Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

your worst fears

• 04-10-2015 9:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭

what are you most afraid of? ive a phobia of tight spaces. I hate lifts and the thought of getting stuck in one. my idea of a nightmare would be getting my head stuck in railings. those big slides you see in playgrounds and water parks, you know the ones with the huge, long dark tunnels where it takes a couple of minutes to get to the end? hate those.

I think it likely stems from childhood where my brother would shove my face into the corner of the couch and smother me inside it. the darkness and lack of control.

those situations where there is no immediate escape and lack of control put the fear in me. I've never been on those massive rollercoaster rides for reason. that and the motion sickness, and heights.

large heights make me uneasy. being in the upstairs department of a shopping centre and looking over the bannister down below gives me thoughts of someone coming up from behind and pushing me over.

I hate rats and the feeling of them crawling all over me. funny enough, I don't fear spiders and don't get the widespread phobia of them at least the small ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Snap. Severe claustrophobic here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Tommy Kay The DJ

Any little rodnets frighten the life out of me especially if one got into the house haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Fear is different to a phobia.

Fear is a reaction to an actual danger signal - it involves physical and mental tension that helps you spring into action to protect yourself from something that is happening.

A phobia is an intense, unreasonable fear of situations, objects, activities, or persons where the fear is far out of proportion to the actual danger or harm that is possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Westmeath winning the all ireland.

I don't think I could cope with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

I fear almost nothing, not even natural death. But, I do fear the next toothache because the last one was rolling along the floor in agony, so it has to be the toothache.

Clowns at nighttime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Butterflies indoors. They flap their wings far too quickly and fly straight at your head, and they stay by the window/behind the curtain so you can't open either. And of course while they're there behind the curtain doing nothing they'll suddenly flap their wings loudly against the curtains for a few seconds, terrifying me.

B*stards, the worst thing about the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Not being able to reply because Boards is playing up again.

Butterflies indoors. They flap their wings far too quickly and fly straight at your head, and they stay by the window/behind the curtain so you can't open either. And of course while they're there behind the curtain doing nothing they'll suddenly flap their wings loudly against the curtains for a few seconds, terrifying me.

Beautiful creatures butterflies are, You lucky bastard that you have the luxury of having butterflies in your home flapping away in colourful delight. All I have are mosquitoes.

I'd gladly swap them for the papery-winged freaks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 NintendoGirl

Butterflies indoors. They flap their wings far too quickly and fly straight at your head, and they stay by the window/behind the curtain so you can't open either. And of course while they're there behind the curtain doing nothing they'll suddenly flap their wings loudly against the curtains for a few seconds, terrifying me

Yep, hate them. And where/how they fly is so unpredictable that you cant dodge them properly!

Current fear, there is a massive spider somewhere in the sitting room, but I dont know where its gone :(
    I expect it to crawl up my leg any second!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Yep, hate them. And where/how they fly is so unpredictable that you cant dodge them properly!

Current fear, there is a massive spider somewhere in the sitting room, but I dont know where its gone :(

No chance... it will be half way to your bed at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I'd gladly swap them for the papery-winged freaks.

Shocking is all I can say. Horse-flies now, they are the worst ones. I've hedgehogs walking around my abode most days, they're great little creatures as well. Butterflies are amazing, they even show affection to you when they land on your forehead. Enjoy nature because most folk have no interaction with it while living in a concrete jungle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,443 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Check out this lad! :pac:

Spotted him today, largest spider I've seen for real in my 38 years on this planet, definitely had his Weetabix that morning! :D

(hope I attached the pic properly now! :o)

Make your home a nature wonderland.

For spiders... I use 3 fat garden spiders in each room and they are the ones that only crawl up to the ceiling and stay there, their purpose is to catch mosquitoes. They are excellent for this task and never bother you, but the hoover needs to be implemented now and again when they leave to clean up the webs, they make very large webs along the corners off a room. Saves a small fortune instead of purchasing insect killers which I wouldn't use, hate chemicals.

