Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FFS, what's wrong with people??!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭ptyloch

golfpaul wrote: »
    So I get back to my car today and I'm greeted by this. It definitely wasn't there before I left so I'm curious as to what could have made this dent as it can't be a car door.
    IMG_3861.JPG.jpeg
    IMG_3860.JPG.jpeg

This is where I parked
    https://www.google.ie/maps/@51.7450455,-8.741989,3a,75y,183.8h,75.41t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1s1vvuhLh9fuh5GgSCqjsI9Q!2e0!7i13312!8i6656!6m1!1e1?hl=en

Would a shopping center entertain the idea of checking a camera for me as there looks like there is a camera that may have picked up the incident?

You need to report it to the Gardai, the shopping centre won't do a thing for you if the Gardai won't be involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

corner of a shopping trolley would be my first guess there. Could also be a kids scooter. is there the entrance to anything / a path to anything opposite it ?

You just can't have nice things in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

They might if you ask.
    Car is parked up against footpath so it's probably not another car that banged up against it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

Corner of a big shopping trolley maybe, from somebody wheeling it along the pavement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

I feel your pain. I've been there, too many times. It seems the more careful you are, the more likely it will happen. Grrrrrr.

Is the paint chipped or badly scuffed? If not, you should get away with a paintless dent removal. They can do wonders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

Can imagine how you feel, I'd be well p*ssed off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭golfpaul

Looks like there is a fire door/exit from the Heatons shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Wouldn't be something blown in the wind at it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Ireland - No country for good cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

Do you really think this doesn't happen elsewhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Wouldn't be something blown in the wind at it?

That's what I was thinking with the very strong gusts we had the last few days, it could be a shopping trolley that was blown into it possibly.

I had a lot worse than that before when I spent only 8 minutes in the post office and came out and there was a big deep dent on the back right-side close to the petrol tank, unfortunately I could not get CCTV footage because the camera was pointing to the ground I was told.

I hate when that happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

That's what you get for having a nice car in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

I had something similar on my car last year there was a SUV beside me in a car park, when I came out big ding on driver door, about a foot long so either a big arse trying to squeeze in or putting a baby in.
    Got it taken out by a dent remover for a favour, as paint wasn't broken..

It happens everywhere, you'll see similar threads on all the UK forums. Ignorant, careless, wilful damage to other people's pride and joy is not an exclusively Irish thing.

JoeA3 wrote: »
    It happens everywhere, you'll see similar threads on all the UK forums. Ignorant, careless, wilful damage to other people's pride and joy is not an exclusively Irish thing.

That was my next question, if I did find the culprit what recourse do I have? in fairness if it was an old person battling the wind with a trolley I would just leave it.

Your chances of getting anything out of it are slim. Very slim imo. It happened to me not too long ago too, when my car was parked in the dealers forecourt! Fortunately I spotted it before driving away and the dealers covered the cost.

However in your case, you'll probably find the shopping centre won't entertain it... Car parked at owners risk, etc.

If you can get away with a paintless dent removal the cost won't be too bad. Less than €100 anyway.

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Your chances of getting anything out of it are slim. Very slim imo. It happened to me not too long ago too, when my car was parked in the dealers forecourt! Fortunately I spotted it before driving away and the dealers covered the cost.

However in your case, you'll probably find the shopping centre won't entertain it... Car parked at owners risk, etc.

If you can get away with a paintless dent removal the cost won't be too bad. Less than €100 anyway.

Paint is broken in top dent so maybe 300-350 I'd say:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

Horrible thing to happen but a about a year ago a woman nearly pulled my wing mirror off in a car park and basically told me to fcuk off when I said it her. Rang the guards and they said it's a civil matter and even if I could prove she intentionally damaged it that it would probably cost more to go to court than fix it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Don't like the look of that top dent along the seam, will be an absolute nightmare to get 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭AMGer

guil wrote: »
    Horrible thing to happen but a about a year ago a woman nearly pulled my wing mirror off in a car park and basically told me to fcuk off when I said it her.

this makes me angry, this thread makes me angry (you have my sympathy golfpaul, I hope it ends well for you, looks like a class motor) , wtf is wrong with people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

It's another reason I buy second hand cars, at some stage no matter how careful you are someone is going to dint it so at least with a used car the greatest depreciation has already happened with the first driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 poshea69

happened me in naas over year ago . car reversed in me, got reg of camera in shopping centre, give to guards , still waiting on word back. nice car it would make me sick looking at that every day, so I'd just get it fixed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

Get it fixed and forget about it. Be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭Comhrá

Get it fixed and forget about it. Be happy.

