Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

• 29-09-2015 12:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,458 ✭✭✭✭

do you believe in it ??

do bad things happen to people who did bad

My ex was terrible to me and since we broke up they got a promotion, new house, new partner, tons of money

for me i lost 5 important people in my life through illness, suffered depression, slight alcholism, lost friends for no reason, spent money on crap stuff.

its hard coping that theres people who hate me out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,455 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

No.

If you have to believe in karma to do good things, then that's a fairly ****ty reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Brian from Bray

No, I don't believe in Karma. The way it is OP, some people just catch all the breaks in life while others don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,458 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

No, I don't believe in Karma. The way it is OP, some people just catch all the breaks in life while others don't.
    sure didnt someone who commit serious crimes play on a national television quiz show. Scum winning the lotto etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

PTH2009 wrote: »
    sure didnt someone who commit serious crimes play on a national television quiz show. Scum winning the lotto etc

His cousin was shot dead in Spain a week later. That's karma, if anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

My name is Earl and yes I do believe in Karma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭johnny osbourne

whats happening in germany at the moment could be Karma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,455 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Omackeral wrote: »

No, just coincidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Brian from Bray

Omackeral wrote: »

He escaped death a few times that same man. But it's hardly surprising the life he lead, it was going to catch up with him sooner or later and it finally did..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Mother Brain

To believe in karma you'd have to believe that that drowned Syrian child was evil in a previous life, that his and indeed your own suffering is something that you deserve due to past transgressions. That the more you suffer in this life, the more wrong doing you did in the last. I can't believe that I'm afraid. It feels to me like the eastern equivalent of catholic guilt if anything. "You all must suffer because adam and eve caused original sin!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭LaVail

Whatever about karma. There will always be people out there who hate you no matter what you do. The question is why do you care about what they think of you?. I used to be that way, if 99 people loved me but one hoor didn't i'd end up focusing on that cnut. You can't please all of the people all of the time.

Sorry for focusing on the end of what you wrote but it's the only part I thought I could reply to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,458 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

yer man that killed that poor student from cork in scotland will probly find someone to marry (probly some sick minded women via prison letter thing) and live a good enough life when he gets out even probly change his name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

do you believe in it ??

My ex was terrible to me and since we broke up they got a promotion, new house, new partner, tons of money

for me i lost 5 important people in my life through illness, suffered depression, slight alcholism, lost friends for no reason, spent money on crap stuff.

Instead of focusing on how great you see the lives of people around you, focus on turning your own life around. You didn't lose friends for 'no reason', in just the same way as your ex didn't just 'get' a promotion, new house, new partner and tons of money.

Can you honestly tell anyone OP you can't see the connection that you're putting down to some 'karma' bollocks, as if you had no hand in it yourself? You absolutely did have a hand in it, and you still do.

As for people that hate you, well, it took me long enough to learn this, but once I learned that only I have the power to judge myself, I became immune to the judgment of others. People could say what they liked, and tell me that I treated them terribly while I got all this 'stuff', like it just fell into my lap and I should feel guilty for having it now and they don't?

Let them hate me all they want, but their resentment and bitterness is only holding themselves back, it's not taking anything away from me at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

karma's a bitch.

OP believe in yourself and keep positive.

do you believe in it ??

No.

Yes. But in equal proportions to those who did not.

Stop brooding about your ex. Let it go.

Think about the depression and drinking issues you mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

Karma isn't real BUT if you live your life as if it is real then you (you in general not specifically) will be less of a dick in general. 1 less dick in the world is a win. My own personal battle with karma leads me to have dick months and non dick months so I'm basically negating myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Xenophile

do you believe in it ??

It is hard if not impossible to discuss "Karma" outside the concept of more than one life, in other words "Reincarnation".

A famous quote from the New Testament is....................."As you sow so also shall you reap"

Maybe if you asked to have this topic moved to "Spirituality" you would get a better and a more insightful response!

In the mean time I wish you peace!

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

To believe in karma you'd have to believe that that drowned Syrian child was evil in a previous life, that his and indeed your own suffering is something that you deserve due to past transgressions. That the more you suffer in this life, the more wrong doing you did in the last. I can't believe that I'm afraid. It feels to me like the eastern equivalent of catholic guilt if anything. "You all must suffer because adam and eve caused original sin!"

Also all the little things that fcuk up daily. Everytime you bite your cheek - its because you mistook it for a piece of pork not because of some cosmic orchestration.

I explain it to my hens. There is no mystery of life. You eat. You lay eggs. Next day you're someone's rogan josh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭OneOfThem

There's no pixie fairy dust magic force ensuring good people have good things happen to them, or bad people bad.

But in general, go round being a cvnt and no one will give a sh1t about you, which is hugely disadvantageous 99.9% of the time.

Be sound, and people will think "Oh Jimmy? Yeah Jimmy's sound." And they'll be sound to you. Which is quite advantageous 99.9% of the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Ignatius in bloom

If Karma exists a lot of people in after-hours are f*cked! :pac:

Feck karma. I'm thanking ATMs, toasters, and self checkouts in preparation for when a sentient AI takes over and they remember just how good I was to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

I don't believe in it.

If people worried more about themselves than they did about other people life would be better all round.

You have to move on, be the better you, put your energy into making sure you are ok, other people, especially people not in your life now should not matter,

There are too many curtain twitchers in this world,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Mother Brain

lazeedaisy wrote: »
    I don't believe in it.

If people worried more about themselves than they did about other people life would be better all round.

You have to move on, be the better you, put your energy into making sure you are ok, other people, especially people not in your life now should not matter,

There are too many curtain twitchers in this world,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

i believe in karma , i believe that people who are good and good to others are happier in their lives.
    Badness and negativity breeds further negativity.

Somebody may appear to get away with it but you have no idea what their lives are like.

me ex is a horrible cnut , she has spent years telling lies about me and other friends she has fallen out with. real whoppers. I was a wife beater etc...shouted from the rooftops.

She tried on more than one occasion to take my kid from me .
    She has gotten away with it scot free (bar a "don't do it again " from the judge after she took my kid for 3 months off me :rolleyes:) but I know she is angry. Angry all the time and that her insecurity eats at her.

no matter how successful and well off she may be or will be , she isn't enjoying it because of her negative buzz with life and others. She is angry 24/7. I know this cos I've to deal with her still as my kid is 16.

I have no bad buzz in my life and I enjoy my life and I feel good about me.

that's the victory.

reminds me of bobby sands quote "our victory with be the laughter of our children".It's not about material stuff it's about happiness.
    Bad vibes brings unhappiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

There's no magic behind the concept of 'What goes around comes around"

If you spend your life being a violent thug, you're much more likely to attract the attention of other violent thugs in one form or another

If you just try to live a quiet peaceful life you'll be more likely to be left alone

Of course none of this prevents the random element of 'Sh1t happens'. People can't control most of what goes on around them. If you are a nice, well respected person, you're more likely to be helped in times of need, but it won't always prevent you from needing help.