Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BDGP 2015 - 2020

• 11-11-2015 9:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14

Hi ,

I have signed up to the BDGP program and have got back my star ratings ,
    I have some animals that i bought in , that have no star rating due to no sire on the cards.

The man who i bought the animals off had 2 stock bulls running with the cows (Dairy) so in fairness to him , he did not put down a sire as Sire was unknown.

Is there any way to get star ratings on these animals,
    I think the options would be

1. Go back to farmer and see if he would give 1 of the Bulls Tag no ( Not sure if he will)
    2. Genotype them next year ( or maybe this year myself) and see if that results in anything , If stock bull was from AI on ICBF records.
    3. Weight them and start recording something on them , Will that give me some benefit from ICBF.

Any other options suggested would be appreciated.
    I dont want to go down the breeding route with these if they are not going to have a rating

Kin

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Maybe try phone icbf, how many are there?
    Coming from the dairy herd they'll probably be fairly good on stars anyway.
    You might be able to do a dna test on them, and the bulls, if the dairy farmer still has them. If the bulls were pedigree bulls it's possible they already were dna tested at registration. Never did dna test, so not sure what it costs.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 kinners

I phoned ICBF after i rang and was asked if i was a member of Herd Plus and i said no and they did not want to talk to me, They said talk to the labs , but could not tell me what labs were acceptable or any more info. Seams to be a common issue on other threads.

My Worry here is that if i do go to a lab , will ICBF accept that , and will that Lab have access to all the sires ?? Or Is it that a lab just does the breakdown and ICBF does all the matching ? , All new to me i'm afraid.

I would hope that the stock bull would have come from AI at some point and be on the system.

Any one done any extra geno-typing for the BDGP 2015-2020 program ? and costs ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nettleman

kinners wrote: »
    I phoned ICBF after i rang and was asked if i was a member of Herd Plus and i said no and they did not want to talk to me, They said talk to the labs , but could not tell me what labs were acceptable or any more info. Seams to be a common issue on other threads.

My Worry here is that if i do go to a lab , will ICBF accept that , and will that Lab have access to all the sires ?? Or Is it that a lab just does the breakdown and ICBF does all the matching ? , All new to me i'm afraid.

I would hope that the stock bull would have come from AI at some point and be on the system.

Any one done any extra geno-typing for the BDGP 2015-2020 program ? and costs ?

This attitude of ICBF here is not surprising. What is funny is that they collect YOUR data from marts, AI companies, coops etc WITHOUT YOUR WRITTEN CONSENT and they sell it back to you for 60 quid a year. and if you dont pay, well get lost. The millions they get from taking a cut out of the cattle tags you buy doesnt get you anything. The BDGP is a disaster for farmers and will put ICBF in charge of ever larger quantities of your data which means thier attitude is unlikely to improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭50HX

in the exact same boat myself, bought in 6 limx from dairy herd

was told at a recent BDGP meeting that optional/ extra DNA testing "maybe" available from March of next year but you'll pay (handsomely i assume ) for doin so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭valtraman

Something similar here I am still debating if I will stay in the scheme ,I have some bought in heifers and was trying to look up their stars (if I bull them in the spring most should be about for 2020)well although I am registered for online with icbf I still cant see the information but they have it as when I phoned up they could tell me the stars , surely at this stage all the info should be on mart boards and also on mobile to allow people choose which animals to buy and not be buying a pig in a poke :

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,125 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I have 2 black limousine cows about 12 years old. Both are 5 stars replacement. Now doubt very much if ICBF know what bull they are by.
    I think a lot of FR x Lim cows will have high ratings, once they are old enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭sonnybill

I use 100% AI but this year my last cow (first calver) was not cycling so put in the PRID and injection day before I took it out.. was getting late so I took no chances and ran her out to run with my neighbours CH stock bull.. what do I do there now next year? Name the real daddy ? do I risk getting in trouble as I shouldn't really be taking her to a bull without a movement cert and at that time a 60 day BR blood test?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

sonnybill wrote: »
    I use 100% AI but this year my last cow (first calver) was not cycling so put in the PRID and injection day before I took it out.. was getting late so I took no chances and ran her out to run with my neighbours CH stock bull.. what do I do there now next year? Name the real daddy ? do I risk getting in trouble as I shouldn't really be taking her to a bull without a movement cert and at that time a 60 day BR blood test?

