Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Group A: Australia vs England, Kick-off: 20.00 Sat 3 Oct.

• 02-10-2015 5:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭TheGoldenAges

The Teams

Australia
    CQN2uNhWIAAsHKb.png

England
    CQOg50lWcAALX3G.png

Where Things Stand
    After last weeks heartbreaking loss to Wales, England return to Twickenham for last chance saloon at salvaging their World Cup campaign. With all the pressure on their hosts, Australia come into this in fine form on the back of their Rugby Championship win in August in great form. They've also have breezed through their opening two games of Pool A, beating a stubborn Fiji 28-13 and thrashing Uruguay 65-3, still the highest score by any team this tournament. But this is Australia's first major test so far and it'll bound to be a big step up from previous games with a desperate England in front of a home crowd baying for blood to forget about last week

The Teams
    In probably the first time I can recollect, Michael Cheika was actually smiling and relaxed in his press conference earlier this week. Interestingly Cheiks has gone with both Hooper and Pocock, two renown ground hogs in the backrow, possibly trying to imitate the difficulty Wales duo Warburton and Tipuric caused last week. England conceded so many penalties against Wales that came at the breakdown, a repeat this week will surely see England be beaten.
    CQR8blbW8AAJ7L3.jpg

Meanwhile, Lancaster has sort of put the Burgess experiment/conversion at 12 on hold after some backlash for his performance from the media (read Darce's excellent article in the Times if you haven't already etc.), with a fit again Jonathon Joseph regaining his place in the team. Elsewhere Farrell keeps his place at outhalf, keeping Ford at bay for the moment and Ben Morgan comes into a rather uninspiring backrow with Billy Vunipola sorely missed now he's out of the rest of the World Cup.

Predictions
    Everything up until now has indicated (bar the Ireland warm up game) England are out of form and don't know their best XV. This is Lancaster's last throw of the dice with him surely departing should the hosts exit at the group round stage for the first time. On paper, Australia hold the advantage in the pack and the backs. England are known to turn up and play as the best side in the world (NZ 2012) but not consistently enough for their supporters liking. Based on everything, I think England will play as well as they have in a while but can't see them beating the Wallabies despite the home crowd's advantage.

Fun Fact: Nick Easter's call up at 37 years old now makes him the 5th oldest player at this years World Cup

Australia 27 - 24 England

Photo Credits: Rugby World Cup twitter account

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭gamma001

nice write up

I am so so looking forward to this game.

So much Drama, so much at stake. It's going to be amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

So Lancaster is still succumbing to selection by media. Pressure will be immense on England tomorrow evening - Robshaw had better have figured out that he's the captain by then. A lot of media banter going on that it would be bad for the world cup for the hosts to exit so soon, however never has 'pride comes before a fall' been so appropriate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭smiley_face

That English backline is formidable, I'd rather their backline than the Aussie backline anyway.
    Could not understand how they selected such a terrible midfield pairing against Wales, and I think it cost them.
    I'd also tip the English pack, they have 3 solid rows, and Ben Morgan will be a massive improvement on Vunipola.
    Should be a great battle, but unless Pocock and Hooper can trouble England at the breakdown, I can see England winning by a couple of tries.
    Great prospect of a close match anyway, looking forward to it more than the Ireland v Italy match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

That English backline is formidable, I'd rather their backline than the Aussie backline anyway.

What?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

So who's older than Easter. Matfield is one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Cudmore could be another I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭TheGoldenAges

There you go

CQA6EgfWgAA8lbE.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

I haven't see Australia play yet, so can't even make a guess. Huge huge pressure for England and Lancaster. Really looking forward to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Before RWC this one was going to be a clash but now this is undoubtedly the biggest and most crucial game of the group stages. I can't see England win this in the normal scheme of things but they nearly always raise their game against the Aussies plus it's all or nothing for them. Too close to call!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭English Lurker

vienne86 wrote: »
    I haven't see Australia play yet, so can't even make a guess. Huge huge pressure for England and Lancaster. Really looking forward to this.

They looked decent in the Rugby Championship. May have finally fixed their set-piece problems. Pocock and Hooper are a wonderfully complimentary pairing. Their weakness at the moment are their half-backs, which isn't doing their backline any favours - bar Folau, they all seem solid rather than gamebreaking. They'd fancy themselves against anyone at the moment though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I am so so looking forward to this game.

So much Drama, so much at stake. It's going to be amazing.

Absolutely, more so than the Ireland game at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭aimee1

so danny cipriani says no aussie would get in the england side

clive woodward says the aussies arent very bright

ben morgan says england are going to beat the aussie pack up

i think cheika's teamtalk is taken care of

Well Cipriani is not wrong. Every last aussie player has declared for Australia so they can't play for England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Flipper22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Is Toomua on the bench? I rate him higher than Giteau tbh. I'd have him right up there as one of the best 12s in the world tbh, classy playmaker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭Ceadog

Missing this due to work. Fuming :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Today, all eyes turn to Twickenham, can the Wallabies leave the English team as spectators in their own World Cup?

