Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2015 National Interclubs XC-Santry

• 16-11-2015 4:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭

So this is on this Sunday. Change to the schedule this year with interclubs now being used for Euro XC selection. Men's race is looking interesting with O'Lionaird, Travers, Clohissey (I assume). Will be interesting to see how COL handles the Irish muck, Santry is already pretty turned up and it is probably a long time since he's seen muck.

Then with the women Mary Cullen must be favourite unless Fionnuala runs, any other names? Sara Treacy? Lizzie Lee?

Looking forward to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

pconn062 wrote: »
    So this is on this Sundsy. Change to the schedule this year with interclubs now being used for Euro XC selection. Men's race is looking interesting with O'Lionaird, Travers, Clohissey (I assume). Will be interesting to see how COL handles the Irish muck, Santry is already pretty turned up and it is probably a long time since he's seen muck.

Then with the women Mary Cullen must be favourite unless Fionnuala runs, any other names? Sara Treacy? Lizzie Lee?

Looking forward to it.

It's COL's 1st XC race in 5 years. Must be going well and injury free the last while if he is not afraid of breaking down.

The Claw is definitely running. If he were to win this he would be the one and only male to win InterClubs twice in the same calendar year due to the change of scheduling. Given that Santry was a mudbath for the Masters at the weekend I expect it to be even worse this weekend coming. Could suit the marathoners a bit more.

Travers is just back from Altitude training and a heavy training stint so will be interesting to see how he reacts. Going by interviews he seems to be very upbeat about his current shape.

If all come through the race unscatted could be one of our strongest mens teams in a while going to Europeans (Christie? Pollock? Hanrahan, Kenneally, Coghlan, O Neil, Ciobanu)

On womens side I would say even if FB was running that Mary Cullen should still be favourite. It's been her most consistent year since about 2010 having run quickest 3k/5k times of the year by any Irish Women as well as the second fastest time on a tough course in NY for 10k on the roads.

Interesting O Flattery and Galligan have returned from Altitude training in Font Romeu to fairly decent XC races in high class fields in Burgos at the weekend so could be intending on trying to make the team.

Treacy has had some decent performances in UK on the Cross so should be in line to make the team with Lizzie being an unknown as to whether she is actually racing XC though could be a possibility given her OQ is pretty safe unless some shock performances in Spring.

With regards teams I think it could be an interesting one on mens side with Raheny and Leevale all having 2 solid top 5 potential runners (Clohisey and Freddie/ Hanrahan and COL) With Donore being led by Travers also having good depth.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭youngrun

AM Mcglynn also will be aiming high in ladies. I wonder will Mckiernan give it a go. Ciara Mageean ?? Ran road relays weekend

Mens all the above names . Hargreaves also could go well. Any more of the US lads coming back older /younger, Rooney, Tobin , Dooney etc? Pollock/Christie /Kenneally the others who may or may not show. I think AAI usually post the teams in advance

Santry was a mudheap by the last race Saturday. But I heard the National course will be slightly varied from that. 2k lap Saturday, maybe they will pull it into a mile lap this time, as it did a fairly circuitous route. I guess 8 kids races will muddy it up anyway.

On numbers and coming from one of the bigger clubs nationally and outside of the Pale, we still struggle terribly to get numbers of any sort out for this, finally got a couple of good young lads, and a few raggedy old stagers to keep the lap counters busy at the back end to make the team , and afaik none of the other clubs in the county have entered . What to do. Think AAI should have pushed this a lot more. Where are the club grades for example ? What do you get if you win grade C or B ? 3 to score it should be for these teams to get them out. Fair enough its a National but at least encourage the country bumpkins and clubs outside the top 5 + leevale, and give them something to aim for. Gah.

youngrun wrote: »
    AM Mcglynn also will be aiming high in ladies. I wonder will Mckiernan give it a go. Ciara Mageean ?? Ran road relays weekend

Mens all the above names . Hargreaves also could go well. Any more of the US lads coming back older /younger, Rooney, Tobin , Dooney etc? Pollock/Christie /Kenneally the others who may or may not show. I think AAI usually post the teams in advance

Santry was a mudheap by the last race Saturday. But I heard the National course will be slightly varied from that. 2k lap Saturday, maybe they will pull it into a mile lap this time, as it did a fairly circuitous route. I guess 8 kids races will muddy it up anyway.

