Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bonfire

• 31-10-2015 12:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭

Just popped out and saw some middle aged sad men carefully getting their bonfire together for this evening. On the local public football pitch.

Is this even something the local Gardai would be interested in? Or just leave them to it and hope Darwinism sorts them out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭jprboy

Call your local Fire Service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Its an Irish tradition which goes back thousands of years, the really sad part is we were far too fast to abandon it when the nanny state told us to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭VandC

Dublin city council have contact information on their page. I'm trying to post the link but I can't get it to work. Other councils may have something similar. I'll try give you the link in another post

https : // dcciservices. dublincity. ie/OA_HTML/ibuhpage.jsp?jtfax=0&jtfay=0&jtfaz=0&jtfaw=n&jttst0=1527_50579%2C50579%2C-1%2C0%2C&jttmexjtfm0=&jttmexetfm1=&jfn=ZGCAC3210C0B187EEDD88F2B0CDD0176AF59D1DCF987854FCD9886C372890C41CBB001962C6986EFEE4FD1BAEC826D9C54B2&jtfm0=_0_0_-1_-1_f_nv_?a%3Db

Just take out the spaces when copying

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

soccer pitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Report them. A bonfire on a playing field is vandalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭jprboy

Its an Irish tradition which goes back thousands of years, the really sad part is we were far too fast to abandon it when the nanny state told us to.

True but the tradition didn't involve the burning of tyres, mattresses, cars and various items of very high toxicity. I doubt if valued local amenities (local football pitch in this case) were used for the fires either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭TheNobleKipper

I think the OP is rather bothered by the location they picked for their bonfire. I'm sick and tired of "tradition" overruling "common sense".

I remember having great fun at them when I was a kid and what ruins it is the carry on at them. That and those who build stupidly dangerous fires. I mean I've seen them built under trees. FFS the idiocy of some ppl. I don't think they should be abandoned, clearly ppl still want them but maybe it's time to look at making them organised events. Keep them local but properly arranged and supervised everybody can have fun and it limits the danger aspect of them. Fire brigade might have it easier too then.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Just pee on it, be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Bits_n_Bobs

Thanks for the link. I'm actually in DLRR. They have an emergency line 01 6778844 to call and report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Bits_n_Bobs

I think the OP is rather bothered by the location they picked for their bonfire. I'm sick and tired of "tradition" overruling "common sense".

Actually it is the location of it that really bothers me. Great public amenity being hijacked by idiots who want to 'burn stuff' because 'tradition'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Get a few cans. Sit around the fire tonight. Be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Poochie05

VandC wrote: »
    I remember having great fun at them when I was a kid and what ruins it is the carry on at them. That and those who build stupidly dangerous fires. I mean I've seen them built under trees. FFS the idiocy of some ppl. I don't think they should be abandoned, clearly ppl still want them but maybe it's time to look at making them organised events. Keep them local but properly arranged and supervised everybody can have fun and it limits the danger aspect of them. Fire brigade might have it easier too then.

I agree there should be organised events, but I bet there'd be huge issues with getting insurance! Unfortunately another symptom of the loss of common sense, these kind of things need to be thought of

Poochie05 wrote:
    I agree there should be organised events, but I bet there'd be huge issues with getting insurance! Unfortunately another symptom of the loss of common sense, these kind of things need to be thought of

Maybe I'm wrong but don't they do organised events of this type in the UK? If so, you would hope that insurance could be arranged given that a lot of the same insurance companies exist in both countries. If not, maybe the insurance companies would welcome such a move. Organised event, less likely to claim (you would hope even in this claim culture); versus dangerous bonfire endangering people, property, animals more claims. But then that would make sense and that rarely prevails in this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Fucking Dublin freaks.

Bonfire night is in June.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

jprboy wrote: »
    Call your local Fire Service

Be careful doing that, If YOU call them they will bill YOU for the callout.

Maybe I'm wrong but don't they do organised events of this type in the UK? If so, you would hope that insurance could be arranged given that a lot of the same insurance companies exist in both countries. If not, maybe the insurance companies would welcome such a move. Organised event, less likely to claim (you would hope even in this claim culture); versus dangerous bonfire endangering people, property, animals more claims. But then that would make sense and that rarely prevails in this country

By being organised, you have a target for any claim, unlike the dangerous random ones...

The fire service are actively asking people to call them about dangerous bonfires
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/1016/735197-bonfire/

But someone has to pay for the clean up and fix any damage that is done which could be in turn claimed for against insurance. In either case, organised or not, there can be claims made against insurance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

Era stop being such a dry balls and spoil sport.

