Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speed reduction on Chapelizod Bypass

• 26-10-2015 2:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭

Was driving on Chapelizod Bypass yesterday and noticed that the speed limit is now 60km/h.

There is one normal sized speed sign as you enter and several of the much smaller ones along the way.

Tried to keep to 60 and it felt like I was crawling along, being constantly passed by other cars.

The works seem to be finished so why is the speed so low for a long, wide relatively straight stretch of road?

I would imagine it's temporary but just in case people hadn't noticed.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,468 Mod ✭✭✭✭TherapyBoy

Drove it yesterday too for the first time in years. Didn't know the limit had been changed but was really struggling to keep it under 60kph, even my mother who was in the car thought it was a odd limit to have on such a road. It could handle 80kph & more likely 100kph without any problems, not sure why the limit is so low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Complain to local council over that area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

I assume it has something to do with the widening of the bus lane and hence the narrowing of the other 2 lanes and that was why they reduced the speed limit.

Was only on it myself this afternoon and 60kph will cause more trouble than its worth imo as the majority will continue at the old speed and get infuriated at the Miss Daisy types in their micras tottering along at 50 kph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Guess where the 'safety' van does be parked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

At the esso over the brow of the hill. Sneaky spot for them....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭Wheety

lord lucan wrote: »
    I assume it has something to do with the widening of the bus lane and hence the narrowing of the other 2 lanes and that was why they reduced the speed limit.

Was only on it myself this afternoon and 60kph will cause more trouble than its worth imo as the majority will continue at the old speed and get infuriated at the Miss Daisy types in their micras tottering along at 50 kph.

The 2 lanes for cars still seem wide enough to me. Will be very tough to stick to speed limit along there.

Same when I exit M50 onto N3 at Blanch. The turn off says 30km/h. It's not a tight turn. Even slowing down to 60 still seems very slow and I end up getting overtaken by loads of cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Wheety wrote: »
    The 2 lanes for cars still seem wide enough to me. Will be very tough to stick to speed limit along there.

Same when I exit M50 onto N3 at Blanch. The turn off says 30km/h. It's not a tight turn. Even slowing down to 60 still seems very slow and I end up getting overtaken by loads of cars.

That one is so much fun because it's such grippy tarmac.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

All those 60kph are simply revenue for the blue. Just keep your eyes open and don't be caught. Slam on the anchors at the merest sight of a white van and hope someone hits you from behind. Remember this at the next election.

Also a big concern are the axle breaking speed bumps on the ramp into Chapelizod village. Try doing over 30kph on these and lose an axle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭Wheety

Yeah that turn off from the Chapelizod bypass goes from 60km/h and then there's a ramp almost immediately.

Have seen a couple of cars scrape off the ground as they didn't slow enough and bounced over them. They're quite vicious speed bumps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

The change to the limit was fairly sneaky alright, it used to be 80kmh until very recently. The signage is poor, they found a new smaller than ever sign for the reminders they posted.
    60kmh is insane for that piece of road, what a bunch of dickheads.
    Variable limits maybe, but 60kmh 24hrs is ridiculous.

It's very bad alright. Had the cruise set to indicated 68 km/h past two days which is around 63 real speed. A problem is that the section is quite hilly so cruise control has problems with overshooting when going over the brow in the middle of section inbound and then in effect having to hit the anchors on the rather steep downhill after actually slowing down from 70 to 67 which probably really kills the many tailgaters.

If there ever was a case for alternating speed limit here would be a good place. Lower to 60 just before the tail end of the traffic jam and have it at 80 when traffic flow is normal. But it won't ever happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭wait4me

According to Dublin City Council this morning, the 60 kph speed limit is temporary due to road works!! Anybody that travels inbound on the Chapelizod bypass knows that they re-surfaced the road in the summer and have now re-lined it with a wider bus lane. There are no road works, or signs to indicate that there are road works. on this stretch of road at the moment.

The Dublin City Council's bye-laws from December 2013 indicate that this road is a 80 kph road.

So DCC needs to put up temporary signage indicating that the speed limit is reduced due to road works, or else a lot of folks who know that road as being 80 kph are going to get nasty surprises. Or else it needs to reinstate the 80 kph signage.

I must check the (outbound) signage on the way home this evening

wait4me wrote: »
    According to Dublin City Council this morning, the 60 kph speed limit is temporary due to road works!! Anybody that travels inbound on the Chapelizod bypass knows that they re-surfaced the road in the summer and have now re-lined it with a wider bus lane. There are no road works, or signs to indicate that there are road works. on this stretch of road at the moment.

The Dublin City Council's bye-laws from December 2013 indicate that this road is a 80 kph road.

So DCC needs to put up temporary signage indicating that the speed limit is reduced due to road works, or else a lot of folks who know that road as being 80 kph are going to get nasty surprises. Or else it needs to reinstate the 80 kph signage.

I must check the (outbound) signage on the way home this evening

Interesting. The outbound limit is 60 km/h as well. Both were changed to 60 in past couple of days (since last Friday) after being 80 for a couple of weeks following the completion of works. The new limit does look really official with bunch of new 60 km/h repeater sings all along the route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

The 60 signs look pretty official and there are 2 sets of large ones (one with the flashing indicated speed leds) as you pass the slip road to Chapelizod. There are smaller reminder ones with the 24 hour bus lane signs as you continue on theb bypass.

