Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good ideas for a date?

• 24-09-2015 9:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭

I'm thinking of taking a girl on a hike with a local club! The girl in mind if outdoorsy. The thing is, there'll be a bus ride, which I think would be good for small talk, then the hike. When we reach the point it'll be great views of the sea, and there's a place where you can have a little picnic overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Then on the way back there's a nice, traditional pub where we can have a nice pint! The girl I want to ask is somewhat a friend, so we talk easily and I know she likes hikes! So with all this in minsd, do you think it's good or should I keep it simple like a quaint cafe? Any other ideas would be appreciated!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

With a club?

It's not exactly a date if you have her tagging along with a load of other people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Brian from Bray

Bring her to the pub for a few scoops and perhaps treat her to a curry after and then head home for some bumming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Just don't bring a shovel, or pack some rope and lime in your backpack, so the girl doesn't get the wrong idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Why not just do it together, without the club?

Also, if you're still friends with her it's not really a date unless you've signalled it is to her.
    Otherwise it's just two friends doing a normal friend thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Make sure you're prepared!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭jacknuig

Why not just do it together, without the club?

Also, if you're still friends with her it's not really a date unless you've signalled it is to her.
    Otherwise it's just two friends doing a normal friend thing.

I see what you mean, but we're both 19 in college, so we don't have our own transport! I say friends, I'm friends with her best friend. I only met her two weeks ago! And I plan on making it clear it's a date!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

jacknuig wrote: »
    I'm thinking of taking a girl on a hike with a local club! The girl in mind if outdoorsy. The thing is, there'll be a bus ride, which I think would be good for small talk, then the hike. When we reach the point it'll be great views of the sea, and there's a place where you can have a little picnic overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Then on the way back there's a nice, traditional pub where we can have a nice pint! The girl I want to ask is somewhat a friend, so we talk easily and I know she likes hikes! So with all this in minsd, do you think it's good or should I keep it simple like a quaint cafe? Any other ideas would be appreciated!!
    Dollymount beach it is so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

Yep, a hike will work. Did it myself with my now wife. Just dont go too remote and spook her. Howth have a few hidden trails that have a reasonable footfall if you in the Dublin region. Also the hike up to the top of Powerscourt waterfall from Crone woods carpark is fab as an idea.

Jazz it up with wading in a stream, hiking boots and all. Not exactly a drug fueled partyfest but its a small laugh to make the day a bit more interesting.

Just dont push her in. Thats probably a deal breaker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

Good ideas? Always bang on the first date. The relationship won't be honest otherwise. You know you want to like so why pussyfoot around.

I see what you mean, but we're both 19 in college, so we don't have our own transport! I say friends, I'm friends with her best friend. I only met her two weeks ago! And I plan on making it clear it's a date!

I don't think it'd work making a date out of the hike. You won't be able to get to chat to each other properly.
    I'd suggest going together and just acting normally, and at a slightly later time invite her for coffee or a casual drink between the two of you.
    Or just forget the hike and go straight for the date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

OMG I just realised all those times that it was suggested I take a hike, I probably took the wrong meaning from it altogether completely. :o

Andrewf20 wrote: »
    Yep, a hike will work. Did it myself with my now wife. Just dont go too remote and spook her. Howth have a few hidden trails that have a reasonable footfall if you in the Dublin region. Also the hike up to the top of Powerscourt waterfall from Crone woods carpark is fab as an idea.

Jazz it up with wading in a stream, hiking boots and all. Not exactly a drug fueled partyfest but its a small laugh to make the day a bit more interesting.

Thanks! I'd just like to say I'm from Galway! I've been on Hikes before, and I find it easy to keep the conversation flowing so hopefully if I do go it won't be boring! If anyone has any alternative date ideas I'll be happy to hear by the way!

Split a spicy chicken roll in G&L?

I'd also jusg like to say I haven't asked the girl yet, so ghe hike hasn't been seg in stone! I want to make it clear I like her so any mature date ideas would be good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

^^^ That was bloody brilliant! Thanks for sharing that :)

Don't over-think it! You have the plan for a lovely idea there with the hike, especially when she is outdoorsy. You could suggest both and see which she would prefer though, maybe she might have another idea.

Hope it goes well for you,
    kerry4sam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Dave0301

Bring her out for a few drinks - if you click you click, if you don't you can make your excuses.

Bit difficult to get out of a hike if there are awkward silences.

Besides, the alcohol will act as a social lubricate :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

Thanks! I'd just like to say I'm from Galway! I've been on Hikes before, and I find it easy to keep the conversation flowing so hopefully if I do go it won't be boring! If anyone has any alternative date ideas I'll be happy to hear by the way!

No bother. Hikes work on dates I find. Less awkward that staring across a table in the pub / bar. Also, it shows that you have the confidence to do someting that doesnt revolve around drink and needing dutch courage.

Other ideas, just thinking out loud - 5km run / mud run if one on etc. Rent bikes in Galway town & do 10kms out along the coast. Rent mountain bikes and to some easy trail around the 12 pins. Indoor climbing walls etc etc. Drive down to Lahinch to try air guitar on a surf board...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Pink Lemons

Make sure it's not a well known dogging spot you go hiking, unless that's what she's into then go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Bring the club, you don't want her getting out of order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Bring her to the pub for a few scoops and perhaps treat her to a curry after and then head home for some bumming.

Curry and bumming, now there's a combination...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

I'd also jusg like to say I haven't asked the girl yet, so ghe hike hasn't been seg in stone! I want to make it clear I like her so any mature date ideas would be good!

