Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Using the good bike

• 03-11-2015 7:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭

Would most of you cycle the same bike all the time, or have a crappy old heavy bike to cycle anywhere the bike thieves might have their nasty sneaky fingers, plus a light and good bicycle for long rides?

Do you trust your good bike to the streets? 53 votes

Ride the same bike everywhere - and it's a heavy old beater
    0% 0 votes
    Ride the same bike everywhere - and it's a good light bike
    13% 7 votes
    Keep a beater for the streets and a good bike for the roads
    45% 24 votes
    I have a selection, modom
    41% 22 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭Ranjo

I have a hybrid for commuting and general leisurely stuff. The good bike is reserved for actual spins of 40k plus and training for triathlon.

I'd like a third for wet weather. Don't like to wet the good bike.

Fourth would be good, being a proper TT bike for triathlon.

Fifth, Id love a fixie. General peppering around.

Sixth. A penny farthing for merriment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

And a velocipede? Tandem for the missus?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

I've a good bike for leisure and long journeys, and a hybrid for trips to the shops etc... I also have an older road bike permanently attached to the turbo.

I trust my good bike to the streets just fine, its the thieves that prowl those streets when my bike is locked up that are the concern.

smacl wrote: »
    I trust my good bike to the streets just fine, its the thieves that prowl those streets when my bike is locked up that are the concern.

Reason I ask: I was volunteering on the Great Dublin Bike Ride, and was astonished at the beautiful bikes people were riding. It was like a warm summer day when all the beauties come out in their lovely dresses! Where do these bikes live normally? It seemed to me that an awful lot of people might simply be too frightened to bring out a nice bike and lock it on Dublin's streets - which says something nasty about Dublin and Dubliners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Danjamin1

which says something nasty about Dublin and Dubliners.

Ah come on now, it says something about people in general, not just Dubliners! And I speak as a Dubliner who's had a bike stolen in Dublin. Bike theft is hardly unique to the area!

In answer to your original question though, yes I previously had a hybrid for general commuting, trips to the shop, etc. And a road bike for longer spins. Looking forward to getting another hybrid in the BTW next spring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

..and was astonished at the beautiful bikes people were riding. It was like a warm summer day when all the beauties come out in their lovely dresses! Where do these bikes live normally?..
    There was a similar influx of bike porn during the last bus strike - those that normally take the bus risking it on their weekend machines Spotted a beautiful Colnago with full Dura Ace locked up just off O'Connell street! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

how can anyone survive with less than 10 bikes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Fian

Hybrid for commuting.

Old road bike which is now retired more or less, though I cycled it in and out fo work last week because the hybrid had a puncture.

New road bike for weekends. Would never bring this into work.

Reason I ask: I was volunteering on the Great Dublin Bike Ride, and was astonished at the beautiful bikes people were riding. It was like a warm summer day when all the beauties come out in their lovely dresses! Where do these bikes live normally? It seemed to me that an awful lot of people might simply be too frightened to bring out a nice bike and lock it on Dublin's streets - which says something nasty about Dublin and Dubliners.

I wasn't at the event, but I'd say the good bikes came out because they weren't being locked and left out of sight for lengthy periods of time. Bike theft is common in all major cities, not just Dublin. Hal Ruzal's videos on this are worth a watch. Personally, I find my hybrid comfy and nippy enough on short spins, so it isn't a major issue. If I was taking a long commute into town on a regular basis and wanted to use the good bike, I'd probably stump up for theft insurance and the best locks on the market.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Tend to use the "least good" bike for commuting ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It seemed to me that an awful lot of people might simply be too frightened to bring out a nice bike and lock it on Dublin's streets - which says something nasty about Dublin and Dubliners.
    Personally, I rode my "good bike" to work for about two years, and my main reason for building a commuter was simply cost. When you've got a good bike with good components that's getting scratched and dirty and worn just for the potter in and out of work, it's actually pretty disheartening. You're spending €50 replacing an ultegra cassette every year when you know that 90% of the mileage was crappy weather and boring roads in and out of work.

So instead you fit a bike with mid-to-entry-level components that you don't really mind too much if somebody throws their bike against yours and use that for commuting. Makes it doubly-sweet when you get out on your good bike that's lovely and light and smooth as silk for a long spin.

Spotted a beautiful Colnago with full Dura Ace locked up just off O'Connell street! :eek:

And the fact that this comment is followed by an :eek: shows just how screwed-up Dublin is about bike theft.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

And the fact that this comment is followed by an :eek: shows just how screwed-up Dublin is about bike theft.

