Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would a ts110 pull a trailer of maize

• 29-10-2015 11:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭

I'm wondering would a ts110 pull a 18ft redrock 14 tonne trailer? Out of a field and on road? Would you **** it up by pulling it also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Conorh123 wrote: »
    I'm wondering would a ts110 pull a 18ft redrock 14 tonne trailer? Out of a field and on road? Would you **** it up by pulling it also?

2 weeks ago i met a chap who weighed an 18ft Herron that wasn't full to the gills and it topped the scales at 15 tonne of very green maize. Add at least 4t for the trailer and you have a serious weight behind your tractor.
    Personally i wouldn't even think about it as a full trailer would throw the tractor around. I hauled a Redrock for a while and the one thing that I will always remember is the height of the sides. That means more volume and weight. You need a good lump of a tractor for maize to tackle the weight and ground conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

2 weeks ago i met a chap who weighed an 18ft Herron that wasn't full to the gills and it topped the scales at 15 tonne of very green maize. Add at least 4t for the trailer and you have a serious weight behind your tractor.
    Personally i wouldn't even think about it as a full trailer would throw the tractor around. I hauled a Redrock for a while and the one thing that I will always remember is the height of the sides. That means more volume and weight. You need a good lump of a tractor for maize to tackle the weight and ground conditions.

Its stoppling the trailer is the biggest thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

Reggie. wrote: »
    Its stoppling the trailer is the biggest thing

And pulling it too Reggie. As foxy said, there's savage weight in maize. I'd say a good rule of thumb would be a tonne per foot of trailer plus the weight of the trailer. TS110 might move it along the road but wouldn't have a hope in the field.
    Overall OP, I would say don't bother. It wouldn't be safe and you would only be slowing up the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I drove an f115 I think she was for years at maize. Six cylinder around 115-120hp. Not a bother on her under an 18ft dooley. I'd consider the red rock to be a toy by comparison. Too many people are substituting horsepower for brainpower. You'd have a much more relaxed day with 130hp plus but 115hp should be plenty. Properly working trailer brakes a given with what I'm posting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

I drove an f115 I think she was for years at maize. Six cylinder around 115-120hp. Not a bother on her under an 18ft dooley. I'd consider the red rock to be a toy by comparison. Too many people are substituting horsepower for brainpower. You'd have a much more relaxed day with 130hp plus but 115hp should be plenty. Properly working trailer brakes a given with what I'm posting.

Would the ts110 be a 6cylinder?,Did,nt think it was?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

TS110 would be a 4 cylinder, Would also be considerably lighter than an F115.
    Those Fiats pulled like a train also.

And I always thought the redrock was a heavy trailer to pull/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

F115 would have length, weight, traction and torque over the TS110. The 2 tractors would be like Chalke and cheese. I'd agree with the poster that said the red rock were a heavy trailer. I'm not altogether impressed with dooley trailers. Think they're too high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

I think he'd be crazy, no way I could imagine a 110 pulling a trailer of maize especially now with what rain is after falling. Unless it's on incredibly dry ground, which I have no experience of!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Last year our contractor was hauling in the maize in good conditions using 22ft trailers and there wasn't a tractor under 170 hp in the crew. Went down to see how they were going and coming up an incline to turn on to the road they were leaving fair rubber on the road. I know these lads are fond of the big hp but I wouldnt want to be looking for it either after the rain that's fallen in the last week....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

If it got wet the only way to pull it in the field would be with a chain wrapped around the weight block and 150 - 170 hp in front of it.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

F115 would have length, weight, traction and torque over the TS110. The 2 tractors would be like Chalke and cheese. I'd agree with the poster that said the red rock were a heavy trailer. I'm not altogether impressed with dooley trailers. Think they're too high.

That's why I specified the 115 was six cylinder. A fairly large tractor for the hp iykwim. I haven't worked on a silage crew since oul gods time so my opinions on the trailers are being dredged up from distant memory. Always thought of the redrocks as being a bit narrower and more lightly built than the dooleys. This could well have been down to relying on engineering rather than weight of steel to get a job done.

ps we always had a rule of not opening a maize field in broken weather that we weren't sure we'd finish that day. Standing maize crops always seemed to soak water away fairly fast. But if the ground was broken and you got rain things were definitely going to get interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Just meet a few 3 axle fieldmaster trailers outside Mullingar with maize. trailers were 75/80% full.

I say the tractors were 170hp plus. I was meeting them head on . But the John deere and new Holland were big buses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

back in 2002 I drew in maize with a New Holland 7840 and 16ft Ruscon. No weights on New Holland but she was well able for it. She was SLE

They had another 16ft Redrock with a valmet 6400 and a 18ft Dooley with a Valmet 8050 in front . after a few loads they swapped the 6400 valmet for another 8050.

2002 was a kunt of a wet year BTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Conorh123

The tractor is 02 and the SLE version .. Front loader .. No weights .. I know it's not right to use such a small yolk but the neighbour needs a hand tomro.. Yes or no would Ye do it

I wouldn't, but ull know after the first load if she's up to it. Throw a chain into the cab before u leave!

