Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

19 year old. 5 grand budget, what to get?

• 14-11-2015 3:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭

Ok so looking to buy a second hand car and insure it at the age of 19. Have been driving on my mothers car for the last two years, I'd like a car thats decent value and reliable. I have a thing for vag cars in particular

I was looking at boras, passats and jettas but also leons.

If any of you guys have any advice or recommendations please fire away!

Thanks !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Paddyg96

Ok so looking to buy a second hand car and insure it at the age of 19. Have been driving on my mothers car for the last two years, I'd like a car thats decent value and reliable. I have a thing for vag cars in particular

I was looking at boras, passats and jettas but also leons.

If any of you guys have any advice or recommendations please fire away!

Thanks !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

OP, does that include the price of insurance or not?

Personally, I'd be looking at Fiesta/Yaris/Polo and build up your no claims before looking at a Felt Spec machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭theShire

I'd be looking at a car for under 1500 cos ur insurance will be the biggest portion of that 5k.

Figure out d insurance first on say a 1.0/1.2 fiesta/yaris and then see how much you'll have for the car itself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,101 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Thing is a lot of young people drive cars like the Fiesta and Yaris so they could be more expensive to insure than a bigger car.

OP stick a few cars you like into some online quote sites with details similar to you and see if you can afford the insurance, don't forget about next year, then when you pick the car ring every insurance company and broker, before you buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

Can't beat a good corolla to start off with IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭zurbfoundation

Get a k11 micra for a couple of years, then upgrade.

In the mean time see what kind of quote you get for the felters you mentioned. Your budget probably won't cover car and insurance to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I can see insurance companies now rubbing there hands with a 19 year old male looking to insure a Bora, Jetta or Passat. Insurance companies know these models are the default choice for young lads and as such profile them into higher risk categories for insurance.

At your age no doubt what you buy will boil down to what you can afford to spend on insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

My advice is to find the safest car you can afford. Forget going for the smallest car or whatever, get something where it was built with safety in mind.

I knows when I'm older if I'm fortunate to have a family starting out driving, they won't be in the smallest car on the road. Not going to be a rocket, but it will have plenty of steel and airbags around incase the inevitable happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

If that €5k includes your insurance then I would recommend a Toyota Corolla

But, if you have another car in mind then check out insurance quotes for them.. There was only €300 of a difference between a '03 Toyota Corolla 1.4vvti and a '04 Audi A3 1.9tdi for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,127 ✭✭✭kirving

166man wrote: »
    My advice is to find the safest car you can afford. Forget going for the smallest car or whatever, get something where it was built with safety in mind.

Agreed, especially if you drive outside a city. Get something like a Focus, Corrola, Golf, Astra size. Often have extras like stability control, ABS and side airbags where a smaller car may not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭acronym Chilli

Agreed, especially if you drive outside a city. Get something like a Focus, Corrola, Golf, Astra size. Often have extras like stability control, ABS and side airbags where a smaller car may not.

If trying to maximise safety, French cars worth a look. Tend to be cheaper than other makes, but excellent ncap ratings etc for the most part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

If trying to maximise safety, French cars worth a look. Tend to be cheaper than other makes, but excellent ncap ratings etc for the most part.

They're safer, because at some point in time they'll simply stop moving for some reason as yet unknown to modern mechanics. The fecker who designed the yoke wouldn't know where to start fixing it...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

French cars are a heap of shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,127 ✭✭✭kirving

I don't want to derail the thread any further, but this is rubbish these days.

http://www.reliabilityindex.com/manufacturer

Peugeot, Citroën, and Renault are all above VW, Volvo, BMW, Mercedes and Audi.

OP, something like a Focus is a great all rounder. Easy to service, decent to drive, reliable, safe, and big enough for 4 friends and all your stuff on a weekend away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Not for five grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,101 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

OP, something like a Focus is a great all rounder. Easy to service, decent to drive, reliable, safe, and big enough for 4 friends and all your stuff on a weekend away.

In the price range the OP is looking there are no good or bad brands. Buy the car on its condition not the badge, as plenty of people say X car is bulletproof so don't bother maintaining it while a bad reputation car could be a gem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭acronym Chilli

Del2005 wrote: »
    In the price range the OP is looking there are no good or bad brands. Buy the car on its condition not the badge, as plenty of people say X car is bulletproof so don't bother maintaining it while a bad reputation car could be a gem.
    And a great way to buy a car would be private sale from a friend/relative who's changing up and where you know all of vehicle history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 poshea69

corolla. i cant fault them , had a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

I got a quote of €693 on a 1.6 2006 Ford Focus, which is why I bought one. Third party with Liberty Insurance. 1 year named drivers experience and I was 20 years old (student). So they're not too bad. I'm looking at changing to a Mini Cooper (Cooper S to be precise, faster :pac: ), they also seem to be quite cheap to insure too!

EDIT: I got a similar quote for a 2006 1.4 Golf if you have to have something VAG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

Definitely for an '05 Passat if I was you. Or a Golf if you want something smaller. Shouldn't be hard to insure, I know they weren't for me when I was 19 2 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Bank of Ireland: Nicola

Hi Paddyg96,

Best of luck with your search for your dream car! If you need any help getting an insurance quote we have a talk to forum here if you want to stop by.

Happy motoring
    Nicola