:confused: I'd be surprised to see this in any big city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,556 ✭✭✭Macy0161

My new bike I just use for spins. I can't bring myself not to use it, yet, even if it's wet (just got race blades). I wouldn't trust it in work, as security isn't the best (shared car park) and there's been organised thefts before. I actually worry about the secondary bike...

My old road bike is now my commuter full time (it was doubling up for most of it's life!). Not sure what the long term plan is with it yet - tempted to work on a plan to upgrade the components and have it as a winter bike.

And there's the old raleigh mtb which is my beater, which is leave outside the shops yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Beasty wrote: »
    Tend to use the "least good" bike for commuting ....

Which is probably better than most of our good bikes :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

colm18 wrote: »
    :confused: I'd be surprised to see this in any big city.
    I imagine the rate of bike theft is quite low in places that execute children for property crimes.

You pays your money....

Lumen wrote: »
    I imagine the rate of bike theft is quite low in places that execute children for property crimes.

You pays your money....

You could be right...but then I'd be surprised to see a Colnago in somewhere like pyongyang :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I've a carbon good bike for dry days and summer use and an alloy (but still good) bike for winter and wet use. It's got full mudguards and lights, I used it predominately over the summer as it was so wet.

I'm thinking of buying a hard tail MTB for forestry trails around me and general winter/night use but trying to figure out how to convince my wife I need a 3rd bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,061 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

I have a Raleigh MTB that I got for 20 quid on Adverts that I use for trips into town, did the Grand canal on it and a few other fun things though so pretty attached to it now and would be gutted if it was nicked. No way in hell Id be able to do anything in Dublin with the good bike locked up somewhere especially enjoy a pint/meal or a film where you want to relax. Having a junk bike is a must imo, I leave mine outside beside the bins under a tarp with a combination lock so I can just hop on and shoot off to the shops/town instead of putting on the gear and shoes etc, feck knows how much money its saved me the amount of buses and DARTs Ive skipped since I got it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

4 bikes.
    Good bike - good road bike for longer weekend spins.
    Blue bike - old good road bike used for gadding about town and commuting to work (possibly my favourite bike)
    Yorkshire bike - good road bike lives at family home in Yorkshire for spins int'Dales
    Winter bike - old specialised hybrid fitted with studded winter tyres for cycling to work in icy conditions :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭cython

As of earlier this year I've a good bike, and a commuter/winter bike. The former is a Canyon Endurace, and the latter a Trek 1000 with very little of the original bike left (wheels (first upgraded to aksiums, now open pros on 105 hubs for commuting), shifters & mechs (8 speed sora to 10 speed 105), chainset (tiagra 9 speed compact from cheap standard double) as well as the normal consumables like BB, cassette, and chain having been replaced/upgraded over the years).

Much prefer the Canyon in general, but the trek is better for locking up (more "distressed" :D), and I can put a pannier on it for commuting. Not to mention that it's seen enough foul weather when it was my only bike that I'm more comfortable letting it get dirty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭outfox

Would most of you cycle the same bike all the time, or have a crappy old heavy bike to cycle anywhere the bike thieves might have their nasty sneaky fingers, plus a light and good bicycle for long rides?

Your question suggests that one might have just 2 bikes. What a horrible thought. Shudder!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭custom_build

I've a carbon good bike for dry days and summer use and an alloy (but still good) bike for winter and wet use.

What happens to carbon when it gets wet, is it like the Gremlins?:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

I wouldn't lock up my carbon bike anywhere, even at home in my house, I would be afraid of the lock damaging the tubing. I may be extra paranoid on that but no way. I do commute on it into work occasionally, rarely, but she lives in my office, not locked up outside. I use her for racing and training, I have no bother training in any weather on her but I wouldn't commute on her in bad weather and keep commuting on her to a minimum. That's not what she's for and I don't want to wear out my components commuting. Training and racing fine, commuting no.

I have a trusty old french man with full mudguards, a rack and lots of rattles for commuting!

I wouldn't commute on my track bike ever, as said above she's not for that so wear and tear is only justified on track, or getting to/from it.

About the not being able to lock your bike outside issue, it's about as bad as having to lock your house/car etc. etc. Crime exists for a reason, if society was perfect crime wouldn't happen, but it does and it will. I accept it as part of life to be honest. It's be great if it stopped happening, but the reasons it's happening are very complex and to a certain extent we're all responsible (if society worked perfectly there would be no inequality or disparity in opportunity, education etc. etc. but it isn't) so acceptance is better than anger for me!*

*if anyone stole one of my bikes I would be devastated as I can't afford to replace them. I would also harbour a strong urge to boil whoever stole them if I couldn't get them back.

