Two girls and a long haired guy. Sitting downstairs opposite centre door and yer wan swearing and cursing like a docker and all three suppin from bottles of aldi craft beers. Hadn't the badness in me to tell the driver they were drinking but felt like throttling the gobby docker ladette wan a few times. She was laying the bants on very thick:-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Gaygooner

12 pubs of christmas, and the cúnts that start doing push ups...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I think you misspelled bantwagon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Nice to meet you.

I'm a Bantersaurus Rex

I feel like I missed a boat somewhere.