Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Here it comes..Xmas...

• 05-11-2015 2:28am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 736 ✭✭✭

The retailers can't wait for Holleween to be out of the way....Now the onslaught ? Looks strange typed. Kinda pisses me off, Get's earlier each year.
    I do love Christmas but it's full on now. Think I'll hide for 3 more weeks..Cu..'s:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,585 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Lidl have their ads on the telly,fcuking sickening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,411 ✭✭✭✭woodchuck

Stephens Green shopping centre have all their decorations up already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Loads of ads on the telly and the shops have been stocking Christmas stuff for weeks now. But worst of all was the opening of the Pennies Christmas shop in Nutgrove at the end of Sept/start of October.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Copa Mundial

It shouldn't come as a surprise to anyone at this stage. Halloween starts on October 1st and Christmas starts on November 1st.

It's been that way in recent years. Just the nature of the beast.

It shouldn't come as a surprise to anyone at this stage. Halloween starts on October 1st and Christmas starts on November 1st.

It's been that way in recent years. Just the nature of the beast.
    But a full week before Halloween I went in to woodies and all the Halloween stuff was 50% in a corner while the main display area was full of Christmas trees and 10ft Santa statues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

What are ye shïteing on about?? Christmas is next month!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,433 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

chillin117 wrote: »
    The retailers can't wait for Holleween to be out of the way....Now the onslaught ? Looks strange typed. Kinda pisses me off, Get's earlier each year.
    I do love Christmas but it's full on now. Think I'll hide for 3 more weeks..Cu..'s:(

Starts a thread two months before Christmas on how Christmas is coming... and then fecks off?

Well, Merry Christmas to you too OP! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,805 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

It's been ages since I had an Easter egg!!

Lucretias wrote: »
    Would you care to provide evidence that Christmas gets earlier each year?

I'd wager that Christmas is no earlier this year than it was in 2002.
    I don't ever recall seeing Christmas shops opening in Sept in 2002

I know its easier said that done but don't engage with it so much, I walked part of the Wicklow way last weekend absolutely fabulous and no evidence of Christmas any where unless you count the pine trees :p I am not a shopper and don't work near any shopping centres so easy enough for me to avoid it until i want to take part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

smash wrote: »
    I don't ever recall seeing Christmas shops opening in Sept in 2002

Were Christmas shops even around in 2002? It feels like only the last few years since pop-up shops have existed at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

If you don't like it just walk past it.
    Just don't go whinging if you go to buy X Y or Z a week before and they're sold out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

'It gets earlier every year.'

I feel like I've been hearing that my whole life and yet when I want to buy a Christmas tree in March there's not one fcuking Christmas item to be found in the shops. :mad:

yet when I want to buy a Christmas tree in March
    Wiclow mountains.. loads up there.. and for free!!!!

Which is nice.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 736 ✭✭✭chillin117

Starts a thread two months before Christmas on how Christmas is coming... and then fecks off?

Well, Merry Christmas to you too OP! :pac:
    I Didn't feck off, Look I'm here !

chillin117 wrote: »
    I Didn't feck off, Look I'm here !

Howrya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭Dr.Internet

Finished present shopping 2 weeks ago. Still trying to persuade the partner it's not too early to put the tree up, but apparently i'd be a knob if i put it up before december

If it's up for a sixth of the year, it's hardly special is it? Wouldn't you be just used to it by Christmas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

You know Christmas is coming when you start hearing people complaining that Christmas is coming!

Kev W wrote: »
    If it's up for a sixth of the year, it's hardly special is it? Wouldn't you be just used to it by Christmas?

One sixth of the year......i'd leave it up till March if I could!

I never tire of walking in to the room and the magic of christmas in your face

I LOVE chrimbo :)

One sixth of the year......i'd leave it up till March if I could!

I never tire of walking in to the room and the magic of christmas in your face

I LOVE chrimbo :)

But if it was all the time it wouldn't be magical, would it? It would be mundane. It would be wallpaper or oxygen. You'd stop noticing. Also the fact that it's confined to a particular part of the year means there's only so much of a window for that horrible Paul McCartney song.

