Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Show us yer fridge!

• 11-11-2015 12:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭

Too many serious threads here tonight, let's shake this up.

I have five liters of orange juice, three litres of milk, two things of butter, cheese, ham, yoghurts, rice puddings, tomatoes (yeah, bite me), grapes, mayonnaise, black and white pudding and orange squash in mine.

What's in yours?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Oh, and non Tennent's beer too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Ah good oul Aldi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Ah yes. The good old Irish 'thing of butter'. Metric? Pah! Imperial? G'wan away with ye. We measure in things around these parts.

Half a thing is a yoke. Ten dollops to a yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Oh, and non Tennent's beer too!

Expecting visitors?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Amazing fridge from the 50s still working.

endacl wrote: »
    Ah yes. The good old Irish 'thing of butter'. Metric? Pah! Imperial? G'wan away with ye. We measure in things around these parts.

Half a thing is a yoke. Ten dollops to a yoke.

I have a confession no self respecting culchie should ever have to make :o

It's not even real butter!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

One from my old place....the essentials of life...

endacl wrote: »
    Expecting visitors?

Yeah, I keep the Tennent's in the milk room, that's just too impress the guests!

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

I can't believe it's not butter! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I have a confession no self respecting culchie should ever have to make :o

It's not even real butter!

Wtf? Are you Protestant or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

One from my old place....the essentials of life...

Ballygowan, well la-de-da

Amazing fridge from the 50s still working.

From the early 90s actually, it was my Dad's fridge before me, and i hope to pass it on to a young Backwardsperson some day, it's a grand height for under the cereal unit, most modern ones are too tall.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Wtf? Are you Protestant or something?

You ever get country butter in a thatched house with no running water and one pot they did everything in when you were out gathering spuds as a wee fella?

Put you off the real thing for life

Xaracatz wrote: »
    Fair enough. But how's your erection?

My house? Tis grand, here's the kitchen.

The wedding photo is the wee brother and his Brazilian burd, in case you're wondering

Want to see more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

What's that Dr Who looking device thing beside the phone..

Is it like a baby monitor only for cows?

What's that Dr Who looking device thing beside the phone..

Is it like a baby monitor only for cows?

On top of the phone? It sends Sky to the kitchen telly. No need for multiroom when your live on your own

Why is there cake icing all over your ceiling?

byte

The wedding photo is the wee brother and his Brazilian burd, in case you're wondering

Want to see more
    You're only on your second bottle of beer? :eek: :p

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Tis like something from the seventies.

A landline and non integrated appliances?

Who lives like that?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

Don't overload your sockets!
    I worry!

That isn't cake icing

Stheno wrote: »

Jaysus I'm only showing yous my house, I'm not asking yous to move in! :D

byte

My landline delivers me 50/20mbit broadband, so yeah, it's handy that way.

Also, integrated appliances are grand til they need repairs. Freestanding appliances are handier to pull out and fix/replace!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

What's that brass/bronze figure thing with the hat on top of the cupboards?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Jaysus I'm only showing yous my house, I'm not asking yous to move in! :D

Aesthetics man, aesthetics!
    byte wrote: »
    My landline delivers me 50/20mbit broadband, so yeah, it's handy that way.

Also, integrated appliances are grand til they need repairs. Freestanding appliances are handier to pull out and fix/replace!

I've no landline and manage fine with broadband tbh.

And I've a utility room for my applicances :pac:

You can tell it's not long since Halloween anyway by my fridge.

In for a penny in for a pound

Living room

Andre 3000 wrote: »
    What's that brass/bronze figure thing with the hat on top of the cupboards?

That's an old hip flask thingy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

Living room

What's the degree in?

byte

Aesthetics man, aesthetics!

I've no landline and manage fine with broadband tbh.

And I've a utility room for my applicances :pac:
    Not all of us have cable broadband or whatever, some of us rely on ADSL (or VDSL for the lucky ones, like me).

I've a Utility Room too for the washing machine and dryer, but the dishwasher is in the kitchen for convenience. :)

How does the snowball beside the stove not melt?

byte

Living room
    That portable toilet sure is a great job! Handy beside the fire there! :D

What's the degree in?

Turf cutting! :D

Living room

You do realise there are interior decorators out there?

You keep a tidy home, has to be said.

My place would only ever get the feng shui treatment if I was expecting visitors, or was planning on hitting Copper Face Jacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

It's Artex.From the seventies.

Who left the milk out?

kneemos wrote: »
    It's Artex.From the seventies.

It could also be asbestos, would explain alot.

TheTorment wrote: »
    How does the snowball beside the stove not melt?

That a sea shell. From the sea shore!

You do realise there are interior decorators out there?

Why pay a decorator when you can do it yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

You keep a tidy home, has to be said.

My place would only ever get the feng shui treatment if I was expecting visitors, or was planning on hitting Copper Face Jacks.

Dropped some turf beside the fire.

byte wrote: »
    Not all of us have cable broadband or whatever, some of us rely on ADSL (or VDSL for the lucky ones, like me).

I've a Utility Room too for the washing machine and dryer, but the dishwasher is in the kitchen for convenience. :)

Mobile broadband for me, OH has a landline for work, but I don't even know the number :)
    Why pay a decorator when you can do it yourself?

Aesthetics!

kneemos wrote: »
    Dropped some turf beside the fire.

It's because I don't wear slippers, the socks track it over the floor.

Mobile broadband for me, OH has a landline for work, but I don't even know the number :)

Aesthetics!

Thanks for reminding me why I'm better off without a woman :P

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

i love the green tiles in the living room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Mad about the sitting-room too. You have a lovely home.

XR3i wrote: »
    i love the green tiles in the living room

They came out of an old estate house, about two hundred years old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Along with the rest of the furniture then? :pac:

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

probably Roman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

Living room

Is that your sh1tting bucket?

Along with the rest of the furniture then? :pac:

That furniture reminds me of old folks homes, didn't realise TBM was that ancient tbh