Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racist woman on public transport

• 17-10-2015 10:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭

Black people cannot be racist. You've heard that before, right?

It's one of the tenets of the Left, espoused by the likes of Prof. Michael Eric Dyson.
    For those of you who have heard similar viewpoints espoused by similar people let me tell you this: That kind of lethal ignorance I]believing that black people can be racist[/I, that kind of viewpoint, that disparages black people, number one. That condescends and talks down to us, number two. That draws specious, spurious parallels between white racist and black racism.

Racism presupposes the ability to control a significant segment of the population economically, politically and socially by imposing law, covenant and restriction on their lives.

Black people ain't had no capacity to do that!

Can we be bigoted? Yes. Can we be prejudiced? Yes. Racist? No!

Well, you may also have heard of the black woman in London who was recorded abusing a group of Muslim woman on a bus this week.

But wait, she can't be racist, right? Because black people cannot, under any circumstances, be racist.

This is when two of the absurd, illogical tenants of the Left clash:
    • That 'Islamophobia' is a thing (it isn't... any more than Hinduphobia or Christianophobia is a thing).
    • That black people cannot be racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

I'm on the left and I believe anyone can be racist (or in any way discriminatory) to anyone else.

Your theory is bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,751 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

I thought British people couldn't be racist?

Only johnny-foreigner?

I doubt the BBC will be putting this on their wordwide platforms or doing a panorama investigation.

Will they advise people not to travel to Britain? That's what usually happens, right?

That said that lady was a scumbag, a product of a proudly xenophobic tabloid media, and I hope she's outed.

Feel sorry for the grief the bus driver is getting, not much he could do with that disgusting person.

The optics of it all though :

British immigrated all over the world for plunder,
    Then black woman in Britain,
    Telling another woman to "go back to her own country".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

1.Very few people believe that black people can't be racist.

2. You show a video of one incident, which is not enough to make any point.

3. What point are you trying to make?

4. More boring old "it's cool to act right-wing because I see social liberalism as the norm and I have to be contrary" nonsense filled with the usual fallacies and biases. Go read a good book and have a nice cup of tea. Don't be so angry: the world's becoming a better place, so just enjoy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

Red Kev wrote: »
    I'm on the left and I believe anyone can be racist (or in any way discriminatory) to anyone else.

Your theory is bollix.

That's a lovely denim sleeveless top you're wearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Sm0ke

anyone can be racist, anyone can be a bigot

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,825 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

They took our jerbs

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

African countries are being hit by Islamists just like the rest of the world. Kenya, Nigeria, Chad, Mali & Morocco. Too right they will be aggressive towards Muslims given all the violence inflicted on them by extremists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Most normal people in the world believe any person of any colour, ethnicity, race or religion can be racist towards anybody else of any other colour, ethnicity, race or religion. The mentality that only straight white men can do any bad is confined to the extreme left tumblr moron types

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭sonny.knowles

Silly racist bint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Her kid in his/her pram asked his/her horrible Mother 'what happened' and the Mother says 'ISIS bitches'. :(

I wouldn't attribute her behaviour to her skin colour though - just a nasty person full of hate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Ah bruv, yo sh1ttin innit.

Ah aks yu to tak tat 'genda outside bruv.

Datsh1t no welcum in ere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭se02orqua5xz9v

1.Very few people believe that black people can't be racist.
    wakka12 wrote: »
    The mentality that only straight white men can do any bad is confined to the extreme left tumblr moron types

That and professors at universities in Washington DC. But, sure, they have no influence!

Or broadcasters like Chris Matthews, who earn $5 million dollars per year.

They have no influence either!
    Racism is the belief that one race - whites - should rule all others. Get your definitions straight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

That and professors at universities in Washington DC. But, sure, they have no influence!

Well, overall, yeah. It's only one city, without an Ivy League university. Even if every university professor in the city believed that only white people can be racist, they wouldn't have that much influence.
    Or broadcasters like Chris Matthews, who earn $5 million dollars per year.

They have no influence either!

Well, again, yeah. He's basically unknown outside the United States, has many vocal critics, and many more peers who don't share his views at all.

Anyway, you'd be amazed at how many people are capable of coming up with their own opinions, despite the massive influence of their lecturers or people on television.
    For example, I believe that all people are capable of arbitrary prejudice, despite that the fact that this thread only has a video of a black person being prejudiced, which might make me think that only black people can be prejudiced!

Again, what point are you trying to make?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I hate public transport. People being hurtled from point A to point B in too close quarters, well it doesn't make for a fun time imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

KingBrian2 wrote: »
    African countries are being hit by Islamists just like the rest of the world. Kenya, Nigeria, Chad, Mali & Morocco. Too right they will be aggressive towards Muslims given all the violence inflicted on them by extremists.

She's second generation Jamaican.

FTA69 wrote: »
    She's second generation Jamaican.

Does it matter, Islamists are spreading terror everywhere in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Shiitty, shhitty bait, OP. Resume inhaling your own farts.

Not too sure what that has to do with the video seeing as it was on a bus in London concerning a lady who, if her accent is anything to go by, clearly was born and rasied in the UK.

She's black, but they're not some kind of hivemind entity, ffs

Only if you choose to believe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Hundreds of thousands of Muslims killed in invasions by western forces but, no, it's the Islamists who are spreading terror. There are 13,000,000 Muslims living in the EU - if the Islamists are spreading 'terror' they're doing a truly awful job of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

2 pages in and not locked yet. Gerbils must be busy else where

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭DivingDuck

It's nonsense to say that a person from a minority can't be bigoted or prejudiced. As a word, "racism", like "feminism", is subject to such a host of different definitions and interpretations to that it's almost useless at this stage. Rather than getting tangled up in whether or not minorities can be "racist", why not just acknowledge that this woman is clearly very intolerant, xenophobic, and rude, and leave it at that...?

petrolcan wrote: »
    Only if you choose to believe it.

For crying out loud her conduct was disgraceful but come on people this is some image posted on the Internet about a women being racist, we know nothing else about why she behaved like this or who she was talking too. As so many people on Boards.ie have said time and time again London is full of suspected Jihadists. Commentators and analysts have been whipping up Islamophobia for years and your surprised when someone gets angry on a bus. May I remind people the Islamists are some of the most racist people describing President Obama as some of the most objectionable insults you could think of. Many Islamists are very racist towards Europeans, Americans and other peoples around the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Who cares if some woman on London Bus hate other women because they're Muslim? Do you have similar concern for whether she puts the sugar in before or after the hot water when making tea? Both opinions have the same relevance to our everyday lives.

If the Media choose to give airtime and column inches to views that Black/White/Yellow/Red people can't be racist, you have a choice whether you continue to purchase their ideas. Don't get worked up over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

I haven't to be honest. Of course black people can be racist - anyone of any skin colour/ethnicity can.

For crying out loud her conduct was disgraceful but come on people this is some image posted on the Internet about a women being racist, we know nothing else about why she behaved like this or who she was talking too. As so many people on Boards.ie have said time and time again London is full of suspected Jihadists. Commentators and analysts have been whipping up Islamophobia for years and your surprised when someone gets angry on a bus. May I remind people the Islamists are some of the most racist people describing President Obama as some of the most objectionable insults you could think of. Many Islamists are very racist towards Europeans, Americans and other peoples around the world.

You don't need to cry out loud, you're not on a bus!

London is not full (your words) of jihadists, no more than it was full of IRA terrorists in the 80s.

I don't understand the panic.

The woman in the video needs a kick up the hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭DivingDuck

Who cares if some woman on London Bus hate other women because they're Muslim? Do you have similar concern for whether she puts the sugar in before or after the hot water when making tea? Both opinions have the same relevance to our everyday lives.

I care. I like visiting London, for one thing, and could do without encountering this while I'm there. For another, I find it disturbing to think that verbally abusing and threatening other people in public could be considered acceptable.