I love Christmas but I despise the word "chrimbo". It's the "It does exactly what it says on the tin" of seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,584 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

I don't really mind it, November is a pretty shít month. No bank holidays etc. At least it reminds you there's something to look forward to next month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Are you hanging up the stocking on your wall?

Kev W wrote: »
    But if it was all the time it wouldn't be magical, would it? It would be mundane. It would be wallpaper or oxygen. You'd stop noticing. Also the fact that it's confined to a particular part of the year means there's only so much of a window for that horrible Paul McCartney song.

I love Christmas but I despise the word "chrimbo". It's the "It does exactly what it says on the tin" of seasons.
    You sound like my partner.

Your partner sounds pretty great. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,085 ✭✭✭OU812

Put Xmas back in the box. This is Turkey month. Thanksgiving.

The run up to Xmas can take place from the 27th November.

http://i.imgur.com/q7ZeIeZ.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

smash wrote: »
    But a full week before Halloween I went in to woodies and all the Halloween stuff was 50% in a corner while the main display area was full of Christmas trees and 10ft Santa statues.

Tescos have had Christmas stuff in their shops since the beginning of September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

I wonder what ad will be "Most Annoying Xmas Ad 2015".

For me the 2014 Vodafone ad was a deserved winner.

"Have a holly, jolly Christmas....it's the best time of the year"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Fuck Christmas.

Oh you're a mean one, Mr Grinch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

There's a shop beside me that has put up their Christmas decorations for next year already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Christmas is awesome.

Fnck the begrudgers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,873 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Complains Christmas is getting earlier each year yet starts a Christmas tread in the 1st week on November.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Christmas was a christian celebration before it became a money making Hallmark holiday...

I'm with Potential-Monke on this.

The rest of ye, have a cool Yule, just not my thing :eek:

I'll be in Lanzarote quaffing Long Island ice-tea's & smoking blunts...now that's a holiday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Happy Saturnalia everyone!!!!! :D

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    Christmas was a christian celebration before it became a money making Hallmark holiday...
    The pagans hipsters had it before those new fangled Christians..

blowins..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

blowins..
    Exactly.

Christians just decided that JC was born on the 25th of December to hiijack the already established winter festivals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Xmas = Time to watch Die Hard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Walked into my local Woodies

Every year they seem to have more and more Xmas stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Trent Houseboat

Xmas = Time to watch Die Hard

Now I have a machinegun.
    Ho, ho, ho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Remember it's a horrific time of year for many people who are suffering, whether it be grieving the loss of a loved one, financial stress, illness etc. Don't label them all as grinches, think of what it's like to be surrounded by all this contrived festive cheer and goodwill when inside you're feeling like utter hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

I actually hate Christmas day. I love the lead up to Christmas and Christmas Eve is so magical, but then at around 11am on Christmas day its just.....gone :eek: Was there ever e more f*cking bi-polar time of year than the magic of Christmas Eve followed swiftly by the black depression of Christmas day? :(

blowins..
    KungPao wrote: »
    Exactly.

Christians just decided that JC was born on the 25th of December to hiijack the already established winter festivals.
    The sun-god Horus was worshipped nearly 1,000 years before the story of Jesus, check out these parallels...

1.Both were conceived of a virgin.

2.Both were the "only begotten son" of a god (either Osiris or Yahweh)

3.Horus's mother was Meri, Jesus's mother was Mary.

4.Horus's foster father was called Jo-Seph, and Jesus's foster father was Joseph.

5.Both foster fathers were of royal descent.

6.Both were born in a cave (although sometimes Jesus is said to have been born in a stable).

7.Both had their coming announced to their mother by an angel.
    Horus; birth was heralded by the star Sirius (the morning star).
    Jesus had his birth heralded by a star in the East (the sun rises in the East).

8.Ancient Egyptians celebrated the birth of Horus on December 21 (the Winter Solstice). Modern Christians celebrate the birth of Jesus on December 25.

9.Both births were announced by angels.

10.Both had shepherds witnessing the birth.

11.Horus was visited at birth by "three solar deities" and Jesus was visited by "three wise men".

12.After the birth of Horus, Herut tried to have Horus murdered.
    After the birth of Jesus, Herod tried to have Jesus murdered.

