Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

calving cameras

• 18-10-2015 8:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭

Hi all I'm going buying two calving cameras for next spring, hopefully the ones you can get on your mobile phone; Is there bad brands to watch out for or really good ones worth going the extra mile for??? I know nothing about them and hopefully this is the start of my education

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

rathbeg wrote: »
    Hi all I'm going buying two calving cameras for next spring, hopefully the ones you can get on your mobile phone; Is there bad brands to watch out for or really good ones worth going the extra mile for??? I know nothing about them and hopefully this is the start of my education
    Just get a good alarm clock instead :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭rathbeg

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Just get a good alarm clock instead :)

The nights are not the main problem its the hanging around the yard waiting for cows to calf while the spring work waits in the fields

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

The nights are not the main problem its the hanging around the yard waiting for cows to calf while the spring work waits in the fields
    I know all about it, I bought a camera off amazon last spring after the first cow calved and haven't found the time to set it up since :( hopefully I'll have itb up and running for next spring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 jholleran

I would recommend getting an IP camera if you want to easily hook it up to the internet and view it on your Smart Phone. With an IP system you don’t need a DVR and it can be plugged directly into your home broadband Modem/Router with and Ethernet cable.

I set up a calving camera system a few years ago and its worked great ever since. I used an IP Camera with Pan/Tilt & Zoom (PTZ). PTZ gives full coverage of the shed so I only need the one camera. This allows me to change the viewing angle of the camera from an internet browser or mobile phone.

I also used two Wi-Fi Directional antennas to make a wireless connection from the house to the cattle shed. The shed is 500 meters from the house and it was too long to put down cables.

You can PM me if you want more details about this and the make of products I used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

jholleran wrote: »
    I would recommend getting an IP camera if you want to easily hook it up to the internet and view it on your Smart Phone. With an IP system you don’t need a DVR and it can be plugged directly into your home broadband Modem/Router with and Ethernet cable.

I set up a calving camera system a few years ago and its worked great ever since. I used an IP Camera with Pan/Tilt & Zoom (PTZ). PTZ gives full coverage of the shed so I only need the one camera. This allows me to change the viewing angle of the camera from an internet browser or mobile phone.

I also used two Wi-Fi Directional antennas to make a wireless connection from the house to the cattle shed. The shed is 500 meters from the house and it was too long to put down cables.

You can PM me if you want more details about this and the make of products I used.

pm sent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Sugarbowl

How would calving camera work if say my house (and internet connection) is about 700m from yard does any one know?

Sugarbowl wrote: »
    How would calving camera work if say my house (and internet connection) is about 700m from yard does any one know?

The two Directional Antennas that I have used are Ubiquiti Nanostation Loco M2. These have a potential range of 5 KM so they would do the job for ya. They work best with a clear line of sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Sugarbowl wrote: »
    If they're on the same power circuit you can use a plug in adapter

Farrell wrote: »
    If they're on the same power circuit you can use a plug in adapter

Is there a limit on the range of them Powerline Network Adapters? Will it go the 700 meters on the same power circuit?

I think I read somewhere that you can't use a lighting surge protector with these devices as it would filter out the signal. Do you know if this is true?

Is there a limit on the range of them Powerline Network Adapters? Will it go the 700 meters on the same power circuit?

I think I read somewhere that you can't use a lighting surge protector with these devices as it would filter out the signal. Do you know if this is true?

Don't know much on it, a guy I worked with, was using it, think his sheds were 3/400m from the house, but he reckoned once same circuit distance didn't matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭dohc turbo2

I'm thinking of getting one off this lad , supplies router and camera to work off I phone , https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1597887547107972.1073741828.1597878407108886&type=1&l=bb354d4936

Don't know anything about them.

I put in a Swann DVR, 3 Wifi Router & a PTZ camera on an outfarm, good job (3 can be an issue, as ip changes regurally).
    I'd priced Joe Campbell - Bellcom, he was always on the ball, regret not getting him.
    I'd advise to price around, you'll get a few who take forever to comeback (don't wait). It's good to have someone you can ring to fix things, bar ringing Tech support.

WOW there is a lot of options and variables with cameras and their acesseries out there

Thanks to all that helped specally jholleran

back again looking for more advice
    My broadband signal is not very quick around .4mb does this affect what camera i should get , would a HD one cause buffering or be very slow ie overload my poor signal????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Farrell wrote: »
    Don't know anything about them.

I put in a Swann DVR, 3 Wifi Router & a PTZ camera on an outfarm, good job (3 can be an issue, as ip changes regurally).
    I'd priced Joe Campbell - Bellcom, he was always on the ball, regret not getting him.
    I'd advise to price around, you'll get a few who take forever to comeback (don't wait). It's good to have someone you can ring to fix things, bar ringing Tech support.

