Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bird strike on a motorway - swan through the windscreen

• 29-09-2015 11:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭

Normally only a concern for the aviation sector... a swan smashed through a womans windscreen on a motorway in Cork.

That's some collision... it buckled the roof.
    I'm surprised and quite impressed that the windscreen held in practically one piece while the aluminium roof got crushed like a coke can.

(Warning: News link shows graphic photos of the unfortunate swan )

News Link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

**** me, the glass did well to remain intact, just about the worst thing I could imagine is something arriving through the windscreen and ending up in the cabin a mess of blood and wings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭moleyv

Imagine being the one taking the initial call to insurance company

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

google moose car accident photos. With their long legs and huge body mass, they are at the right height to pass over the bonnet and come through the windscreen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,186 ✭✭✭cletus

Fair play to the driver. That could easily have turned into a huge incident, especially at motorway speeds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭lameusername

Poor woman. I've hit a pigeon at 120 bleary eyed in the morning. Terrifying bang, wasn't sure what it was. Imagine a swan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Is that roof repairable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

"Swan Brake" ... oh dear.

And it got worse!
    Indo wrote:
    The skilled driver kept her cool while in the fast lane on the busy motorway

Nooooooooooo!

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Tabnabs wrote: »
    google moose car accident photos. With their long legs and huge body mass, they are at the right height to pass over the bonnet and come through the windscreen.
    Deer, cattle and horses are the same here though.
    Its definitely not something you'd like to see on the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭dandyelevan

Is that roof repairable?

Probably, but it would still lake...

(I'll just get my coat)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Is that roof repairable?

I think any roof damage over the size of your fist is an automatic write off, but I may be wrong.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

A friend of mine hit a cow a few years back around 80kph in a brand new A4, he had just picked it up on the 1st of Jan, he was heading home after work on friday (dublin to rural mayo) so got to his house around 11 ish, the road leading up the house theres a long bend, cow was just stranding there, he was ok, car was totalled.

Cow walked back into the field it came from and died

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

A friend of mine hit a cow a few years back around 80kph in a brand new A4, he had just picked it up on the 1st of Jan, he was heading home after work on friday (dublin to rural mayo) so got to his house around 11 ish, the road leading up the house theres a long bend, cow was just stranding there, he was ok, car was totalled.

Hope he got a few steaks out of it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,346 ✭✭✭hans aus dtschl

Lol at "motorway".
    As if there'd be a motorway between our country's second and third biggest population centres!
    (no fault on you OP, I'm in a pedantic mood!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

dar83 wrote: »
    Nooooooooooo!
    :P
    The rather quaintly named "Cork-Limerick road" is the N20, so not a motorway either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Yawlboy

Just saw this image.jpg

I hadn't realised how much damage a swan could do to a car.

More info here:-

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/swan-meets-fowl-end-after-collision-with-windscreen-1.2371139

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Already done.

Off to the swan on augnier st to drown your sorrows on what you have done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Yawlboy

Already done.

Off to the swan on augnier st to drown your sorrows on what you have done

Did check for a thread on this before I posted but I missed it. Doh!
    :(

Jeez, I'd say that swan's goose is cooked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

moleyv wrote: »
    Imagine being the one taking the initial call to insurance company

Hopefully the Swan had insurance.

Swan (upon seeing himself yesterday morning in a pool of (Irish) water...'Gee, I AM a Swan......Wheeeeeeeeeee......(sound of a nasty crash, glass breaking....then silence)

Unhappy motorist to Insurance Agent...'Hey... an effin' Swan just dived through my windscreen on the motorway....'

Disinterested Insurance Agent...'A Swan you say ?.........'Ahhhhhh go onnnnn..........

(apologies to all those easily offended and to deceased Swans and their relatives everywhere)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

I wonder can she sue the dept of wildlife and forestry or whatever they're called for the damage their swan did.
    Or , as its protected, can she be sued for killing it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

Jeeeesus! Look at the state of the windshield and the roof, and she didn't even crash! Some bawls of steel she has!

There's no hope the eejits behind her were maintaining the stopping distance anyway, so she was damn right not to brake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

...probably from the shock of the repair bill.......

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭dashcamdanny

Some eating in that yoke!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Alun wrote: »
    The rather quaintly named "Cork-Limerick road" is the N20, so not a motorway either.

Some of it is. Not here mind...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭TheBigGreen

Poor A4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Hopefully the Swan had insurance.

Yep, its4women.ie... they insure birds.

**** me, the glass did well to remain intact, just about the worst thing I could imagine is something arriving through the windscreen and ending up in the cabin a mess of blood and wings.

According to the article the glass didn't remain intact...."The swan was killed instantly but the force of the impact drove the bird through the windscreen, knocking off Mary's rear view mirror with the animal left lying wedged on top of the steering column."

Of course, it didn't shatter into pieces, by design.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Golfgorfield

Yawlboy wrote: »
    Just saw this image.jpg

I hadn't realised how much damage a swan could do to a car.

More info here:-

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/swan-meets-fowl-end-after-collision-with-windscreen-1.2371139

Thats a big Quack in that windscreen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

RIP to the unfortunate swan :(