13.To hide from Herut, the god that tells Isis, "Come, thou goddess Isis, hide thyself with thy child."
    To hide from Herod, an angel tells Joseph to "arise and take the young child and his mother and flee into Egypt."

14.When Horus came of age, he had a special ritual where his eye was restored.
    When Jesus (and other Jews) come of age, they have a special ritual called a Bar Mitzvah.

15.Both Horus and Jesus were 12 at this coming-of-age ritual.
    Neither have any official recorded life histories between the ages of 12 and 30.

16.Horus was baptized in the river Eridanus.
    Jesus was baptized in the river Jordan.

17.Both were baptized at age 30.

18.Horus was baptized by Anup the Baptizer.
    Jesus was baptized by John the Baptist.

19.Both Anup and John were later beheaded.

20.Horus was taken from the desert of Amenta up a high mountain to be tempted by his arch-rival Set.
    Jesus was taken from the desert in Palestine up a high mountain to be tempted by his arch-rival Satan.

21.Both Horus and Jesus successfully resist this temptation.

22.Both had 12 disciples.

23.Both walked on water, cast out demons, healed the sick, and restored sight to the blind.

24.Horus "stilled the sea by his power."
    Jesus commanded the sea to be still by saying, "Peace, be still."

25.Horus raised his dead father (Osiris) from the grave.
    Jesus raised Lazarus from the grave. (Note the similarity in names when you say them out loud. Further, Osiris was also known as Asar, which is El-Asar in Hebrew, which is El-Asarus in Latin.)

26.Osiris was raised in the town of Anu.
    Lazarus was raised in Bethanu (literally, "house of Anu").

27.Both gods delivered a Sermon on the Mount.

28.Both were crucified.

29.Both were crucified next to two thieves.

30.Both were buried in a tomb.

31.Horus was sent to Hell and resurrected in 3 days.
    Jesus was sent to Hell and came back "three days" later (although Friday night to Sunday morning is hardly three days).

32.Both had their resurrection announced by women.

33.Both are supposed to return for a 1000-year reign.

34.Horus is known as KRST, the anointed one. Jesus was known as the Christ (which means "anointed one").

35.Both Jesus and Horus have been called the good shepherd, the lamb of God, the bread of life, the son of man, the Word, the fisher, and the winnower.

36.Both are associated with the zodiac sign of Pisces (the fish).

37.Both are associated with the symbols of the fish, the beetle, the vine, and the shepherd's crook.

38.Horus was born in Anu ("the place of bread") and Jesus was born in Bethlehem ("the house of bread").

39."The infant Horus was carried out of Egypt to escape the wrath of Typhon. The infant Jesus was carried into Egypt to escape the wrath of Herod. Concerning the infant Jesus, the New Testament states the following prophecy: 'Out of Egypt have I called my son.'"

40.Both were transfigured on the mount.

41.The catacombs of Rome have pictures of the infant Horus being held by his mother, not unlike the modern-day images of "Madonna and Child."
    Noted English author C. W. King says that both Isis and Mary are called "Immaculate".

42.Horus says: "Osiris, I am your son, come to glorify your soul, and to give you even more power."
    And Jesus says: "Now is the Son of Man glorified and God is glorified in him.
    If God is glorified in him, God will glorify the Son in himself, and will glorify him at once."
    Horus was identified with the Tau (cross).

Coincidence...I think not ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

woodchuck wrote: »
    Stephens Green shopping centre have all their decorations up already.

Happy Christmas everybody. Let's enjoy it while we can. It ends on 24th December.

The sun-god Horus was worshipped nearly 1,000 years before the story of Jesus, check out these parallels...

1.Both were conceived of a virgin.

2.Both were the "only begotten son" of a god (either Osiris or Yahweh)

3.Horus's mother was Meri, Jesus's mother was Mary.

4.Horus's foster father was called Jo-Seph, and Jesus's foster father was Joseph.

5.Both foster fathers were of royal descent.

6.Both were born in a cave (although sometimes Jesus is said to have been born in a stable).

7.Both had their coming announced to their mother by an angel.
    Horus; birth was heralded by the star Sirius (the morning star).
    Jesus had his birth heralded by a star in the East (the sun rises in the East).