Sure didn't the bull break in and you never even saw him and didn't realise what happened until nine months later;)

I'd be amazed if the Department start sticking the boot into farmers over small stuff like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Sure what happens when he breaks in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭BG2.0

Whats the aim of this anyway?
    Just another scheme for the sake of it/collecting data about quality of national herd?
    Talking to a guy i worked with as a student out of 134 sucklers has 2/3 4-5 stars mainly lim x to sim/aa/BA can't see much point other than teagasc advisor wanted him in with a token carrot dangled(think it would barely cover the cost?). Would be abit better than average stock but nothing super.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Future Farmer

Hi ,

I have signed up to the BDGP program and have got back my star ratings ,
    I have some animals that i bought in , that have no star rating due to no sire on the cards.

The man who i bought the animals off had 2 stock bulls running with the cows (Dairy) so in fairness to him , he did not put down a sire as Sire was unknown.

Is there any way to get star ratings on these animals,
    I think the options would be

1. Go back to farmer and see if he would give 1 of the Bulls Tag no ( Not sure if he will)
    2. Genotype them next year ( or maybe this year myself) and see if that results in anything , If stock bull was from AI on ICBF records.
    3. Weight them and start recording something on them , Will that give me some benefit from ICBF.

Any other options suggested would be appreciated.
    I dont want to go down the breeding route with these if they are not going to have a rating

Kin

You're only option is to go back to the farmer and get the tag numbers of the two bulls and or DNA samples and DNA sample the heifers/cows. Which will be expensive are either of the bulls AI bred, that would certainly make your life easier. The two bulls may already have been sampled, depending on Pedigree Society.

Weighing the cows etc will be largely pointless as sire is really important, a cow can expect to have 10 calves in her lifetime MAX, a bull in AI has thousands and thousands.

What have you got them in calf to?

BG2.0 wrote: »
    Whats the aim of this anyway?
    Just another scheme for the sake of it/collecting data about quality of national herd?
    Talking to a guy i worked with as a student out of 134 sucklers has 2/3 4-5 stars mainly lim x to sim/aa/BA can't see much point other than teagasc advisor wanted him in with a token carrot dangled(think it would barely cover the cost?). Would be abit better than average stock but nothing super.

Calving interval 407 days
    Average age at first calving 32 months
    40% Suckler Cows no Sire Recorded

He must have fairly terminally based cows if he only has 2 or 3 4/5 Star cows, could probably still achieve targets. In the case of that guy, Scheme Annually = (10x95=€950)+(124x€80=€9920) - (Samples on 60%= 80 @€;22 = €1760) = €9110 or €68 a head

For me the Scheme is free money for Suckler Farmers, and it's fairly handy to achieve targets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭BG2.0

He must have fairly terminally based cows if he only has 2 or 3 4/5 Star cows, could probably still achieve targets. In the case of that guy, Scheme Annually = (10x95=€950)+(124x€80=€9920) - (Samples on 60%= 80 @€;22 = €1760) = €9110 or €68 a head

For me the Scheme is free money for Suckler Farmers, and it's fairly handy to achieve targets.

sorry, two-thirds 4/5 star there was only one or two things he needed to do and sorted. Has 4 stock bulls 1 for replacements iykwim

BG2.0 wrote: »
    sorry, two-thirds 4/5 star there was only one or two things he needed to do and sorted. Has 4 stock bulls 1 for replacements iykwim

That was me not reading properly, sorry my bad, madness for that man not to join, 6 yrs at €10,000, easily achievable...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭annubis

lads was watching a bit of the BDGP meeting in ennis on youtube, i could be wrong but they had a 5* black limo from dairy herd in ring as example, im pretty sure they said they had no sire info for her so how can she be 5 *

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Contact the dairy farmer, if the two bulls are unrelated and assuming they are still there ask for him to do a dna test on one of them. Then dna test your own cows and see if they are off that one. Thinks it's 30 or 50 euro to do so. Ring wheatherbys they should tell you what to do

annubis wrote: »
    lads was watching a bit of the BDGP meeting in ennis on youtube, i could be wrong but they had a 5* black limo from dairy herd in ring as example, im pretty sure they said they had no sire info for her so how can she be 5 *