Just half fill the trailer each time. Every little helps

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

If you have alot of time on your hands half filling the trailer is fine. Otherwise a bigger tractor is in order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

You won't get out of the field with much more than half a loaf to be honest, we drew an 18ft at grass a few times with a ts100+loader and she was on her knees with it, it got a bit wet once or twice and you'd find yourself struggling for grip very quickly. Also be very very careful that it's not long roads were loads end up sticking, having been hung from the drawbar a few times with bigger tractors I wouldn't like to think how badly it'd end up with a short 4cyl with a loader stuck on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Let down the tyres a bit to, so that 3 of the grips on the back tyre are touching the ground. It'll help you to get out of the field.

I'd say with an 18ft redrock trailer full of wet maize on the back they'll be plenty grips on the ground!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Give him a hand. Bring handy loads. You'll draw stuff enough.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

unless you really owe him a big favour. I would let the job pass and ask him if he could find someone else. Id mind the tractor for your own work as no point in wrecking it for someone else. I doubt the money you would get would pay for the wear and tear on it and you could spend another hour washing it afterwards after all the muck. I often rather having my tractor sitting up in the shed doing nothing than out on the road bouncing over every pothole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

I'd say with an 18ft redrock trailer full of wet maize on the back they'll be plenty grips on the ground!

Ha fair point!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭rathbeg

for sure; might have to drop a gear or 2 but they are good to pull especally if you put a couple of weights on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

I'd say Yes. Often drew maize and silage with a MF 5455 and 18' trailer which would be very similar to your tractor in weight and power.

A bigger tractor would be more comfortable and be at its ease. Cannot understand the need for 160+ hp tractors at maize or silage haulage. A bit of brain power is what's needed in a lot of cases.

Take your time, drop a gear heading for the road and load a little lighter if required. Remember you'll only be loaded for half the day ;)

Zr105 wrote: »
    You won't get out of the field with much more than half a loaf to be honest, we drew an 18ft at grass a few times with a ts100+loader and she was on her knees with it, it got a bit wet once or twice and you'd find yourself struggling for grip very quickly. Also be very very careful that it's not long roads were loads end up sticking, having been hung from the drawbar a few times with bigger tractors I wouldn't like to think how badly it'd end up with a short 4cyl with a loader stuck on it

Seen it with grass alright, would it happen with Maize?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭raypallas

Conorh123 wrote:

I'm intrigued to find out how did you get on?

raypallas wrote: »
    I'm intrigued to find out how did you get on?

The loader broke down so all set for Monday now

Weather is to stay good for ya I think

Did you pull any loads at all?

Ffs, and I all excited to hear how u got on!

Reggie. wrote: »
    Weather is to stay good for ya I think

Did you pull any loads at all?

No loader broke down so didn't get to yard

Come on let us know?

Everyone mad to know :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭raypallas

Mad to see a good picture!

Are ye in for the dinner yet?
    Is the loader fixed?
    Is it a long draw?
    Did you need the chain yet?
    Hurry up or it'll be feckin raining again
    are we there yet, are we there yet?:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

blue5000 wrote: »
    Are ye in for the dinner yet?
    Is the loader fixed?
    Is it a long draw?
    Did you need the chain yet?
    Hurry up or it'll be feckin raining again
    are we there yet, are we there yet?:pac:

:):):)

She pulled it alright . Ground was fairly dry but still got out. You would know you were pulling it ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Jesus. That was a let down. I was looking for an indepth blow by blow of the trials and tribulations of ts110's hard slog with the trailer. A triumph over adversity type of epic.

:D Tractorheads waiting with iPhone in one hand and manhood in the other waiting for an erotic tale of wet mud, black diesel smoke, burning rubber.. And instead of a agriculture machinery induced orgasm now after the long wait they are left disappointed! Ya feckin prick tease!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

Wait a bit longer for the full story. He got one half load out by dinner time and went back for a second one and hasn't been seen since. The gap must be getting greasy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Willfarman wrote: »
    :D Tractorheads waiting with iPhone in one hand and manhood in the other waiting for an erotic tale of wet mud, black diesel smoke, burning rubber.. And instead of a agriculture machinery induced orgasm now after the long wait they are left disappointed! Ya feckin prick tease!

UGH! Thanks for that mental image Will!

Mad to see a picture. Did she pull it? Oh baby was the gap sticky? Sausages for supper bogman!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

I'm scarred for life:(

No porn for you today, Willfarman

rathbeg wrote: »
    No porn for you today, Willfarman
    You are worse than OP, got a tremble when I saw there was a new post in this thread. I'd say they have it covered. This will have to do instead.......
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d1q0bds9cqo

blue5000 wrote: »
    You are worse than OP, got a tremble when I saw there was a new post in this thread. I'd say they have it covered. This will have to do instead.......
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d1q0bds9cqo

LOL

Your daily fix
    she was heat up , blowing smoke and sucking diesel not to talk of all that burning rubber in the muddy gap

I'm amaized that she pulled it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

For Gods sake lads, I remember hauling 23/24 ton of beet to the factory with an old 100hp Ford!