8.Ancient Egyptians celebrated the birth of Horus on December 21 (the Winter Solstice). Modern Christians celebrate the birth of Jesus on December 25.

9.Both births were announced by angels.

10.Both had shepherds witnessing the birth.

11.Horus was visited at birth by "three solar deities" and Jesus was visited by "three wise men".

12.After the birth of Horus, Herut tried to have Horus murdered.
    After the birth of Jesus, Herod tried to have Jesus murdered.

13.To hide from Herut, the god that tells Isis, "Come, thou goddess Isis, hide thyself with thy child."
    To hide from Herod, an angel tells Joseph to "arise and take the young child and his mother and flee into Egypt."

14.When Horus came of age, he had a special ritual where his eye was restored.
    When Jesus (and other Jews) come of age, they have a special ritual called a Bar Mitzvah.

15.Both Horus and Jesus were 12 at this coming-of-age ritual.
    Neither have any official recorded life histories between the ages of 12 and 30.

16.Horus was baptized in the river Eridanus.
    Jesus was baptized in the river Jordan.

17.Both were baptized at age 30.

18.Horus was baptized by Anup the Baptizer.
    Jesus was baptized by John the Baptist.

19.Both Anup and John were later beheaded.

20.Horus was taken from the desert of Amenta up a high mountain to be tempted by his arch-rival Set.
    Jesus was taken from the desert in Palestine up a high mountain to be tempted by his arch-rival Satan.

21.Both Horus and Jesus successfully resist this temptation.

22.Both had 12 disciples.

23.Both walked on water, cast out demons, healed the sick, and restored sight to the blind.

24.Horus "stilled the sea by his power."
    Jesus commanded the sea to be still by saying, "Peace, be still."

25.Horus raised his dead father (Osiris) from the grave.
    Jesus raised Lazarus from the grave. (Note the similarity in names when you say them out loud. Further, Osiris was also known as Asar, which is El-Asar in Hebrew, which is El-Asarus in Latin.)

26.Osiris was raised in the town of Anu.
    Lazarus was raised in Bethanu (literally, "house of Anu").

27.Both gods delivered a Sermon on the Mount.

28.Both were crucified.

29.Both were crucified next to two thieves.

30.Both were buried in a tomb.

31.Horus was sent to Hell and resurrected in 3 days.
    Jesus was sent to Hell and came back "three days" later (although Friday night to Sunday morning is hardly three days).

32.Both had their resurrection announced by women.

33.Both are supposed to return for a 1000-year reign.

34.Horus is known as KRST, the anointed one. Jesus was known as the Christ (which means "anointed one").

35.Both Jesus and Horus have been called the good shepherd, the lamb of God, the bread of life, the son of man, the Word, the fisher, and the winnower.

36.Both are associated with the zodiac sign of Pisces (the fish).

37.Both are associated with the symbols of the fish, the beetle, the vine, and the shepherd's crook.

38.Horus was born in Anu ("the place of bread") and Jesus was born in Bethlehem ("the house of bread").

39."The infant Horus was carried out of Egypt to escape the wrath of Typhon. The infant Jesus was carried into Egypt to escape the wrath of Herod. Concerning the infant Jesus, the New Testament states the following prophecy: 'Out of Egypt have I called my son.'"

40.Both were transfigured on the mount.

41.The catacombs of Rome have pictures of the infant Horus being held by his mother, not unlike the modern-day images of "Madonna and Child."
    Noted English author C. W. King says that both Isis and Mary are called "Immaculate".

42.Horus says: "Osiris, I am your son, come to glorify your soul, and to give you even more power."
    If God is glorified in him, God will glorify the Son in himself, and will glorify him at once."

Well if you're going to be deliberately vague you could be talking about anyone. :)

^ :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

I saw some Christmas stuff on sale in Tescos about a fortnight before Halloween. I don't mind Xmas being pushed in November, but when it tramples on what happens to be my particular favourite seasonal holiday - then we have a problem!

1.Both were conceived of a virgin

You must be thinking of someone else, Christmas is when families come together to celebrate Santys birthday :)