If her dam was AI bred and thus very high reliability it is possible. But she herself will be very low reliability, c 20%, index could change in coming proofs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭Bellview

where a guy has numbers its an easy scheme to collect cash from, but I'm not sure the scheme will change anything 1. the average calving date quoted by ICBF is treated as though there is an eternal problem in the suckler business... if you look back over the last 5 years and do a compare with calving interval of the 'superior' dairy herd, you will see that the suckler has a 1 day difference with dairy upto 2 years ago 2. first calf.. ICBF are encouraging 24 months... now depending on what breed you use calving heifers at 24 months may be dangerous on the heifer as she is not fully mature plus I have seen animals I calved at 24 months struggle for milk and when they called at 36 months theye were good... that is why I will always calf at 30 months no matter what ICBF tell me. 3. I know a guy completing the green cert with Teagasc part time and the teagasc guys recommended the following cross for a suckler cow... get a dair farmer to use Charolais and then use B Blue on the CH...this would be the ideal dam. the logic was milk from dairy ... looking at this though the dairy boys will not use good CH (too hard to calf) and if you cross aBB ... there could be some vet bills trying to get the end product to through a CH calf again

Bellview wrote: »
    where a guy has numbers its an easy scheme to collect cash from, but I'm not sure the scheme will change anything 1. the average calving date quoted by ICBF is treated as though there is an eternal problem in the suckler business... if you look back over the last 5 years and do a compare with calving interval of the 'superior' dairy herd, you will see that the suckler has a 1 day difference with dairy upto 2 years ago 2. first calf.. ICBF are encouraging 24 months... now depending on what breed you use calving heifers at 24 months may be dangerous on the heifer as she is not fully mature plus I have seen animals I calved at 24 months struggle for milk and when they called at 36 months theye were good... that is why I will always calf at 30 months no matter what ICBF tell me. 3. I know a guy completing the green cert with Teagasc part time and the teagasc guys recommended the following cross for a suckler cow... get a dair farmer to use Charolais and then use B Blue on the CH...this would be the ideal dam. the logic was milk from dairy ... looking at this though the dairy boys will not use good CH (too hard to calf) and if you cross aBB ... there could be some vet bills trying to get the end product to through a CH calf again

Yes, Dairy is spoken about like it is perfect and it is definitely not.

But:
    407 Beef Calving interval 2015 down from 412 2014 - National Average (2015 calves per cow per year 0.82)

392 Dairy Calving Interval 2015 down from 394 2014 - National Average (herds more than 30 calvings) (2015 calves per cow per year 0.90)

On 2015 figures av Dairy cow has 3.3 calves in lifetime and av Beef cow has 4.4, so less recycling going on in dairy herd is all, but it's the principal.

To calve at 24 months your heifer must hit target weights and you have to use a bull around 3% CD - Saler or AA more of less. But calving them earlier does drive profits, IMO.

You could find 10 Teagasc men and put them in a room and they wouldn't agree on anything, is there even such a thing as the ideal cow? And if there is, it is not a (FR/HOxCH)xBB, for me anyways.

For me it's a cow that's about 550-600kg, that calves young, calves regularly, calves herself, rears he calf herself (milk) and goes back in calf. Doesn't need to do anything fancy.

Everyone has a neighbour with a few cows and he calves all year around that makes no sense.

It is hard no to "buy with the eyes" when buying/breeding a suckler cow.

http://www.icbf.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/Dairy-Calving-Stats1.pdf

http://www.icbf.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/Beef-Calving-Statistics-2015.pdf

Did someone not ask that question ? Perhaps the cow has a lot of calves and that has brought up her star rating

I think thats the easiest thing to do .Hopefully he will give them to me.

Milked out wrote: »
    Contact the dairy farmer, if the two bulls are unrelated and assuming they are still there ask for him to do a dna test on one of them. Then dna test your own cows and see if they are off that one. Thinks it's 30 or 50 euro to do so. Ring wheatherbys they should tell you what to do

You should be able to see the BDGP Star Ratings it in The 'Report', Eurostar section

valtraman wrote: »
    Something similar here I am still debating if I will stay in the scheme ,I have some bought in heifers and was trying to look up their stars (if I bull them in the spring most should be about for 2020)well although I am registered for online with icbf I still cant see the information but they have it as when I phoned up they could tell me the stars , surely at this stage all the info should be on mart boards and also on mobile to allow people choose which animals to buy and not be buying a pig in a poke :

Not yet in Calf, Only born 2015
    You're only option is to go back to the farmer and get the tag numbers of the two bulls and or DNA samples and DNA sample the heifers/cows. Which will be expensive are either of the bulls AI bred, that would certainly make your life easier. The two bulls may already have been sampled, depending on Pedigree Society.

