Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How's your Barney.

• 17-11-2015 5:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

45,000 homes without power so far apparently.
    Who decided to give storms male rather than female names?kinda took the edge off them.
    Not too bad here yet anyway,starting to get gusty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Just the usual Irish thing of "it's windy, better drive at 5km/h". The M50 is at a stand still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

Barney just blew me pretty hard. All wet now too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

We have electricity but I went to the ATM and it was so windy that my cardigan was blowing around my head and my money tried to escape as well. I was glad that I hadn't worn a skirt :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

At the moment, we're doing 'girl/boy/girl/boy...'. Abigail was at the weekend. Now we've Barney, Clodagh will be next...

http://edition.cnn.com/2015/10/20/europe/uk-ireland-storm-names/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭king size mars bar

Great craic here just watching my garden fences being blown into the neighbours gardens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I'm off home in 4 minutes. On my bike.

Should be fun!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Should be fun!!!

Going for a Darwin award...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Should be fun!!!

Not long in from a spin.Be careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

At the moment, we're doing 'girl/boy/girl/boy...'. Abigail was at the weekend. Now we've Barney, Clodagh will be next...

http://edition.cnn.com/2015/10/20/europe/uk-ireland-storm-names/

This is as good as the names they dream up every time the bring out a new version of Android!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

Grand drying weather out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Deathwish4

Gusty Spence would have loved this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Medusa22 wrote: »
    We have electricity but I went to the ATM and it was so windy that my cardigan was blowing around my head and my money tried to escape as well. I was glad that I hadn't worn a skirt :pac:

Were you just wearing a cardigan ? If so most ATMs have cctv nearby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Dog nearly blew away when taken out to do her business. I foresee a pissy rug this evening because there's no chance of me persuading her to go out there again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I'm in the office and I didn't even realise it was windy out. 10k cycle home coming up, so you in the next life I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Filthy purple bastard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Sh*te outside. Stay in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Pretty wild here but still have power. Hope it doesn't cut out. I've loads of typing to do. Gonna drive to the shop now and get some stuff for sandwiches then hole up for the night. *sends mind beams to the roof slates to stay put*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

catbear wrote: »
    Grand drying weather out there.
    My neighbours actually jerry rigged a big washing line assembly for themselves last evening. The must have completely forgotten about it because I looked out at lunch time today and some of it was left thrown around the back, god knows where the rest of it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

I now have a BBQ I never had before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Chocolate girl

Hats off to the crew in this weather trying to restore power etc. Stay indoors if at all possible it's nuts out there.

I now have a BBQ I never had before.

The table and chairs might be along shortly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Wild Garlic

Milk bottle just rang the doorbell

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

had to walk down to the doctors, 20-25 odd minutes there. never been pelted in the face with as much dirt and tree debris in my life. it bloody hurt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

Had planned to light the fire tonight. Luckly I started very small just in case. Fire went off like a rocket with a massive draw up the chimney then the whole process reversed :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Mightydrumming

Van in sh!te - wrote off due to a 'preserved' tree.

Obviously they didn't use enough preservative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

They've taken the roads in here.

Saw a black shape fly across the garden. Wasn't sure if cat or something else. And if cat, not sure if airborne or just running. Cat is inside now, anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Dr.Robotnik

strelok wrote: »
    had to walk down to the doctors, 20-25 odd minutes there. never been pelted in the face with as much dirt and tree debris in my life. it bloody hurt

I got a big wet leaf to the face a while ago!

Roads are covered in massive branches and trees that have fallen down. Be careful people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

Lots of downed trees out there. Came across one completely blocking the road on the way back from work. I felt like a hero when I was able to whip out a polesaw from the back of the van and then with the help of a few other motorists was able to clear most of it off the road. It was very lucky it didn't come down on someone though. Dangerous out there.

my3cents wrote: »
    Obviously they didn't use enough preservative.

We wanted it to get the chop but funnily enough it was given the all clear 2 weeks ago. They'll see how clear it was in the morning :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

I wonder how long it will be until our European neighbours start changing their facebook profile pictures to the tricolour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

Had planned to go dogging tonight, not in this weather :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Was bad.
    Now good.
    End of transmission.

We wanted it to get the chop but funnily enough it was given the all clear 2 weeks ago. They'll see how clear it was in the morning :rolleyes:

Jokes aside I used to work in tree surgery and normally if there is the slightest doubt about the safety of a tree then its taken down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭The Dogs Bollix

I've been cold all day. Almost blew away.

Had a hot whiskey as soon as i was in the door. Now i have to go to the shops and my head is spinning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

kneemos wrote: »
    45,000 homes without power so far apparently.
    Who decided to give storms male rather than female names?kinda took the edge off them.
    Not too bad here yet anyway,starting to get gusty.

The last one was Abigail. Hardly a male name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I've been cold all day. Almost blew away.

Had a hot whiskey as soon as i was in the door. Now i have to go to the shops and my head is spinning.

Why go? Make do with what you have already for the night instead of taking risks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,867 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Currently debating with myself as to whether or not to go training. I'll have until 6:45 to make up my mind

my3cents wrote: »
    Jokes aside I used to work in tree surgery and normally if there is the slightest doubt about the safety of a tree then its taken down.

The local council own the land, we've been onto them numerous times and nothing has been done about it. This is the second time a tree has fallen and caused damage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Medusa22 wrote: »

The wind is so sexist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭ollaetta

strelok wrote: »

Maybe you should stick to conventional medicine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭The Dogs Bollix

Why go? Make do with what you have already for the night instead of taking risks

Need milk
    And have craving for nutella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

The cycle home there was like a roller coaster.

Thought I was a goner a few times.

Feck going back out in that, did the euro millions online for the first time ever.

May be running out of beer tho!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Bit breezy in the city, but nothing awful.

The local council own the land, we've been onto them numerous times and nothing has been done about it. This is the second time a tree has fallen and caused damage!

AFAIK if it's on private property the owner is responsible. Presumably it's the same for the council?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

No wind worth talking about here in mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Was just out - its not Really bad - but its not nice - Delivered coal to an old man just there - he nearly fell over when he opened the door with the gust so I do feel sorry for people like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,155 ✭✭✭blackcard

Electricity gone. Bread and butter for dinner, could be a lot worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

Were you just wearing a cardigan ? If so most ATMs have cctv nearby.

No, I wasn't just wearing a cardigan, thankfully ;)