If she had been screaming about her tea, it would be more easily written off as a once-off incident confined to an individual. However, people usually only scream racist abuse when there is a general atmosphere of racial intolerance, which means it's more likely to reoccur with others in the future, and not just be limited to this particular woman.

That's why people care: a mixture of selfishness ("I don't want to have to see or experience this") and altruism ("I don't think it's right that people should be subject to abuse while going about their daily business").

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Racist ?

Where ? she might have been prejudice based on Islam/ISIS etc ... but where does she mention their race ?

I think people need to look up the definition of racism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Massimo Cassagrande

Tennets. Tenants is a whole nother thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

Tenets
    Not tennets :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Racist ?

Where ? she might have been prejudice based on Islam/ISIS etc ... but where does she mention their race ?

I think people need to look up the definition of racism.

She calls them sand rats in several instances.

Racist bitcch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

But arent the right always telling people that it is ok to be prejudiced against Muslims because they arent a race?

How can a person be racist against a group that isnt a race?

2/10, please hand over your identity ireland membership card. You get 2 for realising Jewphobia isnt a thing and is instead called anti-semitism. Next time please use returnofkings if you want to give out about black people.

What the hell are you talking about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

What the hell are you talking about?

That's a question you should have asked yourself at around 23:03

I would have if I were on Greenwich Mean Time+1.

Bit presumptuous of you to think that I am.

And I still have no idea what the hell you were talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

DivingDuck wrote: »
    I care. I like visiting London, for one thing, and could do without encountering this while I'm there. For another, I find it disturbing to think that verbally abusing and threatening other people in public could be considered acceptable.

If she had been screaming about her tea, it would be more easily written off as a once-off incident confined to an individual. However, people usually only scream racist abuse when there is a general atmosphere of racial intolerance, which means it's more likely to reoccur with others in the future, and not just be limited to this particular woman.

That's why people care: a mixture of selfishness ("I don't want to have to see or experience this") and altruism ("I don't think it's right that people should be subject to abuse while going about their daily business").

Of all the ills and wrongdoings that occur in London, I'd place this 'incident' far from the "important" pile. A woman shouts at other women in London and a person gets upset on an Irish website. What constructive action is this 'incident' going to inspire you to do? How can you combat it and prevent it from happening again? It's quite possible that someone tonight on Dublin, Limerick, Galway or Cork Bus was verbally assaulted, insulted or intimidated simply for being there and not because of the colour of their skin or their Religion. How do you propose to end this and prevent it from ever happening again?

I reserve my concern and sympathy for more pressing matters. I pray for the day that the greatest offense is when someone is rude on the bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

She's a Christian and fears the invasion from the current Muslim illegal immigrant crisis. She's an ignorant bird and doesn't express herself well but she still has a genuine concern.

It's an example of the common people not playing game with the EU bullsh1t anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Well, you may also have heard of the black woman in London who was recorded abusing a group of Muslim woman on a bus this week.

But wait, she can't be racist, right? Because black people cannot, under any circumstances, be racist.
    You do realise that Islam / being Muslim isn't a racial, ethnic or national group?

I've not watched the first video, but I can only assume she was being a sectarian bigot, not a racist one.
    But arent the right always telling people that it is ok to be prejudiced against Muslims because they arent a race?
    I think there's a lot wrong with that statement.

Being prejudiced against anyone is wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

I wouldn't attribute her behaviour to her skin colour though - just a nasty person full of hate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Red Kev wrote: »

Your theory is bollix.

Unfortunately it isn't. A particular brand of social justice moron who identifies as left wing is becoming quite prevalent, and they want to give "oppressed" groups a free pass for their sh!tty behaviour on the grounds of privilege, or lack thereof. They're the same muppets who want to see major platforms censor their users to protect the perpetually offended.

These idiots are doing far more damage to the equality movement than any actual bigots are. Their extremist behaviour is driving good people away from those movements, because most good people do not want to tolerate double standards.

