Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People/Places/Things you don't like to run past?!

• 11-10-2015 1:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭

Was thinking about this on my run this morning. Thought it might make for an interesting thread. :D

Good (I use the term loosely! :P):

Bakery
    BBQ
    Beer Garden in full swing

Bad:

Big scary dogs
    Big scary groups of young wans with nothing to do
    Someone who just farted (has happened to me before!)
    Smokers

What's on your list?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

People walking dogs in parks off leads. Especially Rottweilers or similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭KJ

People that I've already run past and said hello to. Its kind of weird and awkward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Big aggressive swans blocking the path along the canal!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

If I'm suffering: my house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Traffic tailbacks :mad: *cough and splutter*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Stevo1983

Bus stops when I've hit the 15 mile point.
    Last week a bus pulled up just as I was running by and six miles away from home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

Bad:

Perfumed people

Smokers in cars (when they drive by I can always smell the smoke)

Three people ambling along and taking up the whole footpath

Yappy dogs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

Windows and priests, we've had a lot of trouble with them in mayo.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Dislike - Dogs on extending leads.

Like - Going past a queue of stationary traffic, or overtaking cyclists going up hill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭aoboa

libelula wrote: »
    Three people ambling along and taking up the whole footpath

THIS!! :mad:
    I mean WTF. They can see you coming for ages.
    No manners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

KJ wrote: »
    People that I've already run past and said hello to. Its kind of weird and awkward.

This one. Happened to me today trying to make my way to the start line of the Marie Keating, stopped a girl asking her how to get to the Furze rd. So sorry she looked like she was in her stride. Anyway over an hour later I am on my 2nd lap about 8km in and she is coming the other way and she starts pointing directions, poor girl must have though I was still looking for the Furze rd. :o:o:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭_Tombstone_

Diesel cars.

Quicker they ban them the better.

ultrapercy wrote: »
    Windows and priests, we've had a lot of trouble with them in mayo.

Widows I meant to say, no bother with windows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

ultrapercy wrote: »
    Widows I meant to say, no bother with windows.

:pac: I thought you meant 'valley of the squinting windows'

annapr wrote: »
    :pac: I thought you meant 'valley of the squinting windows'

That's Delvin in Westmeath not mayo, none of that carry on in mayo just football curses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭julyjane

White vans parked with the sliding door on my side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

Love running past the cars at the takeaway people slouching down in their seats looking all guilty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Good
    the sea
    the mountains (in view rather than running up them)
    along a riverside including the beautiful bridges we have along the Liffey
    my favourite parks
    Dun Laoghaire pier
    country fields (who knew!)
    Foreign lands

Bad
    crowded city streets, we really need a 'running lane' in Dublin city centre :)
    North Road Phoenix Park, yuck, give me the s bends any day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Good
    The cinder track. Because, if I'm running past it, it means I'm not running on it.
    Also love running past the start and finish line of marathons in the day or two before the big race. The hairs that stand up on the back of your next and the shivers of anticipation.

Bad
    That dog that bit me on the ass hip last Thursday. Wish I'd been wearing my kicking boots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭inigo

Bad
    Classic cars and old motorcycles: I can almost chew their fumes!

Good

Running past a stashed water bottle/gels.
    This time of year, it gives me a fuzzy warm feeling because I know exactly why they're there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭Grueller

Part of one of my regular routes runs along a cinder track around a GAA complex, right in front of a stand, between it and the pitch. I hate running by the crowd when there is a match on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭vanderlyle

Don't like meeting the deer in the Phoenix park at night. They can see me, but I can't see them until I'm beside them. Met a big one recently - he was outside the ordnance survey building, stamping and belching loudly. They're good for fartleks!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Good,
    Love running when on holidays, great way to explore a island or city. Great fun too.
    Really starting to like night trail running.

BAD,
    Dogs and the odd idiot driver, I hate traffic lights and junctions I have to stop at but luckily I live in the country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭DogSlySmile

Bad

Running past people on crutches/in wheelchairs. I always feel really bad coz I feel like I'm rubbing my two well-functioning legs in their face! :o So I try to run past them even faster.... but that just makes it worse :(

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Bad

Running past people on crutches/in wheelchairs. I always feel really bad coz I feel like I'm rubbing my two well-functioning legs in their face! :o So I try to run past them even faster.... but that just makes it worse :(

Have felt this as well I gota say :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 PeterParker100

Bad : Motorists who try and stop you to ask directions. I seem to get this a lot, why do they bother, I'm not stopping!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Bad : Motorists who try and stop you to ask directions. I seem to get this a lot, why do they bother, I'm not stopping!

I used to hate this but turns out I was running my easy runs too fast so it would have been good for me to stop. Now I welcome the break regardless as know what I'm capable of running and it doesn't disrupt me too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

Good:
    An empty Salthill Prom on a cold winter evening with the moon out.

Bad:
    A packed Salthill Prom on a hot summer evening with the sun out, and every man, woman, dog and child in my way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Bad

yes similar to this there's a guy in my local park who walks there a lot with an oxygen back-pack. I always feel bad too passing him but I also have a lot of respect for him as he's out there every day doing his thing and it looks like nothing's gonna stop him. Love that attitude.

I hate running down through Ballymun in the dark during bangers season:(It has started with a vengeance..

