Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bank of Ireland announce disgusting attack on the elderly

• 04-11-2015 1:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 37

Bank of Ireland today announced it will no longer do over the counter transactions of less than 700 Euro. This is a disgusting attack on the elderly and on rural Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

Bank of Ireland today announced it will no longer do over the counter transactions of less than 700 Euro. This is a disgusting attack on the elderly and on rural Ireland.

Sensationalise much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

Why?

Would it not be easier to hand over 500? Be a bit lighter............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

You should write for the Indo.

You made it sound like an organised event sponsored by BOI to go out and beat up old people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Why? Are elderly people or rural people incapable of using a computer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I don't believe they mentioned the word attack in their press release.

Sure the elderly can vote with their feet and move their accounts to the banks who do allow smaller withdrawals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Toblerone1978

Why does this effect rural Ireland more than urban Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Because elderly people are incapable of using ATMs or online banking?

Nice casual ageism there OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

& what, if like me last week, one stupidly forgets their debit card?

I presented my drivers licence at the customer service desk to withdraw €20 so I could get lunch/petrol etc.

Will we now be restricted access to our funds if we don't have a debit card on us?

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Are your pants orange from the recent fire?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭play it again

Does being elderly give someone a special entitlement to be treated differently than other people

I know many people in their 80s and 90s who haven't been in a bank for years. They get their pensions paid into their bank and pay for their shopping with their debit card and get cash back if needed. They pay all their bills by direct debit. Nothing will change for them.

Mesrine65 wrote: »

I presented my drivers licence at the customer service desk to withdraw €20 so I could get lunch/petrol etc.

Will we now be restricted access to our funds if we don't have a debit card on us?
    And what if you didn't have your driver's licence on you?

It's hardly the banks' duty to put in backdoor processes to account for people's own stupidity.

Note I don't specifically agree with what BoI are doing, but if this makes financial sense for them, then what harm.

We're beyond the point now where we need a bank branch in every town handing over 20s and 50s to people who are too lazy to use ATMs or online banking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

most dramatic over the top statement ever.

700 is usually ATM limit so it makes sense that they don't want people at the counter when those people could just as easily use the ATM.

In rural areas there might not be an ATM but then it's unlikely there is a bank office at all.

Everyone should still leave BoI though. Crap bank.

seamus wrote: »
    It's hardly the banks' duty to put in backup processes to account for people's own stupidity.
    Why not, I do it all the time. It's called "user friendliness" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,638 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Withdraw 700. Lodge 680.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Joe's on the case.

All hail Joe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Orange Pants

I am not ageist but it is a fact that a lot of older people don't have a clue about online banking or even how to use an ATM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,328 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Does being elderly give someone a special entitlement to be treated differently than other people

I don't see a problem with this at all? What's wrong with that?

Of course closing this particular part of banking does not effect old people any more than young people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Retail banks have no interest whatsoever in seeing you on the premises, BoI are just in the vanguard of it. Their tellers no longer accept lodgements of less than €3,000 over-the-counter, and as noted withdrawals of less than €700 are machine-only as well. Having said that, the machines seem to work well and my local branch at any rate have plenty of them. It doesn't bother me, but I can see it bothering some people. Many older folk have difficulty with these machines and don't trust debit cards and such. Oh well... :(

Bank of Ireland today announced it will no longer do over the counter transactions of less than 700 Euro. This is a disgusting attack on their customers.

More appropriate. Ironic that today their business online is not working and I can't paid my bills

http://businessbanking.bankofireland.com/payments-and-cards/online-banking/business-online/business-on-line-status-page/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

I am not ageist but it is a fact that a lot of older people don't have a clue about online banking or even how to use an ATM

They better learn then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,638 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

It's also a fact older people invented the internet.

/Edit: Old fecker rants against the world in angry rebuttal.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I don't know a single person over 75 that doesn't know how to use an ATM. And I know quite a few of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

You're not coming back, are you?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

And what if you didn't have your driver's licence on you?

It's hardly the banks' duty to put in backup processes to account for people's own stupidity.
    It's a banks duty to give you access to your funds accordingly.

Leaving your debit card in another jacket from the evening before & forgetting it the next morning is human error, it could happen to anyone...Seamus :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

OP must be poor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

biko wrote: »
    700 is usually ATM limit so it makes sense that they don't want people at the counter when those people could just as easily use the ATM.