On numbers and coming from one of the bigger clubs nationally and outside of the Pale, we still struggle terribly to get numbers of any sort out for this, finally got a couple of good young lads, and a few raggedy old stagers to keep the lap counters busy at the back end to make the team , and afaik none of the other clubs in the county have entered . What to do. Think AAI should have pushed this a lot more. Where are the club grades for example ? What do you get if you win grade C or B ? 3 to score it should be for these teams to get them out. Fair enough its a National but at least encourage the country bumpkins and clubs outside the top 5 + leevale, and give them something to aim for. Gah.

Reckon Ciara M could make an appearance depending on injuries (might opt against if any sort of niggles.

Is Una Britton still in US? Could be a decent challenger for a spot.

Dave Rooney has been coming back this year slowly but surely but not sure whether he is back in full form just yet. Tobin and Dooney will both be running NCAA's so won't be back.

Regarding the the grades there is gold, silver and bronze in each category so there are prizes right through and has been for many years. It would be nice to have a list of the gradings to see where clubs stack (or even whether there is a promotion/relegation system in place)

Ladies Cullen Mageean Mcglynn is my top three
    Mens O Lionaird Clohissey Travers

AAI should have the league tables up and details of how it works medal winners/system etc and a bit of a giveaway for winners- club kit or something?
    Do the winners get into Europe ? Clubs.
    Relegate /promote as well make it competitive through the field
    For gods sake give it a bit of PR.
    Did the cross country review not ask for this. I guess its minor vs trial for Euro cross but still..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Reckon Ciara M could make an appearance depending on injuries (might opt against if any sort of niggles.

Is Una Britton still in US? Could be a decent challenger for a spot.

Britton is back in Ireland.

I think Shona Heaslip could be in with a decent shot at nailing down a spot as well. She was in incredible form at Munster senior in the mud and is improving massively week on week. She ran 9:36 for 3000m at the cork graded meets and 16:33 in Watford back in June and looks like she is a lot stronger again now. Amazing to think she is not even running 18 months.

Britton is back in Ireland.

I think Shona Heaslip could be in with a decent shot at nailing down a spot as well. She was in incredible form at Munster senior in the mud and is improving massively week on week. She ran 9:36 for 3000m at the cork graded meets and 16:33 in Watford back in June and looks like she is a lot stronger again now. Amazing to think she is not even running 18 months.

Forgot about Shona. She has shown good form all season and had a solid run in the Autumn Open for second not too far behind AMM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Wottle

Even if the course is moved slightly from the masters just gone, there will be 800+ juveniles beforehand to wreck it :)

Wottle wrote: »
    Even if the course is moved slightly from the masters just gone, there will be 800+ juveniles beforehand to wreck it :)

do the dublin parks people or Aai greenkeep the course the week of nationals ? Never seen it as bad after the masters Saturday reminded me of alsaa a few years ago it could do with a bit of t l c this week !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

So, what time's the throw in?

Euro selection policy https://m.box.com/shared_item/https%3A%2F%2Fathleticsireland.app.box.com%2F15-excpolicy
    Top three automatic senior and junior
    Top two u 23
    hopefully they will send full teams at all events

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Anyone else brave/stupid enough to be running in it ha?

Timmaay wrote: »
    Anyone else brave/stupid enough to be running in it ha?

Call me Captain Stupid :D

Looks like Fionnuala is set to run anyway:

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/news/mccormack-set-for-glohealth-nationals-and-euro-cross/

Likewise drawn into it ... We have three young lads and three vets down incl me , can't get lads to run it .. T b h the aim is not to get lapped ..

Last time I did this a couple of years back I was lapped by the 1st twenty or so. Just means you have a front row seat to the battle up front :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Sacksian

I know O'Lionaird is a quality athlete but surely 10k in the conditions we're likely to see on Sunday is a tall order for him?

It's such a diverse set of contenders for the men's senior title - it'll be interesting to see what the various tactics are from everyone on the day, and when the moves are made.

Sacksian wrote: »
    I know O'Lionaird is a quality athlete but surely 10k in the conditions we're likely to see on Sunday is a tall order for him?

It's such a diverse set of contenders for the men's senior title - it'll be interesting to see what the various tactics are from everyone on the day, and when the moves are made.

People forget that COL was a 10k runner primarily in college and a top 20 at NCAA XC over 10k. He was also the favourite to be top 2 scorer in the u23 team that won gold bar his asthma attack (I think)

I think his strength is even greater now since he went pro. Also interesting that some track athletes tend to fair better on the mud due to their lighter footstrike to an extent.

That being said personally i don't see him as favourite given his injury history and the risk of achilles troubles that he could potentially have.

People forget that COL was a 10k runner primarily in college and a top 20 at NCAA XC over 10k. He was also the favourite to be top 2 scorer in the u23 team that won gold bar his asthma attack (I think)

I think his strength is even greater now since he went pro. Also interesting that some track athletes tend to fair better on the mud due to their lighter footstrike to an extent.

