Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Honour killing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

There is absolutely no justification in Islam for "honour killing" of women or men.

Meanwhile in Holy Ireland the last Magdalen asylum didn't close until 1996.

People in glasshouses etc comes to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,585 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Chucken wrote: »
    There is absolutely no justification in Islam for "honour killing" of women or men.

Completely irrelevant.

kneemos wrote: »
    Completely irrelevant.

What is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭fed up sick and tired

Who is in the glasshouse ?

What is?

Why the Magdalen Laundry of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

daily fail ehhh got a real link ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Martial9

That is one hell of an attempt at deflecting from the topic of discussion. We know well that the magdalene laundries and abuse that was carried out in them was utterly evil. It has nothing to do with this murder, and that's what this was - murder.

I wish the media would drop the term 'honour killing'. There is absolutely no fecking 'honour' in murdering a girl in cold blood for behaving like a normal young girl. 'Honour', my foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Martial9

Martial9 wrote: »
    That is one hell of an attempt at deflecting from the topic of discussion. We know well that the magdalene laundries and abuse that was carried out in them was utterly evil. It has nothing to do with this murder, and that's what this was - murder.

I wish the media would drop the term 'honour killing'. There is absolutely no fecking 'honour' in murdering a girl in cold blood for behaving like a normal young girl. 'Honour', my foot.

If you read what I wrote..I agree totally.
    I wasn't deflecting.
    This is just another anti Islam rant. (OP)
    I was pointing out that we aren't in position to call out anyone considering what happened here in our not so distant past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭gobsh!te

I posted a link and did not give any opinion other than the obvious that I think the dead girl was integrating into western culture and her parents could not accept it.

Do you disagree with this?

FYI honour killings also take place in other religions.

What part of my post was anti Islam?

I wasn't deflecting.
    I was pointing out that we aren't in position to call out anyone considering what happened here in our not so distant past.

Course we can.Just like we condemned the Magdalen Laundries.
    Or is there a time limit when past atrocities become irrelevant. What about the civil war,we killed each other for sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

There are literally dozens of verses in the koran about killing the infidels, disbelievers, adulterers etc.

We might have had Magdalene asylum and a totally unhealthy relationship between church and state but we sure as shít weren't killing people.

gobsh!te wrote: »
    I posted a link and did not give any opinion other than the obvious that I think the dead girl was integrating into western culture and her parents could not accept it.

I'm not sure most sky wizard books condone honour killings seems to go with one kind of sky wizardry in recent times. Sky wizard books of the past may talk about it but rarely act on them.

There are literally dozens of verses in the koran about killing the infidels, disbelievers, adulterers etc.

We might have had Magdalene asylum and a totally unhealthy relationship between church and state but we sure as shít weren't killing people.

Yes the RCC was. Babies in septic tanks anyone ?

Considering this is a discussion forum..what did you want to discuss?

Have you read it?

REALLY?

I'm not sure most sky wizard books condone honour killings seems to go with one kind of sky wizardry in recent times. Sky wizard books of the past may talk about it but rarely act on them.

Have you heard of a religion called Hinduism? It's from a country called India. They have a large population.

So now we're talking about Hinduism?South Asia, most notably in India and Nepal. :confused:

If you are equating all honour killing with Islam then you are the one who has an issue.

It's really sickening actually. Islam is the religion of peace. There is no mention of honour killings in the Koran

If you are equating all honour killing with Islam then you are the one who has an issue.

It's really sickening actually. Islam is the religion of peace. There is no mention of honour killings in the Koran

Hence you posted the OP.

I'm out.

Quran (5:33) - "The punishment of those who wage war against Allah and His messenger and strive to make mischief in the land is only this, that they should be murdered or crucified or their hands and their feet should be cut off on opposite sides or they should be imprisoned; this shall be as a disgrace for them in this world, and in the hereafter they shall have a grievous chastisement"

Quran (8:12) - "I will cast terror into the hearts of those who disbelieve. Therefore strike off their heads and strike off every fingertip of them"

Quran (9:5) - "So when the sacred months have passed away, then slay the idolaters wherever you find them, and take them captive and besiege them and lie in wait for them in every ambush, then if they repent and keep up prayer and pay the poor-rate, leave their way free to them.

Need I go on?

This 'islam is the religion of peace' mantra really needs to stop. It's not, and never has been.

