Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Out of hours bus lanes

• 02-11-2015 8:03am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭

This is more an enquiry/rant. Driving through castleknock village yesterday I jumped into the mon-sat bus lane to avoid the traffic at the light in the village. What happened next is what I'm furious about. Where the bus lane and normal lane merge there is a yellow box for the bus lane to rejoin the normal road. So there i am sat 8n said yellow box back in the line of traffic when the traffic starts moving and not one but 2 cars behind me decided to overtake and cut me off. Beeping and giving me hand gestures in the process. This is far from the first time this has happened. What I'm wondering 8s if I'm actually allowed do what I am doing. I'm fairly sure i am and what I don't get is why people think it's acceptable to be a dick on the basis I have the common sense to read and follow the road signs. I literally had to jam on to stop fro hitting the side of a car that decided to was OK to overtake me in traffic in a single lane. I assume he thinks I'm breaking the rules of the road when as far as I'm concerned I'm perfectly entitled to do what I did. And how are people so stupid as to see their quite clearly in the wrong and driving dangerously by doing what they're doing. It's not the first time this has happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,280 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

Most people don't look at the time plates - they just see bus lane and assume its operational.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭ejabrod

TBH, I do the same when coming through Castleknock (when the bus lane is not operational). The amount of people who don't understand the concept that that particular bus lane has operating hours is shocking.

On one hand there is a yield sign marked on the road at the end of the bus lane but on the other hand, if the clearway is 'clear' for you to enter/exit (imo) you should proceed.

It's down to people being thick and unable to drive that they act like this. The level of driving skill in Ireland (in general) is appalling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Ambush Rebel 2010

Much the same down here in Cork. I often find the same with the Bus lane in Cork on the airport hill. It actually only a dedicated bus lane at peak traffic times (2 hours in the am and pm)

I have been flashed at, people pull in to the lane to stop me etc.. Its amazing how many people don't know or who are ignorant of the rule.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

dbagman wrote: »
    ... I jumped into the mon-sat bus lane to avoid the traffic at the light in the village. ...

Maybe they didn't know the bus lane wasn't active or maybe they felt you were queue skipping. Yes technically you weren't. But then you left a gap and they moved into it.

Ultimately you're both annoyed at each other for getting in front of the other.

If people find their driving style is such, that while legal, they get a lot of people beeping and giving them hand gestures. Perhaps they should be more subtle in their driving. Or maybe just don't leave a gap they can get into. How about a dashcam and report their driving. We can have a much more entertaining thread if there is a video to discuss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

will you all ssh or use code, do you want everyone to know about the Boards Driving lane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Being aggressive is unacceptable but is there a broken yield line at the end of the bus lane? If so then they were technically in the right but being d*cks about it.

There's a lane like this in Dennehy's Cross in Cork and the opposite occurs here. Here people queue in the bus lane regardless of whether its in operation or not, and ignore the yield markings at the end of it, nearly ploughing into people already in the lane being merged into.

Another thing that annoys me about people's understanding of bus lanes: by law the bus lane white line is totally different to a continuous white line, there's no legal issue with crossing the bus lane line, but people seem to get pleasure out of beeping when you do.

TheChizler wrote: »
    Being aggressive is unacceptable but is there a broken yield line at the end of the bus lane? If so then they were technically in the right but being d*cks about it.

There's a lane like this in Dennehy's Cross in Cork and the opposite occurs here. Here people queue in the bus lane regardless of whether its in operation or not, and ignore the yield markings at the end of it, nearly ploughing into people already in the lane being merged into.

Another thing that annoys me about people's understanding of bus lanes: by law the bus lane white line is totally different to a continuous white line, there's no legal issue with crossing the bus lane line, but people seem to get pleasure out of beeping when you do.

There is said yield sign and dotted white line, but directly beyond that there is a full yellow box that is there to allow the buses out of the bus lane and into the main traffic lane.

You can see it here:
    https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.372563,-6.3612908,3a,75y,278.22h,90t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sWZjgpx_-LwAf61A3nCVBMw!2e0!7i13312!8i6656

To the OP, technically you are of course correct, but if everyone else is queuing up and no one else is using the bus lane I'd say that what you did was probably just a little bit cheeky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

lxflyer wrote: »

To the OP, technically you are of course correct, but if everyone else is queuing up and no one else is using the bus lane I'd say that what you did was probably just a little bit cheeky.