Weighing the cows etc will be largely pointless as sire is really important, a cow can expect to have 10 calves in her lifetime MAX, a bull in AI has thousands and thousands.

What have you got them in calf to?

I'm just after taking over the part time suckler farm last year that had very little changes in the last 10 years , so the BDGP is definitely a focus to help me to increase .

At least i have some figures to work off now and going to get paid for it, I would be doing it anyway.

I considered AI but did not know anything about it, but after attended the ICBF/Teagasc/Munster AI open evening,I now have some better ideas and felt that i learned . AI'ing the maiden heifer and synchronizing them might suit me. I have a Pedigree bull for the cows.

24 month calving is definitely of interest, but i agree they have to be of the correct weight.

I'm supprised at my current star ratings of 4&5 , so the oul fellow must have been doing something right. Just have to tighten up the calving interval.

I don't think the Pedigree lads are too happy, and i dont think it suits them from what i hear.

Lads, Thanks for all the replys

Yes, Dairy is spoken about like it is perfect and it is definitely not.

But:
    407 Beef Calving interval 2015 down from 412 2014 - National Average (2015 calves per cow per year 0.82)

392 Dairy Calving Interval 2015 down from 394 2014 - National Average (herds more than 30 calvings) (2015 calves per cow per year 0.90)

On 2015 figures av Dairy cow has 3.3 calves in lifetime and av Beef cow has 4.4, so less recycling going on in dairy herd is all, but it's the principal.

To calve at 24 months your heifer must hit target weights and you have to use a bull around 3% CD - Saler or AA more of less. But calving them earlier does drive profits, IMO.

You could find 10 Teagasc men and put them in a room and they wouldn't agree on anything, is there even such a thing as the ideal cow? And if there is, it is not a (FR/HOxCH)xBB, for me anyways.

For me it's a cow that's about 550-600kg, that calves young, calves regularly, calves herself, rears he calf herself (milk) and goes back in calf. Doesn't need to do anything fancy.

Everyone has a neighbour with a few cows and he calves all year around that makes no sense.

It is hard no to "buy with the eyes" when buying/breeding a suckler cow.

How is this Calving Interval calculated, is it the number of cows on the farm divided by the number of live caves sold per year.
    My cows would calve around the 365 day interval but when you take the odd calf that dies, cows kept over the winter to be fattened off grass the following spring, this interval is driven well up.

I'm just after taking over the part time suckler farm last year that had very little changes in the last 10 years , so the BDGP is definitely a focus to help me to increase .

At least i have some figures to work off now and going to get paid for it, I would be doing it anyway.

I considered AI but did not know anything about it, but after attended the ICBF/Teagasc/Munster AI open evening,I now have some better ideas and felt that i learned . AI'ing the maiden heifer and synchronizing them might suit me. I have a Pedigree bull for the cows.

24 month calving is definitely of interest, but i agree they have to be of the correct weight.

I'm supprised at my current star ratings of 4&5 , so the oul fellow must have been doing something right. Just have to tighten up the calving interval.

I don't think the Pedigree lads are too happy, and i dont think it suits them from what i hear.

Lads, Thanks for all the replys

The pushback that is coming from the pedigree folks is similar to that of commercial folks.. there is a risk of very arrow bloodlines. There is also the low reliability of numbers and the huge fluctuations of the stars. Take Ardlea Dan as a great example of this

I joined the munster AI meetings with ICBF and I must admit I found it more confusing than helpful as it was a commercial exercise in selling semen (munster bulls only). I reviewed the AA bulls and they recommended bulls that are only intended for dairy heifers as now suitable for the scheme ie lord hardy, Gizmo... these bulls only throw rabbits and are not beef sires in the beef sense... the bulls are showing high stars but folks will not make money by using these.

there are angus bulls CYI & Nord (dead but sons around) who are considered rubbish in the stars but are breeding better cattle than the two bulls I named about