Quran (5:33) - "The punishment of those who wage war against Allah and His messenger and strive to make mischief in the land is only this, that they should be murdered or crucified or their hands and their feet should be cut off on opposite sides or they should be imprisoned; this shall be as a disgrace for them in this world, and in the hereafter they shall have a grievous chastisement"

Quran (8:12) - "I will cast terror into the hearts of those who disbelieve. Therefore strike off their heads and strike off every fingertip of them"

Quran (9:5) - "So when the sacred months have passed away, then slay the idolaters wherever you find them, and take them captive and besiege them and lie in wait for them in every ambush, then if they repent and keep up prayer and pay the poor-rate, leave their way free to them.

Need I go on?

This 'islam is the religion of peace' mantra really needs to stop. It's not, and never has been.

Find a few bits from the bible to match!

For the craic :)

There is just as much batshít crazy stuff in the bible but the reality is that no one really takes it seriously. Unfortunately to Muslims, the Koran represents the literal, unchanging word of god and they take it very seriously indeed.

1996 Ieland?

Why do you insist on qualifying everything with something else.
    Can you not just discuss the topic.

There is nothing in Islam about honour killings.

Islam is a religion of peace....David Cameron and Barack Obama say it all the time...actually all elected leaders do....Do you think they are stupid?

You're just a racist!

As for the bible, ok fair enough Islam did not go through the reformation and the separation of church and mosque....but Saudi Arabia has recently been elected to the UN human rights council. How they fcuk could that happen if Islam was not a religion of peace?

Europe today is full of intolerant racists.

The bible and the Koran are the exact same....that's why gay people in Ireland got treated the exact same as they do in Islamic countries as recent as 1996

Islamic violence has nothing to do with Islam...It's a fcukin religion of peace you idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Yeah , the bible is like the Koran OK....
    Matthews 5:44 " love your enemies, pray for those who persecute you"

"If anyone hits you on one cheek, turn the other one"
    " if anyone makes you walk one mile, walk another", this one in the context that a roman soldier could make someone walk a mile to carry their stuff by force, Jesus says don't resist, walk a second mile freely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

This moral whataboutery is tiresome and weak minded in the extreme. How does some past horrors perpetrated by a sinister cult when I was a child have any bearing on my understanding of the case at hand? If anything it puts this crime into sharper relief. The Magdalene crimes have been exposed, in some cases prosecuted and won't happen again. The barbaric bronze age antics of they type in the article continue to flourish. Whether you intend it or not, your response makes you an apologist for this stuff and your fear of criticising Muslims (not Islam) is actually immoral itself.

Two wrongs not making a right also comes to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,574 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Two wrongs not making a right also comes to mind.

Think that one is the bible as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Think that one is the bible as well.

Its not actually, but the general principle is :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭QuinDixie

I wasn't deflecting.

but that is what u are doing, calling us out for being a nation of child and woman haters because a post was started regarding honour killings.
    Which do you hate more racism or Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

And your point? Both the laundries and honour killings were/are horrible heinous crimes. Are we not allowed to point out that honour killings are horrible just because the magdalene laundries occurred here? can we not think two things are wrong at the same time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭TheNobleKipper

True, the OT is full of the same sh1t, but the difference is that nobody in their right mind still uses it as a justification for killing their own children.
    I agree btw that this has nothing to do with Islam or the Quran in the first place, but culture. These people would use the bible in the same way if they didn't have the quran just to justify their backwards mentality....

Personally I'd just appreciate if they just packed their bags and went back to their home countries once they realise that the western life style is just not for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭diddley

I'm terrified of an ideology that will make a person kill their own flesh and blood.... And this isn't the first time and won't be the last

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Personally I'd just appreciate if they just packed their bags and went back to their home countries once they realise that the western life style is just not for them.

But that's not a problem, for we in the West are going to bend over backwards to accommodate their beliefs, practises and culture under the guise of tolerance and understanding.

The fact that this ideology is wholly incompatible with our existing society is irrelevant - as the Borg put it "your culture will adapt to service us".
    The consequences of this are of course plain to see all over central/eastern Europe at the moment (or even just across the water in the UK), but wait.. that's just xenophobic racism.. silly me! :rolleyes:

Of course by the time we realise (maybe 10-15 years from now if the current situation continues) that maybe it wasn't such a good thing after all, it'll be too late!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭TheNobleKipper

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    But that's not a problem, for we in the West are going to bend over backwards to accommodate their beliefs, practises and culture under the guise of tolerance and understanding.