There's nothing cheeky about driving legally, it's the morons asleep in the wrong lane who are being cheeky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ezra_pound

This is more an enquiry/rant. Driving through castleknock village yesterday I jumped into the mon-sat bus lane to avoid the traffic at the light in the village. What happened next is what I'm furious about. Where the bus lane and normal lane merge there is a yellow box for the bus lane to rejoin the normal road. So there i am sat 8n said yellow box back in the line of traffic when the traffic starts moving and not one but 2 cars behind me decided to overtake and cut me off. Beeping and giving me hand gestures in the process. This is far from the first time this has happened. What I'm wondering 8s if I'm actually allowed do what I am doing. I'm fairly sure i am and what I don't get is why people think it's acceptable to be a dick on the basis I have the common sense to read and follow the road signs. I literally had to jam on to stop fro hitting the side of a car that decided to was OK to overtake me in traffic in a single lane. I assume he thinks I'm breaking the rules of the road when as far as I'm concerned I'm perfectly entitled to do what I did. And how are people so stupid as to see their quite clearly in the wrong and driving dangerously by doing what they're doing. It's not the first time this has happened.

If you followed traffic road signs and road traffic law, and yielded to the traffic with the right of way, you wouldn't have had to "jam on".

other road users are not responsible for your bad driving.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭dbagman

lxflyer wrote:

Well I wasn't the only one. But one of very few. Funny you say I was cheeky,my girlfriend was in the car and we ended up having an argument about it. She called me the very same. I can see where you're coming from but on the other hand I was obeying the rules of the road and getting grief for doing so. I mean if you were driving down a motorway in a line of traffic and the other lane was free what would you do? I's that cheeky? Can't see how it's any different.

And I didn't leave a gap when I rejoined traffic.so I was basically back in line when these 2 cars decided to do what they did. What really gets on my goat is the fact that let's just say I was in the wrong and shouldn't of been doing what I did. What gives people the right to take the law into their own hands for lack of a better term. 2 wrongs don't make a right. What's this mentality of "well he's acting the maggot so F him I'm going to drive dangerously and show him". I agree. Standard of driving in this country is a joke. And getting worse. No regard for other drivers or the basic rules of the road whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Going by Google maps, that section of bus lane is a mere 150m long. Even if every car on that section of road were to use the bus lane in addition to the other lane, the net result would be a big fat zero, possibly even slower than if everybody ignored the bus lane, due to the merging at the end. So possibly a bit cheeky and of very little benefit to you even if you did manage to merge easily.

beauf wrote:
    Maybe they didn't know the bus lane wasn't active or maybe they felt you were queue skipping. Yes technically you weren't. But then you left a gap and they moved into it.

That's my point entirely mate and the basis of my annoyance. It's ignorance on the behalf of the other driver for not knowing the rules and then acting the clown by driving dangerously to get one up on me. And like I said above.there was no gap left. Making it all the more dangerous.

ezra_pound wrote:
    other road users are not responsible for your bad driving.

ezra_pound wrote:
    If you followed traffic road signs and road traffic law, and yielded to the traffic with the right of way, you wouldn't have had to "jam on".

There is a yellow box to allow the bus lane merge with traffic. I used this box as it's intended. These 2 cars came from behind me,around the outside of me and swerved into traffic in front 9f me forcing me to jam on. All in a single lane of traffic.how is that my bad driving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,380 ✭✭✭highdef

Del2005 wrote: »
    There's nothing cheeky about driving legally, it's the morons asleep in the wrong lane who are being cheeky.

Agreed, with the bus lane not in operation, the lane is simply the left lane or lane 1 so all those drivers in lane 2 are in the wrong lane.

I was driving from Palmerstown to Chapelizod on the Lucan Road this morning at about 10:10. Bus lane becomes a regular lane at 10:00. Line of cars in the right lane slowing to stupidly low speeds to pass over the ramps. I can pass over them comfortably at 50. I enter the left lane as I do all the time when it's legal to do so. A blue transit van then decides to stick his nose into my lane to make me stop. Passenger winds the window down and tells to get out of the bus lane.....and didn't say it in a particularly friendly manner. There happened to be a bus lane times sign right in front so calmly said that he should read the signs more carefully before acting the eejit. He looked, went quiet but still said I shouldn't be there.
    Nothing I could say could sway him so I just asked him to get out of my way and I continued. Further on, I was waiting to head onto Saint Lawrences Road. Blue van was heading to cross the Liffey and gave a blast of the horn as he passed.....stupid tosser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ezra_pound

There is a yellow box to allow the bus lane merge with traffic. I used this box as it's intended. These 2 cars came from behind me,around the outside of me and swerved into traffic in front 9f me forcing me to jam on. All in a single lane of traffic.how is that my bad driving?

