Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

audax 100k spin sunday 11th oct

• 09-10-2015 12:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭

leaving papal cross phoenix park on sunday 9am, all welcome, this is not an official Audaxireland event, just a spin to introduce people to 100k spins. Route will be mainly flat with at least one coffee stop ! Anyone who wants to ride at 27kph plus.... go elsewhere, our average speed will be around 20kph

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Very tempted, mellow 100k sounds great though Sunday morning rather depends on Saturday night. Will hope to be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭easygoing39

I'd be all for this spin,but 20km avg is just a bit too slow.If it was 24kph I'd do it in a flash.Best of luck to those that do the spin,weather forecast is great.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,032 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

Great, plan to be there.
    Just running up a tray of flapjacks 😊.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭brocbrocach

What makes a 100 km audax different to a 100 group spin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭OldBean

I'd be interested in tagging along for sure - do you have any idea of the route?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭paul a newman

not a lot, this is an intro to audax riding, we just want to see if there are people wishing to take part, so sunday is a spin organised by audax riders. An audax event involves being given a brevet card, which gets stamped at pre decided places (controls) on the route, you are given a route sheet for the event and must get to the controls and finish within a specified timeframe. Not complicated but challenging. Sundays route will bring us on quiet roads out of Dublin thru West Wicklow, Kildare and East Meath, and for experienced riders will be quite easy. Beginners can ride alongside experienced riders and get pointers on gears, equipment etc. If this was just for fast riders, it would be like a "club ride" and newbies may be put off. We want everyone to enjoy cycling, not just the "tour de france" wannabees!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

This is an outstanding plan, Serious Well Done to all Involved!

The club I joined don't communicate by text or email so have no idea of club activities or spins etc but anyone knows of an event like this in the Munster area I'd appreciate a pm.
    More of this is what is badly needed to boost Irish Cycling :)

Well done again & I Hope Everything goes well,
    kerry4sam

What makes a 100 km audax different to a 100 group spin?

I've only managed one audax to date, the Dying cow, but to me it was more like a long leisurely spin with your mates, taking obscure routes, getting a bit lost and generally having great craic. I loved it, and would love to get my ass into gear to do a few more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

smacl wrote: »
    I've only managed one audax to date, the Dying cow, but to me it was more like a long leisurely spin with your mates, taking obscure routes, getting a bit lost and generally having great craic. I loved it, and would love to get my ass into gear to do a few more.
    It can be tough going in inclement weather. I thought his year's Three Provinces 300 was one of the toughest days I've had on the bike - 15 hours in the rain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I'd be up for this if I can drag myself out of the cot

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Damn shame I'm only seeing this now, would have been there...doesn't suit tomorrows plans now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I'd be up for this if I can drag myself out of the cot

And then I realise I'm otherwise engaged. Feck

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

kerry4sam wrote: »
    This is an outstanding plan, Serious Well Done to all Involved!

The club I joined don't communicate by text or email so have no idea of club activities or spins etc but anyone knows of an event like this in the Munster area I'd appreciate a pm. I
    More of this is what is badly needed to boost Irish Cycling :)

Well done again & I Hope Everything goes well,
    kerry4sam

Almost every club in the country Run spins for different abilities every weekend all year round. If you're having trouble communicating with your club join another one, or see if they have a whatsap or Facebook presence, you might be able to communicate with them there?

I was up, in Lycra, bike at the door and all for this, but won't be able make it. Last minute change of plans :-/

If it's being organised again, I'd love to know.

Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

gadetra wrote: »
    Almost every club in the country Run spins for different abilities every weekend all year round. If you're having trouble communicating with your club join another one, or see if they have a whatsap or Facebook presence, you might be able to communicate with them there?

Yeah I wrote about that club antics back in May here. Since then I've done my own research, my own planning, my own spins and even undertook my own 1st Cycling Holier/Adventure Abroad in August this year that you can read about here.
    I basicly left the club, not on paper though, as I don't need BS-antics in my life. Think CI membership opens in November/December so will be looking elsewhere when renewing.