That woman who is in court in the UK at the moment is a prime example, she maintains that #KillAllWhiteMen isn't either racist or sexist because white men aren't "oppressed". I'd argue that's she and her ilk are damaging feminism far more than any misogynists out there at the moment, and the exact same can be applied to movements calling for racial justice.

Take Black Lives Matter in the States. Few people are going to deny that the police over there are out of control and that their behaviour towards young black men in particular is obscene. But when they start pushing the "if a black person is beaten up by a cop, it's a worse crime than a white person getting beaten up by a cop, because oppression" bullsh!t, that's when they lose people who regard double standards as egregious no matter who's coming out with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

She's a Christian and fears the invasion from the current Muslim illegal immigrant crisis. She's an ignorant bird and doesn't express herself well but she still has a genuine concern.

It's an example of the common people not playing game with the EU bullsh1t anymore.

No, she doesn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

in Jamaica??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

You don't seem aware that fundamentalist Christian terrorists have killed vast numbers, not dissimilar to Muslim terrorists this century alone. I am not referring the the US army here, by the way.

Moral of the story, anyone can be racist and there are sh*t people to be found everywhere, from Muslims to Christians to otherwise. Of course, some people's own biases will lead them to believe there is only one true "bad guy" out of the bunch, but that's their own issue to deal with.
    May I remind people the Islamists are some of the most racist people describing President Obama as some of the most objectionable insults you could think of. Many Islamists are very racist towards Europeans, Americans and other peoples around the world.
    Unlike the hardline Christian right which can be found in many parts of the US. How come you only see the fault in one side, and not the other?

Nodin wrote: »
    in Jamaica??

You need to catch up on your facts Nodin, Jamaica is getting rammed full of Muslims who now make up a whopping 0.17% of the entire population of 3 million! Proof that the poster you quoted doesn't have any kind of inherent bias causing them to make ill informed statements with no basis in reality to confirm their said bias and... well, irrational fear and hostility. Which some might define as a phobia. A phobia of, well, Islam, I guess.

Luckily that is definitely not the case here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

Try to analyse the thinking of a scumbag..

You're gonna have a bad time.

Try to analyse the thinking of a scumbag..

You're gonna have a bad time.

Pretty much; nothing much to see here but a scummy racist eejit being a scummy racist eejit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Tennets. Tenants is a whole nother thread.
    Tenets
    Not tennets :)
    It's Tennents! 99p a can in most UK Tescos. It's complete piss but it fuels most racist rants on British public transport,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

DivingDuck wrote: »
    It's nonsense to say that a person from a minority can't be bigoted or prejudiced. As a word, "racism", like "feminism", is subject to such a host of different definitions and interpretations to that it's almost useless at this stage. Rather than getting tangled up in whether or not minorities can be "racist", why not just acknowledge that this woman is clearly very intolerant, xenophobic, and rude, and leave it at that...?

Well said. I really have no idea why people take " Black people can't be racist" as "only white people can do wrong".

Much like that video from a few years ago with a lady racially abusing another woman on a train, the saddest part here is that she had her kid with her.

OP, you don't have a massive amount of posts on this site. What you do have however, is an agenda which you have attempted to push with threads such as:

Should we drop foreign aid to Africa
    An open letter to white men of america
    Race card played in criticism of Kanye West's music
    Diversity officer in UK - "Women of colour can't be racist or sexist
    Lack of 'White - Irish' on UK schoolchildren forms
    Black people can't be racist by definition" - Paul Mooney
    Is anti-white bigotry on the rise?
    White people doing Hip-Hop: "Blackface without the makeup"?
    Nicki Minaj: "Steven Tyler is racist"
    Do we know the nationality of Savita Halappanavar's doctor?
    (two other thread titles excluded because the titles did not portray their agenda but it was plain to see)

Your other threads tend to be about transexual and gay people.

So. This is your only warning, take your agenda elsewhere - it is not welcome on boards. If you wish to continue to push this agenda, please find another site that will allow it.