That being said personally i don't see him as favourite given his injury history and the risk of achilles troubles that he could potentially have.

I don't doubt his strength, or his 10k pedigree, but his 28:32 was a few years ago now and he'll be up against some pretty strong (inc. marathon) runners over a 10k mudbath!

It should be fascinating to watch. You and Timmaay should try and stay as close to the lead group as you can!

I don't doubt his strength, or his 10k pedigree, but his 28:32 was a few years ago now and he'll be up against some pretty strong (inc. marathon) runners over a 10k mudbath!

It should be fascinating to watch. You and Timmaay should try and stay as close to the lead group as you can!

I would be surprised if he wasn't able to run sub 29 at the moment to be honest as long as training has gone okay the last while and he is over his early year issues.

If someone lends me a go pro I will latch on when they lap me for as long as I can for live close up action :D

Last time I did this a couple of years back I was lapped by the 1st twenty or so. Just means you have a front row seat to the battle up front :D

That is true, remember getting done for a lap by Joe sweeney a few years ago in santry and trying to stick with him for a bit didnt last long...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

I was thinking the same thing. He can't be too long back in to serious training and I can't remember him racing for a long while. From the sounds of his Twitter though, training is going well and he is a class athlete so is capable of anything on the day. Going to be a great race in any case and gutted I'm going to be missing it. I remember they live feeded it last year or the year before (might have been the intercounties) so hopefully they do that again.

In the women's, it will be really interesting to see Mary V Fionnuala and maybe Ciara might be in the mix too if she is running. From our club's perspective, I hope Caroline Crowley has a great race. She's training really well and was very impressive in winning the Dublin Senior. Not quite in the class of the afore mentioned three but she is working towards it very quickly.

I was thinking the same thing. He can't be too long back in to serious training and I can't remember him racing for a long while. From the sounds of his Twitter though, training is going well and he is a class athlete so is capable of anything on the day. Going to be a great race in any case and gutted I'm going to be missing it. I remember they live feeded it last year or the year before (might have been the intercounties) so hopefully they do that again.

In the women's, it will be really interesting to see Mary V Fionnuala and maybe Ciara might be in the mix too if she is running. From our club's perspective, I hope Caroline Crowley has a great race. She's training really well and was very impressive in winning the Dublin Senior. Not quite in the class of the afore mentioned three but she is working towards it very quickly.
    Could be very close in women's hopefully they all run on the day
    Revising my thoughts now the three above top three mc glynn hea slip crowly for the other euro spots
    Will any of the marathon men run? Seaward pollock hehir etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/news/the-battle-of-santry-at-glohealth-inter-clubs/

Lineups confirmed. Going to be two incredible races.

Ciara Mageean confirmed for the womens and Pollock for the mens on top of what is already the creme de la creme of Irish running.

Interesting to see Joe Sweeney back in action. Have bumped into him the off time on easy runs but I didn't realises he was actually back full training.

Good to see is right

Is mary Cullen listed ?

Big fields Prob get a third of a drop off how many would that leave my screen too small to see !

Good to see is right

Is mary Cullen listed ?

Big fields Prob get a third of a drop off how many would that leave my screen too small to see !

No Cullen however Galligan, Tarplee, Finn and O Flaherty running so good to see a number of our top women in the race.

On mens including u23's (combined race) you have 274 entries so while a number of drop outs still should be north of 150 in it

No Cullen however Galligan, Tarplee, Finn and O Flaherty running so good to see a number of our top women in the race.

On mens including u23's (combined race) you have 274 entries so while a number of drop outs still should be north of 150 in it
    Cheers good to see a big field hopefully even the sluggers like me will have a couple of lads to battle
    I reckon if I broke top 80% it would be a v v good day 120 of 150 more like a bit further back !!
    Serious standard disappointing numbers from galway Mayo though v hard to convince lads
    It should be a great day out

I like the depth of the preview on the AI site!

Also interested to see how the Dublin juvenile stars fare nationally and already looking forward to seeing where Kevin Mulcaire is against the top Europeans - his 14:02 has him 4th junior over 5000m in Europe this year, so must be in the mix for an individual medal in the junior men's race in France?