Great time for a match - lots of time to get home from the Leinster game, pack for tomorrow's trip to Stratford, and settle in. Bring it on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭OldRio

I've dodged babysitting, a 55th birthday party, an invite to dinner and a 'quiet night out with friends'

Day sorted. Tick
    Herself sorted. Tick
    Beers in fridge. Tick
    Phones off. To do
    Wine for meal. To do
    Nibbles. To do

THIS IS GOING TO BE EPIC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭QuinDixie

Fancy Australia for this one. The pressure on england is immense and the home advantage could act against them. not sure england have the big time players to handle this type of pressure.
    england can dominate at the set piece but the breakdown could make it along night for England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭misslt

Come on Australia. I live in England and have a bet on with my manager that Ireland will go further than England. Would really make my Monday better if I win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

Ceadog wrote: »
    Missing this due to work. Fuming :mad:

Working until 8 so will miss most first half till get home or elese mite just have to go to the pub round the corner from work :) hopefully the fecker taking over from me is early just once :)

Hope Australia kick them up and down the field

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭subfreq

Flipper22 wrote: »
    Stupid tweet from Marler

The replies are hilarious.

Pretty nervous about tonight.

Happy with the Aussie scum but think the line out can be attacked. We just have to sustain the barrage in the first 20/30 minutes when England invest the anger and emotion from last week. They could run away with the game in that period and if they do will settle into 10 man rugby and be hard to claw back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

c'mon england

I can't decide who to cheer for.

England go out and the remainder of that pool is less exciting. On the other hand if England go out the hysteria and drama from the English press will be mouth watering.

If England qualify to the knock outs they could win, and the hysteria and drama from the English press will be unbearable.

If England get knocked out tonight it robs us of the chance to do it in the semi, which would be a stick for us to long beat them with. However if we lost that game It would top losing to Wales in 2011.

So for me, I think as much as there are strong reasons for both options, I think I'd be overall happier if England get knocked out. I do think Australia are going to put on a show tonight, and it could see them move consummately into the favorites berth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Heading to the Sportsground for Cardiff match at 5, then into town to watch this. England in the last chance saloon, Australia gunning for top spot, hope it's a great game. Gonna be a great evening for drinking anyway! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Could see Australia win this. I lived in Sydney for 15 months from 99 -01 and from my relatively short time there I was always amazed at their "confidence" (arrogance?)

They will turn up anywhere and believe they will win...not be 80 or 90 percent sure, but 100%. They won't fear England or Twickenham or a baying crowd.

If hooper and pocock get a foothold or gain any dominance then England could be enjoying the rest of the tournament on television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,466 ✭✭✭kuang1

I can't decide who to cheer for.

England go out and the remainder of that pool is less exciting. On the other hand if England go out the hysteria and drama from the English press will be mouth watering.

If England qualify to the knock outs they could win, and the hysteria and drama from the English press will be unbearable.

If England get knocked out tonight it robs us of the chance to do it in the semi, which would be a stick for us to long beat them with. However if we lost that game It would top losing to Wales in 2011.

So for me, I think as much as there are strong reasons for both options, I think I'd be overall happier if England get knocked out. I do think Australia are going to put on a show tonight, and it could see them move consummately into the favorites berth.

Yeah agree with you except for the conclusion! I reckon it's a better competition with England in it. If all goes to plan, we'll sort them out in the semi.
    Wales might yet be the boys watching the QFs on tv!!!

kuang1 wrote: »
    Yeah agree with you except for the conclusion! I reckon it's a better competition with England in it. If all goes to plan, we'll sort them out in the semi.
    Wales might yet be the boyos watching the QFs on tv!!!

Fyp

ADVANCE AUSTRALIA FAIR!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

I'm going to the fanzone in Stratford for this with the lads on the soccer team straight after our own 3pm match. The last time I was at something similar was England V Uruguay in the soccer World Cup - that was a huge crowd full of awkward. I can sense an evening of excruciating tongue biting ahead :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

CQZD_CRWsAAPczw.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Don't believe this Australia side can be physically beaten up and thats always Englands gameplan against them imo. Pocock and Hooper have no one in opposition capable of curbing their influence. Everything points to the Aussies winning and winning well. Australia by 10. I'll be up for England though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,463 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

If Australia win tonight I think Wales will beat them and top the group. Meaning the qfs will be

South Africa (top Gp b) vs Australia (ru grp a)
    Wales vs Scotland /Japan

If we top grp d we will play Argentina in the qf and if we win that we will play the winners of the Wales qf in the semi finals.

Would not surprise me to see a Wales vs new Zealand final

Can't get Wales out of your head England? Australia will leave you Spinning Around when then hit you like a Locomotion if you don't Get out of my way! Hand on my heart, I hope Australia win, or could it be a case of Better the Devil you know for All The Lovers of 6 Nations Rugby? Owen Farrell I hope there are big hits Especially for You! Put your hand on your heart and tell me you don't agree, you can Confide in Me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭TheGoldenAges

PTH2009 wrote: »
    If Australia win tonight I think Wales will beat them and top the group. Meaning the qfs will be

South Africa (top Gp b) vs Australia (ru grp a)
    Wales vs Scotland /Japan

If we top grp d we will play Argentina in the qf and if we win that we will play the winners of the Wales qf in the semi finals.

Would not surprise me to see a Wales vs new Zealand final

I think your faith in Wales is misplaced, sure they won against England but they should have lost and were really unconvincing against Fiji. Can't see them beating Australia next week anyway, they've a horrible record against them in the past few years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

England are going to collapse tonight, its going to be an Aussie show with robshaw self imploding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Yodeling Snake

I hope England win. They've got to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭captbarnacles

Can't wait for this. Going to be amazing.

Should be a brilliant game.

England will either implode under the pressure or win emphatically

its all on a knife edge

I think Australia might do it, but it's really impossible to call - great night coming up.

Farrell to lose his rag and be sent off ?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Aussie Aussie Aussie...

Squeaky bum time ...

Keith Wood says Lancaster looks like he's ready to puke! :eek: