Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Online Dating Experiences

• 25-11-2015 12:12am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

I'm thinking of setting up a profile but I'm just wondering what are peoples experiences when it comes to online dating ? Is it a vain place ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Send women dick pictures, works every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Its **** to be honest, I used online dating sites a good bit and went on a few dates but never led to anything. All successful relationships Ive had have been with people I met in person

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Bitches be crazy bro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭brandnewaward

met my lady on POF 5 years ago , getting married in june.....works for some i suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

I know about half a dozen couples who met on-line and married. Just one divorce AFAIK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

Only have used Tinder. Great to pass the time, can be very entertaining if you don't take yourself too serious and treat Tinder as a virtual nightclub...some good leads will go flat in seconds but you could be home and dry in ten minutes too. It's a lot easier to be "successful" on it too than most people would think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Tiz good if you have a personality if your dull as a plank don't bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Met my husband on and online dating site some 8 years ago.
    It can work, but as always, you'll need to get through an awful lot of chancers.

Best advise I could give would be to actually put some information about yourself into your profile (yes, people will actually read it), and have a reasonably nice picture up. The one where you're posing drunk as a skunk surrounded by your mates won't help you at all, no matter how funny that was at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

If someone only has one photo, ignore them. If they have loads of group photos, ignore them. If they only have face pics, ignore them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

You get what you put into it I guess. There's a private board on here about online dating if you genuinely want to understand the experiences, positive and negatively.

Basically you need a thick skin and need to brace yourself for multiple disappointments. But that's life. It has worked for plenty of people and my experiences on the whole were definitely more positive than negative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Having got divorced I tried online dating.

It's just another way to meet people - met some who were very nice, some who were just a bid 'different' and a very few who were quite scary!!

In statistical terms, it probably generated two relationships that went beyond casual dating.

Met the current mrs Jawgap at a dinner, though - not very 21stC :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Andre 3000 wrote: »
    Only have used Tinder. Great to pass the time, can be very entertaining if you don't take yourself too serious and treat Tinder as a virtual nightclub...some good leads will go flat in seconds but you could be home and dry in ten minutes too. It's a lot easier to be "successful" on it too than most people would think.

Tinder - Where the T stands for "transmitted".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

Saipanne wrote: »
    Tinder - Where the T stands for "transmitted".

It doesn't stand for anything actually, it's not an acronym.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Shenshen wrote: »
    Met my husband on and online dating site some 8 years ago.
    It can work, but as always, you'll need to get through an awful lot of chancers.

Best advise I could give would be to actually put some information about yourself into your profile (yes, people will actually read it), and have a reasonably nice picture up. The one where you're posing drunk as a skunk surrounded by your mates won't help you at all, no matter how funny that was at the time.

I'd say that was awkward , how did he explain being on it ?
    And why were you on it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

wakka12 wrote: »
    Its **** to be honest, I used online dating sites a good bit and went on a few dates but never led to anything. All successful relationships Ive had have been with people I met in person
    Ya, online dating just doesn't work out. They're all like "where were you? I waited at the restaurant for an hour", and I'm all like "It's online dating, I was on their website, duh". Stupid noob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

It doesn't stand for anything actually, it's not an acronym.

I think they know that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Don't do it, I ended up married after trying it only once

Dry doesn't sound like the right goal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

petes wrote: »
    I think they know that!

No, it's always important to point out the obvious.

I clearly hit a nerve.

Bullseye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The biggest obstacle I have found in using it is the "taboo" associated with meeting someone online.

I mean some of the lads used to give me awful stick for being on Tinder, despite having a relatively low "strike" rate. Just assumed I was meeting randomers on it the whole time etc. And that I must be physically unable to meet them in person.

Met my current GF on POF, but god forbid revealing the truth on to how we met. Sure isn't only hilarious to give lads stick for "resorting" to the online route.

Good for it OP. Feck the begrudgers. You knows. If romance doesn't blossom, than perhaps you may have a hilarious story for the "your most embarrassing sex story" thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

It's grand.

Had some truly awful dates. Also met some lovely people.

Takes persistence, an acceptance of disappointment and a thick skin, but it can be good craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

smash wrote: »
    If someone only has one photo, ignore them. If they have loads of group photos, ignore them. If they only have face pics, ignore them.

Hahaha, you brutal bastard :P

I've had profiles on a few and met up with plenty of people with differing results. Seeing someone I met on Tindr at the mo and it's been going good.

As for "tips", I've got " Message me if you prefer peanut butter to Nutella" on my page and I get a message related to this off a different person nearly every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Have never tried it myself, that's not to say I never will though!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

OP here. I've set one up ,so I'll report back in a couple of days to let ye know how it's going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I gave it a go a few times a few years ago. It just doesn't suit me. I just struggle with small talk and getting the ball rolling initially in real life as well as online. I'm a crap salesman and you really do need to be to be good at online dating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

I've met some of the craziest women ever from online dating, but also had some of the best sex. May or may not have been with the crazy ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Trebor176

Personally, it hasn't gone so well. Sure, I've chatted to a few, and they would suddenly go quiet. That would be that. Apart from that, there's been mostly nothing. Sure, messages are sent, the profile is viewed after, but there's rarely a response.