I hate running past gangs of loitering men or young fellas. Sometimes you'd be better off having headphones on with some of the comments you'd hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,372 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Time for some of you whingebags to get a fooking treadmill!

walshb wrote: »
    Time for some of you whingebags to get a fooking treadmill!

They're boring as feck though, why would you want to do that? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,372 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Cabaal wrote: »
    They're boring as feck though, why would you want to do that? :confused:

To avoid chippers and dogs and smokers and creeps and all that nasty sh1t you encounter when out running!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Running past people on crutches/in wheelchairs. I always feel really bad coz I feel like I'm rubbing my two well-functioning legs in their face!

Literally ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭crisco10

Good:

The Sea/Rivers/Canals. love the feeling of space they give
    Road crossings that give a green man when you are about 5m away

Bad:

Railway crossings at rush hour. Seems like a bazillion darts/commuter trains go by, blocking my run!
    Homeless people. (makes me feel guilty, with my Garmin watch, Brooks Runners etc and the luxury to be out running "for the craic")

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Bad:
    A packed Salthill Prom on a hot summer evening with the sun out, and every man, woman, dog and child in my way.

..... and a dog running at full tilt towards you with a six foot long stick in his mouth and there's nowhere to go but hope that you time your jump just right.

He looked a bit like this fella but even happier, I couldn't be mad at him :)

aa-431818_3684379343170_399914598_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Good:

The Hampstead Heath ponds
    Quieter side streets

Bad:

The area around any tube station - too crowded
    Groups of young lads loitering - can mean anything from getting weird looks to catcalls to someone trying to trip me up for the craic
    Chicken shops
    Busy pubs with lots of smokers outside

Bad:

A young kid of about ten telling me what he'd do to me. All night long. I'm very weirded out.

Three grown men racially abusing and having a proper go at a group of Pakistani students.

Both happened during the one run tonight, what the actual fcuk is the world coming to :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Jeez, I'm glad I don't live in a city based on some of the stuff you guys have to put up with! The worst thing I've had to deal with recently were a couple of rogue sheep that broke out of a paddock. Most of them got out of the way but one ran off in front of me and cornered himself. I was afraid he would be killed by a car or a tractor so I did what any country bumpkin would do and lifted the fecker and threw him over the fence back into the field! Sheep generally don't like being lifted so I got a few kicks but at least he wasn't squashed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

The Good,

Cold and Dark winter night, with lashing rain, and a horrible wind from the north. Why??? Cause when I run in those conditions, Im usually the only one out, and I feel "right Hard" as a result... :cool:

Eggs benedict and a large Mocha, and the Sunday Times, after a 15 miler LSR on a Sunday morning. Job done...

The Bad,

Endless road works on the Coast road at St Anne's at the moment. What was a lovely stretch of road / path, beside the sea is now ruined :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭youngrun

Yep big dogs off leads. Got hassled by one yesterday charged over and jumped , not barking but still not great if you are a bit wary or fearful of them, I would be. Owners usually dont give much of a damn have to roar at them .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Button_y

Bad:
    Passing a field that has been freshly sprayed with manure (especially if its on a hill).
    Very slow moving vans when I'm on the road on my own with no nearby houses, always makes me feel uncomfortable

Good:
    Some of the views I pass especially, when there is a fog rolling in or frosty or late in the evening. Very pretty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

GOOD

When on holidays - even though sometimes it can be too hot

ANYWHERE when you have a day off and everyone else is in work like I usually am

BAD

Finding yourself having run into undesirable areas when on said holidays

Anywhere around the IT or the centre of town when it's rag week

Running up behind a female walking alone on a queit road/path after dark. They try to look calm, but they're not (and sometimes men are the same)

Meeting a funeral - with loads of people walking behind it - and you have to be respectful and stop - and they all still look at you like you have 2 heads

My nosey neighbour who tells me I run too much

Busy junctions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭SausageDogDave

GOOD
    - Running along quite rivers, canals etc. preferably with ducks
    - Dog looking at ducks

BAD
    - Park rangers telling you the park is now closing
    - Zombies who have just become aware of your presence (ditto for Lions...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭ClashCityRocker

MisterDrak wrote: »
    Eggs benedict and a large Mocha, and the Sunday Times, after a 15 miler LSR on a Sunday morning. Job done...

Bad: running past houses and smelling delicious fry ups being cooked when you're only a mile or two into said LSR...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭SharkTale

Good
    Seeing money on the ground whilst out running.

Bad
    Stopping to pick up that money from the ground.

SharkTale wrote: »
    Bad
    Stopping to pick up that money from the ground.

How is that bad?!
    I found a tenner last year and a twenty this year. Early Sunday morning running is the business :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

How is that bad?!
    I found a tenner last year and a twenty this year. Early Sunday morning running is the business :p

Eh, location?

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Eh, location?

Wouldnt you like to know :pac:

Both opposite ends of Sligo. I'm just waiting for someone here to tell me off for poor form when I'm scanning the ground constantly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Wouldnt you like to know :pac:

Both opposite ends of Sligo. I'm just waiting for someone here to tell me off for poor form when I'm scanning the ground constantly!

Definitely wasn't Cavan anyway :D

You might see a few Cavan heads training up in Sligo now though (Sorry TJ :P)