Andre 3000 wrote:
    Era stop being such a dry balls and spoil sport.

I feel a bit Monica from friends with all this "organised fun" talk outta me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,818 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

One night a year. If the location is correct, what's the harm?

I feel a bit Monica from friends with all this "organised fun" talk outta me :D

I know! Can't believe I brought up insurance!! I'm getting old!

Poochie05 wrote:
    I know! Can't believe I brought up insurance!! I'm getting old!

I swore I would never be like this when I was older!! Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

No they won't

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Why are they doing it on a football pitch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭droidman123

Charlie19 wrote: »
    One night a year. If the location is correct, what's the harm?

But that is the op,s point,the location is NOT correct.where i live there is a park which the council keeps in great condition with beautiful planted trees, every year the local emptyheads build a bonfire which leaves a huge black circle in the grass and destroys the trees around it.its vandalism and theres no other word for it.i know this crap happens all over and the council and guards cant be everywhere,but i guarentee if this happened on ailsbury road or ballsbridge or other affluent areas it would be dealt with swiftly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's their your culture dontchaknow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Great night for burning rubbish

> . >

< . <

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭martinedwards

11th of July is when you're supposed to have bonfires.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

But that is the op,s point,the location is NOT correct.where i live there is a park which the council keeps in great condition with beautiful planted trees, every year the local emptyheads build a bonfire which leaves a huge black circle in the grass and destroys the trees around it.its vandalism and theres no other word for it.i know this crap happens all over and the council and guards cant be everywhere,but i guarentee if this happened on ailsbury road or ballsbridge or other affluent areas it would be dealt with swiftly.
    Grass can be replanted. Jesus Christ people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭martinedwards

It is in the middle of the football season. grass replanted in November isn't going to grow until spring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Is that true though? I called the fire brigade out a month ago when I discovered a hay barn fire. I gave them my full name but was very clear about the fact that I was a passerby and not the owner. I haven't heard anything since so I highly doubt I'm going to be charged for doing my civic duty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

11th of July is when you're supposed to have bonfires.......
    11th is when you're supposed to have them.

Thats hardly the point though,the place looks horrible until next season when the grass starts to grow back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭sonny.knowles

Just popped out and saw some middle aged sad men carefully getting their bonfire together for this evening. On the local public football pitch.

Is this even something the local Gardai would be interested in? Or just leave them to it and hope Darwinism sorts them out?

They are middle aged, not kid. This isn't their first rodeo, so I wouldn't be relying on Darwinism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Does anyone know how and when Bonfires/Fireworks started to be lit at Halloween (In Ireland)?

Maybe its a bastardisation of the 5th of November?

Question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭MightyMunster

Councils are collecting bonfires before they are lit.
    They manage to have bonfires in other countries e.g. Switzerland which is a lot more environmentally aware than here. Of course they only burn wood and not rubbish, tyres etc... And don't have a load of knackers ruining it for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,417 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

LordSutch wrote: »
    Does anyone know how and when Bonfires/Fireworks started to be lit at Halloween (In Ireland)?

Question.

Because we are not British?

Because we're not British is not really an answer as to when and why Bonfires/Fireworks are lit on Halloween.

Burning witches in the 1600s maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Saw 2_gardai at a bonfire in drumlee and another van full at the far side of the estate beating the kids up*

*They may have just been talking to them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Because we're not British is not really an answer as to when and why Bonfires/Fireworks are lit on Halloween.

Goes back long before Guy Fawkes and the witch trials, Halloween is a continuation of an ancient Celtic festival, and much like the midsummer one, bonfires were a major part of it.

History doesn't begin and end with Britain my old boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,417 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Halloween was a festival exported to America from Ireland if i'm not mistaken and everything happens there on halloween night traditionally. Maybe that has something to do with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I'm sure the people paying to play football on it tomorrow will appreciate the bit of heat from the ashes. It'd the morons building on stupid and dangerous places that lead to the blanket ban.

Goes back long before Guy Fawkes and the witch trials, Halloween is a continuation of an ancient Celtic festival, and much like the midsummer one, bonfires were a major part of it.

History doesn't begin and end with Britain my old boy.

I didn't say it did, I just posed a question in relation to bonfires & fireworks, old bean.

Don't be so tetchy.

I didn't say it did, I just posed a question in relation to bonfires & fireworks, old bean.

Don't be so tetchy.

Apparently halloween was "invented" if thats the right word in ireland,the bonfires were to ward off evil spirits but theres a few different theories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,381 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

doesn't matter. they had no right to light their bonfire in the park. thats the end of it

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Question.

Bonefire/Firework combo on the 31st > Puzzling isnt it?