Apologies. I misunderstood.

That's my point entirely mate and the basis of my annoyance. It's ignorance on the behalf of the other driver for not knowing the rules and then acting the clown by driving dangerously to get one up on me. And like I said above.there was no gap left. Making it all the more dangerous.

What's really at fault here (and dangerous) is the one-upmanship mindset "get one up" etc. Both parties feel it applies to the other and not themselves.

Considering its a Sunday and its not a long light sequence to start with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Galadriel

This kind of thing drives me crazy.

There is a right-hand turn in Rathmines heading towards Tesco that is only operational during certain hours, the amount of idiots that queue up behind me while I wait to turn and beep and make hand gestures, it's so bad I just don't go that way anyway more as even when I point to the sign they still don't get it.

Whilst the OP shouldn't try barge in where both lanes merge, otherwise he was completely in the right. The bus lane was not in operation so forget the whole bus lane bit as at the time of driving, it was not a bus lane from a private vehicle perspective. OP was driving quite legally in the left lane. The other drivers were driving in the right lane because their observation skills are somewhat limited. Traffic in the right lane was stopped or slow moving so OP is perfectly entitled to use the left lane. The merge "rule" should be applied where the 2 lanes merge.

If an angry driver is being awkward or aggressive at the merge or anywhere really, remain calm. You are not in the wrong for driving in the left lane, in fact you are observing the rules of the road correctly, unlike the other drivers.

You are not "Skipping the queue" by driving in the lane; you are merely following the rules of the road. If other drivers don't want to follow the rules, it is their loss.

These are probably the same drivers who will have no issue queueing in an in operation bus lane when they want to take a left turn further ahead when approaching a junction. In these situations, I remain in the right lane until the point where the big thick bus lane markings end. This might delay me in the that sort of case however they are the rules of the road.....sometimes they play to my advantage and sometimes they cause delay/hindrance - I can't have it my way all of the time.

highdef wrote: »
    ...The merge "rule" should be applied where the 2 lanes merge. ...

There's a yield sign.

beauf wrote: »
    There's a yield sign.

Apologies.....then it would appear the OP needs to be allowed in by a driver in the right hand lane or else wait until it is clear and safe to merge. The rest is all fine and above board though.

beauf wrote:
    What's really at fault here (and dangerous) is the one-upmanship mindset "get one up" etc. Both parties feel it applies to the other and not themselves.

All I did was follow the rules of the road and signs. It's not my fault others can't seem to understand this. Regardless of whether I was right or wrong this does not give others the right to act the clown and drive dangerously in a bid to cut me off in retaliation. Like I said 2 wrongs don't make a right and as this driver incorrectly thought I was in the wrong that's exactly what happened.

highdef wrote:
    Whilst the OP shouldn't try barge in where both lanes merge, otherwise he was completely in the right. The bus lane was not in operation so forget the whole bus lane bit as at the time of driving, it was not a bus lane from a private vehicle perspective. OP was driving quite legally in the left lane. The other drivers were driving in the right lane because their observation skills are somewhat limited. Traffic in the right lane was stopped or slow moving so OP is perfectly entitled to use the left lane. The merge "rule" should be applied where the 2 lanes merge.

I didn't try to barge in. There's a yellow box at end of bus lane for merging. That's what I was in as the first driver that overtook me had correctly left this clear. Then decided she wasn't happy with me for using it.

highdef wrote:
    Apologies.....then it would appear the OP needs to be allowed in by a driver in the right hand lane or else wait until it is clear and safe to merge. The rest is all fine and above board though.

beauf wrote:
    There's a yield sign.

beauf wrote:
    There's a yield sign.

I assume the yield sign is applied for moving traffic. Otherwise what's the point in the yellow box. Is there so when traffic is at a halt the vehicle in the bus lane can merge safely into traffic. Exactly as I did.

More specifically I imagine it's there for the bus, otherwise they could be there all day, undoing the desired effect of the bus lane. Technically they shouldn't move into it but no Garda is going to give a bus driver a ticket for using the facilities as intended.

That's precisely what it is there for and at all the other locations where bus lanes come to an end.