Cheers good to see a big field hopefully even the sluggers like me will have a couple of lads to battle
    I reckon if I broke top 80% it would be a v v good day 120 of 150 more like a bit further back !!
    Serious standard disappointing numbers from galway Mayo though v hard to convince lads
    It should be a great day out

Top 100 and don't get lapped about as much as I can ask for ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭PVincent

A little outside bet on Lizzie Lee getting in the shake up . Less than a year after a baby can be a very fruitful time to race . Sneaking suspicion she will run well .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

Out of interest, what will happen if Freddy wins this one ? Has there been (being☺) any amendment to the rules since DCM or is there a different set of rules for XC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

ultrapercy wrote: »
    Out of interest, what will happen if Freddy wins this one ? Has there been (being☺) any amendment to the rules since DCM or is there a different set of rules for XC?

There was a lot of discussion about this at the last Dublin board meeting, and they are contacting AAI to clarify when, how, and why the competition rule was added (I wasn't at the meeting).
    It hasn't been changed since the marathon

RayCun wrote: »
    There was a lot of discussion about this at the last Dublin board meeting, and they are contacting AAI to clarify when, how, and why the competition rule was added (I wasn't at the meeting).
    It hasn't been changed since the marathon

So if he wins it he won't be national champion but he can score on the team that may or may not win it ? Can't see him winning it but you never know ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

So if he wins it he won't be national champion but he can score on the team that may or may not win it ? Can't see him winning it but you never know ..

His DCM form would suggest he is the top form Irish athlete at the moment so he has a chance. I know xc is very different to marathon but he may feature. Rules seem to be shrink to fit.

So if he wins it he won't be national champion but he can score on the team that may or may not win it ?

yeah, I think that's it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭ClashCityRocker

Is this going to be watchable? Assume its not on tv but maybe online?

It *may* be even more complicated than that. I think there were some debate over whether he even scores on the team if he wins - on the basis that the race is a championship and the team scores should derive from that, i.e. the winner is 1.

There should be a definitive answer either way - it's obviously a bit backwards if someone is eligible to score in the national team championships, and eligible for every position from 2nd to last in the individual race, but not first.

Is this going to be watchable? Assume its not on tv but maybe online?

Can't imagine so. Doubt it would be feasible for aertv or Irishtv to stream from a production cost point of view. I am sure there will be plenty of space around the course to view it though ;)

It *may* be even more complicated than that. I think there were some debate over whether he even scores on the team if he wins - on the basis that the race is a championship and the team scores should derive from that, i.e. the winner is 1.

he did count for the Raheny team in the national marathon, even though he didn't count as first Irish finisher.

just a note for anyone going out to watch (I can't :( ) - there is no parking in Santry demesne or stadium. Event parking is in Gulliver's retail park, and there's a ten minute walk over from there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

he did count for the Raheny team in the national marathon, even though he didn't count as first Irish finisher.

just a note for anyone going out to watch (I can't :( ) - there is no parking in Santry demesne or stadium. Event parking is in Gulliver's retail park, and there's a ten minute walk over from there

Ah jeez, where the hell is that? Won't somebody think of the culchies coming up for the day!

If you are coming from the M50 swing a left before Petrol station. It's in Northwood close to the SSC

(Info )

Hardly 10mins, you can usually cut across the field straight to it.

If you are coming from the M50 swing a left before Petrol station. It's in Northwood close to the SSC

(Info )

Thanks man, think I know where it is from the last time I was in the SSC.

I thought in case anyone is on the fence about going to watch (would recommend if in the area) might be no harm to highlight the level of some of the athletes that will be on show at the weekend (will have to do in batches just accidentally closed tab I had been working on

Ciaran O Lionaird
    - World 1500m finalist (4th fastest Irish man of all time)
    - 2012 Olymic representative
    - One of only 3 men to finish top 18 in NCAA Cross country since 2003
    - 28.32 10,000m runner
    - European Indoor 3000m bronze medalist
    - Member of u23 European Cross Country winning team (2010)

John Travers
    - 7th European Indoors 1500m in 2014
    - 13.56 5000m runner
    - 29.04 10,000m runner

Paul Pollock
    - 2.15 marathon this year (inside Olympic Qualifying)
    - Current 3000m (indoors) and Half Marathon Irish Champion
    - 28.32 10,000m runner
    - Highest finishing European in World Championship Marathon (2013)

Mark Kenneally
    - Fastest active Irish Marathon runner (2.13.52)
    - 2012 Olympic Representative
    - 8th in European Cross Country Championships (2009)
    - 28.33 10,000m runner

Mick Clohisey
    - 2 time Inter Clubs Cross Country Champion
    - 2.15 marathon this year (just ahead of Pollock)

More to come....

I don't think Kenneally will be running?

Probably not by the sound of things but I am just going by the entries. Mind you I think he was also in the entries for the Dublin Seniors.

