Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

proposing without a ring?

• 25-10-2015 10:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭

Goin to pop the question this week and am looking for some help from the ladies!
    Ive looked at rings but im too afraid to buy one incase i get it wrong!so my thought was to propose with an engagement pandora and then pick the ring together!that way shel get what she likes and will also have the pandora as a reminder!what do ye ladies think?
    Also i intend to do it on inchidonney beach as that is somewhere special to both of us!i have a room booked as a surprise after!any other tips to make it more special would be great!any advice is appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭pooch90

Sounds good to me so far!
    If you're intent on doing more maybe book into the spa for a couples treatment.
    The one thing I think would really add to it is to have someone hiding nearby taking photos of the actual proposal.
    However,as it is,it sounds lovely.
    My hubby proposed with a token ring which I would prefer to a Pandora charm but I'm not into them anyway. But having something to put in her finger may add to the effect of being proposed to.
    Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭joeyboy12345

pooch90 wrote:
    Sounds good to me so far! If you're intent on doing more maybe book into the spa for a couples treatment. The one thing I think would really add to it is to have someone hiding nearby taking photos of the actual proposal. However,as it is,it sounds lovely. My hubby proposed with a token ring which I would prefer to a Pandora charm but I'm not into them anyway. But having something to put in her finger may add to the effect of being proposed to. Best of luck!

Thank you very much for your reply!and the photographer idea is a great idea!would be lovely pictures to have!great idea!

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

If you're doing a token ring make sure it's not something that looks too much like an 'engagement' ring in case she ends up having to explain to people why she's wearing a different ring a few weeks later. Weather permitting, could you bring a picnic to the beach and sneak in a little bottle of champagne to celebrate with after she says yes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

It sounds perfect OP and Inchadoney is my favourite spot so Im envious of her.I love the beach beyond the hotel where you can go around the corner facing across to Ring village.Very sheltery too if youre bringing a bottle of bubbles/picnic.

The photographs wouldnt appeal to me as I think its a very special moment between the two of you and one you wont forget anyway but maybe you feel different.

Go for it and enjoy, its sounds really lovely:)

Toots wrote:
    If you're doing a token ring make sure it's not something that looks too much like an 'engagement' ring in case she ends up having to explain to people why she's wearing a different ring a few weeks later. Weather permitting, could you bring a picnic to the beach and sneak in a little bottle of champagne to celebrate with after she says yes?

Thanks for your reply!i get what your saying about the token ring and ive duely noted!the idea of the picnic champaigne is great but if i go bringin the picnic shel see the champaigne and know!i could have the hotel bar have some ready for when we get up!

Colser wrote:
    The photographs wouldnt appeal to me as I think its a very special moment between the two of you and one you wont forget anyway but maybe you feel different.

Anyone done the photos idea before?how much would that cost and how would you work out the positioning?thanks for all the replys,i want this to be perfect so thanks for all your help!ðŸ‘ðŸ‘ðŸ‘

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Anyone done the photos idea before?how much would that cost and how would you work out the positioning?thanks for all the replys,i want this to be perfect so thanks for all your help!ðŸ‘ðŸ‘ðŸ‘

I have no idea what it would cost..do you think she would like it?

You could mention your plan to the staff in the hotel and they might have some tips for you..Im sure theyd organise the bubbles for you so that she wouldnt see it before hand if you wanted to,I just like the sound of proposing and then sitting down a sharing a glass or two.:)

I wouldnt be at all worried about the type of ring to be honest Im sure she wont care as she will be picking the real thing herself.

Colser wrote:
    I have no idea what it would cost..do you think she would like it?

She would love that!shes real sentimental like that!i mite give the hotel a ring and see what they can do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

OP do you really think the photo is a good idea. As one poster said, it is a special moment between you and herself. Do you really want a stranger appearing with a camera. If it was me, I would be mightily pissed off if some random photographer knew I was getting engaged before I did. Also, you could be creating a logistical nightmare for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭fluke

Don't do the camera thing. As poster above said, it's a moment between you and your partner. Also, you're gonna have to worry about the photographer and will be taken out of the moment.

Just pick a nice location, strip back any complicated ideas, and make it as relaxed for her, and you as you're proposing (and you don't want anything else on your mind…like paparazzi).

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

A nice way of still getting photos but without involving a 3rd party is to bring a camera, pick a spot where you can set the camera down and pretend that you're going to take a photo of both of you with the self timing function. Then instead of doing that, put it to record video, and leave it recording when you walk back over to her and make like you're about to pose for a photo, then get down on one knee instead :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭wuffly

I like Toots' idea, you can get a little tripod that will hold a smart phone think they are about 20e on amazon, an iphone can do a timelapse which would be lovely (to me, i hate myself on video plus you can get nice stills from it afterwards). That way its private and you still get photos :)

The idea of having the photos would be nice but i think the logistics of organising it would frazzle me!even time keeping,like im goin to do it on the beech but if its raining it may have to be postponed for an hour until its dry!also me carring a tripod would be very sus looking,i just want her to think its a romantic walk that we usually do and suspect nothing!once again thanks for all your great ideas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭wuffly

Whoops, I meant something like this, not a massive yoke! They are small and would fit in a coat pocket. http://www.amazon.com/GripTight-GorillaPod-Stand-Smaller-SmartPhones/dp/B009GHYMB6

Best of luck with the proposal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭fluke

I don't mean to diss anyone with the camera idea, but it's a proposal, and I think the memory will be preserved well in your minds, and completely personal.

I suppose I'm coming from recent relevance for me - I proposed to my girlfriend only a couple of weekends ago (she said yes:-), and I had this crazy wackadoo idea. I ran it by a couple of people beforehand who were like 'no keep it simple, keep it intimate'. I ditched the idea and kept the whole thing sweet and simple and it worked out really well.

For what it's worth I told her my crazy idea that I had sort of devised, and she was glad (relieved even) that I didn't do that. To be honest it just goes to show you how on a tv show like Don't Tell The Bride, the groom can go off on some really mad and even egotistical ideas.

Also, telling people how you proposed is prob better than telling them and saying hey here's some pictures. It sets a scene in people's minds.

Ok hotel booked for this weekend,bought the pandora this evenin, a nice outfit secretly picked out for her!now all thats needed is a few hours dryness at the wkend!
    I wont be going with the photos option but thank you for all your suggestions and help!

Best of luck! Let us know how you get on!

Toots wrote:
    Best of luck! Let us know how you get on!

I will indeed!its very nerve wrecking even though i know shel say yes!i was even nervous booking the hotel!😄😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭Gatica

Pandora ring sounds like a wonderful idea, something she can always wear alongside the real ring. With a fake she'd never be able to wear them together on the same finger anyway...
    I'd agree with the posters about the photographer being an unnecessary extra at what is an intimate moment between you two.
    Walk on the beach and lovely food and bubbly at the bar after sounds lovely, especially for this time of year.
    Good luck!