I think POF is the better of the three I've used (the other being Tinder and OKC). Tinder is ok, but there's a snowball's chance of a match. Plus, there appear to be 'bots' on it too, which are apparently easy enough to spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

had a really good time on POF before.

met some really nice ladies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Dr.Robotnik

Pick up women on Boards, this is just one big secret dating site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I've only recently found this out to be a thing from people telling me stuff :eek:

(No experience of it myself...can't see how it would work...but apparently it deos!)

PM sent

You are a real doctor right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

I've only recently found this out to be a thing from people telling me stuff :eek:

(No experience of it myself...can't see how it would work...but apparently it deos!)

Does it. Well if any women want me just pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I went out with a girl after we first met at a boards beers a few years ago. Sometimes you just strike up conversation in a thread and things go from there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Was never for me. Too much of a box-ticking exercise.

cantdecide wrote: »
    PM sent

You are a real doctor right?

I can be whatever you want me to be baby :P

All sorts of fingers in all sorts of pies..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,650 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Was never for me. Too much of a box-ticking exercise.

Think that's the big mistake many make. They view it a bit like buying a car, a shortlist of desires that are not realistic. In the real world you kinda have to accept people's flaws as well as the good points. Some people go in with a shortlist of criteria, usually unrealistic.

I can be whatever you want me to be baby :P

Oh great. How are you at gardening?

Not afraid to get my hands dirty!

Raawr. Verrrry sexy indeed... I like a lady that knows how to handle a strimmer

This is precisely why I suck at online dating :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Never did the online dating thing..not for me. I have had a boyfriend since Tinder came out so never used that either. Often look through it with my single friends for a laugh!

Raawr. Verrrry sexy indeed... I like a lady that knows how to handle a strimmer

This is precisely why I suck at online dating :(

Dont say that! I have some serious embarassing stories from my time on online dating. Too embarassing to share here! :D

Ah go on. I'll keep sketch for mods :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Nomis21

I am male and I used internet dating back '98 in UK when it was still quite a new phenomenon.

After quite a few hopeless meetings I met the manageress of a Social Welfare office and we were together about a year. I broke it off in the end because I didn't want anything a serious as she wanted, but it was good while it lasted.

I also got to know where 'The Street of a Thousand Dole Cheques' is situated in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,962 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

My eldest son (in his twenties) found his previous GF on Tinder. Didn't work out (no surprise to me). He met his current GF through OKCupid and I think she'd make a great daughter-in-law :D ... but I'm not convinced he'll work hard enough to keep her! :( They're the kind of "perfect" match that probably would never have happened otherwise.

Not working for me though - it seems internet dating isn't geared up for people who need the internet to the actual dating bit because they can't meet up in real life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,692 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Tinder gets a bad name but from my experience it has been superb.Only being able to chat to someone if it's a mutual match cuts out a lot of the ****. Met some really cool girls off it that I would never have met otherwise, been with girls who I would always have thought were out of my league and made me a lot more comfortable and confident with girls but I know people who had a pretty **** time with it and it can be a bit a soul destroying when you can't have any success with it.

It's ****ty the way someone you were textign will suddenly just go cold on you but you get accustomed to it or when someone won't reply to your messages but if you don't take it too serious and don't get overly attached to any of your matches, then it can be a great app to use.

I did use POF in total for about 3 weeks but I had to delete it. Hated it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,458 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

will set up a proper profile someday. too scared to do it. according to my doctor i have mild aspergers so it may be hard to find someone but ill try. wish me luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭mckar

Well I met the love of my life online 3 kids getting married great life we have 5 years later. Go for it you don't have anything to loose.

Mind you my man was the first to catch my attention. So never got to experience the horror stories but it can work out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,650 ✭✭✭✭road_high

siblers wrote: »

I did use POF in total for about 3 weeks but I had to delete it. Hated it.

Why did you find that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

I was on pof on and off for a while.
    Had a few dates and met a few girls multiple times but nothing evolved unfortunately.
    Even to say talk to 10 girls you're talking about sending out probably 50-100 messages.
    It helps to be pretty thick skinned as your confidence could really take a knock of you send out alot of messages and log on again to find no replies.

But the way I look at it is if I'm messaging a girl it probably means possibly hundred of other men are too. There is no doubt dating sites are top heavy with men. It's also worth bearing in mind these men may not be respectful/polite or interesting so by the time a woman does reply to your message she's already been through an endless list of "hi" "your hot/fit/sexy/a ride" or the more forward "do you wanna fcuk?" some messages probably include an attachment of his pride and joy.
    That's just the tip of the iceberg of the stories some women have told me from it.

It is what you make it. I think if you're interested in talking for a while and getting to know a little about someone you'll do well.
    Regardless of what you're intentions are, politeness goes a long way.