I've had three or four similar experiences with nice cars I've owned and kept in mint condition, get similar damage to the op's. Made my blood boil and really pi**ed me off.... but a good bodyshop will make it as good as new, so don't feel too bad over it.......there are stupid, careless people in carparks with trollies and others opening their car doors without even realising the grief they're causing with their carelessness.

Your car can be made look as good as new. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

What's the mark at the back of that door?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Crasp

That's one big dent that has popped back out. What's left is the edges of the dent. Someone may have fallen up against it, it was definitely a large blunt object as there is no damage in the centre, only where the edges have buckled.

What's the mark at the back of that door?

Are you talking about the black mark at the edge of the door? Thats just dirt from motorway milage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Looks like a shopping trolley alright, if not then my next guess would be a combi cage (what shops get their stock delivered on). If there loaded to the max they can be quite difficult to keep control of when pushing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Sympathy had a similar fate but thankfully I nabbed the culprit in the end and it all got sorted

thread here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=93075577

It's gotten to a stage where I'll drive to the very back of carparks and take up 2 spaces (non busy places).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Goddamn OP this makes me mad, why people insist on ruining your pride and joy is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Would a shopping trolley not scratch the surface though ??
    Enough force to create that dent from a bare metal trolley would break the paint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Gobsh1tes that park beside you and hammer their car door off yours even though they see that you are in the car, it's usually women are the culprits. Awaits backlash :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Tbh when I got the Honda and drove it over to Warsaw for work, it wasn't here a week when someone crashed into it and drove off.
    Not just Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Gobsh1tes that park beside you and hammer their car door off yours even though they see that you are in the car, it's usually women are the culprits. Awaits backlash :)

Usually because men have parked crooked in space next to (silly women who cant drive) and take up some of (silly women who cant drive)'s space;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Crasp wrote: »
    That's one big dent that has popped back out. What's left is the edges of the dent. Someone may have fallen up against it, it was definitely a large blunt object as there is no damage in the centre, only where the edges have buckled.

After having a closer look at the dent, I would agree with this, it doesn't look like the corner of a trolley but looks like a bigger dent that has popped back out. Had a similar thing happen to my driver side door and it could only have been done either by a direct kick to the door. Or some lads messing and one got pushed hard into the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

SAMTALK wrote: »
    Usually because men have parked crooked in space next to (silly women who cant drive) and take up some of (silly women who cant drive)'s space;)
    Nope I park between the lines and it still happens.

So the Gardai were very helpful in Bandon but unfortunately there is a bush obscuring the view of my car from the camera so they can't pick out the culprit.
    Anyway I got it fixed last night in Frank Byrnes in Galway who I can't recommend enough. They do an overnight service,which really suited me, I dropped it off at 7pm yesterday evening and picked it up this morning. Job is perfect.
    IMG_3277.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭lfc200

So the Gardai were very helpful in Bandon but unfortunately there is a bush obscuring the view of my car from the camera so they can't pick out the culprit.
    Anyway I got it fixed last night in Frank Byrnes in Galway who I can't recommend enough. They do an overnight service,which really suited me, I dropped it off at 7pm yesterday evening and picked it up this morning. Job is perfect.
    IMG_3277.jpg

Looks great... Out of curiosity how much was the fix?

€220

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭Comhrá

Looks an excellent job alright. I always got a great lift any time I got my car back after repairs such as golfpaul had there.

You'd have new-found respect for those bodyshop guys who can do such great work as we see here when you're pride & joy needs some TLC. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭_davidsmith_

What exactly happened to it? trolley? scumbags?

And thats a fantastic job for 220, well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

You have my sympathy OP.

If it'll make you feel any better, somebody let a door swing open on a windy day and it hit my rental car. They didn't leave any note and I was left with an €800 bill for a car I would never use again.

You've had a deeply annoying experience, but that €220 was well spent given the finish achieved.

Nice result OP. You choose the bodyshop very well. Frank Byrnes is excellent, I've used him in the past, and that overnight service is indeed really handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

pippip wrote: »
    Do you really think this doesn't happen elsewhere?
    Or that it doesn't happen to all types of cars.

It's gotten to a stage where I'll drive to the very back of carparks and take up 2 spaces (non busy places).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

€220

Was there more work involved than paintless dent removal?

He'd have had to paint the area that was damaged and then re-lacquer the whole door. With "minor" damage like this, they keep the re-painting to as localised an area as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Looks like a shopping trolley alright, if not then my next guess would be a combi cage (what shops get their stock delivered on). If there loaded to the max they can be quite difficult to keep control of when pushing them.

I saw the wind catch one of them earlier. A lad was taking cardboard boxes out of a shop,the top one blew off, he went to pick it up,leavin go of the trolley and it took off like a rocket! It headed straight to the road and he sprinted after it:D
    Lost all the boxes in the process.