Whatever you do, don't text her. Not because a real man asks a lady out in person but because she won't have a clue what your text means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Curry and bumming, now there's a combination...
    Especially if shes had a vindaloo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Does she know it's a date?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Crazy golf and maybe drink and/or food? Crazy golf is savage craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Invite her to dinner to meet all your 'friends' who happen to be mannequins. Be deadly serious when you introduce her to each mannequin by its first name and proceed to serve dinner and drinks while sharing anecdotal memories with your plastic chums.

Chicks love that shit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Fran1985

Dave0301 wrote: »
    Bring her out for a few drinks - if you click you click, if you don't you can make your excuses.

Bit difficult to get out of a hike if there are awkward silences.

Besides, the alcohol will act as a social lubricate :pac:

This.

Get to know each other with a few beers. Nice and relaxed. Hike is more of a second or third date. May i suggest crazy golf too. Its Good fun. Let her win of course. I Used this in a single life to seal the deal on a few occasions. 100% record too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭danger mouse

Hike is a good idea for a date but like others have said make sure you have your exit plan. If its a bit dull and awkward ya gotta get out quick and you can't if you're 1.5 hours into a 5 hour hike with a bus ride home too. Maybe stick to a small hike and just spend a couple of hours together for the first date...Leave her wanting more. It takes the pressure off for her too, if she knows its not going to go on all day. Girls can really dread the fact of a long first date with someone they hardly know. Defo be cool and casual. Dont bring a girl for drinks for a first date its a terrible idea and you won't be getting off to a good start if you want to make a good first impression.

Actually you know whats a great first date. That ghost bus that goes around Dublin is really fun and its something different too. You get to have a laugh and its in a chill environment too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Used to love hiking. Nothing like walking in the woods while you play with your woggle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

Reiver wrote: »

I haven't asked her yet.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I haven't asked her yet.

smooth :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Netflix and chill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

Don't go drinking your own piss now if you both encounter some trouble in the wilderness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

I haven't asked her yet.

No worries man, good luck with it and let us know how it goes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

My Bro has scaldy mother****er on his Facebook, that he was not even friends when we were growing up. Anyway this guy thinks a Romantic date with his GF is KFC and a movie. In his eyes its a "real romantic evening they just had".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

By your username and fact you mentioned Atlantic I presume you are in Galway and heading out to Connemara.
    I have only heard people who have already dated going hiking.

Long bus ride could get awkward.
    She might like the odd walk but not a long hike in bad weather which it could turn into quick enough.

Why not take her for coffee and stroll.
    Andrewf20 wrote: »

You'd want to have great eyesight to see the Atlantic from Howth or Crone Wood. :D

And no need to go wading to get wet if he is in the West.
    Wait a few minutes for the next shower.
    Wading in a stream in the likes of Connemara this time of year will give you pneumonia.
    Besides she might think you are a fecking gobsyte like Bear Gryllis.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

Two bottles of vodka and a bouncy castle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

So with all this in minsd, do you think it's good or should I keep it simple like a quaint cafe? Any other ideas would be appreciated!!
    On a 3rd or 4th date, maybe. Otherwise it's a first date with no means of escape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

For a first date I find that traditional coffee/lunch/drink works best.
    Maybe ask her what she would like to do?

As a lady person with lady person parts and a lady person brain, I love the idea of a hike for a first date. Much more to chat about than if you're sitting in a coffee shop having a "chat" and room for silences that aren't awkward.

Other lady people with lady parts and lady brains may not agree though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,763 ✭✭✭Knine

As a lady person with lady person parts and a lady person brain, I love the idea of a hike for a first date. Much more to chat about than if you're sitting in a coffee shop having a "chat" and room for silences that aren't awkward.

I would love it too. I'm still waiting on himself to take me hiking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Is there not a whole personal safety element to this though as you should only meet people you don't know/dates in public places (I'm overly cautious about this)

Like it doesn't seem a great idea to be heading off hiking with a stranger :eek:

Only one thing would make this worse is if he/she turns up with a shovel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Bowling is another that's always a bit of craic. I suppose if you have an idea of what your date is into/not into its easier to decide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 lainey_ie

Girls like to know what they're doing on a date the outfit is important:)heels on a hike wouldn't lead to a 2nd date let's say:)its a great date idea best of luck with it let us know how it goes:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭massdebater

Dont bring a girl for drinks for a first date its a terrible idea and you won't be getting off to a good start if you want to make a good first impression

What? Drinks is a fairly normal first date I thought? Relax with a few drinks, have the craic and shift the face off them at the end of the night. Have I been doing it wrong all along? Genuinely interested in why you think it's a crap idea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Ignatius in bloom

As a man with manly parts i agree. And so do my manly parts, they said so.

Hiking is a great idea.

Do something nice picnic wise.

Some nice food

nice coffee or tea

a little flask of whiskey to heat up the soul

a nice blanket to sit on, things like that.

Is there not a whole personal safety element to this though as you should only meet people you don't know/dates in public places (I'm overly cautious about this)

Like it doesn't seem a great idea to be heading off hiking with a stranger :eek:

Only one thing would make this worse is if he/she turns up with a shovel

Jeeze!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Diamond Doll

I once went on a first date with a guy I'd never met before for a drive in his car up into the Wicklow mountains late at night! :D

He didn't even murder me once. And we did end up going out for a few weeks after that.

Maybe I'm a tad too trusting though ...

I once went on a first date with a guy I'd never met before for a drive in his car up into the Wicklow mountains late at night! :D

He didn't even murder me once. And we did end up going out for a few weeks after that.

Maybe I'm a tad too trusting though ...

The cheek of him! Maybe next time, Soz!