Thanks for your reply though,
    kerry4sam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Domane

Damn, just saw this thread and would have loved to tag along. Instead I'm off on out for my lonely 100km ride this morning, probably pushing myself too hard when it would have been nice to slow things up a bit and have a chat along the way.

Tried a couple of clubs myself and they were a bit "uppity" and took themselves too damn serious. When you consider that most of them were my age, ie heading towards the half century, they were long past Tour de France eligibility but that didn't stop them going hell for leather, shouting orders and annoying motorists by cycling four abreast for the pure hell of it. That's why I cycle alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

This is quickly turning into the reverse snobbery thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Domane

This is quickly turning into the reverse snobbery thread.

Nope, it's the "cycling should be fun, and not taken so damn seriously" thread. I'd be very interested in a similar event if you decide to do another OP.

Domane wrote: »
    Nope, it's the "cycling should be fun, and not taken so damn seriously"..
    One doesn't have to do things slowly to be less serious and have fun! While I would not be fast in comparison to many, I'd find 20km/h to be the opposite of fun! Each to his own I suppose. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

There is a lot of great people in Audax Ireland, Paul the OP is one of the best.

Experienced riders, not only beginners could learn from him. On this year's 3 Provinces 300 I headed off with 5 other lunatics pushing ourselves on a tough enough route. Wheel failure at 85km stopped me in my tracks and I just turned around and limped home. A few miles back road I met Paul, sauntering along with his loaded steel bike without a care in the world. I think he was more upset about my ride being cut short than I was.

On two longest rides I've turned up for MF1200 and Celtic Knot there was Paul helping out, always with a smile. Great man to true a wheel to ☺.

I'd strongly urge people to get out with Paul. You won't regret it

Agree with ford2600 - I met Paul several times at audax events and he's a sound chap. (Tried to cycle along with him a few times but ended up getting itchy feet!)
    ford2600 wrote: »
    ...On this year's 3 Provinces 300 I headed off with 5 other lunatics pushing ourselves on a tough enough route...
    And at the finish, the Cork chap said he had to get up at 4am to drive to Limerick to do another 300k the following day. :eek:

Just in from this. Really pleasant spin in great company, taking in a very scenic route on the backroads from the Phoenix park to Naas, Blessington and back to town. Lots of L-roads with minimal traffic, which suited me down to the ground, and worth noting that mainly flat and flat are not interchangeable terms in audaxspeak. I understand this was the first of a number of upcoming shorter audax events, and I look forward to the rest of them. Many thanks to Paul and crew for a fantastic morning out. To anyone thinking of giving these a go, I'd thoroughly recommend them.

365221.JPG

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,032 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

6 of headed off from the PayPal Cross @ about 5 after 9.
    We were lead across Kildare and Wicklow through gorgeous quiet back roads. Scenery was amazing especially the view over Blessington Lake from the west side at an elevation.
    Great company. Brief stop in Blesso for coffee and off again avoiding main roads.
    Clocked 98k. as I headed for Stillorgan and joined up with the St. Tiernan's Train from Tallaght.
    Great day. Windless with the sun trying to break through.
    My first 100k- in a while. ��.
    Thanks to P.A. Newman and Mr. D. B.

great route this am, thanks Dave, great to have Boardies out riding with us, hope to see a few more next time ( prob Sun 1st Nov, but watch this space and also audaxireland website) thanks for the kind words ford2600 and wishbone, I'll buy ye a cup of tea, if I ever catch up with you on the road !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭zonular

Gutted I couldn't make it, seems like a great spin, saving up for a proper road bike. Might be able to keep up at some point

Pretty sure myself and Paul crossed paths in the park as he was getting back. So jealous of the lot of ye!

Hope those brake pads are holding up ok ;)

that was me alright Old Bean, I was admiring your bike and only copped you as we passed ! brake s are brill btw

Can't blame you, bike is far prettier :)