It's to allow the buses move out into the general traffic lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Del2005 wrote: »
    You should wave your copy of the rules out the window and carry on getting one up on them with a waft of smugness emanating from your exhaust. If they ever crash into you, and you end with 6 months of hassle trying to win your case and get your hospital bills paid, at least you know you were technically in the right and they were all morons.

If you're going to draw attention to yourself by driving as if everyone else is an idiot, you're going to cause a response. You may be in the right, but would you be bothered with the aggravation?

I don't drive in the left lane when the right lane is stopped or slow moving for smugness reasons. I do it because it is the correct thing to do. The fact that I make faster progress is a result of me doing so. I don't drive in the left lane for the purpose of getting where I am going to more quickly. I just happen to get there more quickly.

hmmm wrote: »
    You should wave your copy of the rules out the window and carry on getting one up on them with a waft of smugness emanating from your exhaust. If they ever crash into you, and you end with 6 months of hassle trying to win your case and get your hospital bills paid, at least you know you were technically in the right and they were all morons.

If you're going to draw attention to yourself by driving as if everyone else is an idiot, you're going to cause a response. You may be in the right, but would you be bothered with the aggravation?

Well its this entirely. The OP done it before and got the same reaction. So they must feel its worth the hassle.

Its a bad lane design because it causes conflict. They should just make it 24hrs.

There's a lot of places around D.15 where you have two lanes going into one. All this is caused by funnelling too much traffic into a narrow village main street. Then because its a bottleneck they need to add a buslane in the middle of it all.

OP right. Others wrong....end of.

I don't drive in the left lane when the right lane is stopped or slow moving for smugness reasons. I do it because it is the correct thing to do. The fact that I make faster progress is a result of me doing so. I don't drive in the left lane for the purpose of getting where I am going to more quickly. I just happen to get there more quickly.

Even for a bus lane that's only 150m long? Utterly pointless, despite you being 'entitled' to do so. They should just make it, and most others 24 hrs and be done with it.

Its a bad lane design because it causes conflict. They should just make it 24hrs.

There's a lot of places around D.15 where you have two lanes going into one. All this is caused by funnelling too much traffic into a narrow village main street. Then because its a bottleneck they need to add a buslane in the middle of it all.

It's not the design of it that is bad. It's the ignorance and lack observations by the vast majority of the motorists on the roads. Motorists need to be made aware to both read and obey road signage.
    From my point of view, both of these tasks are key fundamental elements required when driving on public roads and really are more common sense than anything else. I find it rather worrying that so so many people don't look at (and don't pay heed to) road signs and road markings.

Alun wrote: »
    Even for a bus lane that's only 150m long? Utterly pointless, despite you being 'entitled' to do so. They should just make it, and most others 24 hrs and be done with it.

Perhaps they should make it 24 hours but they have not, therefore I would stay with the "keep left" rule, as per the rules of the road. Driving in the right lane seems utterly pointless to me in this instance.

I'm not 'entitled' to drive in the left lane - I 'should' be driving in the left lane. If the road was completely empty, I would still drive in the left lane, so as to follow the very easy to follow rules.

Driving in the right lane seems utterly pointless to me in this instance.
    Splitting a line of slow moving cars into two lanes only for them to merge again a mere 150m later is utterly and completely pointless too. Sometimes the right thing to do in any particular situation isn't always the one that is the most legally 'correct' and this is one of them.

If the road was completely empty, I would still drive in the left lane, so as to follow the very easy to follow rules.
    I agree, and I would too in those circumstances, but it wasn't and doing so would have been a pointless exercise.

Alun wrote: »
    Splitting a line of slow moving cars into two lanes only for them to merge again a mere 150m later is utterly and completely pointless too. Sometimes the right thing to do in any particular situation isn't always the one that is the most legally 'correct' and this is one of them.

So you suggest that I be a lemming and also drive in the incorrect lane because "everyone else is doing it"? Personally feel like a bit of an eejit doing this because. number 1, I know I am in the incorrect lane and number 2, I am unnecessarily inconveniencing myself just to please all the other motorists who are unable to obey the rules of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭pillphil

Pretty sure OP's wrong. You can't enter a yellow box like he did. He couldn't clear it and he wasn't turning right.

pillphil wrote: »
    Pretty sure OP's wrong. You can't enter a yellow box like he did. He couldn't clear it and he wasn't turning right.

yes, that is the one thing that seems to be a grey area in this thread. I agree with what you are saying and I would say that on paper, neither vehicles should enter the yellow box until the exit is clear....when traffic beyond the box begins moving. It was mentioned there was a yield sign so I would imagine that traffic moving from the left lane would have to yield to traffic already in the right lane. A google streetview map would be helpful to have a better understanding as I am not too familiar with the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,556 ✭✭✭Macy0161

yes, that is the one thing that seems to be a grey area in this thread.
    It's not a grey area - the op said he was sat in the yellow box. He shouldn't have entered if he couldn't exit.