In rural areas there might not be an ATM but then it's unlikely there is a bank office at all.

Everyone should still leave BoI though. Crap bank.

It's actually the other way around would concern me. Most ATMs I've encountered don't give out less than 20 yope notes. so If you have 19 yopes in your account youre goosed. Cant get it from the machine, cant get it from the teller. The amount of places out there that still dont take cards is unreal. Then there are the card machines that break, the ones that get testy when you use a northern card, the places that charge extra for using a card for less than a fiver and the places that dont take card at all for less than a fiver.

Really, really stupid move until Ireland has become a cashless society.

100% with you on how shitty BOI are

I don't know a single person over 75 that doesn't know how to use an ATM. And I know quite a few of them.
    I do, my mother, who is suffering from alzheimer's & is very intimidated by ATM's & wouldn't know how to turn on a PC

I am sure there are very few people who don't know how to use an ATM. How patronising.

I know plenty who wouldnt know how to use an ATM. In rural areas ATMs are still fairly recent so there are some older people who have simply never used them. It's a different way of life in the countryside. People need cash for things. Terrible, terrible move from the already loathsome BOI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Actually, the answer is yes for the majority of people over 60 who have never been online according to AgeAction. Nothing ageist about it, quite the contrary if it becomes more difficult for them to do their banking.

And then there's other less-abled people not just the elderly.

My elderly mother likes the social contact of counter transactions and has never been on the internet. And some ATM functions beyond basic withdrawals confuse her so I have do most of that and now that'll ~treble. Coupled with statement frequency now going to 3 months, slyly removing seats from beside the queue and the inability for branch to make many autonomous decisions, the banks have become much less friendly places, especially for the elderly.

I do, my mother, who is suffering from alzheimer's & is very intimidated by ATM's & wouldn't know how to turn on a PC

My Da got fucked off with an ATM yesterday and he's only in his 50s. this move, typically, hasnt taken rural customers into account at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Firstime

Alot of rural areas dont even have broadband!

Firstime wrote: »
    Alot of rural areas dont even have broadband!

Do you need broadband for online banking? I am not disagreeing I genuinely don't know,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭TommyRiordan

When I worked for the RBS group we deliberately made cheque books take far longer than needed for them to go out (7 working days). Had many an old women complain to me.

Also I had a dispute with Bank of Ireland about a month ago. I was complaining about my debit card still not arriving the girl hung up cus she didn't wanna listen to the complaint then I called back, got put through to her again and she failed to ID me on my second callback. Complained and they offered me a £150 cheque as long as I didn't take it further. Feels good man.

tricky D wrote: »
    Actually, the answer is yes for the majority of people over 60 who have never been online according to AgeAction. Nothing ageist about it, quite the contrary if it becomes more difficult for them to do their banking.

And then there's other less-abled people not just the elderly.

My elderly mother likes the social contact of counter transactions and has never been on the internet. And some ATM functions beyond basic withdrawals confuse her so I have do most of that and now that'll ~treble. Coupled with statement frequency now going to 3 months, slyly removing seats from beside the queue and the inability for branch to make many autonomous decisions, the banks have become much less friendly places, especially for the elderly.

Well both my parents, in their sixties use atms and online banking all the time so anecdotes don't really prove anything.

I really find it very patronising to suggest older people can't use online banking or atms. If they can't maybe they should move bank.

It's a banks duty to give you access to your funds accordingly.
    And to adequately secure access to those funds to prevent unauthorised persons from getting at it.
    In fact, I'd be concerned if a bank was allowing people to just present ID at the counter and withdraw cash. I'd want a few more barriers in place to prevent fraud.
    Leaving your debit card in another jacket from the evening before & forgetting it the next morning is human error, it could happen to anyone...Seamus :p
    Agreed. If it happened to me I'd probably borrow some cash from someone for my lunch and pay it back the next day.
    You have my sympathies, but with all due respect it doesn't sound like your mother should be expected to go to the bank and withdraw cash in her condition anyway. I find trying to do business in-branch to be far more confusing than using an ATM.
    tricky D wrote: »
    Actually, the answer is yes for the majority of people over 60 who have never been online according to AgeAction. Nothing ageist about it, quite the contrary if it becomes more difficult for them to do their banking..
    The world moves on. Claiming that it's not fair on the elderly is basically saying that the elderly are incapable of adapting to the modern world. Which is bull****. It's ageism.