Majority of broadband suppliers have dynamic IP addresses, some suppliers you can get a fixed ip from if you go looking for it, but the simpler way is to set up an account with an IP tracking site, basically it talks back and forward to the camera and keeps tracking the IP address changes. You then log into the address you set up with them rather than direct to the IP address and it will redirect to the camera

Zr105 wrote: »
    Majority of broadband suppliers have dynamic IP addresses, some suppliers you can get a fixed ip from if you go looking for it, but the simpler way is to set up an account with an IP tracking site, basically it talks back and forward to the camera and keeps tracking the IP address changes. You then log into the address you set up with them rather than direct to the IP address and it will redirect to the camera

sorry but I have no idea what you mean . I am a retard when it comes to electronic talk . I am on a fixed line broadband "Pure" is my supplier I tested the broadband and it was hovering around .5mb and wondering if my poor internet will affect which cow camera I should go for ???????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Im thinking of getting this badboy, can see my shed down the yard from house bout 100 yards away.

http://www.equicom.ie/wireless-calving-camera-207-p.asp

Looks easy to install

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

liam7831 wrote: »
    Im thinking of getting this badboy, can see my shed down the yard from house bout 100 yards away.

http://www.equicom.ie/wireless-calving-camera-207-p.asp

Looks easy to install

Similar to myself- I'm looking at this one http://www.equicom.ie/ip-camera-1092-p.asp
    Would be handy to see it on my phone, would use it for CCTV purposes out of calving season. The motion detection recording is what interests me in that regard.

Kovu wrote: »
    Similar to myself- I'm looking at this one http://www.equicom.ie/ip-camera-1092-p.asp
    Would be handy to see it on my phone, would use it for CCTV purposes out of calving season. The motion detection recording is what interests me in that regard.

That looks like good value but iv only crappy Three Broadband from a dongle that often fails to connect so im prob best go with the other one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

liam7831 wrote: »
    That looks like good value but iv only crappy Three Broadband from a dongle that often fails to connect so im prob best go with the other one.

Have a guy coming next week to check our reception for satellite broadband, thank fcuk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

sorry but I have no idea what you mean . I am a retard when it comes to electronic talk . I am on a fixed line broadband "Pure" is my supplier I tested the broadband and it was hovering around .5mb and wondering if my poor internet will affect which cow camera I should go for ???????????

Sorry never saw this till now! What I was talking about is basically how you look up the camera from else where, an IP address is the same sort of idea as a normal web address, except it's numbers. Basically your modem has an IP address and you would type it into web page to look for it from somewhere else, the problem is that for 99% of broadband set ups the IP address changes very frequently,(has advantages with regards security and stuff) but this means every time you'd go to look up the cameras the address would have changed. But you can get it set up that a website will keep track of the IP address as it changes. It does take quite a bit of setting up tho. There's a couple of cctv forums that have good step by step guides but you would still need to be comfortable with computers to set it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭jimmy2pens

I am similar you, 400m from the shed and would like to get an IP camera set up in the shed, I have sent you a PM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Kovu wrote: »
    Have a guy coming next week to check our reception for satellite broadband, thank fcuk!

Did you get that sorted Kovu? I live 4 miles from the yard and was thinking that I might have to get something like this into the yard.

There doesn't seem to be any handy quick fix for lad's that live a nice distance from the yard. Unless your MacGyver with this craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    ..... Unless your MacGyver with this craic.

no no, it's straightforward enough these days - don't be discouraged

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Did you get that sorted Kovu? I live 4 miles from the yard and was thinking that I might have to get something like this into the yard.

There doesn't seem to be any handy quick fix for lad's that live a nice distance from the yard. Unless your MacGyver with this craic.

You can put a router, dvr with a wifi adapter in the yard & the set up an app to view the system. Pay as you go can work a treat, once you've coverage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Was looking to getting a new camera in another shed, one I can look at on the phone, only have a broadband dongle yoke in house regarding Internet, is this possible?

simx wrote: »
    Was looking to getting a new camera in another shed, one I can look at on the phone, only have a broadband dongle yoke in house regarding Internet, is this possible?

yes

can you see the shed from the house ?

gctest50 wrote: »
    yes

can you see the shed from the house ?

I can, kind of, there's another bit of a shed between them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

have you coverage in the shed?

can be brought from the house but may be simplier to get a second dongle for the shed .. if you have siganl there

orm0nd wrote: »
    have you coverage in the shed?

can be brought from the house but may be simplier to get a second dongle for the shed .. if you have siganl there

Must bring the dongle out to see if I do, what's other option? Run a wire?

............................ Run a wire?

you can get little outdoor wireless yokes, just point them at each other :

this sorta craic :

If they can't "see" each other clearly, you can put them outdoors on a pole

........... only have a broadband dongle yoke in house regarding Internet, is this possible?

Who are you with for the dongle ?

Three.ie , Vodafone ?

Who are you with for the dongle ?

Three.ie , Vodafone ?