Macy0161 wrote: »
    It's not a grey area - the op said he was sat in the yellow box. He shouldn't have entered if he couldn't exit.

Well there is a little bit of greyness.

The yellow boxes are there to allow the buses pull out into the main traffic stream.

All over the city the buses pull out onto the yellow boxes (where they are provided) at the end of bus lanes and wait in it - otherwise they would never get out at all. I can think of the one on Bachelor's Walk, Wellington Quay or the Upper Kilmacud Road just before the Lower Kilmacud Road junction.

I'd tend to agree in this case though - the OP should have waited and indicated that he wished to move out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,556 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Well there is a little bit of greyness.
    Would it not be to keep it clear, so the bus could merge once the traffic the other side of the box moves, rather than the bus to enter it?

I guess it's a whole other argument about the use, and compliance, of yellow boxes. For example, is it the appropriate road marking if it's to let side roads out at T junctions and such like? The expectation seems to be it applies to the main road, but those coming from the side road can fill it all they want, which is contrary to the actual rules of a yellow box.

Would it not be to keep it clear, so the bus could merge once the traffic the other side of the box moves, rather than the bus to enter it?

I guess it's a whole other argument about the use, and compliance, of yellow boxes. For example, is it the appropriate road marking if it's to let side roads out at T junctions and such like? The expectation seems to be it applies to the main road, but those coming from the side road can fill it all they want, which is contrary to the actual rules of a yellow box.

All very good points and worthy of discussion, I reckon??? Should it be this thread or would a dedicated thread be a good idea?

I very much doubt any bus would ever get out of the bus lane if that were to happen.

It's certainly not the way it happens in practice!

I very much doubt any bus would ever get out of the bus lane if that were to happen.

It's certainly not the way it happens in practice!

Same with Cars. The only way to get out of some junctions is to use the yellow box. Well there is another way wait till xmas for someone to let you out, and all the stars align so they do the same on the exit route.

Just found this!
    (3) Where traffic sign number RRM 020 is provided in a traffic lane at the end of an adjacent bus lane, where traffic sign number RUS 028 or traffic sign number RUS 029 used in association with traffic sign number RRM 024 are provided, to facilitate the drivers of vehicles exiting the bus lane to enter the adjacent traffic lane, a driver of a vehicle, other than a driver of a vehicle that is exiting the bus lane, shall not enter, either partly or wholly, the cross-hatched area unless the vehicle can clear the area without stopping.

OP we bow to your superior knowledge of the roads.

So based on this info, can we say that the OP was indeed in the right to enter the yellow box coming from the left (bus) lane? Or does the bus lane have to be in operation? Guessing the former but just throwing that doubt in for good measure

I can't find anything specifying that a bus lane is not a bus lane when not in operation, just that non-PSVs can't be in it during those times, so my understanding is that it's always a bus lane.

I'm delighted now, I always felt like a chump sitting at the yield sign exiting a(n out of hours) bus lane waiting for someone to let me go. So if traffic is backed up to the end of the yellow box you may proceed into it from the bus lane, but if there is room to continue past the yellow box without stopping you must yield to traffic on the right. Now all we need is universal understanding and acceptance of this straightforward regulation...

I can't find anything specifying that a bus lane is not a bus lane when not in operation, just that non-PSVs can't be in it during those times, so my understanding is that it's always a bus lane.

I had assumed that too. Just wasn't 100% sure

It's not the design of it that is bad. It's the ignorance and lack observations by the vast majority of the motorists on the roads. Motorists need to be made aware to both read and obey road signage.
    From my point of view, both of these tasks are key fundamental elements required when driving on public roads and really are more common sense than anything else. I find it rather worrying that so so many people don't look at (and don't pay heed to) road signs and road markings.

Well that's the reality. if you ignore that reality its a bit pointless.

As is the case here, there is only capacity for one lane as it has to merge into one before the lights, as the road is too narrow.

The only reason for two lanes is, when out of hours, its gives a right turning lane into the shops. But people will use that to queue skip the left lane. So why have it at all. Its just causes conflict. (Out of hours).