Shocking is all I can say. Horse-flies now, they are the worst ones. I've hedgehogs walking around my abode most days, they're great little creatures as well. Butterflies are amazing, they even show affection to you when they land on your forehead. Enjoy nature because most folk have no interaction with it while living in a concrete jungle.

I actually shivered as I read that, I could feel it crawling on my skin!

In fairness, I'd never harm a butterfly, and I accept that the world is better with them.

I just don't get why they don't have the cop on to leave me alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Spiders....i ****ing hate them so irrationally its scary in that alone. Never been to oz and im not going

Robsweezie wrote: »
    what are you most afraid of? ive a phobia of tight spaces. I hate lifts and the thought of getting stuck in one. my idea of a nightmare would be getting my head stuck in railings...

Getting your head stuck in railings at night time in some remote place in the Deep South...and hearing a voice say "you sure got a purty ass"...

The reason why she lost the plot was because her internet and phone connection was down. Kicking the door will not create enough static discharge to allow for better connectivity to the server, she should have already known this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

fear itself.

Check out this lad! :pac:

Spotted him today, largest spider I've seen for real in my 38 years on this planet, definitely had his Weetabix that morning! :D

(hope I attached the pic properly now! :o)

Thankfully it seems you havent! :P

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Joan Burton getting re-elected and having that lugubrious face in the Dail 4 more years lecturing away.

I actually shivered as I read that, I could feel it crawling on my skin!

In fairness, I'd never harm a butterfly, and I accept that the world is better with them.

I just don't get why they don't have the cop on to leave me alone.

I know what you mean, but daddy flying long-legs are the worst, there I was deep frying some real potato chips a while back with the back-door open and along comes a flying daddy-long-legs bouncing off my head and face and I waved it away, then it came back and landed right into the frying pan. Seriously, how fecking stupid could you be to burn yourself to death.

PARlance wrote: »

Well thats me up for the night..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Proper mental illness or becoming isolated when I'm older.

What's the big worry ? sure when you are asleep you won't know they are crawling over you, just remember that all of these little creatures will crawl over you just to get to their destination as they never stay on you, well except if it was a tick, those little blighter's will bury their head into your skin and suck on your blood and of course you will need a tweezers to remove this parasite and the head also, ye don't want to leave the head in there and only tweezer out the main body ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Mice. An irrational phobia. I am terrified of them. You'd think how afraid could someone actually be? I'm afraid of spiders, clowns and enclosed spaces but this is nothing like just being afraid. I would have a full on panic attack seeing one. Even photos, videos etc of them, I can't even look. I couldn't watch the green mile because there was a mouse in it, I left the Cinderella movie because there was mice, giant ones, running across the screen and they were huge.

When i talk about them sometimes I can feel phantom ones crawling on me. When I am sick and hallucinating, mice seems to be the one thing I'm always freaked out by. If I'm hallucinating then I'm in a room full of mice and they're crawling on me. I would rather shake hands with satan himself that ever see one again. And even when they're dead, I'm still terrified of them. Cannot cope with them at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

The scariest thing I could imagine would be being present at one of those school/college/office massacres like the one in Oregon the other day

I'll leave you folk with this...

When you next have time to do so I would recommend you folk to go on a 2 day mountain hiking trek or a camping holiday in nature. After doing this camping and nature buzz a few times a year. you will get used to all the little creatures out there and should be less of a problem thereafter. Don't forget that you are part of nature but most folk now were brought up in cities and just cannot get to grips with nature and its wild-life. Shame really. afraid of the natural world you live in.