Lumen wrote: »

You pays your money....

Actually, executing people for crime doesn't have the effect of lessening crime. Lots of studies out there, including a graph of murders in US states with and without State murder, which I haven't time to hunt out right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭The Noble Nudge

Used the good bike day of the marathon pissing rain and Saturday just gone which was dry enough but surface water/scum splattered it.
    Always said I would ride the good one in all weathers but beginning to have second thoughts now.
    Its manky as a result so might revert to my war horse save on time cleaning etc...
    Must attend the class in wheelworx to see how to do the right job......anyone recommend it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

What happens to carbon when it gets wet, is it like the Gremlins?:rolleyes:

No it's more akin to sugar, it goes soft and gloopy.

Basically if the road is wet I take my Ridley which has mudguards and so I can remain reasonably dry but if it's dry and likely to stay dry then I use the Felt. It has gotten wet several times but thankfully hasn't melted yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

I've got a "bad bike" a single speed conversion I did myself on the same old Raleigh MTB model as Thargor has.

I use it around town and lock it with one ulock and leave it wherever....buuuut I love it, and it is often my favourite bike to ride.

Have done maynooth on it, and when conditions get drier again am pondering some mountain madness on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Actually, executing people for crime doesn't have the effect of lessening crime. Lots of studies out there, including a graph of murders in US states with and without State murder, which I haven't time to hunt out right now.
    It works in the limit case. You just have to kill everybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Actually, executing people for crime doesn't have the effect of lessening crime...
    Well, it certainly prevents those people from committing further crimes.

We are regularly told that a small number of people commit most crime. So why not eliminate them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Well, it certainly prevents those people from committing further crimes.

We are regularly told that a small number of people commit most crime. So why not eliminate them?

That was the Nazis' idea. Seemed sound at bottom, but somehow didn't work.

Godwin's law fulfilled once again :-)

I don't like this thread anymore. Killing people and locking them up with no rehabilitation does not work. See: America. Biggest prison population in the western world per head of population, also contains the death penalty in some states. Crime still happens.

If locking people up worked we would have no crime. It doesn't and we do.

I need a winter bike. I don't like the toll bad weather takes on Jessica.

gadetra wrote: »
    I need a winter bike. I don't like the toll bad weather takes on Jessica.

And what are your specs for Althea?

I tried out a Thrive and loved its frisky lightness; I'm only put off by the look of horror on the face of the shop man when I said that inevitably it would in a few months be toiling under panniers and a basket.

And what are your specs for Althea?

I tried out a Thrive and loved its frisky lightness; I'm only put off by the look of horror on the face of the shop man when I said that inevitably it would in a few months be toiling under panniers and a basket.

Oh I don't know who/what Althea is but she sounds lovely :D
    Jessica is my Felt F5. She's a doll. She also has a BB30 which doesn't last pissing time in bad weather I have learned (It will need changing again after winter next year).

The best bike for you is always the frisky light one :pac: I don't know what a Thrive is either but I would be sold on the frisky lightness! It's so much easier to get around on a lighter bike than a heavier one I find.

Oh I don't know who/what Althea is but she sounds lovely :D
    Jessica is my Felt F5. She's a doll. She also has a BB30 which doesn't last pissing time in bad weather I have learned (It will need changing again after winter next year).

The best bike for you is always the frisky light one :pac: I don't know what a Thrive is either but I would be sold on the frisky lightness! It's so much easier to get around on a lighter bike than a heavier one I find.

Thrive:

http://www.ashcycles.com/site/liv-thrive-1-2016

367486.jpg

Adorbz

And Althea:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭Mec-a-nic

MB Lacey wrote: »
    4 bikes.

Commuter: 20+ year old touring bike
    Shopper: 20+kg open frame dutch bike to carry kids/panniers
    Fun Bike: 29incher for MTB (currently the goodist bike)
    Latest: rebuilt 26incher for messing (just found the pump track in St Annes Park!)

I'm considering getting one of those new-fangled 'road bikes' with my BTW scheme but not sure it'll catch on...

Killing people and locking them up with no rehabilitation does not work.

Fair enough when you think about it. Not much rehabilitating the dead, though not a lot of point locking them up either :p

smacl wrote: »
    Fair enough when you think about it. Not much rehabilitating the dead, though not a lot of point locking them up either :p

Only if you use Kryptonite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

I've a selection at this stage. I try and use most of them regularly'ish so as not to upset any of them.

They're a sensitive bunch.

The really, really good bike is in a glass display cabinet according to acquaintances. I really should get around to its proper voyage inaugural.