The fact that this ideology is wholly incompatible with our existing society is irrelevant - as the Borg put it "your culture will adapt to service us".
    The consequences of this are of course plain to see all over central/eastern Europe at the moment (or even just across the water in the UK), but wait.. that's just xenophobic racism.. silly me! :rolleyes:

Of course by the time we realise (maybe 10-15 years from now if the current situation continues) that maybe it wasn't such a good thing after all, it'll be too late!

It already is too late in many places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

Ooh, ooh, I'm late for this but:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

glasshouses are never okay, even if you have a machine gun on top

True, the OT is full of the same sh1t, but the difference is that nobody in their right mind still uses it as a justification for killing their own children.
    I agree btw that this has nothing to do with Islam or the Quran in the first place, but culture. These people would use the bible in the same way if they didn't have the quran just to justify their backwards mentality....

What is it that bothers you about the original post which was more or less just a link?

I did not mention Islam.....Honour killings also take place in other religions as I have said. I'm not a fan of Islam or honour killings.

So how am I full of sh!t?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

You're wasting your time Chucken. The site has become infested with professional sectarian bigots, they have the Politics Cafe ruined already. You're only annoying yourself getting embroiled in their hate filled agendas, best let them at it and hope boards.ie shut them down themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

You're wasting your time Chucken. The site has become infested with professional sectarian bigots, they have the Politics Cafe ruined already. You're only annoying yourself getting embroiled in their hate filled agendas, best let them at it and hope boards.ie shut them down themselves.

So we can't condemn the honour killings as Ireland had these laundries 20 years ago?

Sweet jaysus, I really hope some of ye are pulling the p1ss sometimes.

So we can't condemn the honour killings as Ireland had these laundries 20 years ago?

Sweet jaysus, I really hope some of ye are pulling the p1ss sometimes.

I was referring to her first sentence and you well know it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I wasn't deflecting.

Bullshít.
    You are always perfectly entitled to condemn the strangling of a young girl - no matter what is lurking in your own personal not too distant past, never mind your countries or your religions.

There's was nothing sectarian about it.He was constantly equating Irish atrocities with Islamic ones,as if they were somehow related or we couldn't condemn both.
    All it was is annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

Well that's it. I'm never complaining about anything ever again because I once left the toilet seat up. I'm in no position to judge anybody on anything for ever and ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭fed up sick and tired

Very revealing, and explains a lot about the tactics of your likes over there.

How easy it is to call people racist, sectarian, bigoted. To shout down anyone who doesn't buy into your agenda unquestioningly, and wish for them to be silenced.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

Muslim father strangled daughter, 19, to death in 'honour killing' after she was caught stealing condoms for sex with her forbidden boyfriend in Germany

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3251787/Muslim-father-strangled-daughter-19-death-honour-killing-caught-stealing-condoms-sex-forbidden-boyfriend-Germany.html

Looks like the young woman was integrating into western society but her Dad would not let her leave her barbaric culture in the past

Ah, more shitstirring from you, gobsh!te.

Very revealing, and explains a lot about the tactics of your likes over there.

How easy it is to call people racist, sectarian, bigoted. To shout down anyone who doesn't buy into your agenda unquestioningly, and wish for them to be silenced.

No agenda here, I just call it as I see it, and believe me there's a lot of posters here that really need to take a good long hard look at themselves, and I have no wish to see a good poster get annoyed about it. :)

*looks forward to being called a pinko leftie liberal* :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

kneemos wrote: »
    Completely irrelevant.
    Not entirely. The Magdalene laundries are an example of how we rationalized, not so long ago, practices that we now find utterly abhorant, only a few decades ago (although that the last one closed in 1996 is misleading as such practices had ended decades before).

In other European countries, 'honour' killings were legislated for as a separate and more leniently treated form of homicide, as late as 1975 (France) or 1981 (Italy) - indeed, in the latter it was central to the plot of the classic Mastroianni movie Divorce Italian Style. What it demonstrates is that cultures do change.

That such crimes still occur in immigrant families, who have lived in the West for decades, is the failure to integrate the first generation (and sometimes the second). Why integration has failed, is probably the more pertinent discussion.