This is where the pushback is coming from the pedigrees guys...

my view on the scheme is if you have enough numbers you will collect the cash off the scheme using probability of the ICBF have as many wrong as right...BUT as the scheme is currently set up it won't change any behaviour that I have today... I have the herd on a 350 day average calving cycle & I know the market I'm selling into... The AI that I use are mostly Dovea because they have better Angus bulls than munster by a long way

How is this Calving Interval calculated, is it the number of cows on the farm divided by the number of live caves sold per year.
    My cows would calve around the 365 day interval but when you take the odd calf that dies, cows kept over the winter to be fattened off grass the following
    spring, this interval is driven well up.

great question

I assume its the fatten cows that may be catching you here as once you register the dead calf .. her interval is counted accurately

tanko wrote: »
    Sure didn't the bull break in and you never even saw him and didn't realise what happened until nine months later;)

I'd be amazed if the Department start sticking the boot into farmers over small stuff like this.

He my best mates bull and 10 miles from me.. dropped her off on way to work and picked her up on way home. I will name the bull as think that would be far more beneficial to the scheme than plucking an AI code out of the air and defeating the object but id hate to get him into trouble.. what ye think?! ICBF different to Dept of Ag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

My cows would calve around the 365 day interval but when you take the odd calf that dies, cows kept over the winter to be fattened off grass the following spring, this interval is driven well up.

If your on icbf I think you can mark cows as culls etc so if fattening there info won't be put in to calving intervals and the like, i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

the calving interval is the number of days between two calvings .what happens to our calving interval is when the heifer calves in autumn and u let her run into Christmas or if u start recycling cows.other than that they don't go awful skewed like 400+ days

He my best mates bull and 10 miles from me.. dropped her off on way to work and picked her up on way home. I will name the bull as think that would be far more beneficial to the scheme than plucking an AI code out of the air and defeating the object but id hate to get him into trouble.. what ye think?! ICBF different to Dept of Ag

Jayus, don't. It will flag up on the computer system straight away. Just put down 'unknown sire'.

I hear lots of negative comments from lads about the relationship between ICBF and Munster AI , But to be fair their BDGP catalogue is done out well for the people who know little about AI. It even gives you the minium cow index for the bull selected to get a 4 star calf with a rel of 85%,

I've already used that logic on my animals based on the ICBF star rating report in Excel and calculated the expected calf index's for 2016 based on my own stock bull index with a 15% tolerance.

Looking at the Angus on Munster AI , they do not have great reliability figures , so i went looking at Dovea as they are near me and find that their sire catalogue online is dated 2014, then there is a seperate download for 2015 BDGP index's , but only shows replacement indexs and you have to go back to the main 2014 sire list to get the calving difficultys and all other index's which are not up to date.

Dovea and other AI companies need to UP their game here is they want to target smaller beef farmers.

I have no alligence to any AI company,But i def do think i would syncronise the good maiden heifiers and try to calve at 24 months and AI them with a very easy calving Angus.

Thats my thought anyway

Cheers
    Bellview wrote: »
    The pushback that is coming from the pedigree folks is similar to that of commercial folks.. there is a risk of very arrow bloodlines. There is also the low reliability of numbers and the huge fluctuations of the stars. Take Ardlea Dan as a great example of this

I joined the munster AI meetings with ICBF and I must admit I found it more confusing than helpful as it was a commercial exercise in selling semen (munster bulls only). I reviewed the AA bulls and they recommended bulls that are only intended for dairy heifers as now suitable for the scheme ie lord hardy, Gizmo... these bulls only throw rabbits and are not beef sires in the beef sense... the bulls are showing high stars but folks will not make money by using these.

there are angus bulls CYI & Nord (dead but sons around) who are considered rubbish in the stars but are breeding better cattle than the two bulls I named about

This is where the pushback is coming from the pedigrees guys...

my view on the scheme is if you have enough numbers you will collect the cash off the scheme using probability of the ICBF have as many wrong as right...BUT as the scheme is currently set up it won't change any behaviour that I have today... I have the herd on a 350 day average calving cycle & I know the market I'm selling into... The AI that I use are mostly Dovea because they have better Angus bulls than munster by a long way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

I have a few old cows out of an sim bull that's long gone that are 5 star aswell and I can't put him in as a sire for them. He had the older style tag number with the 4 letters first and then the number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mikeoh