Must bring the dongle out to see if I do, what's other option? Run a wire?

cables are lossy over any great distance
    you can get little outdoor wireless yokes, just point them at each other :

this sorta craic :

If they can't "see" each other clearly, you can put them outdoors on a pole

we running 2 ptz cams with 3 of these working very well

you would need a router for the dongle at the house (ebay)

thats; why I suggested getting a second dongle for the shed if you had good signal there

3 sell a router that takes your SIMcard (instead of having it in your dongle)

http://www.three.ie/online/data/prepay/huawei-b315/?src=p

v3PHvED.png

it has a few sockets on the back :

Gz91ADk.png

you can plug the outdoor wireless yoke mentioned above into one of those sockets at the house end

v3PHvED.png

Gz91ADk.png

you can plug the outdoor wireless yoke mentioned above into one of those sockets at the house end

Would this router be in the shed then? Pre pay sim in it? Anyone recommend a camera they have experience of? What's the cost of entire setup can anyone tell me? Diy fit now

Would this router be in the shed then? Pre pay sim in it? .......

you could put that router in your house, and put the SIM out of your dongle into it

then you'd have wireless internet in around the house

to make a wireless link to the shed using the white yokes in the video above

v3PHvED.png

Gz91ADk.png

this 1 is about half the price but you need a usb dongle
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/141837248695?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
    Would this router be in the shed then? Pre pay sim in it? Anyone recommend a camera they have experience of? What's the cost of entire setup can anyone tell me? Diy fit now

I'm using these

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/251748934600?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

the nano stations are about 70 each

took this screen shot just now

Bought the pro 750 a few years ago from Maplin & a 8 channel dvr, app is user friendly. If getting again I make sure camera was IR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 connormi

Anyone know for 2 calving cameras on outfarm would 3g router broadband package of 1gb for 15 a month prepay be enough to run the cameras. Have a good reception for it.
    Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

https://store.meteor.ie/sim-only-plans?linkid=meteor-hp-carousel-206012016-30GBDATA

I'm not sure 2bh, but the above deal is 2gb for 12e/month, 48months do a 1gb for 3euro also if the 1gb is enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

orm0nd wrote: »
    this 1 is about half the price but you need a usb dongle
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/141837248695?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

I'm using these

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/251748934600?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

the nano stations are about 70 each

took this screen shot just now

Just ordered a b593 4g router, 3 nanostations, and a hikvision 3mp fixed camera, the aim is to put the router and one nanostation on the pumphouse where there is a very good 4g signal, another nanostation on the house, and finally the 3rd nanostation over the calving shed, connected to the camera. Will hopefully do the trick nicely and let me do away with the dire eircom fixed line broadband.

connormi wrote: »
    Anyone know for 2 calving cameras on outfarm would 3g router broadband package of 1gb for 15 a month prepay be enough to run the cameras. Have a good reception for it.
    Thanks.
    Yes, that's what we use, more than enough data.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭raindodger

built new calving shed around 47ft by 25ft . i had a wireless hawk camera system .
    i am wondering can i use any of this for an upgrade the picture is pretty useless so would need new camera.

if i could get it linked up to internet at house would i be able to watch on phone
    or am ijust messing around with an old system[ten years old]
    would be about 250yards from shed

Right lads sorry for asking again but a few of the eBay links etc aren't working when I click on them now etc. From what I'm getting above I get a router in the house then a nanostation at the house end and another nanostation at the shed end (these have to be in sight of each other I reckon?) then the camera in the shed, was toying of. Putting another camera in Sher beside this on e is there another nanostation. Needed for this also or could I run another wire into nanostation. At that shed there? I only have a 3G dongle at house with OK signal, do I need anything else? Gf was going to get some of these for my bday in a couple of weeks so if some of ye could share links of ones ye have experience of and find good it would be appriciated, want to be able to look at this on my phone also thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭The Cuban

If you want to use more than 1 camera in the shed off the nanostation then you need to get a switch for it.
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Black-Gigabit-Ethernet-Network-Switch-5-ports-RJ-45-10-100M-Auto-MDI-MDIX-Hub-F-/381693606870?hash=item58deb63bd6:g:ZIQAAOSw-KFXfQgV

connect the switch to the nanostation and then the cameras to the switch. This set up is fine if you have power points for each camera and the switch if not then you need to look into using a poe type switch which basically supplies the power to the camera as well.

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Wireless-PTZ-CCTV-Network-WiFi-Indoor-720P-HD-IP-Security-Camera-Night-Vision-/401130965655?var=&hash=item5d6544ca97:m:mra5NOBrGwEsbGqssABderQ

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/LOCOM2-Openwrt-KIT-WIFI-Ubiquiti-NanoStation-LocoM2-router-neutro-Open-Wrt-/172260066655?hash=item281b80055f:g:zI0AAOSwzJ5XdpdQ

would the two of these do the trick? want to be sure before i order anything, want a router/nanostation that i could yoke up another camera to in the future if i wanted to, how does the phone craic work? get an app and it connecta to an ip address or something? is it connecting to an address linked to the camera itself or what?