Idleater wrote: »
    .... and there are 2 sets of large ones (one with the flashing indicated speed leds) as you pass the slip road to Chapelizod..../QUOTE]
    I missed those :eek:

I still believe that if the official word from DCC is that this change in speed limit is because of road works (by a managers order - not a change in the byelaw) then they should have road works signage along this 3 km stretch of roadway (inbound between exits at Chapelizod and where Ballyfermot Rd joins the N4 and probably in the other direction as well) indicating road works. The 60 kph contradicts the bye law limit of 80 kph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

According to a tweet from Live Drive the reduction is due to works and will be in place for one year.

@LiveDrive: Chapelizod Bypass: The speed limit reduced from 80 km/h to 60 km/h between SCR and Palmerstown for works. This will be in place for a year.

https://twitter.com/LiveDrive/status/659762746221838336

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Flash 4 cash vans will be all moved to the area cha chingggggggggg.

€€€€€€€€€€€€€ to be made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

Lads that limit is a joke.

I remember doing 100 km/h on this road (didn't notice the speedo :o) only to be overtaken by a Garda car :rolleyes:

80 km/h was way too slow. 60 km/h is going to be a day dream.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

Wheety wrote: »

But the whole of the 30 zone is single lane so there would be no way cars could overtake you in that zone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭BohsCeltic

Bio Mech wrote: »
    But the whole of the 30 zone is single lane so there would be no way cars could overtake you in that zone?

It's two lane if your on the Northbound section.
    I got points and a fine there over two years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

BohsCeltic wrote: »
    It's two lane if your on the Northbound section.
    I got points and a fine there over two years ago.

Ta. My mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Patww79 wrote: »
    Ah here. They'll surely all be where the accidents were, being the safety cameras as intended :pac:

Ah. But there's no where really to park the vans when your on the bypass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭LawlessBoy

Drove past a garda speed van going outbound parked at the esso garage. Drive that road daily and I've never seen one there before the speed limit drop.

LawlessBoy wrote: »
    Drove past a garda speed van going outbound parked at the esso garage. Drive that road daily and I've never seen one there before the speed limit drop.
    That section was of the by-pass was always 60 kph when the rest of the by-pass was 80. I have seen speed vans parked there before. I once saw a Garda with a speed gun hiding behind the big Costa Coffee cup outside of the garage:eek::D.

LawlessBoy wrote: »

Saw it there today as well.

I wonder how the lads that overtook me at over 80 km/h got on with that van there :pac:

I've seen it there a few times though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ixus

Outbound? It is regularly there. That is why proplr slowdown before the hill....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

ixus wrote: »
    Outbound? It is regularly there. That is why proplr slowdown before the hill....

That section was always 60 though, and I've seen the van there occasionally. I'm not sure where in the new "60" section (that previously was 80) they can actually park a van.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭JP 1800

There is a grass verge just before the road from ballyfermot joins the bypass, if there is any place to park a van it would be there. It is a ridiculous speed to be fair and I always fell like a tool driving that slow.

Mods: Perhaps this needs to be moved to Commuting?

5 weeks on and still no roadworks. Most cars that came in that road this morning from 7:00 - 7:20 were travelling well in excess of 60 kph. Somebody has to be accountable here! The official word from DCC is that roadworks are happening. I travel this road many times a day and other than finishing the road-lining at the Kilmainham junction, no roadworks have happened in the past five weeks. DCC might like to comment here if I am incorrect! I see that a local politician in Lucan has also recently called on DCC to reinstate the 80 kph limit - fat chance that such calls from non-DCC politicians will find any favour in City Hall.

Indeed I take this road twice a day and there isn't a bit of roadworks to be seen.

The old 80 km/h limit was ridiculous because you can do 100 km/h safely. 60 km/h is just ludicrous.

I think I see a Garda car drive by daily on that road and they are also in excess of 80 km/h like every time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

In the paper today:

2h4kzlf.jpg

Thanks - I wonder when the first notice about bringing it down to 60kph was issued?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Right - so the good news is the 60 (kph) signs stuck over the 80 signs were removed between yesterday morning and this morning. So the road is back to its original 80 kph. Remember that the speed limit drops to 60 kph as before at both ends of the by-pass i.e. just before the filling station (Esso) in Palmerstown outbound; and just before the lights at the Ballyfermot Rd. junction citybound

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

wait4me wrote: »
    Right - so the good news is the 60 (kph) signs stuck over the 80 signs were removed between yesterday morning and this morning. So the road is back to its original 80 kph. Remember that the speed limit drops to 60 kph as before at both ends of the by-pass i.e. just before the filling station (Esso) in Palmerstown outbound; and just before the lights at the Ballyfermot Rd. junction citybound

Where lately there is ALWAYS a speed van

Hah - the sign changers got it wrong last week (since corrected). They changed the last 60 kph sign just before the lights in Ballyfermot inbound to 80 kph when they were changing them all. They since changed it back to a correct 60 kph sign.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Patww79 wrote: »

Oh yeah, that must be it. Do you reckon the council, the Gardai and the courts all sit down at the end of each month and divvy up the takings? :rolleyes: