Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ticket touts

• 24-09-2015 7:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,458 ✭✭✭✭

What's your opinion on them

Scum or someone just wanting to make an honest profit ??

They have good life's though travelling to major events all over the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

PTH2009 wrote: »

Well, travelling to outside major events all over the world.

(Do they usually attend the event themselves?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,005 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

I've used them, although with the advent of adverts and toutless etc I'm shocked they still have a market. It's always the same couple of lads as well outside the venues, and I very rarely see them sell a ticket so you have to wonder if they actually make money on most gigs or do they just clean up once or twice a year.

I'd love to know their system so I could guarantee myself tickets to events.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Brian from Bray

Bunch of wankstains tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Helped me out a few times when gigs were sold out and never paid over the face.

Think the hatred of them is disproportionate to what they do.

They're just stockbrokers in shell suits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

A shower worse than the black n tans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Absolute bastards imo. I do like seeing them panic selling outside a venue though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭The Dogs Bollix

An honest profit ?

That's not an honest profit. Its robbing people.

An honest profit ?

It's just supply and demand.
    Why does this seem only to apply to touts and no other area of buying and selling?
    I genuinely don't get the hatred of touts.
    I've seen people roaring at touts that only offered them a score for a spare ticket they wanted to shift minutes before a gig is to start.
    What do they expect. The tout is taking the risk of being left with the damn thing. Stay outside and flog it yourself if it's so easy.

An honest profit ?

It's not robbery though, opportunistic maybe but nobody is being forced to pay their prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

An honest profit ?

How?

They name thier price.
    The people choose the pay said price.

If you can't afford or dont want to spend the amount they want then dont buy it.

"robbery" it doesnt mean what you think it means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,799 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

Never got the hate for touts

They buy something at a certain price, and try to sell it on for a higher price

If there's demand for the tickets, they will sell

If touts are evil then so is every other business there has ever been

I've a lot less time for ticketmaster, even if you get a ticket there's usually a 15-20% add on in "charges" and if you don't there's always somehow tickets on their sister sites.

At least touts tell you the price before they **** you.

How?

They name thier price.
    The people choose the pay said price.

If you can't afford or dont want to spend the amount they want then dont buy it.

"robbery" it doesnt mean what you think it means.

A few people asked me how its robbery.

The artists and ticketmaster sets their price. End of. They shouldn't be buying tickets if they aren't going to a gig. Stopping fabs the chance of getting tickets and forcing them to rely on touts. That is robbery.

The price is set once. You know how much to pay once the gig is announced. But once touts get their hands on tickets. Its ridiculous. We don't need touts to sort out the supply and demand.

It should be made illegal.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    I've a lot less time for ticketmaster, even if you get a ticket there's usually a 15-20% add on in "charges" and if you don't there's always somehow tickets on their sister sites.

At least touts tell you the price before they **** you.

Spot on and it amazes me that they go to so much trouble to try and block touts buying tickets (only 2 tickets per card, blocking groups of three or more sitting together etc) and yet they have their very own Tout site with Seatwave.ie. Currently the only place that you can buy "sold out" U2 tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

The artists and ticketmaster sets their price. End of. They shouldn't be buying tickets if they aren't going to a gig. Stopping fabs the chance of getting tickets and forcing them to rely on touts. That is robbery.

The price is set once. You know how much to pay once the gig is announced. But once touts get their hands on tickets. Its ridiculous. We don't need touts to sort out the supply and demand.

How are they "forced to rely on touts"? If they dont get a legitimate one why are they "forced"? No one puts a gun to their head. They go to the touts knowing full well they will have to spend more. If people are daft enough to overspend thats on them. Cant blame the tout for people wanting to overspend.

Spot on and it amazes me that they go to so much trouble to try and block touts buying tickets (only 2 tickets per card, blocking groups of three or more sitting together etc) and yet they have their very own Tout site with Seatwave.ie. Currently the only place that you can buy "sold out" U2 tickets.

Is there anything wrong with a group of friends being broken up. In two's.

How are they "forced to rely on touts"? If they dont get a legitimate one why are they "forced"? No one puts a gun to their head. They go to the touts knowing full well they will have to spend more. If people are daft enough to overspend thats on them. Cant blame the tout for people wanting to overspend.

Keep the touts out and let them get a legitimate ticket. How can they when they're all snapped up by touts. Or they miss the gig. Thats not fair on the fans.

Still not robbery.

Keep the touts out and let them get a legitimate ticket. How can they when they're all snapped up by touts. Or they miss the gig. Thats not fair on the fans.

And what if touts were eliminated? Popular gigs would still sell out in a heartbeat and some fans would still be left disappointed.

Unfortunately, life's not fair.

Yes. Lots.

It's called cutting off your nose to spite your face. Throwing the baby out with the bath water. It's overkill to only allow people to buy two tickets. People should be able to sit together with their friends and family if that's how they wish to spend their money. What a nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Rubbish. It's the purest form of capitalism, supply and demand, and the price is set by the market.

People are happy enough to buy or sell a house or a car above the odds if they really want it and supply is short, but when it happens with tickets people go nuts for some reason.

I'd actually rather pay a tout than the official gouging that Ticketmaster engage in with Seatwave and the likes, no contest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Ticket touts provide a valuable service, correcting the imbalance between ticket prices, those who have the tickets, and those who want tickets.
    Have relied on them many times - and grateful that I saw some good games, that I woundnt have otherwise, without the market lubricating efforts of the tout system.
    Heros to many of us I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭rogieop

Travel agents are the worst ticket touts...

Baffles me how some can sell "full packages" including match ticket/fight ticket etc to certain events.

go and do the math, price the flight/hotel and take that away from the total and they are usually charging double/treble the ticket price.

Not only that they are buying in bulk and therefore leaving the regular fan with very little options....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

You mean the same group of touts are doing this at every major event?

Turtyturd wrote: »
    You mean the same group of touts are doing this at every major event?

The lad with the crutch at the 3 arena - international jetsetter and business mogul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,458 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

A lot of people were stung by touts with the Brooks thing in 2014.

Surly the gardai Know who they are

I wonder where does the money they get go ??. Drugs. I sold a ticket to a tout because I was on my own and had spares I got like 25 Euro for 2 tickets which cost me 75 each. Unless it's a huge event they won't offer you face value to buy ur spares and there unfriendly too

I sold a ticket to a tout because I was on my own and had spares I got like 25 Euro for 2 tickets which cost me 75 each. Unless it's a huge event they won't offer you face value to buy ur spares and there unfriendly too

Why would they offer you more?
    They'd be lucky to get face themselves sure.
    They may even get nothing and be left with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

rogieop wrote: »
    Travel agents are the worst ticket touts...

Baffles me how some can sell "full packages" including match ticket/fight ticket etc to certain events.

go and do the math, price the flight/hotel and take that away from the total and they are usually charging double/treble the ticket price.

Not only that they are buying in bulk and therefore leaving the regular fan with very little options....

I am shocked by the prices that people pay to go and watch football matches in England. Always wondered how these agents manage to source match tickets.

RoI away games are just as bad now. If you want to guarantee yourself a ticket in the away end, you need to pay well over the odds with the official travel agent for the FAI. Otherwise, you have to wait until a few weeks before the game to find out if you are getting a ticket for the game or not. Two nights in Poland for the game in October is over €500 per person sharing.

Have no time for street touts and I have no sympathy for people who get stung by them with dud tickets either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

hynesie08 wrote: »
    The lad with the crutch at the 3 arena - international jetsetter and business mogul.

What happens if there are two events on at different venues the same night?

Time Zones?

The Santa effect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭DivingDuck

The reason touts get a bad rep compared to other forms of sellers is because their business model creates demand rather than simply supplying pre-existing demand like other forms of sellers.

If Argos buys a TV from a factory in China for €100 and sells it to me for €300, that's a lot easier to swallow than a tout buying a ticket for a hundred and selling it for three times that, because with the TV example, I was never in a position to go to the factory and buy directly from the Chinese. Argos buying fifty TVs did not deprive fifty people of the opportunity to buy a TV for €100, as that option was never on the table.

Touts operate a different model. They are buying not from a wholesaler but from a retailer, and they are depriving fifty people of the opportunity to have a ticket for €100, since if those fifty tickets had not been bought by the tout, they'd have been available to fifty consumers for €100, not €300.

How much this inflates demand is debatable, but it's pretty clear that one person buying fifty tickets is an unlikely scenario when it comes to ordinary consumers. If you're no.10 in the queue behind nine ordinary people, there's probably a max of 36 tickets sold before you, assuming everyone is buying for four mates. If you're no.10 in the queue behind nine touts, there could be 450 tickets gone, and the event sold out.

You still got up at the same time and waited in line for the same length of time, but because there were touts ahead of you instead of ordinary people, you lose out.

Of course people are going to be annoyed about this, and it's also the reason that many venues and retailers like Apple are now placing such stringent limits on what you can buy-- which only causes more hassle for the ordinary consumer. Touts are very, very irritating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,458 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

If someone offered me 10000 for my pair of u2 Dublin tickets I'd be tempted to sell them but u never knw who u could be selling too (undercover Gardai etc)