Sent off my tags last month, then I lost one of the cows to pneumonia, do I need to tag another one in her place or am I ok

mikeoh wrote: »
    Sent off my tags last month, then I lost one of the cows to pneumonia, do I need to tag another one in her place or am I ok

I think you're ok once you've tagged what you were asked to tag. I'll be selling a couple of the cows i tagged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

I still have to receive my tags suppose I should ring to check

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭pure breed

Hi there
    Does anyone know when we will get the results back from the Genotyping tags Farmers had to do on their herd recently, And also will these results have an effect / change the existing stars of the cows.
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭pure breed

I hear lots of negative comments from lads about the relationship between ICBF and Munster AI , But to be fair their BDGP catalogue is done out well for the people who know little about AI. It even gives you the minium cow index for the bull selected to get a 4 star calf with a rel of 85%,

Hi I've been looking at the Munster AI catalogue and the ratings on this do not remotely match some of the ICBF ratings
    Maybe the new catalogue is up to date but I find it very confusing and misleading maybe I'm missing something????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭50HX

pure breed wrote: »
    Hi there
    Does anyone know when we will get the results back from the Genotyping tags Farmers had to do on their herd recently, And also will these results have an effect / change the existing stars of the cows.
    thanks

iwas told at an icbf meeting it will be feb/march, don't know the answer to the last part of your question

After you genotype a cow you lose the opportunity to enter a "missing sire" for that animal on the icbf herdplus yet they have no recorded sire down for her??

I've five animals with unknown sires as were out of stock bulls, I intend to track down a tag number of all five as fellas must have the tag number in their blue books or a receipt from a sale or a factory/ mart when they killed/disposed of him.. got one such tag number tonight and ive lost opportunity to input missing sire as animal has been genotyped.. will I ring them (ICBF) with it?

After you genotype a cow you lose the opportunity to enter a "missing sire" for that animal on the icbf herdplus yet they have no recorded sire down for her??

I've five animals with unknown sires as were out of stock bulls, I intend to track down a tag number of all five as fellas must have the tag number in their blue books or a receipt from a sale or a factory/ mart when they killed/disposed of him.. got one such tag number tonight and ive lost opportunity to input missing sire as animal has been genotyped.. will I ring them (ICBF) with it?

Yeah, ICBF put in missing sires over the phone for me earlier this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

I am sure this has been discussed to the death already so apologies in advance!

I got a letter from he department confirming that my application to join the scheme has been accepted. What do I do now? Do I wait for further instruction from them or do I have to contact someone else now to get sampling tags?

RobinBanks wrote: »
    I am sure this has been discussed to the death already so apologies in advance!

I got a letter from he department confirming that my application to join the scheme has been accepted. What do I do now? Do I wait for further instruction from them or do I have to contact someone else now to get sampling tags?

Once your accepted, the tags will be sent out.

Edit. If you're waiting a while it might be no harm to ring them and double check tags are on the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭conseng

How do I add in the sire details for a weanling on agfood? Somehow missed out on this detail when registering a calf in spring. I have the AI docket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

conseng wrote: »
    How do I add in the sire details for a weanling on agfood? Somehow missed out on this detail when registering a calf in spring. I have the AI docket.

Animal Event Recording System> Calving Details > Born in year (2015)

Then click on the tag and enter details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nettleman

I see ICBF have claimed Charity status under the tax acts. They are also registered as a charity with the Charities registration authority. Maybe they can tell me how does a charity justify charging its customers €60 a year to access their charitable service??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭eoinmk2

does anyone know if this scheme will be reopening next year, or in the future at any stage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭conseng

Thanks Kovu but that doesn't work for me as I'm not in the beef genomics scheme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

conseng wrote: »
    Thanks Kovu but that doesn't work for me as I'm not in the beef genomics scheme.

Oh. I thought that it was the same? That's the way we did it last year, or a very similar way anyway. Once when I reg'd a calf with the wrong code, I had to ring up and get it changed. You could try ringing them perhaps? Make them do a bit of work for a change :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Tyson Lannister

i am in herd plus and joined the scheme. I have returned the tissue samples, but they are looking for survey forms. I didn't get any survey forms- I have filled in all the data on her plus though. Is this why I didn't get any forms?