John Coghlan
    - Sub 4 min miler
    - Sub 9 minute 3000m Steeple this year
    - Member of u23 European Cross Country gold medal winning team

Gary O Hanlon
    - 2.22 min marathon runner
    - Irish 50k record holder
    - 5th place in 2014 World 50k Championships

Joe Sweeney
    - Former Irish XC Intercounties and Club champion
    - Former Irish marathon Champion
    - 2.19 marathon runner

Pauric McKinney
    - Multiple time World Cross Country Representative
    - Irish Masters Marathon record holder
    - 2.26 marathon runner

Freddie Sittuk
    - Fastest club representative in Dublin Marathon 2015
    - 2.15 marathon (this year in Dublin)

Barry Minnock
    - 2.17 marathon runner
    - Former Irish Marathon Champion
    - 2015 representative for world 50k championships

Liam Brady
    - Former European Junior Representative (10,000m)
    - Former u23 Irish Cross Country Champion
    - 29.59 10,000m this year

I thought in case anyone is on the fence about going to watch (would recommend if in the area) might be no harm to highlight the level of some of the athletes that will be on show at the weekend (will have to do in batches just accidentally closed tab I had been working on

Ciaran O Lionaird
    - World 1500m finalist (4th fastest Irish man of all time)
    - 2012 Olymic representative
    - One of only 3 men to finish top 18 in NCAA Cross country since 2003
    - 28.32 10,000m runner
    - European Indoor 3000m bronze medalist
    - Member of u23 European Cross Country winning team (2010)

John Travers
    - 7th European Indoors 1500m in 2014
    - 13.56 5000m runner
    - 29.04 10,000m runner

Paul Pollock
    - 2.15 marathon this year (inside Olympic Qualifying)
    - Current 3000m (indoors) and Half Marathon Irish Champion
    - 28.32 10,000m runner
    - Highest finishing European in World Championship Marathon (2013)

Mark Kenneally
    - Fastest active Irish Marathon runner (2.13.52)
    - 2012 Olympic Representative
    - 8th in European Cross Country Championships (2009)
    - 28.33 10,000m runner

Mick Clohisey
    - 2 time Inter Clubs Cross Country Champion
    - 2.15 marathon this year (just ahead of Pollock)

More to come....

John Coghlan
    - Sub 4 min miler
    - Sub 9 minute 3000m Steeple this year
    - Member of u23 European Cross Country gold medal winning team

Gary O Hanlon
    - 2.22 min marathon runner
    - Irish 50k record holder
    - 5th place in 2014 World 50k Championships

Joe Sweeney
    - Former Irish XC Intercounties and Club champion
    - Former Irish marathon Champion
    - 2.19 marathon runner

Pauric McKinney
    - Multiple time World Cross Country Representative
    - Irish Masters Marathon record holder
    - 2.26 marathon runner

Freddie Sittuk
    - Fastest club representative in Dublin Marathon 2015
    - 2.15 marathon (this year in Dublin)

Barry Minnock
    - 2.17 marathon runner
    - Former Irish Marathon Champion
    - 2015 representative for world 50k championships

Liam Brady
    - Former European Junior Representative (10,000m)
    - Former u23 Irish Cross Country Champion
    - 29.59 10,000m this year

It's a bit of a side not but I think it is an important one. Looking at those that are competing it's food for thought that XC despite not being what would be conventionally thought of as specific for track or marathon runners still provides a foundation for majority of our distance athletes (outside those injured there are very few who are not listed)

Is this a case of club before individual or is it a case of realizing the importance of a good XC season can yield benefits for distance runners across the board.

I'm calling Pollock for 3 in a row, think Freddy and O' Lionaird are going to struggle in the muck. Think Clohissey is next after Pollock.

Should be noted that Freddie only finished 4 second behind Mick in Dublin Seniors 6 days after DCM.

It looks to be drying out a bit so could end up a bit drier by Sunday.

Hard to tell what kinda shape COL is in, on the one hand you kinda think if he is putting himself out there for this he must be training well considering he opted out of the Summer race season due to apparent nerve issues. However it is also worth bearing in mind that he is coming into last year of his contract so will have to have some notable performances to justify renewal or another sponsor looking at him.

Hard to call with Pollock. On the one hand after securing the OT despite reported quad tear hard to tell if that did any more damage or whether he has resumed normal training and kicked on from Berlin.

Travers for me is the Dark horse given his performances were much more consistent this year than previous at top level (Euro Indoors, and World Student games which was an over achievement given the circumstances around the trip for him personally). His 29.04 on paper may not look great but seeing how smooth he was at 28.40 pace till the stitch which he fought back from at Parliament hill really impressed me. I think he has alot more resilience this year that will stand to him on Sunday.