It's not far removed from the argument that changing the drink-driving laws is unfair on the elderly and rural people. "Shure what are they to do now?". Adapt, move on with the rest of us.

If my mother in law can use a computer to check her Gmail and book tee times, then nobody else has any excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭kazamo

Well, it kind of does already.
    No Dirt on savings for the elderly regardless of the amount held.
    I think there should be a threshold and over that DIRT should be paid.
    But that's another debate for another thread :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

My mam and dad are only in their 60s and dont even own a computer, they dont like the internet, they have trouble making the atm do anything more than withdraw cash.
    My mam goes in once a week to do all her business with the bank, shes going to be very upset by all this. She doesn't know how to check her account on the atm despite me showing her multiple times. She can barely work her mobile phone (that domu phone thing with huge buttons that doesn't do anything other than make and receive calls)
    Stupid move by them really, shell go elsewhere rather than learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 QuelleSuprise

My mam and dad are only in their 60s and dont even own a computer, they dont like the internet, they have trouble making the atm do anything more than withdraw cash.
    My mam goes in once a week to do all her business with the bank, shes going to be very upset by all this. She doesn't know how to check her account on the atm despite me showing her multiple times. She can barely work her mobile phone (that domu phone thing with huge buttons that doesn't do anything other than make and receive calls)
    Stupid move by them really, shell go elsewhere rather than learn.

Can't these people learn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

kazamo wrote: »
    Well, it kind of does already.
    No Dirt on savings for the elderly regardless of the amount held.
    I think there should be a threshold and over that DIRT should be paid.
    But that's another debate for another thread :)

They're only exempt from DIRT if they don't pay income tax.
    If my mother in law can use a computer to check her Gmail and book tee times, then nobody else has any excuse.

Fair play to her. My father is in the early stages of Parkinsons and struggles to use his laptop, which he was once quite adept at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

My parents are in their late fifties and judging by this thread they seem to be technological geniuses so I won't give out about my mother taking a while to grasp viber any more :pac:

My grandparents are in their eighties and my father is always giving out that banks are reducing the number of tellers and that most customer services are automated and that banks don't want to see you and it's the same with airlines and other companies and what are my grandparents supposed to do. I think he's just annoyed that my grandparents have to come over to my parent's house to ask them to book their flights if they're going on holiday or if they need something renewed that can be done online.

To be fair to my grandparents, one has a laptop and can send emails, and he also has a mobile phone. The other grandfather has a mobile phone too but he wouldn't have a clue how to use a laptop or the internet.

I understand that technology is more challenging for elderly people and I'm sure I'll find it more challenging when I'm older but it is really about your attitude and some people are unwilling to adapt or change, or they become stuck in their ways, and they really are capable of learning.

I am delighted that so many services are online and I avoid going into a bank at all costs if I can avoid it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

As a pensioner living in rural Ireland, I have no problem with these proposals. I haven't stood in a bank in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

why are people talking about online banking/the internet? :confused:

you have to use an ATM/lodgement machine to withdraw/lodge less than €700, nothing to do with the internet/PCs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭rubberdungeon

For those who have children with junior accounts ( second level accounts can have an atm card but those younger than that can't), do you know how they will be treated with the new rules?

As they don't have an an entitlement to an atm card they can't withdraw via one, will they be facilitated at the counter if they wish to lodge or withdraw smaller amounts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

The world moves on. Claiming that it's not fair on the elderly is basically saying that the elderly are incapable of adapting to the modern world. Which is bull****. It's ageism.

Well, that is what happens in old age, you become less capable and require more caring, hence walking sticks, giving up seats, large buttoned phones, simplified remote and other controls and the plethora of other 'concessions' we make or are they to be dismissed as ageist? And yes if half of them have never been online, they are by definition/situation incapable of using online banking. If the bank care less about and cater less for them, then that would be where the ageism really is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,328 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

this move, typically, hasnt taken rural customers into account at all.

How has it effected rural people more? Are they more likely to travel a distance to make a withdrawal in their bank branch? On what basis are they more likely to do so than urban customers with a bank branch nearby?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

For those who have children with junior accounts ( second level accounts can have an atm card but those younger than that can't), do you know how they will be treated with the new rules?

As they don't have an an entitlement to an arm card they can't withdraw via one, will they be facilitated at the counter if they wish to lodge or withdraw smaller amounts?

Load of ballacks. Children under 18 have no business of bank accounts.