What's the big worry ? sure when you are asleep you won't know they are crawling over you, just remember that all of these little creatures will crawl over you just to get to their destination as they never stay on you, well except if it was a tick, those little blighter's will bury their head into your skin and suck on your blood and of course you will need a tweezers to remove this parasite and the head also, ye don't want to leave the head in there and only tweezer out the main body ;)

Did I say night? I now mean week :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭antonymin

what are you most afraid of? ive a phobia of tight spaces. I hate lifts and the thought of getting stuck in one. my idea of a nightmare would be getting my head stuck in railings. those big slides you see in playgrounds and water parks, you know the ones with the huge, long dark tunnels where it takes a couple of minutes to get to the end? hate those.

I think it likely stems from childhood where my brother would shove my face into the corner of the couch and smother me inside it. the darkness and lack of control.

those situations where there is no immediate escape and lack of control put the fear in me. I've never been on those massive rollercoaster rides for reason. that and the motion sickness, and heights.

large heights make me uneasy. being in the upstairs department of a shopping centre and looking over the bannister down below gives me thoughts of someone coming up from behind and pushing me over.

I hate rats and the feeling of them crawling all over me. funny enough, I don't fear spiders and don't get the widespread phobia of them at least the small ones.
    Heights, confined spaces, large crowds, blindness, another heart attack and the thought of outliving my daughters, grand children and my great granddaughter. I wonder how I sleep at night, maybe it's the vodka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭rosie16

When playing what I call 'petrol roulette' so my fear would be running out of petrol in a tunnel where there's no hard shoulder. According to my estimations there should be another 50 miles left :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Also getting Alzheimers. And not waking up when the surgeries over due to me having an allergic reaction to the general anaesthesia and suffocating.

rosie16 wrote: »
    When playing what I call 'petrol roulette' so my fear would be running out of petrol in a tunnel where there's no hard shoulder. According to my estimations there should be another 50 miles left :pac:

I always had the dread of breaking down in some remote location in the days before mobile phones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Deathwish4

Choking.

That feeling when something snags in your throat for a split second is horrendous.

Deathwish4 wrote: »
    Choking.

That feeling when something snags in your throat for a split second is horrendous.

Been there, done that. Very scary. :eek:

antonymin wrote: »
    I always had the dread of breaking down in some remote location in the days before mobile phones.

In the days before mobile phones there was and still is a communication system of repeaters for the use of Ham radio. The communication was very long distance and all you needed was a ham radio transmitter walkie talkie or a base radio in your car, that was how some folk used direct communication to others long long before the mobile phone was invented, and it's still used widely today all over the world. And if you were in an emergency, all you had to do was call for help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

I have trypophobia. It's horrific. :(

Oh and I can't deal with people touching their eyes (or someone elses), or talking about putting in contacts or something in their eye. Anything eyeball related basically.

"Quote" doesn't want to work for me but I remember the days of CB radio and I was a fan and got a lot of pleasure from it but the range was dismal.

Oh and I can't deal with people touching their eyes (or someone elses), or talking about putting in contacts or something in their eye. Anything eyeball related basically.

Have you never licked another person's eyeballs or had someone lick yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,443 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Thankfully it seems you havent! :P

I was afraid of that, I'd never done it before on the touch site :o

He was big anyway :pac:

Hmm...

Nah, I won't be that cruel :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

antonymin wrote: »
    Have you never licked another person's eyeballs or had someone lick yours?

I literally feel unwell just reading that :(
    Nah, I won't be that cruel :pac:

Careful now!!! :D

I'll be a bit more honest now after thinking about it for a while...

I think my main fear would be death after-all, scared of the unknown while being alone, not existing physically any-more. But I hope I don't see this on my travels with attached music because I would kill myself (but I'm already dead) sheeeeeeit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

Jaysis Rob, your scared of everything! How do you even get through the day? :)

Ah no im scared of most of those things too. I got so overwhelmed watching friends of mine doing one of those mobile bungee jumps that i started crying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Me 2. Went to Saturday morning pictures in the 60s. There was a film called "The Man in The Iron Mask". It absolutely frightened the Dickens out of me. Nightmares for weeks after.

Never seen the film since, seen the remakes and they're meh but not the original - not that I've been looking too hard :o